Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mokulani Properties Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 637-8899 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 1237, Waialua, HI 96791 http://www.mokulaniproperties.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential real estate sales, monthly vacation rentals, and long term property management services. Primarly on beach front and beach communities.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mokulani Properties Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mokulani Properties Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mokulani Properties Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 2008 Business started: 05/31/1991 Business started locally: 05/31/1991 Business incorporated 02/17/2006 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W15596022-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB19068.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB18290.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB15787.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary Anne Bruno, President Ms. Sharon Mercer Machado, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Anne Bruno, President
Business Category

Real Estate Real Estate Consultants Property Management Vacation Rentals Real Estate Loan Modification

Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Additional Locations

  • 67-292 Goodale Ave Ste 106

    Waialua, HI 96791 (808) 282-2583

  • PO Box 1237

    Waialua, HI 96791

  • PO Box 1557

    Kailua, HI 96734

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unprofessional and late. Requested secondary bedroom and outlet be replaced due to excessive corrosion. The AC does not work properly and has not for 6 months. I initially brought this matter up to my respective landlord on August 23rd and reminded her on September 14th, September 30th and on October 20th she had mentioned that an electrician could be in the next week. Of course, I did not feel the need to remind her at that point. Here it is, December 10th and, while the AC is scheduled for replacement, I feel I had to pull teeth. This room belongs to my daughter and it's a shame I can't start using it yet. It wouldn't be such a big deal to me except for the fact that the other two AC's took 4 months to get replaced and my husband and I are doling out $2,408.38 a month for a tiny apartment that always has issues.

Desired Settlement: Prorated rent to compensate for what our contract says I am entitled to as opposed to what I've had.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/26) */ Property Manager (PM) reported that the tenant signed a one year Rental Agreement term, and wanted to vacate within "a couple months," after moving in. Tenant reported that the air conditioners (A/C's) were not working. Replacement of A/C's were a challange, as the townhouse is a 3 story dwelling rising up to 30 ft. in height. Size of A/C's were also back ordered, and took approx., 6 weeks for availability, and an installer had to e located. The A/C's were installed, and tenant was satisfied. Several months later, the tenant advised the A/C in the 2nd bedroom was not working. Tenant would be using this 2nd bedroom for a newborn, not yet arrived. Tenant also advised outlet was corroded and needed to be replaced, however "was not in need of immediate repair since newborn was not yet born, and room not being used" (gr, 12.24.12). PM brought up readiness to replace the corroded outlet to the tenant, and she stated "not to worry about it since baby would not be sleeping in that room and bedroom not being used so no rush" (gr, 12.24.12). PM agreed to hold off because the owner spent approx. $1600 to install the 2 A/C's. Approximatly 3-4 weeks ago, tenant advised the baby would move into the bedroom and that the A/C's needed to be installed by 12.16.12, as spouse was returning from deployment. PM scheduled the same installer for A/C, and an electrician to replace corroded outlet prior to 12.16.12, as requested by tenant. Tenant has wanted to move into Military housing from soon after moving in, and consulted with a JAG Attorney who advised tenant that the Rental Agreement is binding. JAG Attorney phoned PM to see if there was any way tenant could void the Rental Agreement, and PM stated "I JAG, I would be willing to place an ad and see what I could do to secure another and let," tenant out of the Rental Agreement by finding a replacement tenant. Because the tenant has a dog, PM wanted to access the townhouse with tenants prescence. Schedulling showings were not fulfilled by the tenant when interested parties wanted to view the townhouse, as the military housing tenant wanted, fell through. Tenant has also complained of "bug problems" (gr, 12.26.12), PM has tried to correspond responses with no replies by the tenant. PM stated "I feel I have tried to be there for tenant," during the delivery of the newborn, tenant "was having trouble getting rent to office, I would go to," tenant's residence, and pick up the rent and deliver to the office. Tenant, to date has not made a complaint to our office, and has not contacted me as the Principal Broker of the company. My contact information is the first posted on our contact page of our Website which includes my personal cellular phone number. I will be contacting the tenant to personally find out how we can get to the remaining end of the Rental Agreement on a happy note, whereby tenant eventually vacates satisfied with the townhouse. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/12/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I waited more than "a couple months" before I asked for help on "vacating". The issue is any time I need something fixed I can expect the request to go ignored or prolonged for several months at a time. I try to be patient, understanding the possible workload of the landlord, but it goes for entirely too long without resolution. And I feel if I didn't send constant reminders and have a JAG mediator, issues would be neglected all-together(i.e. a previous freezer/refrigerator issue I gave up on and resolved myself). I expect more for the amount of rent we are paying. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/01/13) */ MOKULANI Properties, inc has secured a new qualified tenant to replace current tenant effective January 30, 2013. Our decision was based on re-evaluation of the tenant's chronically making excuses, and our Property Manager having to personally pick up rent checks from the tenant's residence in October, and November, 2012. We have released the current tenant, and look forward to the oopportunity to provide this lovely designor townhouse (which can be found on our Website) to a very excited and qualified new tenant.