BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation rentals and activites.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SunQuest Vacations meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SunQuest Vacations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SunQuest Vacations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 26, 1997 Business started: 03/04/1980 Business started locally: 03/04/1980 Business incorporated: 08/29/1978 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20326058-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is TAR2586.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is AD821.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB11134.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB11235.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Wilcox, President Ms. Pamela Higgins
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Pamela Higgins
Principal: Mr. Steven Wilcox, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Vacation Rentals Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
Property Management Hawaii, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 77-6435 Kuakini Hwy

    Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 367-5168(Phone)
  • (800) 800-5662(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fail to refund of deposit We hold reservation of this unit for only 13 days (from November 12-26, 2012) and canceled 24 days prior to reserved first day of the stay (December 20-29, 2012). And we lost >$1,000 of deposit. When we canceled, the agency agreed that they would repost with lower rate to have this unit rented out, but it was not posted even after 14 days (December 10, 2012) we canceled and it was not rented out. Because of the delay of the repost by the agent, we request refund of the deposit.

Desired Settlement: Please refund our deposite $1,100.79.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/03/04) */ February 26, 2013 Aloha and thank you for your letter dated February 6, 2013. I have looked into this matter, and I am very sorry that we were not able to re-rent the nights of your reservation, but I do believe we did what was necessary to do so and will not be able to issue a refund. -The reservation was made with our company by the condo owner on 11/11/12 at a discounted rate of $***/night + tax, cleaning fee and refundable security deposit. The paperwork including our cancellation policies were emailed to you that day. On 11/12/12, you confirmed the reservation with full payment, and it was agreed that you would send a check for the security deposit. The final instructions and check-in information was emailed to you on 11/13/12 after the security deposit was received. -On 11/26/12, ********** called to cancel the reservation and our policies were explained to her at that time. On this date, the reservation was cancelled and was put back in our reservation system to try to re-rent the space. She agreed that I check could be issued in ******'s name for the return of the security deposit, and the cleaning fee was credited to the credit card on the same day. ****** called back later in the morning & spoke with ***** and he wanted to lower the rate to $***/night and agreed to pay the difference if it was re-rented. The new rate was immediately lowered in our system and an email sent to every reservationist and myself that the unit was available at a reduced rate for re rental. I still have a copy of that email. It is not our standard procedure, but ***** did suggest at that time that we could add this unit/dates to the specials page on our website to further help in getting the property re-rented. It was posted on our website in early December on the specials page, this is done by the webmaster and does when she has time available, but as of regular availability in bookings it was already there as of 11/26/12. I noted that you called on 12/10 to check if it was re-rented -On 12/17, you called and wanted the rate lowered to $**/night. The rate was lowered in our reservation system. -***** saw that the unit was still not re-rented on 12/28, so she also contacted the property owner to advise of the situation as the reservation was originally initiated by him. Again, not our standard procedure, but she wanted to try all avenues of trying to get you a refund. She was advised that our cancellation policy should be followed. In speaking with *****, may not have communicated with you as frequently as she should have, but other than that, we did our best in trying to re-rent the space for you. I found no delay of reposting the unit for rent. I have the original email from her on 11/26 advising the entire office of the condo being available for rental and letting us know the rate may look funny but it is correct because of a reduction. The condo was available in our office and on our website from that day forward. There may have been a delay on the specials page because the webmaster has to make those changes we cannot, but for anyone trying to book it was available for rental in the reservation system. We also offer our guests cancellation insurance for illness or death of loss of job just so something like this does not occur. Airline seats are at a premium at this time and that may be why the condo did not rerent. Please feel free to contact me should you have any add'l questions.