Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Great Vacation Retreats, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 742-9202 3352 Waikomo Road, Koloa, HI 96756 http://alohasurfcam.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Vacation Rental homes and condos on Kauai and Kona. Oceanfront Kauai Condos, Private homes rentals on Kauai.

 Kauai Real Estate Sales and Property Management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Great Vacation Retreats, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Great Vacation Retreats, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Great Vacation Retreats, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 18, 2012 Business started: 05/10/2010 in HI Business started locally: 05/10/2010 Business incorporated 06/08/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W92747981-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB-20339.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB-20338.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is AD-986.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Linda Sylvester, Owner Liason Ms. Amy Grant, VP (SAP, INC.) Mr. Scott Grant, President (SAP, INC.) Sap, Inc., LLC Member Mr. Chris Mann, LLC Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Sylvester, Owner Liason
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, Echeck and regular check.
Products & Services

This company offers real estate, property management, and activities desk services.


Additional Locations

  • 3352 Waikomo Road

    Koloa, HI 96756 (808) 742-9202

  • PO Box 98

    Koloa, HI 96756

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A hold on vacation rental was not honored due to GVR intentionally booking another guest. Another offer was made and price was later not honored. I requested a hold for Emmalani Court #515 on Feb. 18, 2013. I was told it would be held 48 hours. On Tuesday I inquired about the price of a different property. While maintaining communication and my interest to hold EC515, I was offered the hold be extended for 24 hours as of Feb. 20 at 4:57 p.m. MST, on both EC515 and a Kona rental. ****** ******, the owner of GVR, did not property place a block on my dates of May 17-26, 2013. The availability never showed it as held as I confirmed multiple times between Monday and Wednesday. A short time after ****** confirmed she was extending my hold by 24 hours, she stated she lied and another representative had a hold for a guest that would potentially become a firm hold later. I immediately emailed and called expressing my desire to book EC515 immediately. I was treated unprofessionally by the staff on duty and was told there was nothing they could do. I asked ****** to accommodate us at another property for the Friday that was the date overlapping the conflicting booking. She would not offer to remedy the situation at $100 for the night which was my quoted rate. I made several attempts to contact ****** and she delegated the responsibility to her office. She extended my offer for nine nights at an all-inclusive price of $*** if I could come on May 19 or later. I asked her to book me May 19 for eight nights at $***. Her agent, *****, declined and offered $****** for eight nights. I told her I would just pay for nine nights at $*** and check in May 19 as offered. I asked her to confirm with the owner, ******, and ****** decided to change her pricing and did not honor my offer. I have been stressed and scrambling to change plans due to ******'s lack of communication and changing her written offers on two occasions.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking Great Vacation Retreats to honor their second offer (in writing by email from *********) of checking into Emmalani Court #515 for a check in date of May 19 for nine nights for $***, plus any airfare expense increase over $*** per passenger on US Airways and any rental car expense for a convertible via Hotwire quote of $*** including all taxes. Alternatively, honoring their original offer of check in date of May 17 for nine nights and same conditions. If I am forced to book alternate accommodations before this is resolved, I will be seeking the price difference for comparable accommodations for the same itinerary in addition to any legal or related expenses incurred as a result of breach of written offer.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Owner Contact Phone: (808) XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@greatvacationretreats.com March 7, 2013 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, ****** In response to the client's complaint dated February 22, 2013 we again would like to offer our apologies. The client had emailed requesting a hold on Feb 18 at 8:47 a.m. while they were finalizing plans and looking at airfare. On Feb 20 at 11:11 am. they emailed to see if we could put a 'soft hold' on 2 condos for the night and they would decide and contact me. Because it was over 48 hours the hold on the subject had fallen off and the subject property was booked already by another agent in our office. I then immediately notified the client so they knew that the first 2 days they were looking to book were no longer available and apologized. The client was not satisfied with that and decided to call into our office multiple times yelling at every member of our office. After that, we decided that it would be better for them to look elsewhere for accommodations. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 19, 2013/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Great Vacation Retreats is clearly not making an attempt to resolve this issue. GVR is leaving out relevant information and is acting in an unprofessional matter. 1. This is not a matter of a 48 hour hold that expired. I was given a 48 hour hold, and had inquired about another property. ****** (the owner) failed to maintain communication until the 48 hour hold expired. 2. ****** confirmed a renewed 24 hour hold on the unit in question, and shortly after retracted after she realized her office had another lead. That lead was NOT YET CONFIRMED and she still allowed her conflicting request to be booked. I asked to simply be put in another unit for a night to resolve the issue. That was a simple request that was denied. 3. I was offered the same deal of $****** for nine nights if I was to come two days later. Upon contacting the office ****** was confused about the pricing ****** quoted, got very unprofessional on the phone and emailed me telling me to find another accommodation. 4. I had to alter my vacation plans for May. Since I have had good experiences with ****** and GVR in the past, I asked for another opportunity to remedy the situation. I have visited Kauai seven times, used GVR six, stayed at the unit in question five times at the price quoted. This includes April 2012 for the same nine nights at $******. 5. I did not yell at any office staff member. This is not an excuse to withdraw their offer multiple times, change the terms, and tell me to do business elsewhere. I expressed my disappointment and concern to ******, the employee that booked another client at a higher price and had no understanding I was given another hold. The basis of this problem is due to ****** ****** not staying in communication, and not making a simple phone call to understand the situation and resolve it. She caused unnecessary confusion with me as the customer, as well as her staff. She is not only doing me a disservice as a customer, she is doing her property owners a disservice. GVR stating that I would be unhappy with their service is speculation. I would not be pursuing a request that they honor their offer for nine nights for $****** for a future accommodation if that was not acceptable. I respect the property owners and if they were able to offer that this would be resolved. It is that simple; however, they refuse to honor their quote. This is their choice and the BBB should consider this an unresolved issue with GVR making a choice to deny a reasonable request for resolution that is providing the exact offer they initially quoted. I am not seeking damages nor any special accommodations, simply my original quote (made multiple times) to be honored. I sincerely hope BBB understands I am making a reasonable request for resolution, have provided evidence of the quote, and the business is not acting in good faith and has provided no evidence to support their decision to deny my request. Stating I yelled at someone is not true and not an acceptable excuse. I will pursue this further with the Hawaii Board of Realtors. I would like this complaint to be indicated as unresolved. Regards Business' Final Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/03/28) */ March 28, 2013 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc 1132 Bishop St., Ste. 615 Honolulu, HI XXXXX-XXXX RE Case #XXXXXXXX To Whom It May Concern, Again, we are very sorry that the hold we placed on the unit, as a courtesy to the client, fell off after the 48 hour time period and the property was booked by another agent in our office. We did not have a contract with the client, nor did we take any payment as there was never a reservation. At this point, I don't think the client would be pleased with our services and should look for accommodations elsewhere.