BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Aloha Coast Realty, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 934-7600 Fax: (808) 934-7644 101 Aupuni St Ste 248, Hilo, HI 96720 http://www.alohacoastrealty.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides residential & commercial real estate services, specializing in Big Island properties, vacant land & condos.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aloha Coast Realty, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aloha Coast Realty, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aloha Coast Realty, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 28, 2007 Business started: 06/04/2007 Business started locally: 06/04/2007 Business incorporated: 06/04/2007 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W51289436-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB-19604.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Dirgo, Manager Mr. David W. Deweese, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dirgo, Manager
Business Category

Real Estate Agents Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals

Additional Locations

  • 101 Aupuni St Ste 248

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 15-2662 Pahoa Village Road Suite 307

    Pahoa, HI 96778 (808) 965-9903

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rented unit with promise of king size bed, sleeper sofa. upon arrival, bed is full size, no sleeper sofa Rented unit at Mauna Loa Shores 703 in January - paid in full for unit advertised as king bed and sleeper sofa. upon arrival have a full size bed and no sleeper sofa. as of yesterday, unit was advertised as sleeps six, king bed, sleeper sofa. notified rental company, they changed and corrected on line, offered me 10 percent discount.

Desired Settlement: would like to have unit that was adverrtised on line feel as though i was deceived and have not been treated fairly in the process my sole decision on renting this unit was to have king sized bed for two adults sent email and left message with rental company had to call company again to apeak with someone

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/07/10) */ please disregard the previously filed complaint. i have received a 20% refund on my bill

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aloha Coast breached the attached contract that stipulates an 18% commission and charged 22% without written approval. The amount owed is $4,464.94. In February, 2012, Aloha Coast began charging 22% commission on rentals of my property and did not communicate this increase or receive any authorization for this increase. They are in breach of the contract that Aloha Coast acquired from ******************* when they purchased that business. I sent many written requests to speak to their legal counsel to resolve any possible new agreement but that request was ignored or refused. The difference between the 18% (as per the contract) and the 22% that Aloha Coast charged me is $4,464.94.

Desired Settlement: Immediate payment of the $4,464.94.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ There was a verbal agreement to change the commission percentage. Aloha Coast Realty performed its duties in good faith and documented the payment of the commission through monthly statements that were sent to Mr. ******* and his CPA. At no time, during the two years since the contract terms were changed, did Mr. ******* or his CPA object or dispute the commission percentage. Through the course of conduct, it is clear that both parties agreed to and acknowledged the change. Oral contracts are fully legal and enforceable, especially when the "course of conduct" by both parties makes it clear that there was agreement in terms. I have additional documentation I would like to submit. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ***** does not propose a solution. I did not seek Mr. *****'s business. He purchased the management company that handled my property along with the governing contract. In that contract, it CLEARLY states, "No changes or modifications of this Agreement shall be valid or enforceable without the express written consent of all parties concerned." Mr. ***** claims to have a "verbal" agreement to charge me more money. We can go back and forth with this nonsense for years, I don't care. Eventually, a court will decide. His company's management of my property was a farse and I will be submitting ALL documentation of their many screw-ups for anyone to read that wishes. Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/03/14) */ There is no need for me to propose a solution. Aloha Coast/************** performed exactly as was agreed to and was paid exactly what was agreed to. Mr. ******* contention that "he did not seek our business" is yet another red herring intended to cover over the facts. We may have purchased the business with Mr. ******'s contract, but he never sought to cancel it in the several years that we worked together to manage his property. He and we both continued to fulfill the agreement that we had. It was only after Mr. ******* changed his requirements and Aloha Coast initiated lawful termination of the contract that he became angered. Even so, we both completed our obligations to each other under the agreement. Once everything was complete, then he raised this complaint. Both he and his accountant received the statements every month for the entire time we worked together, and there was never an objection raised to the commissions being increased as we had agreed to. His claim that somehow we changed the percentage and hid it from both of them for two years is ludicrous.