Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Island Realty Group LLC

Phone: (808) 689-7407 91-902 Fort Weaver Rd Ste 205, Ewa Beach, HI 96706 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Island Realty Group LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Island Realty Group LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Island Realty Group LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2009 Business started: 03/27/2007 Business started locally: 03/27/2007 Business incorporated 03/27/2007 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB19648.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W98844689-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Toti D.O. Manhan, Principal Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Toti D.O. Manhan, Principal Broker
Business Category

Real Estate

Additional Information

Full Service Real Estate, representing buyers/sellers and property management.

Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Additional Locations

  • 91-902 Fort Weaver Rd Ste 205

    Ewa Beach, HI 96706 (808) 689-7407

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Island Realty Group (IRG) has been the rental mgr. I am now the owner and IRG will not give me a copy of the lease or account for the proceeds. The AOAO is the owner of the unit. The bank has foreclosed its mortgage and I am the Court-appointed Commissioner. Island Realty Group (IRG), through ***** *******, its broker-in-charge, has refused to provide a copy of the lease or an accounting of the funds it has received/disbursed from this rental. Mr. ******* flatly stated that he "will never send me any money" from this account. The Court's Order clearly states that I am now the owner of the unit. Although I informed Mr. ******* of the foreclosure in May, he has collected the June rent. I have sent several emails and letters to IRG but have received no response.

Desired Settlement: (1) I want a complete accounting for all rental activities IRG has undertaken with respect to the unit in question. (2) I want to receive all funds IRG is holding with respect to this account. (3) I want to receive reasonable attorney's fees for the extra work IRG has caused.

Consumer Response: On 6/25/14 I received a voicemail message from Mr. *******. He stated that he needed the tenants to sign a release that placed me as the rental manager and removed him and his company. He said that he was waiting for the tenants to return the form, but would call the tenant again to see what was going on.

On 7/1/14 I confirmed with the tenants that neither of them had received any communication from Mr. ******* and had no idea of any type of release document.

In other words, Mr. ******* stated that he had contacted the tenants and that he would contact them a second time. A week later, the tenants say there was never any contact.

So, over and above what I have stated in my complaint, Mr. ******* appears to by lying about his current efforts.

Business Response: We are working on getting the AOAO attorneys and Mr. *** to communicate directly. We are in the middle and have a contractual agreement with the AOAO. Mr. *** should contact the AOAO attorneys to instruct Island Realty Group LLC as how to proceed. Island Realty Group LLC does not have any contractual agreement with Mr. *** and can not proceed with out written instructions from the AOAO.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: IRG did not fulfill property management duties that they were paid for over 5 years. They were also completely non-responsive to complaints. In June of 2009, I was re-assigned off the island and hired ************* of Island Realty Group LLC to find renters and manage my property. When I recently put the house on the market (May of 2014), I found out that he had done little to nothing and the property is in terrible condition. Since he is also a real estate agent, I asked him for comps first and he pulled a number out of the air and could not give me any supporting info so we went with a different agent and ***** had a temper tantrum, telling me he would not do anything more even though we still had a contract. The agent I hired found the property in terrible condition (inside and out) and when I and my wife repeatedly called IRG to discuss the situation, we didn't get a single response. I finally did contact ***** to terminate our contract and he became threatening when I told him I thought he had been derelict in his responsibilities. He told me that is only a military term and that if I contacted the BBB he would present it as if I had threatened him by saying that. The problems with the property would have been obvious if he had done even a single walk through of the house. Even if he had ever driven by the house he would have seen that the grass is entirely missing. Inside the house, the blinds are all broken, the paint was rubbed off of the cabinets, there is a terrible animal smell, the carpet is filthy, and the back door falls off if anyone tries to open it. These are just some examples. In addition, there were periods when we had no lease with the renters (the same ones have been in the house the entire 5 years) and ***** did not realize this and I had to ask to get a lease put in place. For approximately $250 per month, I certainly expected to get what was promised. Whenever I asked about the property, I was told that it looked great and it was being well cared for. In addition to *****, I never received the courtesy of a return phone call from the broker, ****, at IRG after leaving many messages with the woman who answers the phone. When I was finally able to get the security deposit from them, I realized that they had taken out $145 as a late fee for the tenants missing the rent due date and they kept that money for themselves. This is the most unprofessional and rude business I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. I am now trying to sell a home that has extensive damage while I am 3,000 miles away without a property manager to take care of all the things they normally would.

Desired Settlement: I would like 75% of the amount I paid for property management returned. Aside from finding renters, Kevin took care of two or three small repairs. For those reasons, I am not requesting the full 100%.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/22) */ The property was managed per the management agreement. All rental proceeds were processed and disbursed and were never late once even though the tenants paid late in excess of 20 times. All known repair items were corrected in a timely manner if reported. Additionally the house is located on a golf course and when the living room picture window was broken by a golf ball, the property manager paid from personal funds to have the window replaced and waited to be reimbursed by the individual who broke the window. No insurance claim was required. The pet smell was from a cat litter box that needed to be changed, no broken blinds were reported by the tenant and they would have been repaired/replaced from the tenant's security deposit. The landscaping did require trimming and the tenant had turned off the lawn sprinkler system so when the assessment for sale was done, tenants were notified to trim the bushes and properly water the grass or it would be done by a professional landscaper and charged against the security deposit. As for the sale comparison data, the owners were sent a 14 page market analysis (attached) constructed from listings and sales in the owner's immediate neighborhood.There was nothing "pulled out of thin air". Also attached is the correspondence relative to the issues addressed. There is one in particular requesting that if a complaint is filed with the BBB, to note that the phone conversation with the owner was started with very derogatory language contrary to what is stated in the complaint. The owner was notified that if the house was listed with another company, the management could be handled by the listing company and the current management would be terminated. This is done to minimize intrusions and excessive communications with the tenants. The Principal Broker did not communicate with the owners due to being on the mainland for several months receiving treatment for a life threatening illness. The office manager was communicating with the owners and was keeping them updated. At the direction of the owners, The tenant's security deposit was processed and forwarded to their listing company and then the owners changed their minds and requested that the check be cancelled and reissued to them since they decided to manage their own property. That request was processed as soon as the original check was returned. All written correspondence between the owners and property manager have been forwarded to the BBB for review.

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues