Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Hawaiian Properties, LTD.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hawaiian Properties, LTD.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 539-9777 Fax: (808) 521-2714 View Additional Phone Numbers 1165 Bethel Street, 2nd Floor, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.hawaiianprop.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate and investment services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hawaiian Properties, LTD. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hawaiian Properties, LTD. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hawaiian Properties, LTD.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 22, 1984 Business started: 07/30/1929 Business started locally: 07/30/1929 Business incorporated: 06/20/1974 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20299310-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20269412-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB18914.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB8372.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB251.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB13285.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dass Ramadass, President Mr. Kevin Agena, Vice President Mr. Dass Ramadass, Executive Vice President/Treas Mr. Franklin M. Tokioka, Chairman of the Board
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dass Ramadass, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Developers

Alternate Business Names
Marina Hawaii Vacations

Additional Locations

  • 1165 Bethel Street, 2nd Floor

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 539-9777

  • PO Box 38078

    Honolulu, HI 96837 (808) 791-1264

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 539-9589(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being billed for scheduled work on my carport that was never performed. You are trying to charge me a parking stall cleaning fee of $150.00. No cleaning of my stalls (1-D) was performed on 02/20/14. No repairs were performed on my stalls (1-D). There was no damage to my stalls and the contractors who did repairs performed no repairs on my stalls. Someone did steal the door mat that my wife had placed in one of the stalls. The mat was placed in the stall after its only repair that was performed 5-6 years ago. Either my stall number was placed on your list in error or it was placed there on purpose knowing that no repairs were needed. The ************* (board members) do not like me and my family. Regardless of these facts you are trying to force me into paying for work that was never done to my parking stalls. The first letter of intent to repair my stalls was received last year. I took vacation on the dates that repairs were to be performed on my stalls. I was outside watching the contractors perform repairs NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED ON STALLS 1-D. NO CLEANING WAS PERFORMED. I contacted the property manager about this several months ago and someone was sent to my townhouse to take pictures of my stalls for evidence of repairs other than the one that was performed 5-6 years ago. It was evident that no other repairs were performed ever.

Desired Settlement: cancel debt of $150.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ May 23, 2014 Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#**********************) - ***** ******* Dear Ms. *****, In response to Complaint Case #******** (Ref#**********************) by ***** *******. All Owners/Residents of Association of Apartment Owners (AOAO) ****** was sent a Notice, dated August 30, 2013, informing them of the following: "On Wednesday, September 11, 2013 from 8:00 a.m. till 5:00 p.m., ** ******* Services will begin preparations for asphalt seal coating and striping for the parking area, weather permitting. First, they will be performing repairs to individual parking stalls." "While assessing the project, we noticed various parking stalls having damage to the asphalt caused from oil leaking from vehicle(s) and cannot be cleaned and require a portion of the asphalt to be cut-out and new asphalt installed." "The following listed individual parking stalls will be repaired; however, those parking next to a listed stall below, must also vacate its stall. The contractor will need the space(s) adjacent to the work area in order to perform the repairs. The following individual parking stalls that will require repair:" "Stalls: 1A, **, 2B, 3A, 4A, 4B, 9D, 11A, 4C, 14A, 14C, 15C, 16A, 16B, 17A, 17D, 18A, 18B, 20A, 22B, 23B and 25A." ... Again, Owners/Residents of Association of Apartment Owners (AOAO) Liolio was informed that they may be subject to asphalt repair charges as follows: "SEAL COAT ON DRIVEWAY. For those of you who had work done in your parking stall/s before the final seal coat, just a heads up....there will be a charge of approx. $150 per stall, similar to the last time this was done. This is for the extra preparation needed to remove damaged asphalt from oil leaks or other drippings. It is only fair that this charge be assessed against individual units since one person's leaky oil should not be another's expense." When the repairs were completed, Contractor, ** ******* provided Management with a copy of the Plot Plan of the parking area, which indicated the repaired individual parking stalls. Those parking stall Owner's that was identified as being repaired by the Contractor, was issued a letter in February 2014 informing them of the charges. The following was noted in the letter: "******* Oil Damage Repairs to Individual Parking Stalls. As indicated in our August 30, 2013 Notice and the November/December 2013 Newsletter; we informed everyone, in preparation for asphalt seal coating the Contractor will perform necessary repairs to individual parking stalls to remove damaged asphalt from oil leaks or other drippings and the approximate cost of $150 per repair/stall will be assessed back to the stall/unit Owner(s) responsible." "Your parking stall was repaired and the nature of the asphalt repair(s) is not considered a common expense and must be reimbursed to the Association..." When receiving the BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#**********************) - ***** *******; I contacted the Contractor, ** ******* to re-verify that in fact parking stall ** was repaired. Contractor advised that parking stall ** was in fact repaired; as noted by the Contractor "Oil spot stall **. You can see the seam of the patch on the left and also the oil already starting to drip on new sealcoat." On May 20, 2014, the Complaint was presented to the Association's Board of Directors for review and consideration. The Board voted unanimously that the charges for asphalt repairs to parking stall ** will not be waived/dismissed since it was repaired. Should you require additional information or a copy of the mentioned Newsletter, Notice and Letter, please do not hesitate in contacting me at ************** or by email ******@hawaiianprop.com. Sincerely, HAWAIIAN PROPERTIES, LTD. Agent for AOAO ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No work was performed on parking stall the noted repair was performed several years prior to this sealing job. I talked with one of my neighbors and was informed that the letter was in error an that management knew about it an not to worry. I agree with you that a seam was painted around around the previous repair. The truck that made that repair necessary was sold two days after that repair was made, about 5 years ago.I informed the person you sent out here to take pictures that the contractor only painted a seam of sealant around the existing repair. For 1/2 cup of sealant you want me to pay $150 for that 2 inch wide painted on sealant. I was identified as needing two stalls repaired what repairs were done on the other and if your board finds no work was done why was it identified as needing work done.No work of any kind will be allowed or paid for without a discussion in person with me before any work is allowed. A letter of intent is not sufficient for any identified work that you will be charging me for without a signed agreement. In the past the board has has used the excuse that the contractor did something when in fact the board made up the document to get what they wanted.I contacted that termite contractor and found out that the document was not from them at all. I suspect this type of paper work is still being produced. So you are trying to say that the repair made was a painted seam around the existing repair. The other owners repairs were removal of damaged area for $150, and mine was painting on sealant approximately 1/2 cups worth for $150. Are you crazy? Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/06/17) */ June 09, 2014 Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#*******-********-4-302) - ***** ******* 2nd Response to May 29, 2014 Comments Dear Ms. Burns, In response to Complaint Case #******** (Ref#*******-********-4-302) by ***** *******. In response to you mentioning "So you are trying to say that the repair made was a painted seam around the existing repair"; I'm not sure what you're saying, Management nor the Board of Directors mentioned anything about the repair only being "a painted seam around the existing repair". Please review our May 23, 2014 response, there is no mention of your repair being only of "a painted seam". In response to "No work of any kind will be allowed or paid for without a discussion in person with me before any work is allowed." Please observe the following Association's governing documents provisions: ARTICLE VI. Administration (ByLaws) Section 1. Management. The Board of Directors shall at all times manage and operate the common elements of the Project and have such powers and duties as may be necessary or proper therefor. As used in this Article VI, the term "common elements" shall mean the common elements of the Project and shall include the limited common elements appurtenant to the apartment units. Such powers and duties shall include, but shall not be limited to, the following: (2) Maintenance, repair, replacement and restoration of the common elements and any additions and alterations thereto;... This means the Board of Directors have the authority to perform necessary repairs on the common elements, including the limited common elements which include all parking stalls. DECLARATION 4. DIVISION OF PROJECT. The project shall be divided into separate freehold estates and common and limited common elements as follows: (4.3) Parking Stalls. There shall be total of 191 parking stalls, 176 of which will be set aside and designated as limited common elements, each of which will be at least 20 feet long and 8 1/2 feet wide... (4.6) Limited Common Elements. The following portions of the common elements shall be set aside and designated as limited common elements: (a) The above described 176 parking stalls, two parking stalls to be set aside and reserved as appurtenant to each apartment unit for the exclusive use of the owner thereof, as shown on the said Condominium Map; This means the parking stall is a limited common element, not owned by the Owner of the Unit. Owners have exclusive use to the stall(s) assigned to the unit. Therefore, in regard to your statement "No work of any kind will be allowed or paid for without a discussion in person with me before any work is allowed. A letter of intent is not sufficient for any identified work that you will be charging me for without a signed agreement.", the Board is not obligated to obtain your permission to make necessary repairs to the common or limited common elements. In regards to what the Board did in the past, I will not comment or respond to those statements for it does not relate to the matter at hand and I have no information about what happened. However, I will say, should you doubt these charges and information given to us by the Contractors, you are more than welcome to contact them directly. The Association was charged for your parking stall (D1) repairs and the Association paid the Contractor for your stall repair; if you wish to contact the Contractor to request reimbursement to the Association, we would be more than happy to remove the charges from your account. Contact ** *******, Dene Schnaible at 682-4414. Should you require additional information, please do not hesitate in contacting me at ************** or by email ******@hawaiianprop.com. Sincerely, HAWAIIAN PROPERTIES, LTD. Agent for AOAO ****** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since you quote the stalls are common element and you expect me to pay for any repairs I would like to see the bill that says$150 dollars worth of work was performed on the stall. If $150 worth of work was not performed I will not pay $150.Send me a copy of the contractors charges that total $150.I do not believe $150 was charged by the contractor or paid by management. Regards Owner of ******** ***** *******

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harassment , unjustified , overlooked the proper lease 2,400.00 for *** *** road

Desired Settlement: Security deposit in loss of merchandise

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ We took over management of *** *** Road commercial space on January 1, 2012. The tenant's security deposit listed in the lease is $1,200.00. However, the prior managing agent forwarded $1,350.00 the security deposit which was then applied to tenant's security deposit account. The tenant's security deposit was not returned because it was used to cover legal charges and re-keying expense as the tenant was evicted from the premises due to defaulting on the insurance requirements of his lease. The tenant was also in arrears with unpaid rent totaling $5,222.75, so the balance of the deposit was applied to this. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Insurance was not the reason for the eviction in there later it states the reason why they evicted us in their own words Please refer back to the document that I uploaded and again we were in your the only insurance that was necessary that we had for three years prior to them coming on board later on they wanted us to have insurance which is not required for mobility scooters no insurance is required however we still wound up paying for the insurance company they recommended which again we can pull up the receipts on that within 30 days they have already sent us a eviction letter and the purpose was utilizing the back parking stall which clearly states in our agreement with the previous landlord that we were renting that star it's in black and white on the lease agreement Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/02) */ There is no denial that we mailed the uploaded letter dated March 5, 2012. However, that was just one of several issues we were addressing at the time. Regarding insurance, the former Owner of the property may not have required you to secure insurance but it is our job as the managing agent to follow the terms of the Lease (Section 5.1 of the signed Lease) and to protect the new Owner and demand coverage from you. On April 19, 2012, the insurance company informed us that your policy was canceled due to non payment of the policy that had just been secured. Our attorney was immediately notified and he sent a certified letter also dated April 19, 2012 demanding that you secure liability coverage (as required by section 5.1 of the signed Lease) within 5 days or the Lease would be terminated, with the premises returned no later than May 4, 2012. Since you failed to secure coverage and we you did not contact our office to return the property by May 4, the attorney filed a complaint in District Court on May 8, 2012. You failed to show up in Court on May 22, 2012 and eviction papers were subsequently filed in Court and served to you. on or about May 30, 2012, you contacted our attorney and asked for two weeks to remove your personal items - note this request was approved. However, due to your failure to vacate and return keys, on June 19, 2012, the Sheriff met with the storage/moving company to remove all personal possessions within the space. All personal items removed from the premises were transferred to the location designated by you, at "**** ***** Road". Therefore, your request for "security deposit in loss of merchandise" is baseless.

12/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03 October 2013, I received a telephone call from **** ******, Sr. Administrative Assistant at Hawaiian Properties LTD (HP). She informed me that my tenant at ******* ******** St. #*** was in violation of a condo association rule for hanging an Oregon flag outside his window. Mrs. ****** further informed me that she had been sending letters since March 2013 and that each letter had been returned to her office by USPS for incorrect address. Despite not knowing of the violation, I have been charged follow-on penalties with interest since March 2013. The charges now exceed $300.I changed my address last January from Dolphin Green, NY to Lark Avenue NY and then from Lark Ave NY to Atlanta GA. Each time I notified HP via telephone. Not only did HP fail to update my address from Lark Ave NY to Atlanta GA in their systems, they also didn't change it from Dolphin Green NY to Lark Ave NY!! I have been paying my bills on-time through automatic bill-pay, and in correct amount, since I purchased my property in 2008. Something went astray and I am certain this is not my fault.What bothers me most is that I informed HP twice that I was relocating. Moreover, each monthly management check I send them has my new address on it. Instead of reaching out to me they sent penalties to the wrong address and even charged me interest. Even more incredible, Laurie called my cellphone on 03 October 2013 to inform me of the violations after I had already accrued them for 8+ months? What took so long to pick up the phone? Could she not have done it sooner? It is common sense to look at the address on the check or the telephone number on file. I would have gladly fixed these violations if I knew of them!!!I am hoping you can help me resolve this issue. I don't feel it is appropriate to be saddled with the violations or the interest they have accrued. I do not live on the island and feel like I am being taken advantage of because I am not available to defend myself.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to pay the initial violation fee of $25 and not the add-on fees or interest accrued.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/07) */ RE: BBB Case ******** Please see attached response from property manager ***** ***** regarding complaint filed by **** ******. Should You have any questions, please feel free to contact me at (808) ***-****. Sincerely, **** ******* President Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/12/03) */ From: **** ****** (mailto:*****@hawaiianprop.com) Sent: Monday, December 02, 2013 4:31 PM To: **** ******** Subject: Second Response by Property Manager- Case #******** Hello Mr. ********, Please see attached file regarding BBB Case #******** which consist of the following: Letter from Company President Second Response Letter from Property Manager, ***** ***** Copy of the Consumer Response to Business Response Please acknowledge receipt of this email. Should you have any questions, please call me at ***-****. Thank you. **** ****** Executive Assistant Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2013/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HP is managing my unit therefore it is their responsibility to make sure when a tenant moves out to do a walk through and make sure everything is ok. HP rented my unit and authorized a big glass shelf display to be moved from living room to the bedroom. Despite I emailed several times to have it moved back to where it belong, but failed to do so. Even after the tenant moved out it was not taken care off. Now the unit is rented by a new tenant and the display case is broken. They don't want to take any responsibility of it. I asked them If they could replace it after the current tenant moves out to put back to where it belong, they refuse to do it. From today I am no longer their customer, I no longer have them manage my unit anymore. There is also missing things, might be small, but still it is their responsibility to update their inventory. I am very much disappointed, since I have been their customer for many years.

Desired Settlement: I would want Hawaiian Properties to replace the Showcase or Reimburse. Because it was due to their negligence the showcase is broken.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/04/09) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* ********* Contact Phone: ******** Contact Email: **********************.com Aloha, In order to furhter address this complaint, we would need to know which property the customer is calling from. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 16, 2013/04/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) To whom it may concern, I appreciate your response. When the previous tenant moved out, I asked the display case to put back to where it was, before the new tenant moved in. When the display case was initially moved, the property manager of Hawaiian Properties was there to allow the move, and later I was informed. I Understand there is no written or signed documents that states the display case should not be moved, but I called your office, and mentioned to the property manager to make sure the display case is put back to the same place when the previous tenant moves, or have someone move it, because I had a feeling if its in the room, it might be used as bookshelf or personal use, which might be heavy for the glass case to hold. My unit is being rented for quite a long time, nothing has happened to the glass shelf until it was moved, and I am sure the handyman refused to move, because it is very fragile. After this current tenant moves out I will have to hire someone to move which is an extra hassle for me, I even asked HP if you could move after this current tenant moves out, but never got any response, than I had to contact BBB. Anyways, I thank you for your business!!! Business' Final Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/04/10) */ The last tenant vacated on November 30, 2011. Contrary to what the owner is claiming, a check out inspection and walk through was held on that day, November 30, 2011. The glass display case was not damaged when the prior tenant vacated. There is no indication from Ms. ***** in the signed Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. Management Agreement that the glass display case is required to remain in the living room. The new tenant then moved in on December 5, 2011. Ms. ***** requested the following day on December 6 after the new tenants moved in that the glass display case be moved back to the living room. However, the new tenants who moved in did not want it moved into the living room because they did not want it damaged due to more frequent traffic in the living room. A handyman who did prior maintenance work for Ms. ***** also refused to move it. The display case is quite large and is largely made of glass. The current tenant notified the assigned Property Manager several days prior to a scheduled walk through (on February 7, 2013) that a glass shelf broke in the display case. The tenant claims that one glass shelf broke and cracked while tenant was resting and not in contact with the display case. During the inspection, the Property Manager inspected other shelves in the display case and noted that there were only tiny dowels supporting the shelf weight. Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. will not reimburse Ms. ***** for the cost of the display case for the following reasons: 1) the Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. Exclusive Residential Property Management Agreement that was signed by Ms. ***** has a Hold Harmless clause, which states in part "Owner agrees to hold Agent harmless on account of any damage to the Property or from loss or damage to any furniture, fixtures, other articles therein, and from any and all injury to any persons or persons whomsoever, from any cause whatsoever in or about said Property...." ; 2) there is nothing on file indicating that the display case shall remain at all times in the living room; 3) the display case is not shattered nor unusable - only 1 shelf broke - so replacement of the entire display case is not reasonable; 4) Ms. ***** has also canceled management services with Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. and therefore, any attempt to collect damages from the current tenants for the breakage of the glass shelf would be her responsibility.