Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sofos Realty Corporation

Phone: (808) 522-5999 Fax: (808) 522-5969 600 Kapiolani Blvd, #200, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.sofosrealty.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial sales, leasing & property management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sofos Realty Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sofos Realty Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sofos Realty Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 1989 Business started: 03/10/1989 Business started locally: 03/10/1989 Business incorporated 02/27/1989 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB8884.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20413562-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RB17698.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. S. Steven Sofos, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. S. Steven Sofos, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Real Estate Agents

Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Additional Locations

  • 600 Kapiolani Blvd, #200

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 522-5999

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been renting from Sofos Realty for nearly two years. Within that time they have allowed illegal gaming businesses to conduct business in the building bringing all sorts of troubles to the entire building. Drug Use,innapriate behavior in our parking lots, fights, vandelism and more related to my complaint, numerous car break ins and property damage to vehicles. Although the gaming room no longer exists, it still brings their previous patrons to the loiter the propertt. My fleet of cars, have been attacked, to date, 4 times. Sofos has had plenty of notification of these incidents from my company and other tenants.police have even attempted to notify Sofo's that they need better monitoring of thier parking lots. No response. With the numerous warnings they have had regarding the incidents of their property, They have done nothing to protect their consumers assets, or even the property of the building for that matter. When ever sofos is confronted, they either run away from the problem or give the same response answers that I have heard for nearly 1 year, and still nothing had been implemented. This is the fourth incdent of damage to my vehicles, in the stalls I pay rent to, and I am frustrated with this management company not doing anything about it. They do have security, however you can find him at anytime sitting at a mailbox not monitoring the property at all. They have also installed lights, however I am assuming this is for the thieves to see better at night, as what good are lights, if the property is not monitored. Regardless, majority of the incidents occur in the middle of the day. They have promised to hire a 3rd party parking company to monitor, more security, cameras, that was about two years ago, and still nothing. They truly act as if it is not their matter and with no compassiom of the vandilization misfortunes.

Desired Settlement: Do what you say youre going to do. Make our parking lots secure, its what we pay for. My business should not have to suffer because of your ignorance.

Business Response: We have contacted the complainant and are working to resolve the issues presented.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I want the problem resolved. Not just saying your working on it. As you have been saying for the past years. 


Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

We appreciate ******'s comments and feedback regarding this property. The following has been implemented, and we are continuing our efforts to improve security.

- Effective May 6, 2016, the gate to the roof top parking deck is secured from 6pm to 4am, 7 days/week. These hours are subject to change depending on the demands of all tenants' work hours. The security guard is onsite and may be called if tenants need to enter or exit the roof top parking after 6pm; a log is kept of all vehicles entering/exiting the parking during the secured hours.

-Security camera systems were previously discussed with the owner. We are obtaining new proposals for the parking deck, and a separate proposal for the ground floor areas. These will be submitted to the owner for review and approval. Note that this is a common area cost and will be charged to all tenants.

- Parking:  The parking service conducts random patrols between 8am to 2pm daily, and tags illegally parked vehicles. Based on their report, we have vehicles towed. We have been verifying tenants' assigned/authorized parking and vehicle information, and should have an updated list to the parking vendor by May 13th.

- The scope of services for the existing security and parking vendors are under review, and their performance will be monitored.  Written reports are required, and if there are incidents that are not reported by the vendor, we will request for a replacement.

Feedback from all tenants is welcome to maintain the security and safety of the property and its tenants. We appreciate your time in bringing these matters to our attention.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sofos Realty Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)