Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Marie Hansen Properties, Inc.

Phone: (808) 591-1110 Fax: (808) 591-9780 View Additional Phone Numbers 615 Piikoi St Ste 2020, Honolulu, HI 96814

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Full service Property Management.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marie Hansen Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marie Hansen Properties, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 27, 1990 Business started: 02/08/1989 in HI Business started locally: 02/08/1989 Business incorporated 02/08/1989 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20410754-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RB14867.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RB17968.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Cheryl Y. Kunimoto, President Mr. Brent Kunimoto, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cheryl Y. Kunimoto, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Agents

Additional Locations

  • 615 Piikoi St Ste 2020

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 591-1110


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marie Hansen Properties "manages" my rental unit. Since I signed my lease in September 2014, the unit has required a number of repairs and Tracy C******, the MHP property manager at the time (she has since resigned), promised that ALL needed repairs would be made. After making the appropriate request for repairs through the MHP on-line portal, I patiently waited for repairs, included replacing defective light fixtures and replacing missing drawers and cabinet covers to be done. In March 2015, I performed some of the most vexing repairs myself (I run a small residential repair service company ******** *********** ********* ***) and sent invoices to MHP. The new property manager, Elizabeth I******** has failed to process invoices and have consistently refused to address other outstanding repair issues, thus failing in her legal duty as agent to the lessor of this unit.

Desired Settlement: I worked briefly for MHP from June - November 2014, as one of their approved repair firms, so they have previously paid invoices for work I performed on other properties they manage. Thus, they are well aware of my skill level and quality of work. I ask that MHP reimburse the invoices I have sent them in a timely manner.

Business Response:

Re: I.D. #********

Dear Mick,

Thank you for the letter regardingour former tenantMr. **** Slovak. On March 1, 2013, Liz I******** took over management of this property.  On March 11, she received an email from **** and he notifiedher of the broken light fixttues.  He sharedwith Liz that this issue was not handled by the former agent Tracy C******.

OnMarch 11,  2013, Liz informed the tenant that she receivedhis email (see attached) and that she notified an electrician to complete the repair.  In that same e-mail, she reminded the tenant that we could not renew his lease.  (Theowner refused a lease extension because **** paid late each month and he also had several house rulesviolations.)  Oncehe found out that he was denied a lease extension, he got very upset. See e-mails.  He neededto pay the rent and vacate by April 13th because we gave him 45 days notice.

Later, we received a call back from the electrician sayingthat he made several attemptsto make an appointment  with **** but **** said he was too busy to schedule an appointment.

Then we received a bill from**** saying that he did the repairand wanted to be paid.  He was not authorized to do this repair and he is not a licensed electrician.

We only used his services a couple time in 2014 and stopped using his services because he was a difficult person to do business with.

Inthe meantime, due to non-payment of rent, we filed for evi.ction and hired an attorney. We told **** that we will try to work out paymentfor these repairs.  The attorney is trying to work out a payment resolution.

Since he did not pay rent and did not vacate by April131h, wegained the writ of possession on Thursday April 3oth andwe gave him 4 days to vacate the property.  The process server went back to the property onMonday May 41h with the hopes that **** had moved out. Unfortunately, he did not vacate. Even though we gave him 4 extra days to move, ratherthan immediately lock **** and all his belongings out of the unit, we allowed him the day to remove all his belongings. The process server stayed to oversee this process.

Ourattorney, **** *************** ** ***, is currentlytrying to talk to **** and work out all the financial issues.  I have approved payment for these repairs but it is all being handled throughthe attorney because**** owes for past rent, late fees, attorneysfees etc.

We are sad to see a tenant situationturn to this and hope things can be worked out peacefully sowe can come to a good resolutionfor all parties.

Thank you for allowingus to share our perspective. Should you have any furtherquestions, please do not hesitateto contact me at

* *
Cheryl K*******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Marie Hansen Properties, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)