Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Whalers Realty Inc.

Phone: (808) 661-8777 Fax: (808) 661-8951 View Additional Phone Numbers 2435 Kaanapali Parkway  Suite A3, Lahaina, HI 96761 http://www.whalersrealty.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate brokerage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Whalers Realty Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Whalers Realty Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Whalers Realty Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 2005 Business started: 11/17/1976 in HI Business started locally: 11/17/1976 Business incorporated 11/17/1976 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20305724-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB9006.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB13462.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert J. Cartwright, President Mrs. Teresa J. Cartwright, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert J. Cartwright, President
Business Category

Real Estate Agents Real Estate

Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Additional Locations

  • 2435 Kaanapali Parkway
    Suite A3

    Lahaina, HI 96761 (808) 661-8777

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I engaged the services of **** ******** of Whalers Realty in Kaanapali to sell our house in the latter part of 2013. It was a trying time for us as our lives had taken a turn for the worst. It was a distress sale without being listed as such. As much as we didnt want to sell the house, we knew it was the only option and it needed to be sold quickly. We expressed to Mr. ******** that we needed an aggressive program to meet some personal timeframes of closing out our life on Maui. We never got that. Uncertainly, appeared to be the plan Mr. ******** engaged in mostly. That is why we fired him.The only reason Mr. ******** sold the house was from a client who he had on his protection list from before we fired him. The new realtors we hired after being disappointed by Mr. ******** showed the house 10 times more than Whalers Reality did. I am glad the house sold, but I wish it wasnt **** ******** who sold it.We are still facing problems with the sale of the house. There were a couple contracts that went with the sale of the house. One was for the security and the other for a solar electric system. This was made perfectly clear to both agents and the new owners and was included in the escrow paperwork. One contract has never been turned over to the new owner. Now we are dealing with a credit nightmare, because the service was never paid by the new owner. Once we discovered the account was never turned over to the new owner and was past due, we contacted **** ********. We have now heard 3 completely different stories. The only way we were able to figure out the truth was from reviewing the notes on the account. Miss-information, the run around and the brush off are the only response we have received from **** ********. Now we will have to end up paying the balance of the contract off to protect our credit. Once Mr. ******** gets his commission, he couldnt care a less about his clients, his professional creditability or the integrity of his profession. There should have been a follow up by Mr. ******** with the escrow company making sure all stipulations were adhered too before it closed. Both contracts were to be transferred at the close of escrow. One of the reasons we engaged the services of Mr. ******** was, he was listed as the top producer for Whalers Realty. Its easy to be a top producer of sales exceeding a million dollars for the year on Maui in restate. It only takes one house or a couple at most to reach that threshold on Maui. That is especially true for the Kahana Napili and Kapalua districts. Dont let that fool you. Mr. ******** isnt an aggressive real estate salesperson. Personally, I dont think understands the real meaning of selling. He doesnt sell the house. If its not the ultimate dream home with the house overwhelmingly selling itself, he doesnt know what to do. He doesnt take the time to get completely in tune with the property. The photos they uploaded were terrible with nothing that popped. The presentations when showing the house were lacking confidence, possibilities and direction. A robot could have done a better job.I wish there was something positive to say, but as a whole the service was poor. Look elsewhere!

Desired Settlement: We want Mr. M******** to pay the fee associated with the complaint

Business Response:

From: *** ****** ******* *********************************
Sent: Wednesday, February 18, 2015 9:51 AM
To: ***** ** *****
Cc: *** **** *********
Subject: BBB Complaint ID ********

Aloha *****,

This matter has been resolved.

Please let me know if you have any questions or require anything further.

Mahalo,

********* *********

Administrative Manager

*** ************ * **** ************

Toll Free: ************

office@whalersrealty.com

www.whalersrealty.com

 **** ********* ******** *** ******** ***** ******  *****

  **** ** ** *********  

 CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE:  The information contained in this e-mail transmission and any attachment is confidential and remains the property of Whalers Realty Inc. until it is received by the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient, please note that use, further transmission or disclosure of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please notify ************************ as soon as possible, and delete it from your computer without retaining any copies. Thank you for your cooperation.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Whalers Realty Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)