Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kainoa Properties LLC

Phone: (800) 648-1007 Fax: (808) 270-2567 10 Hoohui Rd Ste 108, Lahaina, HI 96761 http://kainoaproperties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in the sale of time share interests.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kainoa Properties LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kainoa Properties LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kainoa Properties LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 2011 Business started: 09/01/2009 Business started locally: 09/01/2009 Business incorporated 08/06/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB20291.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB16727.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W72986537-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Marcus Baricuatro, Principal Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marcus Baricuatro, Principal Broker
Business Category

Real Estate Vacation Time Share

Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kainoa Properties LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10 Hoohui Rd Ste 108

    Lahaina, HI 96761 (800) 648-1007

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kainoa Properties is dishonest, high pressure, and inconsistent with their verbal, emails, and paperwork. There have been many conflicts between emails with the general manger, the salesperson and the paperwork. The contract states: Participation in points for deposit is the responsibility of the customer. Verbal Presentation stated: Points would go in automatically at the 10 month mark. Emails from manager, states: Points go into *** as soon as the maintenance fees are paid. (These are 3 different statements) We took a presentation on June 20,2014. It was very high pressure. We were told we would not be able to get into our unit when we want since most owners are now with ***. They top us most owners are now ***, not owners (Many owners I have spoke with are not *** members). I was told 80% owners are now ***, which is not true. Worst of all, when we told them we wanted until later that day to decide. They told us we would not have the opportunity to enroll, that it would not be offered again. That we had to sign a decline letter in order to get our promised gift for taking the presentation. They have also given different prices to many people. There is no set fee to join. Everyone should have the same fee. We were also told that the *** is separate from the deeded unit. But than we were told it would be billed with the yearly maintenance fees.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that Kainoa properties quit threatening people with the fact they will not get into their units if they don't join their club. I am requesting my initial deposit be refunded and to quit trying to collect from me since the whole time they have been misrepresenting themselvesFurthermore, I would like them to cease and desist from trying to collect on anyone that they feel still owes them. Quit High pressuring people when most vulnerable while they are on vacation.

Business Response: Kainoa Properties LLC (KAINOA) has been in business since 2010.  We were hired by several ****** ******** ***** to liquidate the timeshare inventory the Clubs had obtained by way of default and foreclosure.  In 2011 the Clubs amended our agreement and asked Kainoa to also market the *** ****** ******** program to their owners.

Please note the following general facts:
Membership in the *** ****** ******** Program (*** POINTS) is optional.
You must buy into the *** POINTS program.
KAINOA was hired by the ***** ** ****** ******** **** and has the exclusive right to sell *** POINTS memberships to timeshare owners within the ***** ** ******.
One of the benefits of *** POINTS is that its members have access to inventory that ONLY available to *** POINTS members.
*** POINTS increases the flexibility of timeshare.  Point balances can be used for different lengths of stay, different unit sizes, and other vacation related products or services.
Please be aware that the ********* filed a dispute with their credit card in this matter.  The credit card company ruled in favor of Kaiona Properties (the merchant).  Following that ruling this consumer filed this grievance with the BBB.
Attached please find the response we prepared for the credit card dispute.
Marcus B*********

Business Response:

From: ************************** *********************************** On Behalf Of Marcus B*********
Sent: Monday, March 30, 2015 10:47 AM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: Re: FW: ******** - Follow Up

?Aloha Ms. *****

Sorry for my delayed response.

The *** Points program is explained ?during the sales presentation.  The explanation of the Points for Deposit portion of this program, available to owners that own weeks in resorts affiliated with the *** Weeks program, is explained when it applies.  It is actually a great benefit so if the customer is eligible, it is discussed as a reason for doing the Points conversion.  

Additionally we have the customer sign a purchaser's acknowledgement (previously provided and also attached).  Item #7 touches on Points for Deposit and how it is the customer's responsibility to enroll applicable weeks annually.  The ********* initialed that line item, and signed the bottom of the page.

Still more information regarding this part of the Point Program can be found on the *** website here:

************************************************

Mahalo,

Marcus B*********

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
  The statements made in each of Mr. B********* are all the same.  There is no other explanation.  The complaint is the fact that the presentation, emails and verbal communication were all different.

Mr B********* states that the *** points were explained during the sales presentation.  They were not explained thoroughly, and since he wasn't there he cannot say it was. We were never told to go to the ***
website for more info.  Furthermore, if they want to sell these memberships, all info should be supplied at the time of purchase.  It is not the customers responsibility to go to the website. 
  The attachment he provided with this last letter, was NEVER given to us.  It is simply something he took off the *** website, copied and pasted.  Whether this is a great benefit or not is not even relevant to my complaint.  I feel he should just stick to the complaint at hand.  As far as number 7, the explanation on paper., emails and verbal are not all the same.  THERE IS NO CONSISTENCY!!  
Sincerely,

******** ********

4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kainoa Properties use dishonest sales tactics to 'force' timeshare owners to convert to the RCI points system at a highly inflated rate. Kainoa Properties, along with Sands of Kahana, are using dishonest and high pressure sales tactics to force current timeshare owners to convert to RCI points at a highly inflated cost; between $4,000 and $8,000. (RCI allows Timeshare companies to join their points system at a cost between $0 and $400. Charging 10 times the 'normal' RCI rate is criminal.) Kainoa Properties and Sands of Kahana opted to join RCI without giving current timeshare owners an option and, through high pressure sales, force owners to buy into the points system at a highly inflated rate. (If an owner opts to 'walk out' of the sale and do their own research or sign up with RCI on their own, they are threatened that the current offer is off the table and that the current offer is the best, the price will only go up. Owners are also threatened with the fact that, if they don't pay to convert, they will no longer be able to use their deeded time at Sands of Kahana.)

Desired Settlement: We ask that Kainoa Properties refund every owner who was forced to buy into the RCI points system for all amounts charged over $500. We also ask that all owners who opted not to convert and try to reserve their week through Interval International (or directly through Sands of Kahana) be given first priority as deeded owner, rather than be lied to and told there is no space available.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********** PB Contact Phone: 800******* ext 33 Contact Email: *******@kainoaproperties.com Kainoa Properties LLC (Kainoa) is a State licensed real estate brokerage that specializes in timeshare sales. Kainoa has been engaged to exclusively represent several Hawaii Timeshare Clubs (Clubs) to liquidate the inventory they have acquired by way of default and foreclosure. Kainoa has also been engaged by Somerpointe Resorts (Somerpointe), the Vacation Clubs and RCI to be the exclusive marketer of the RCI Points Platinum Program (Points). We can produce our Agency Agreement with the Clubs, as well as written confirmation from RCI that enrollment in Points at the Vacation Clubs we represent can ONLY be purchased through Kainoa. Kainoa does not use dishonest sales tactics to force timeshare owners to convert to Points at a highly inflated rate. RCI does not accept Points enrollments directly from individual timeshare owners for between $0 and $400. These claims by the complainant are not factual; they are half-truths circulated over the internet by other disgruntled or confused timeshare owners. RCI's policy is that enrollments in Points can ONLY be made through an affiliated Vacation Club, or its Agent. Kainoa is an agent of the Vacation Club. Kainoa is completely independent of the Vacation Club, Property Management, the Resort and its board of directors. Kainoa had no involvement in the Vacation Club Board's decision to affiliate their resort with Points. The Board decided to affiliate to provide its members another way for them to use a timeshare they already owned. Points members enjoy additional benefits and flexibility not available to non-members. Deeded timeshare owners can continue to use their timeshare as they have in the past if they decide not to convert and enroll in Points. Kainoa explains that, with another entity utilizing the same pool of inventory at their resort, making reservations as far in advance as possible is preferable. We also explain that the pool of inventory committed to Points is only available to Points members; just as with any other exchange company. Owners that pay to enroll in Points have access to the inventory in the Club as they had in the past AND the inventory that is committed to Points. The RCI Points Platinum Program is marketed similarly throughout the country. There is a cost to enroll and participate in the program. There are also enormous sales and marketing costs associated with this type of sale. Unfortunately many owners want the benefits of Points without paying for it. The group of resorts Kainoa represents has enrolled more than 10,000 owners into Points; Kainoa has personally enrolled more than 2,500 of those as an agent of the Hawaii Vacation Clubs we represent. According to the RCI website, RCI Points is the largest most flexible Points system in the world with more than 3 million members, more than 4,000 participating resorts in 100 different countries.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Kainoa Properties LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart