Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gold Coast Real Estate Inc

Phone: (808) 926-7525 Fax: (808) 923-7723 2863 Kalakaua Ave Ste 6, Honolulu, HI 96815 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.goldcoasthawaii.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Residential and Commercial Real Estate Sales and Property Management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gold Coast Real Estate Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gold Coast Real Estate Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gold Coast Real Estate Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 25, 2004 Business started: 09/07/1992 in HI Business started locally: 09/07/1992 Business incorporated 02/28/1997 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB17083.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20228498-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RB16997.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Don A. Persons, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don A. Persons, President
Business Category

Real Estate

Method(s) of Payment
All
Alternate Business Names
Waikiki Real Estate, Inc.
Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Additional Locations

  • 2863 Kalakaua Ave Ste 6

    Honolulu, HI 96815

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented the lower floor of a house from this rental company. We were supposed to be provided free internet, cable, and use of part of the yard. These items were not regularly available to us for the entire 17 months we lived there. Brandy C*******, the rental agent, did not communicate with us when she was renting the upstairs unit. Additionally, she failed to communicate with us that she was evicting the upstairs tenants. She led the tenant to believe that we were causing their eviction. This created an incredibly unsafe situation for us. The tenant pounded on the walls and the floors throughout the night, slammed doors and windows, went to his truck and raced his engine, played his guitar with amplifier, turned the television up to full volume and other activities with the goal of intimidating us. Additionally, the tenant shouted racial slurs in through our open windows. Out of concern for our safety, we locked the door and all of our windows. We contacted Don *. P******, President and Principle, of the company. His only advice was to call the police and to get a temporary restraining order against the tenant (we don't know the tenant's name and Mr. P****** did not provide it). Mr. P****** did nothing to mitigate the situation and provide support for us. We had to leave the unit out of fear for our safety. We are unable to get our belongings out as the tenant is still upstairs. Additionally, we have had to unexpectedly rent a new place all in one day. If you are a professional and value your safety, don't rent from this company.

Desired Settlement: We are owed a refund for our rent from November 13 through the end of the month as the property is not safe to live in.

Business Response:

Aloha,

Thank you for the e-mail and the opportunity to reveal the company's side of the story. In my 20+ years of real estate management and having over 200 rental units, this is our first complaint we have received through the Better Business Bureau.

When our rental agent Brandy C******* (RA), of that property, received the concern from the tenant of the lower floor duplex regarding the actions of the upstairs tenant, she immediately contacted the upstairs tenants and the property owners. She also contacted the eviction attorney. Brandy went to the property to deliver a 10 day violation notice.  Two days later Brandy went back to the property with Honolulu Police Department with a failure to comply notice. She also let the upstairs tenant know that their lease would not be renewed. The upstairs tenant agreed to go ahead and move out and  that is in process now.

We acted on the lower tenant's complaint as soon as we were informed. We immediately informed the eviction attorney. We brought in the Honolulu Police Department. We have kept the owners informed through the process. We have to follow the law in such a situation.

We feel bad that the upstairs tenant upset the downstairs tenants. We understand that sometimes people mis-direct their anger at others than those who create the problem while we are here to legally resolve issues and legally remove people who fail to follow the rules. We will always provide the tenants names to either party who want to work through the laws and rules and regulations such as Filing for a Temporary Restraining Order.

With both sets of tenants moving, the parties are being separated. We want all parties to be happy going forward while understanding we have to respect the rights of all involved.

Respectfully,

Don *. P****** (R)    President Gold Coast Real Estate, Inc.

Business Response:

Aloha,

 

Thank you for your e-mail regarding **** ********* ****. We are working with the owners of the property and are keeping them informed of the progress. Both the tenants upstairs and downstairs are in the process of moving out. Once the tenants have moved out and turned in the keys both units will be inspected by the property manager. We will then share that information of complete move out date and inspection results with the owners for their determination on what is owed and what refunds will be given. This is decided by the owners.

 

Respectfully,

Don *. P****** (R)

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

We are rejecting this response because the business:


1.  Never addressed the multiple complaints we provided the business related to the fact that the cable television we were supposed to receive was not regularly provided;
2.  Never addressed the multiple complaints we provided the business related to the fact that the wireless internet we were supposed to receive was not regularly provided:
3.  Never addressed the multiple complaints we provided the business related to the fact that for the last five (5) months the business leased outdoor property that was supposed to be ours to the neighbor;  
4.  Never addressed the multiple complaints we provided the business related to noise upstairs;
5.  Never provided us the name of the individuals who were leasing the other unit and still have not done so.  
6.  When we contacted the business, they never asked us what happened or explored the most recent complaint we made that caused us to have to move to a new property in one day for our safety;
7.  Solutions provided by the business included escalating the situation by calling the police and getting a TRO - the business took no responsibility for the situation that they created by not informing us that they were evicting the upstairs tenant and then made no effort to assist us in getting to a safe environment;    
8.  The business has never explored the facts - we have significant documentation related to what we were not provided and email and text complaints that were never responded to; 
9.  What if the property manager actually did not preform appropriately over multiple contacts and failed in her duties (either the business does not know or does not want to know)? and 
10.  Now the solution is everything is fine because everyone moved out and that we need to pursue the owner for appropriate compensation for our losses (we will add the owners to the list of people we will be making a claim against);  

Mr. P******' claim that this is the first complaint is false and the evidence is on your website.  Even if it was the first time that Mr. P****** placed good people at risk, that is still no excuse for his total lack of an appropriate response to the situation.  We have more information but the business appears to lack interest in finding out what occurred.  The business refused to provide us with any legitimate assistance with the problem they alone created.  We shared earlier with Mr. P****** that we will begin to work with people who WILL assist us.  Absent a sincere apology from Mr. P****** and a reasonable settlement offer to cover the expense and emotional turmoil the business has caused us, we will continue to move forward.  People should not be subjected to this type of poor behavior by a business and we are confident that others will be treated as poorly as we were.  While acting in a legal manner is important, and we have always acted legally, doing the right thing is a higher standard that we go by.  This situation was so egregious that we will continue to do the right thing to make sure that others never have to go through this.  

Sincerely,

**** and ***** *****

8/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got billed $150 for replacing a "security key". I understand that I am responsible for lost keys, but this fee is extortion. My security was stolen from ********** beach right outside the ********** property I was renting. It was wrapped in a towel. But now I am being "fined" because this can "compromise the security of the building". This is not a reasonable resolution to a lost key. It costs $1.99 to replace a missing key.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the entire amount minus the cost of making the new key which has to be much less than $150US.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ Aloha, The tenant that filed the complaint lost a security key to **********, Inc. The building requires $150.00 for a replacement key. We buy the key from the building to replace the one that the complainant lost and we have no control over the policy making of any building that we manage or sell real estate in. This is an unjustified complaint as we did not lose the key or make the house rules of the building. Respectfully, ************** (R) President/Principal Broker Gold Coast Real Estate, Inc. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/08/15) */ Aloha *************, Attached is the correspondence between the rental agent for ********** *** and their resident manager where the $150.00 replacement cost is noted. Respectfully, ************** (R) President/Principal Broker Gold Coast Real Estate, Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 24, 2014/08/19) */ This has been resolved between myself and the business. No need to proceed any further.