Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers real estate and property management services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oceanfront Realty International, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oceanfront Realty International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oceanfront Realty International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 24, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 07/29/1985 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20369612-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is RB13924.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is RB12764.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Donna Apisa, President / Principal Broker Robyn Apisa Matie, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Apisa, President / Principal Broker
Business Category

Real Estate Real Estate Agents Real Estate Brokers Property Management Real Estate Rental Service

Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 5-4280 Kuhio Hwy # C-1

    Princeville, HI 96722 (808) 826-6585

  • PO Box 223190

    Princeville, HI 96722


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Moldy couches at BLU NUI at ******************, ******* - Owner and Ocenfront knew about problem but were not willing to rectify Dear BBB, We rented the BLU NUI at ******************, ******* for two weeks starting on 7/27/2013 for $3977.73. On check-in we noticed an unbearable moldy smell. We realized quickly that this was coming from the two run down couches in the living room. Sitting in the couches was impossible because it gave all members of the party a headache and the smell of mold was just too strong.. The attached picture shows the mold. I have more pictures that show rips, dirt and mold on the leather surface. We notified Oceanrealty immediately and after countless emails, phone calls and promises it was clear that they would not do anything to rectify the problem. ************** the maintenance manager who was always very friendly pretended to be unaware of the problem but did nothing but deliver promises to remedy the situation. The lady who did the cleaning on our departure told us that she had pointed out the problem with the couches to both the owners and the Oceanrealty. We basically did not have a place to sit in the living room which more or less made room unavailable. I have asked Oceanrealty to reimburse us for 25% of the rental cost after not being willing to replace the couches during our two weeks stay. Since then I have not heard back from them.. With kind regards ***********

Desired Settlement: I would like Oceanrealty to refund 25% of the rental fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/31) */ As Managing Agent, Oceanfront Realty is caught between a guest who was unhappy with the condition of an older partial-leather sofa and the owner who wanted to come to Kauai before replacing it. Had it been simple mold on the sofa, we could have and would have readily washed it. However, it was more a case of being worn leather with a specific stain between two cushions. Prior guess did not complain of mold. Owner feels strongly that a 25% rent rebate is unwarranted and instructed Oceanfront not to do this. Owner has since been to Kauai and has replaced the sofa. Having been made aware of this complaint, I personally have been in communication with both parties, although guest and I have both been traveling and leaving messages back and forth. I continue to try to reach an amicable resolution and will advise you as progress is made. Respectfully submitted, ***********, President Oceanfront Realty Int'l, Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/01/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I signed the contract with Oceanfront realty so I am not concerned whether the owner of the property thinks the rent rebate is warranted. Fact is that the couches were moldy. I have the pictures to prove it, the members of the party as well as the cleaning lady to confirm it. The couches were moldy, stained and ripped. Mold cannot be simply wiped off as suggested. The musty smell was strong and unbearable and made the living area unusable. Mold is a health hazard. The cleaning lady had alerted the owner several times about the mold problem. Oceanfront Realty has not made a single attempt to remedy the situation and has not even once stopped by during the two weeks to even look at the couches. Not being able to use the living area during a two week stay warrants a rent rebate of 25% in my opinion. Kind regards *********** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/01/10) */ January 9, 2014 While we have very differing reports of "facts" from consumer and owner and housekeeper, our goal was to resolve this amicably. This has been done. ******* *** and I eventually connected via phone yesterday. Conclusion is that this is satisfactorily resolved. I am writing to Mr. *** to finalize this, allowing up to a week for postal delivery service. Mahalo, ***********, President Oceanfront Realty Int'l, Inc.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service