Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Maalaea Bay Realty & Rentals, LLC

Phone: (808) 244-7012 Fax: (808) 242-7476 View Additional Phone Numbers 280 Hauoli Street, #A9, Wailuku, HI 96793 http://www.maalaeabay.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate and vacation rental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maalaea Bay Realty & Rentals, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maalaea Bay Realty & Rentals, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maalaea Bay Realty & Rentals, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2006 Business started: 03/24/2003 Business started locally: 03/24/2003 Business incorporated 03/24/2003 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RB18066.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Marsha Smith, Member Ms. Jeanne McJannett, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marsha Smith, Member
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals


Additional Locations

  • 280 Hauoli Street, #A9

    Wailuku, HI 96793 (800) 367-6084 (808) 244-5627

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife and I rented ******* *** on line from this rental company, these are the problems we encountered with this rental : we had delay problems at the airport so we arrive after hours for check in, rental instructions were to check in the office the next day, that left us with no way to get into our rental unit, so we phoned and were given instructions on how to get a key, and told the unit was the next complex over, it was not, it was five complexes away, second, per advertising we read the unit was " air-conditioned unit ", it was not, unless you consider a small room air conditioner in the living room, a unit air conditioner, it is not even powerful enough to cool the living room, which left the bathroom and bedroom, HOT, not even cooled off in the least, we talked to a service person and his response was " I will inform the rental office and the owner of the unit",, we never heard back from anyone about this situation,, we were totally uncomfortable with the heat situation for our two weeks in the unit,, the other problem with the air conditioner is , its on a timer , so if you go to sleep at 11PM you need to get up at 3AM to set it to go on again, this situation is ridiculous . we have visited Maui 6 times and this is the worst place we have ever stayed at. we are requesting a refund from the realtor because of lying in the advertisement..

Desired Settlement: we are requesting a refund because of the problems checking in and the heat problem due to lack of air conditioning which produced a lack of sleep therefore a very bad vacation for two weeks and no response to our situation from the rental office or any maintenance personal..

Business Response:

This guest that filed a complaint was sent a reservation confirmation with arrival instructions at time of reservation detailing the check in procedures. We do not say anywhere that guest has to check in the next day.

We do not advertise anywhere that we have central air conditioning. Our advertisement states that there is an In Wall AC unit which is rarely needed. Unfortunately, this guest stayed during the hottest record setting period for this part of the island. Anywhere, they would have stayed would have been the same situation, unless you can find central AC which is rare to find in condo rentals on Maui. The AC unit we have rarely ever gets turned on because of the natural trade wind flow of air we get from mother nature on this part of the island. The In Wall AC unit was in good working order during this guest stay. 

Guest made this booking directly with the owner and has all owner contact information but never contacted the owner to notify us of any problem. If they had, we would have worked with them immediately to resolve any issues or refund the unused balance of their stay. We were not notified until 6 weeks after their 12 night stay. It is unreasonable for a guest to expect a refund for hot weather and especially after the guest had use of the condo for 12 nights without contacting the owner directly.

Most of our guests are return visitors that have been staying with us for over 10 years and keep coming back to stay in our unit. 

Sincerely,