Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aloha Coast Realty, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 934-7600 Fax: (808) 934-7644 101 Aupuni St Ste 248, Hilo, HI 96720 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides residential & commercial real estate services, specializing in Big Island properties, vacant land & condos.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aloha Coast Realty, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Aloha Coast Realty, LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Aloha Coast Realty, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aloha Coast Realty, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 28, 2007 Business started: 06/04/2007 Business started locally: 06/04/2007 Business incorporated 06/04/2007 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W51289436-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is RB-19604.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Dirgo, Manager Mr. David W. Deweese, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dirgo, Manager
Business Category

Real Estate Agents Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Hawaii Holiday Vacation Rentals

Additional Locations

  • 101 Aupuni St Ste 248

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 15-2662 Pahoa Village Road Suite 307

    Pahoa, HI 96778 (808) 965-9903


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired aloha coast to act as our property manager in **** while we live on the mainland. They failed to inform us of issues and allowed major damage to occur. They left our home filthy despite claiming they had hired a cleaning company. Floors have pet urine damage on them, window screens left torn, mold on the walls, filth, dead bugs, and cobwebs in numerous places. The company they hired to trim our trees left a mound of branches on the grass which killed the grass underneath and created clouds of flies. We attempted to resolve this directly with them but they refused.

Desired Settlement: Refund of management costs paid to them, refund of cost for mold removal, screen repair, carpet cleaning, cost of replacing damaged bedroom floors, cost of 4 months lost income while home was vacant after their mismanagement.

Business Response: The only response this complaint is worthy of is "it is inaccurate, untrue and wrong".  There is no point to further discussion as the complainant is both unreasonable and irrational.

Business Response: It is inaccurate to stay that we failed to inform them of issues.  For much of the time we managed the property, we were communicating with Mr. **********.  We did not realize that he failed to share that information with Mrs. **********.  In retrospect, we know now that he did not share things with her in order to avoid taking the brunt of her irrational and horrific screaming and threatening.  We have copies of all the emails to and from both of them for the entire time.  

The home was not left filthy, in fact it was cleaner than what it was when we took over managing it.  Even Mrs. ********* acknowledged the poor condition in which her tenants left the home when they skipped out.  ***** *********** ******** did clean it.  It is true that they did not climb to the top of the 25 foot tall cathedral ceilings to remove the cobwebs that left there when the *********'s moved to the mainland and remained there through the time that the **********'s self-managed the property.  
The floors were damaged before we took over management (a fact that was acknowledged by Mr. ********** at that time). In fact, those floors were damaged when the *********'s bought the house.  We have all the photos to prove that. 
A single window screen was torn when the *********'s arrived (several weeks after the tenant left), which was caused by a rat trying to get into the house while it was vacant.  
The person that trimmed the trees did leave the branches (again, the house was unoccupied at the time) for a couple of days until he could return with a larger truck.  The cloud of flies already existed due to to rotting fruit on the tree caused by the *********'s refusal to pay for qualified yard care.  It is not a requirement of any lease for the tenant to care for the homeowner's custom plantings and tree care (which the *********'s were told by not just us, but the property managers from ****** ******* as well). 
If you consider refusing to accept Mrs. *********'s screaming, lies, fabrications and inability to acknowledge facts presented to her as a "refusal to resolve" the issue, then that is true.  She apparently believes that being loud, irrational and outright lying will get people to give her what she wants - and that doesn't work with us.  There is no negotiation with her since she is completely irrational and potentially delusional.  Her husband is a rational decent person who has apologized to us more than once for his delusional wife, but lacks the spine to stand up. 
I could go on, but there's no point for all the reasons I stated previously and in here.

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Formal complaint & request for mediation between myself & Aloha Realty regarding property management practices & invoice on July 10,2014 for $5,728.28 Please see attached file. I can only attach one file. I would have included a summary of the recent invoice received, as well.

Desired Settlement: Given the negligence, the loss of rental income, the need for property repair (again), and the ongoing angst of this relationship the last 6 months, I propose both parties to close any/all business agreements and Aloha Realty rescind the invoice for $5,728.28

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rented unit with promise of king size bed, sleeper sofa. upon arrival, bed is full size, no sleeper sofa Rented unit at Mauna Loa Shores 703 in January - paid in full for unit advertised as king bed and sleeper sofa. upon arrival have a full size bed and no sleeper sofa. as of yesterday, unit was advertised as sleeps six, king bed, sleeper sofa. notified rental company, they changed and corrected on line, offered me 10 percent discount.

Desired Settlement: would like to have unit that was adverrtised on line feel as though i was deceived and have not been treated fairly in the process my sole decision on renting this unit was to have king sized bed for two adults sent email and left message with rental company had to call company again to apeak with someone

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/07/10) */ please disregard the previously filed complaint. i have received a 20% refund on my bill

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Aloha Coast breached the attached contract that stipulates an 18% commission and charged 22% without written approval. The amount owed is $4,464.94. In February, 2012, Aloha Coast began charging 22% commission on rentals of my property and did not communicate this increase or receive any authorization for this increase. They are in breach of the contract that Aloha Coast acquired from ******************* when they purchased that business. I sent many written requests to speak to their legal counsel to resolve any possible new agreement but that request was ignored or refused. The difference between the 18% (as per the contract) and the 22% that Aloha Coast charged me is $4,464.94.

Desired Settlement: Immediate payment of the $4,464.94.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/19) */ There was a verbal agreement to change the commission percentage. Aloha Coast Realty performed its duties in good faith and documented the payment of the commission through monthly statements that were sent to Mr. ******* and his CPA. At no time, during the two years since the contract terms were changed, did Mr. ******* or his CPA object or dispute the commission percentage. Through the course of conduct, it is clear that both parties agreed to and acknowledged the change. Oral contracts are fully legal and enforceable, especially when the "course of conduct" by both parties makes it clear that there was agreement in terms. I have additional documentation I would like to submit. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ***** does not propose a solution. I did not seek Mr. *****'s business. He purchased the management company that handled my property along with the governing contract. In that contract, it CLEARLY states, "No changes or modifications of this Agreement shall be valid or enforceable without the express written consent of all parties concerned." Mr. ***** claims to have a "verbal" agreement to charge me more money. We can go back and forth with this nonsense for years, I don't care. Eventually, a court will decide. His company's management of my property was a farse and I will be submitting ALL documentation of their many screw-ups for anyone to read that wishes. Final Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/03/14) */ There is no need for me to propose a solution. Aloha Coast/************** performed exactly as was agreed to and was paid exactly what was agreed to. Mr. ******* contention that "he did not seek our business" is yet another red herring intended to cover over the facts. We may have purchased the business with Mr. ******'s contract, but he never sought to cancel it in the several years that we worked together to manage his property. He and we both continued to fulfill the agreement that we had. It was only after Mr. ******* changed his requirements and Aloha Coast initiated lawful termination of the contract that he became angered. Even so, we both completed our obligations to each other under the agreement. Once everything was complete, then he raised this complaint. Both he and his accountant received the statements every month for the entire time we worked together, and there was never an objection raised to the commissions being increased as we had agreed to. His claim that somehow we changed the percentage and hid it from both of them for two years is ludicrous.