This business is not BBB accredited.

Chase 'N Rainbows Real Estate, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 667-7088 Fax: (808) 661-8423 118 Kupuohi St STE C6, Lahaina, HI 96761 http://www.chasenrainbows.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate and vacation rental services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chase 'N Rainbows Real Estate, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chase 'N Rainbows Real Estate, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 05, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated 10/15/1991 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB-17518.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20328776-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RB16067.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Melinda "Mindy" Sue Miller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Melinda "Mindy" Sue Miller, President
Business Category

Real Estate Vacation Rentals

Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    118 Kupuohi St STE C6

    Lahaina, HI 96761

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 11473

    Lahaina, HI 96761

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: booked honeymoon with them months ago, date is for Sept22,2014, called to cancel because of accident, will not refund or postpone I had accident last week broke rt foot (5th metatarsal bone in 3 place) had surgery today Sept 5, Dr said I cannot fly, airline was sympathetic and granted me a refund, called Chase N Rainbows they said tough luck no refund or postponement because I didn't call 30 days before hand but my accident was last week, so they are going to keep my $5800(which would be grand larceny in my state)it is bad enough I am going to crutch or scooter my way down the isle (in pain)let alone lose that much money, I have also contacted several TV stations including **** ******* ******* about my situation. Can you please Help, thank you

Desired Settlement: I am willing to postpone honeymoon to a later date or next year, therefore no money loss for both parties, or full refund if not willing to negotiate

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** * ******, Owner
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************************
Guest booked the condo on-line 11/3/13 for dates 9/22/14-10/10/14. At that time the guest declined the travel insurance option. Guest made deposit on 11/4/13 and paid final balance on 8/14/14. Guest's fiancé called on 9/2/14 and cancelled indicating that she had broken her foot and could not travel. Our reservationist explained the cancellation policy (which guest had signed in acknowledgement)reiterating terms that if res cancelled within 30 days of travel it is non-refundable unless we can re-rent the space. Reservation was cancelled and unit put on availability. 3 hours later guest's fiancé called back and reinstated the reservation stating they had a friend who would come instead. Guests called back on 9/6 cancelled again and begged for a refund claiming we had no compassion or understanding of their circumstances. Guest's fiancé called my personal cell on 9/6 asking for owner's personal contact information and I denied him that information. The owners of the condo were contacted by me via email on 9/5 and by phone on 9/6 and have a valid reason to not honor the reservation at a later date. On 9/5 Guests posted negative remarks on social media site about CNR. On 9/8 Guest contacted me via email with medical records and asked me to provide proof that I had spoken to the owners then afterwards they called **** ******* ** ********. Later in the day on 9/8 guest's fiancé again called my cell phone and told me I had no compassion. On 9/10 guests posted an ad on ********** under vacation rentals with the heading "Vacationers Beware" Chase N Rainbows" and claimed the owners are heartless. As the owner of Chase N Rainbows I have been available to these guests even providing my personal cell phone number so they can reach me at any time. We have taken all of their calls and answered all emails from the beginning. Our policy for cancellation/refund has been the same for 25 years and is a common policy in the vacation rental industry. Travel insurance is not only offered by most rental companies but also the airlines when you book a seat on a flight. They also have a policy for no refund unless you have purchased the insurance. We have continued to make our best attempt to re-book some or all of the dates for the guest. We have notified all outside travel agents and referral agents and even offered our own reservation staff a bonus if they are successful in re-booking one week of the stay. When I asked the guest about declining the insurance when she first booked the condo in November last year her response to me was "I didn't think I would need it" I have been called "heartless" "compassionless" and I have been threatened that if we don't refund the reservation negative reviews and postings will be used against us. Our staff has been harassed over the telephone by several friends and or family members of the guests in the interim. If we are still not able to partially or fully rent the space by September 21st I will personally call the guest to discuss further. I have personally traveled and rented vacation rentals many times. I have both declined and paid insurance depending on the cost for the stay. Two years ago I rented a home in Oregon for 2 weeks and found out my mother in law was hospitalized suddenly and we had to leave one week early to be at her side. We did not have the insurance and lost a considerable amount of our money due to the last minute cancellation. I asked nicely if there was any consideration of our unfortunate circumstances and was politely denied. Unfortunately I had to accept it and since I have always purchased the travel insurance coverage both for airline tickets and for accommodations. My point in sharing this experience is that if we agree to a policy and actually sign the agreement stating we understand and accept the terms then there is no exception to the rule for anyone for any reason - unfortunate or otherwise.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chase 'N Rainbows Real Estate, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)