BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in the sale of time share interests.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kainoa Properties LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kainoa Properties LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kainoa Properties LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 21, 2011 Business started: 09/01/2009 Business started locally: 09/01/2009 Business incorporated: 08/06/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB-20291.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB-16727.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W72986537-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Marcus Baricuatro, Principal Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marcus Baricuatro, Principal Broker
Business Category

Real Estate Vacation Time Share


Additional Locations

  • 10 Hoohui Rd Ste 108

    Lahaina, HI 96761 (800) 648-1007

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kainoa Properties use dishonest sales tactics to 'force' timeshare owners to convert to the RCI points system at a highly inflated rate. Kainoa Properties, along with Sands of Kahana, are using dishonest and high pressure sales tactics to force current timeshare owners to convert to RCI points at a highly inflated cost; between $4,000 and $8,000. (RCI allows Timeshare companies to join their points system at a cost between $0 and $400. Charging 10 times the 'normal' RCI rate is criminal.) Kainoa Properties and Sands of Kahana opted to join RCI without giving current timeshare owners an option and, through high pressure sales, force owners to buy into the points system at a highly inflated rate. (If an owner opts to 'walk out' of the sale and do their own research or sign up with RCI on their own, they are threatened that the current offer is off the table and that the current offer is the best, the price will only go up. Owners are also threatened with the fact that, if they don't pay to convert, they will no longer be able to use their deeded time at Sands of Kahana.)

Desired Settlement: We ask that Kainoa Properties refund every owner who was forced to buy into the RCI points system for all amounts charged over $500. We also ask that all owners who opted not to convert and try to reserve their week through Interval International (or directly through Sands of Kahana) be given first priority as deeded owner, rather than be lied to and told there is no space available.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/04) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ********** PB Contact Phone: 800******* ext 33 Contact Email: *******@kainoaproperties.com Kainoa Properties LLC (Kainoa) is a State licensed real estate brokerage that specializes in timeshare sales. Kainoa has been engaged to exclusively represent several Hawaii Timeshare Clubs (Clubs) to liquidate the inventory they have acquired by way of default and foreclosure. Kainoa has also been engaged by Somerpointe Resorts (Somerpointe), the Vacation Clubs and RCI to be the exclusive marketer of the RCI Points Platinum Program (Points). We can produce our Agency Agreement with the Clubs, as well as written confirmation from RCI that enrollment in Points at the Vacation Clubs we represent can ONLY be purchased through Kainoa. Kainoa does not use dishonest sales tactics to force timeshare owners to convert to Points at a highly inflated rate. RCI does not accept Points enrollments directly from individual timeshare owners for between $0 and $400. These claims by the complainant are not factual; they are half-truths circulated over the internet by other disgruntled or confused timeshare owners. RCI's policy is that enrollments in Points can ONLY be made through an affiliated Vacation Club, or its Agent. Kainoa is an agent of the Vacation Club. Kainoa is completely independent of the Vacation Club, Property Management, the Resort and its board of directors. Kainoa had no involvement in the Vacation Club Board's decision to affiliate their resort with Points. The Board decided to affiliate to provide its members another way for them to use a timeshare they already owned. Points members enjoy additional benefits and flexibility not available to non-members. Deeded timeshare owners can continue to use their timeshare as they have in the past if they decide not to convert and enroll in Points. Kainoa explains that, with another entity utilizing the same pool of inventory at their resort, making reservations as far in advance as possible is preferable. We also explain that the pool of inventory committed to Points is only available to Points members; just as with any other exchange company. Owners that pay to enroll in Points have access to the inventory in the Club as they had in the past AND the inventory that is committed to Points. The RCI Points Platinum Program is marketed similarly throughout the country. There is a cost to enroll and participate in the program. There are also enormous sales and marketing costs associated with this type of sale. Unfortunately many owners want the benefits of Points without paying for it. The group of resorts Kainoa represents has enrolled more than 10,000 owners into Points; Kainoa has personally enrolled more than 2,500 of those as an agent of the Hawaii Vacation Clubs we represent. According to the RCI website, RCI Points is the largest most flexible Points system in the world with more than 3 million members, more than 4,000 participating resorts in 100 different countries.

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We notified Kainoa Properties of our cancellation of a timeshare purchase within the 7 days window. We did not receive our refund within 15 days. We agreed to purchase a timeshare on 3/19/2013 and put down a deposit of $****. It was posted on our credit card on the same day (3/19/13). We submitted our 'Notice of Mutual Right of Cancellation of Timeshare Purchase' personally to the office on Hoohui Rd, Lahaina on 3/25/13. At that time we received an initialed and dated copy from the receptionist who took the form (CS). As of 4/18/13 we have not received a refund (which is greater than 15 business days). We have left two messages at the office and one message with the real estate agent who sold us the property. No one has returned our calls. Our account number is XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: We expect a refund of $3799 ASAP and no further charges to be made to our credit card.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/01) */ The notice of cancellation was received 3/25/13,******* immediately requested a refund from the Escrow company. The refund was completed 4/18/13. We apologize for the delay. ****** ****** Principal Broker Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I actually called the Escrow company on 4/18/13 and to date and they had not received any request from******* to refund our money, so the response does not appear to be accurate as to when the Escrow company was contacted. That said, within a few days of both contacting the escrow company and filing this complaint we did receive our refund in full. We do not require any further action of the BBB.