Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hawaiian Properties, Ltd.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 539-9777 Fax: (808) 521-2714 View Additional Phone Numbers 1165 Bethel St Fl 2, Honolulu, HI 96813 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers real estate and investment services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hawaiian Properties, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 1984 Business started: 07/30/1929 in HI Business started locally: 07/30/1929 Business incorporated 06/20/1974 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20299310-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20269412-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RB18914.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RB8372.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RB13285.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dass Ramadass, President Mr. Kevin Agena, Vice President Ms. Kristi Hirota, VP of Business Development Mr. Dass Ramadass, Executive Vice President/Treas Mr. Franklin M. Tokioka, Chairman of the Board
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kristi Hirota, VP of Business Development
Principal: Mr. Dass Ramadass, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Real Estate Developers

Alternate Business Names
Marina Hawaii Vacations

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1165 Bethel St Fl 2

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 539-9777

  • PO Box 38078

    Honolulu, HI 96837 (808) 791-1264


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to lack of parking at my Waikiki home, I parked at Hawaiian Properties ***** ****** ****** garage. This garage is monitored my ********* security. I paid the rent of $115 for May 2016. Friday evening 5/6, my fob card that allowed me to enter/exit the garage stopped working. The polite security guard viewed my ***** ***** Statement, showing the checked cashed for parking rent, and stated I could exit and take the issue to the office Monday morning. He gave me a few validation stickers, to be used on the ticket I would have to take upon entering the garage. These stickers would allow me to exit. May 8, I accidentally forgot the validated parking ticket in my home. Hoping to be on time for Mother's Day dinner with my out of town mom, I asked the polite man near the office door if I could exit, showed him the ***** ***** statement. He turned said "let me check with my supervisor. Can this lady leave? She has proof of paying her rent" The supervisor said no and would not look me in the eye when I pleaded that I wanted to get to Mother's Day dinner. He said I would have to pay the lost ticket fee. Upon driving out, only he polite man was present. I asked if I could not pay the fee, as he saw my cashed check. He said "my supervisor said I have to call HPD if you ask to not pay the lost ticket fee". Monday morning I asked the office for a refund. The refused to refund me, but said they would fix the FOB card error. I made an appointment with the manager, as I felt I deserved a refund. The next day, the office called to cancel my appointment with management and said I was being evicted from the garage and had to be out but the end of the month. Being afraid of the company wrongfully towing my car or making my FOB malfunction again, I stopped parking in the garage immediately. I then had to find new parking, a near impossible task in Waikiki.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for $120 refund. $35 for the original lost ticket fee. The parking I eventually found in Waikiki was $200 for the month of June. If I had not been unjustly evicted, my garage rent would have been $115/month, therefore I am seeking the $85 difference. I moved the month of July, so this increased rent is no longer an issue.

Business Response:

***** ****** ****** is an association and contracted its security services through *********.  Hawaiian Properties is the association’s property management company.  We were provided with the following information from the site office employees and security staff. 


On May 8th, Ms. ******* could not exit the parking lot because she said that she forgot her parking ticket at home.  Security explained to her that she needed her parking ticket or parking card to exit the parking lot.  Otherwise, she needed to pay the lost ticket fee.  Ms. *******’s mother started to yell and scream at the security guard.  She wouldn’t stop yelling and swearing so the security guard said they would call HPD if she didn’t comply with the rules.  Finally, Ms. ******* paid the fee. 


Later that week, Ms. ******* was talking to a site office employee about wanting a refund for the lost ticket fee she paid; however, she never provided the parking ticket she initially said she forgot at home.  She started yelling at the site office employee and Ms. ******* was told that her behavior was unacceptable.  Then, Ms. ******* said, “If I get raped walking on the Ala Wai, I will hold you responsible!”  At that point, the office employee said that they needed to terminate her parking at the end of the month.  Later, Ms. ******* came back to the office and requested to cancel her parking effective immediately.  The office submitted a check request to Hawaiian Properties for $75.00 ($40.00 for the returned parking card and $35.00 refund for 1 week of parking).  Hawaiian Properties mailed the check to Ms. ******* on June 1, 2016.


In addition to the incident above, Ms. ******* was not following the parking rules.  The parking card can only be registered to one vehicle.  Ms. ******* was reminded of this rule but continued to park two different vehicles on several occasions.    


Based on the actions of Ms. *******’s guest (mother), her interactions with the site office following the incident, and non-compliance of the parking rules, it was determined that Ms. *******’s monthly parking needed to be terminated.  In reviewing the information provided by the site office employees and security guards a refund for the lost ticket fee and difference in parking rates will not be given.

8/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hawaiian Properties keeps sending me bills that we are late in payment. The billing is for the use of the Recreation Center in ******* *******. They have been charging a late fee of 25.00. I have paid the late fee and wrote to them that I never got a bill in the first place. I explained to them that my parents are elderly 88 and 91 and have moved to a senior facility and I am trying to help them pay their bills. They are the legal owners of the home. They are starting to show signs of dementia. I wrote to them and asked them if there is a better way to pay this bill like an automatic deduction form. No reply to any of my requests for 6 months. I have paid all the late fees up to this point and I am not paying again after getting another letter in the mail yesterday. Again stated I never go a bill in the first place so how can I be late? I found out from a friend of mine who lives here that there is a coupon book. I do not have this book. Why don't they respond to any of my letters so we can resolve this problem with billing? Somebody is asleep at the wheel and is not doing their job. Please help me resolve this.

Desired Settlement: Solution: To resolve this issue of late payment and create a payment plan where funds are automatically deducted. There needs to be paperwork submitted to do automatic deduction.

Business Response: Our VP of Business Development spoke to Ms. ***** on 7/12/16,  7/13/16 and 7/19/16 and also via email to resolve her complaint.  Ms. ***** requested a refund of $50.00 that she paid (two late fee payments of $25.00) because she did not receive a bill.  Hawaiian Properties mailed 4 coupons for the quarterly payments in the budget mailing packet that went out last July.  Ms. ***** stated that she did not receive the coupons; therefore, Hawaiian Properties will mail a refund check of $50.00.  Ms. ***** also requested an automatic deduction form.  Our VP of Business Development emailed Ms. ***** the Surepay application form on 7/12/16 and mailed a hard copy on 7/13/16 to Ms. *****’s parent’s house per her request.  On 7/19/16, Ms. ***** confirmed that her mother received the Surepay form and they would fill it out.  Unfortunately, Hawaiian Properties did not receive any of the letters from Ms. ***** or would have responded in a timely manner.  We greatly appreciate Ms. *****’s time in resolving this issue and are available should she need further assistance in the future.  Thank you.   

Consumer Response: ***** ***** ***** ****************************  ***** ******** **** *** **** **** ** *** **** ********************* ******** ********* ********* ******** ********* ********  ******** *********** *** ********** ** ***** *****

Problems with billing has been discussed and hopefully solved, but I still have not received my refund of 50.00 as promised.  So technically it's not 100% resolved.

From ***** *****

Sent from my ******

Business Response: The check was cut on July 25 and mailed on July 26.  The check was received on July 28.  

7/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Management has not given me the go ahead to repair my condo. I acquired my permits. One in June of 2015 and the amended permit in February 2016.I am bombarded with extremely high bills from a company called *** ltd. I have asked property management for a payment schedule but have had no response. I have written a letter to the AOAO board asking for a payment schedule and hopes of no longer using ***, but no response. My attorney also wrote a letter on April 2016, no response. Letters have been sent to Hawaiian properties attorney. For What???? Just asked when I can begin repair and a payment schedule.

Desired Settlement: Go ahead to repair my condo, and Hawaiian Properties LTD and Attorney Ekimoto and Morris stop their oppressive and excessive forcing me to pay for what I feel are unnecessary charges.

Business Response:

This case involves a homeowner who, without permission from her condominium association and without acquiring the requisite City & County permits, began renovation of her apartment using an unlicensed contractor to do the work.  The unlicensed contractor cut a trench into the concrete foundation slab of the unit that created a dangerous condition affecting the structural integrity of the building and removed a wall, causing damage to a cable television line servicing the unit and others.  The condominium association had to take immediate action to prevent further damage, including having its legal counsel contact the owner to stop the work on the unit and prevent further damage.


As a result, a structural engineering firm was hired to investigate and evaluate the situation and the damages caused by the contractor, and to make recommendations as to what additional work needs to be done to ensure the safety of the condominium structure.


In response, the homeowner hired an attorney to act on her behalf.  From that point forward, all communication was legally required to be done between the attorneys representing both sides.  The homeowner has since submitted plans to the association along with a payment plan to address outstanding assessments owed to the association.  Those plans have been approved by the Association and are to be done by a licensed contractor on the condition that the structural engineering firm oversees the repairs.


The homeowner has asked that the Association’s lawyers and the structural engineer not be involved any further.  The Association is not agreeable with that, and as the Managing Agent for the association we cannot agree to that either.  The Association is concerned that the repairs have not been done, but they are equally concerned that those repairs be done properly to avoid any future problems. 


In the end, if the homeowner does the repairs properly, the additional costs should not be substantial.  As the managing agent, we cannot compromise when it comes to the safety of the project, its owners and its residents. 

5/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We sold our unit in a complex managed by Hawaiian Properties on March 12, 2016. On April 11th the monthly maintenance fee was withdrawn from our account. We contacted the company and they acknowledged the mistake. We were told we would be refunded the amount during a phone conversation and e mail correspondence with the accounting department. It is May 19th and we still have not received a refund check for the amount mistakingly withdrawn. We are asking for the amount if the monthly maintenance fee ($410.94) and the fee we paid to hawaiian properties during escrow ($35) to handle the transfer of our data since it clearly was not done. Our real estate company and agent will provide the "transfer fee" paperwork on request.

Desired Settlement: Reimburse the amount withdrawn and the fee we paid to Hawaiian properties to transfer our information since it was not done. Our mailing address has been previously provided to them.

Business Response:

On 5/19/16, our VP of Business Development called Mr. **** and left a voicemail.  On 5/20/16 Mr. **** returned the call and spoke to our VP of Business Development.  She confirmed with Mr. **** that his unit closed on 4/12/16 and mentioned that the closing was after April’s Surepay deduction.  Escrow also collected for April’s maintenance fees which is the standard procedure due to the timing of the unit closure.  The refund check of $410.94 was mailed on 5/19/16 and our VP of Business Development will follow up with Mr. **** on 5/25/16 to make sure that he received the check.  She also mentioned that the $35.00 fee is not a Hawaiian Properties fee. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience to Mr. **** that this situation has caused. 

12/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a billing and customer service issue. This complaint is addressing HP, namely Reiko M*****. I feel she has failed as a property manger to myself as well as my building. Upon moving in I did not receive any information or instruction on the maintenance fees and what is provided with those fees. Due to the lack of knowledge I asked for my accounting and billing information from Reiko via email. She failed to get back to me causing further late fees and frustration. My bank statements verify payments being sent and received via recommended payment method, within the payment period but I am still acrewing 7 months worth of late fees. When asked to look into this matter the response one month later was "I forgot". At no time was I given the needed information, such as, basic maintanence information, payment information, allotted grace period, and what was included in my maintnece fee. To my dismay, included in the maintenance fee is digital cable which I have been paying for but was not made aware I had. There are many more complaints such as failure to return calls, failure of communication, failure to notify residents of problems in the building, failure to verify ownership at a voting board meeting, failure to disclose votes and proxies, to name a few. I was asked to take down a one foot lattice due to house rules violation but Reiko's response to a violation from another unit was, " there is no way to enforce rules, we do not have a fining system". In my opinion this becomes discrimination but I know the BBB does not handle that. I am making this complaint due to the on going and continuous lack of professionalism, communication, and service. It is frustrating and upsetting when owners ask for help from Reiko and are met with resistance or simply no response. I am making this complaint because it is now affecting my money. I can provide further details and emails if necessary. I appreciate your help.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting all delinquent fees be waived and the cable payment for 8 months be reimbursed due to a service I was not receiving nor made aware.

Business Response: Ms. *** ****** finalized and closed on the purchase of her unit number *** at **** ****** through *** ******** ***** * ****** ** ******* **** on December 2, 2014.  At that time Ms. ****** was provided with the associations governing documents and a buyer's disclosure (RR-105C enclosed) that defined what the monthly maintenance fee covered, such as electricity, water, sewer and cable.  The December 2014 maintenance fee payment was made by Ms. ****** at that closing.  Follow up payment information
was provided to Ms. ****** via regular mail service on December 4, 2014 (enclosed). Ms. ****** pays the monthly maintenance fee using a bill payer method through her financial institution.  Unfortunately the financial institution does not mail the payments to Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. within payment due date to avoid late fee charges. Payments received by regular mail service prior to 3:00 p.m. are posted on the owners account same day as received.  Ifreceived after 3:00 p.m. payments are posted the next day. As indicated on her ledger (enclosed), the only payment received on time was the September 2015 payment. As directed by the associations governing documents, a late fee was assessed to her account when not received by the 10111 of each month.  Statements were sent to Ms. ****** each month the payment was not received on time.

Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. has no authority to waive late fees assessed to Ms. ****** 's account without Board of Directors approval.  However, the Board of Directors of **** ****** has been informed that Ms. ****** has requested that all late fees assessed to her account be waived and has also requested reimbursement for cable payments made because she was not aware that cable was provided through her monthly maintenance fee.  We will notify Ms. ****** in writing of the Board's decision after their next meeting scheduled for Tuesday October 6, 2015.


Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. 


Consumer Response:

This is my second complaint to BBB and the problem is only getting worse. My account is continuously assessed late fees and I have bank statements showing my payments being cashed on time. I spoke to my bank and they said they have many problems between Hawaiian Properties and their account holders. A Hawaiian Properties Reprsentative gave me a statement of my account but never told me why I have late fees. Nothing has ever been explained to me and giving me an account statement is not an answer to my questions. VP Mr. John J***** never got back to me with the issue on my account like he said he would via a phone call I had with him. After emailing him and requesting a meeting, again he never got back to me or responded to my email. He ignored my request for an in person meeting. I did not give the BBB an update to my first complaint because there as no update to give. I was waiting on a response from Mr. J***** in which I did not receive. I feel I am not getting answers and being fraudulently assessed late fees when my payments are not late. I would like the BBB to look into this on going matter I am having with Hawaiian Properties.

I would like the late fees that were fraudulently charged to my account to be waived or reimbursed. I would also like an explanation of these so called late fees as well as Mr. J***** attending a meeting as requested.

Consumer Response:   Not all the past payments were late and I do have proof which is the bank statement that I already provided.  After speaking to my bank I was told the "c***red" date is when the check was cashed.  I do acknowledge that some of the months , mostly the beginning of the year when my H.P. account was created, were late.   Who spoke to an ***** ******* ******* ****** ***** representative to get clarification on the process of the online bill payment or was it H.P. assuming what the process is and BBB taking their word for it?   I heard a lot of guessing in the explanation from H.P. 

 My most recent payment which was November 2015 was a hard copy check I mailed to Hawaiian Properties.   I did not send it via certified mail, which I should not have to for a bill payment.  I am trusting that the company is honest enough to acknowledge the received  date and process it in a timely manner.   I mailed the November payment on Oct 29th, the same date that is reflected on the check.   I am trusting the day payment is received is the date they are reflecting on my account.  Vice President  John J***** could not give me a definitive answer when asked if the mail was check daily and when.  I seen in the explanation from Hawaiian Properties to BBB that it would be processed if received before 3pm.  All of the information and reply that BBB got from H.P.  was never given to me nor was I informed of the procedures.    H.P.  refuses to give me any information or answers after several emails and calls.   I have still not gotten any answer till this day from H.P.  

Again, I have a bank statement showing the hard copy check was cashed, processed, and cleared on Nov 6th.   This means Hawaiian Properties received my check well before that date.  Accord to an employee at my bank it takes one day processing for them to cash the check so Hawaiian Properties had to have took my hard copy check to the bank on Nov 5th or prior in order for the funds to be taken out on the 6th.  Once again, that is well before the 10 day grace period.   Yet, I am still being charged a late fee for the month of November.  That does not add up if my check was cashed and money taken out of my account on November 6th.  

Thank you, 

*** ******

Consumer Response: ***** *** ********************************  ***** ******** ******** *** **** ***** ** *** **** ********************* ******** ********* * ********

To The BBB, 

I would like to give you an update in regards to my on going complaint.  Hawaiian Properties emailed me yesterday stating I am being charged on going late fees for the three late fees in February, March, and April in which I have been disputing since June and have received no answers until yesterday.  I feel I should not pay a total late of $225 for three months of late fees which I have been disputing with no answers since June.  How can you continue to charge someone for fees they are disputing and ignore all emails and calls?  

I would like this added to my on going complaint of Hawaiian Properties and their gross negligence in customer service. 

Thank you, 
*** ******

Business Response: From: Irma Bondoc [] 
Sent: Tuesday, December 22, 2015 4:09 PM
To: Kaina Kelley <>
Subject: ID 10806787, *** ******

Hello Ms. Kelley,
Per our phone conversation this morning, please see attached our response to the complaint submitted by *** ******,  ID #10806787.  Attached as well is the response letter sent to Ms. ****** by property manager, Reiko M*****. 

May we request confirmation of receipt of this email?  

Much mahalo!   
Irma B***** ********* ********* ******    ************   ****        ************ *******   ********************** ***** ***** ********

7/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is ** ***, filing a complaint on behalf of **** *** who doesn't speaks English.I submitted 2 maintenance fee payments on behalf of **** *** to Hawaiian Properties. The payments were made on their company website and the money has been deducted from my bank account. However **** received a letter from Hawaiian Properties saying that her maintenance fee was not received. I spoke and emailed the payment receipts to Hawaiian Properties accountant Ellen L******. She told me to contact my bank see if the check has been cashed, and she would wants me to send her front/back copy of the cancelled check. I was confused because I submitted the payment online, there were no checks being issued. So I called my bank, they told me the payments was deducted from my checking account to Hawaiian Properties. I also went to their company website to call the customer service number listed. The representative told me that the status of the payment is still pending. And no any additional information is provided.I feel upset. I got receipts and bank statement clearly states that **** *** resides at ******* **** apartments submitted payment to Hawaiian Properties, but Ellen still claimed that payment was not receive. I feel like a ball being kicking around. There must be a mistake somewhere, but Hawaiian Properties didn't make any effort to seek answer. I've made numerous emails and calls to seek what went wrong but got no answer. I got no other options but seek help from BBB.PS. Dear BBB, I can forward you the emails, payment receipts and bank statement if you needs it.

Desired Settlement: I need Hawaiian Properties to follow up on this matter. Remove the late fees, and credit the payments to **** ***'s account.

Consumer Response: Dear ***** ******,

I am please to inform you that my issue with Hawaiian Properties has been resolved.  After numerous of calls and emails, they finally located the payments.

Thank you very much for your time,

** ***

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The roof on my townhouse leaks in over a dozen places.Three of the leaks have made holes in the ceiling. Two of the holes have according to the management sent inspector mildew (another term for mold) black in one area and green in the other. The leaks in the roof have not been fixed for over 6 months. I am a ********, my wife is 60 years old,my grand son is 8 months old. We are being exposed to this because of lack of concern by management. The ceiling that contains the mildew needs to be removed the leaks in the roof.need to be repaired. I pay $322 per month maintenance fee and nothing is being done. My family's health is at risk please help us.

Desired Settlement: Replace roof with one that does not leak remove damaged mildew ceiling and replace.

Business Response:

Dear *** ********,

In response to your letter dated April 22, 2015 BBB ID ******** is a valid complaint by the owner of the unit located at ****** **** *** ******* **** **** however the complaint should have been addressed directly to the *********** ** ********* ****** *** *** ***** ** ********* for appropriate action.  Hawaiian Properties, Ltd. is the managing agent for the association and therefore take appropriate actions for the repair and maintenance of the common elements, such as the roofs as directed by the Board of Directors.


Hawaiian Properties, Ltd.
***** *** **** *** ***
Vice President

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the roof still leaks and there are several holes in the ceiling with mildew that has of yet no been addressed. The property manGement is responsable for the repairs.


***** *******

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Targeting homeowners by Hawaiian Properties at ******* ** *******. Following is my response to a letter received from Michael G***, property manager for ******* ** *******. Through my response letter, details of the issue w*** be apparent:I am responding to your letter of February 4, 2015 regarding your request to replace our utility door.First of all, I did respond to you and explained that the door was put up by one of the Associations maintenance crew members whom we paid directly. At that time, you might recall that Lyn and his crew would do work for owners. I asked them if they would replace the door with an appropriate door. They selected the door, purchased it, painted it, and installed it for which I paid them. My assumption at that time was that they would use the appropriate style of door as they worked as the maintenance crew for our area. The current door has been up for several years now. Why was I not notified shortly after the door was installed if that it was inappropriate? If it was wrong, we could have fixed it immediately. As it stands, the door seemed to have been acceptable up until now. What has changed since that time that now makes the door unacceptable now, when it had been acceptable prior? Please send me the change in writing by March 15th so that I can better understand the reasoning behind your letter to subject me to the fining schedule. Your decision to harass me on this issue certainly feels arbitrary and I feel that I am being targeted as there is no clear reason why a door that had been acceptable for the past several years has suddenly become unacceptable.Secondly, I submitted a request on the standard form for repairs to have our fence repaired several months ago and never heard back. When I responded to you about the utility door, I asked you for an update on the fence and have not heard a word back from you on that issue not even what the plans are nor a tentative date for replacement. I am asking you again, in writing, to respond.

Desired Settlement: If you believe my position is appropriate, please ask them to stop the harassment of sending me notices. If they want the door, which I paid their staff to select and install, to be changed, I believe they should do it. Thank you for your assistance.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********,

I am writing*** regarding ***r letter dated Wednesday, March 18, 2015, regarding case number ********.

I have read Mr. ******* ***'s statementand w*** providesome background and information regarding his complaint.  Mr. *** is a homeowner in the Heightsat Wailuna, which is a Community Association which is governed by the Board of Directors (Board). We act on behalf of the Board and take our direction from them. One of the House Rules the Board has been enforcing for the past year is utility doors and buildingmaintenance. Mr. ***'s door was identified as having a problem. His specific issue is that the door was installed upside down and needs to be corrected.

In the past, the Board had no issue if the homeownerswanted to hire Association staff for side jobs but that was their own decisionjust as if they were hiring any other contractoror handyman.  By Mr.***'s own admission,he did not follow the proper procedureand submit a requestto the Architectural Committee and took it upon himselfto hire someone to replace his utility door even though this type of work requires Architectural approval and would be a House Rules violation for doing exteriormodifications without such approval.

Attached is email correspondence with Mr. *** explaining the issue with his utilitydoor and regarding the fence repair project that has begun.  Mr. *** has been informed that he can attend any Board meeting and has been notified of date, time, and locationof the meetings. Mr. *** has chosen not to attendthese meetings to make any direct appealsto the Board.

In summary, we have responded to all of Mr. ***'s correspondence in a timely manner and have laid out all of his options.Unfortunately, Mr. *** seems to confuse his responsibility with regard to theutility doors becausehe hired staff that also worked for the Association.  Ultimately, Mr. *** w*** need to correct his utility door if he would like to resolve his House Rulesviolation and his fence w*** be addressed as the fence repairs capital improvements project has alreadybegun.

If *** need more information, I would be happy to provide *** with the Architectural Guidelines, House Rules, Governing Documents, or any other information that might help better understand Mr. ***'s situation. All ofthis information can also be found at


//.j/     /,/

//     I       /$

HAWAIIAN PROP      T. I L D.     ;;
L- vV
Michael G***

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the employee of the Association's contracted management firm installed the door (and was paid).  I did notice that the door vent was at the top rather than at the bottom and I questioned this.  He informed me that the vent should be at the top because warm air rises and can exit that way.  As a member of the crew hired by the home owners' association that worked our subdivision area daily, I accepted his response.  (Initially, I asked him why it wasn't a louvered door and he informed me that the door he was going to put on was acceptable.  Again, he had worked around the houses daily for years and was hired by the Association so I accepted his response).

Now, several years later, I am informed that the door was incorrectly installed.  Why did it take years to determine that?  The association schedules walk-throughs several times per year.  Had I been informed soon after the door was installed that it was installed incorrectly, I would have had the person correct it.  Instead, the door has been up for years which would imply acceptance by the association since it has passed through several walk-throughs over the years.  Why is it suddenly not acceptable?  The utility door is a very visible item - difficult to be an oversight.

Also, within the immediate vicinity of our house, there are numerous houses with utility doors that do not match the required specifications.  What are the statuses of those utility doors? Why have they been allowed to remain unchanged over the years as well?


******* *** 

7/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being billed for scheduled work on my carport that was never performed. You are trying to charge me a parking stall cleaning fee of $150.00. No cleaning of my stalls (1-D) was performed on 02/20/14. No repairs were performed on my stalls (1-D). There was no damage to my stalls and the contractors who did repairs performed no repairs on my stalls. Someone did steal the door mat that my wife had placed in one of the stalls. The mat was placed in the stall after its only repair that was performed 5-6 years ago. Either my stall number was placed on your list in error or it was placed there on purpose knowing that no repairs were needed. The ************* (board members) do not like me and my family. Regardless of these facts you are trying to force me into paying for work that was never done to my parking stalls. The first letter of intent to repair my stalls was received last year. I took vacation on the dates that repairs were to be performed on my stalls. I was outside watching the contractors perform repairs NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED ON STALLS 1-D. NO CLEANING WAS PERFORMED. I contacted the property manager about this several months ago and someone was sent to my townhouse to take pictures of my stalls for evidence of repairs other than the one that was performed 5-6 years ago. It was evident that no other repairs were performed ever.

Desired Settlement: cancel debt of $150.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/23) */ May 23, 2014 Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#**********************) - ***** ******* Dear Ms. *****, In response to Complaint Case #******** (Ref#**********************) by ***** *******. All Owners/Residents of Association of Apartment Owners (AOAO) ****** was sent a Notice, dated August 30, 2013, informing them of the following: "On Wednesday, September 11, 2013 from 8:00 a.m. till 5:00 p.m., ** ******* Services will begin preparations for asphalt seal coating and striping for the parking area, weather permitting. First, they will be performing repairs to individual parking stalls." "While assessing the project, we noticed various parking stalls having damage to the asphalt caused from oil leaking from vehicle(s) and cannot be cleaned and require a portion of the asphalt to be cut-out and new asphalt installed." "The following listed individual parking stalls will be repaired; however, those parking next to a listed stall below, must also vacate its stall. The contractor will need the space(s) adjacent to the work area in order to perform the repairs. The following individual parking stalls that will require repair:" "Stalls: 1A, **, 2B, 3A, 4A, 4B, 9D, 11A, 4C, 14A, 14C, 15C, 16A, 16B, 17A, 17D, 18A, 18B, 20A, 22B, 23B and 25A." ... Again, Owners/Residents of Association of Apartment Owners (AOAO) Liolio was informed that they may be subject to asphalt repair charges as follows: "SEAL COAT ON DRIVEWAY. For those of you who had work done in your parking stall/s before the final seal coat, just a heads up....there will be a charge of approx. $150 per stall, similar to the last time this was done. This is for the extra preparation needed to remove damaged asphalt from oil leaks or other drippings. It is only fair that this charge be assessed against individual units since one person's leaky oil should not be another's expense." When the repairs were completed, Contractor, ** ******* provided Management with a copy of the Plot Plan of the parking area, which indicated the repaired individual parking stalls. Those parking stall Owner's that was identified as being repaired by the Contractor, was issued a letter in February 2014 informing them of the charges. The following was noted in the letter: "******* Oil Damage Repairs to Individual Parking Stalls. As indicated in our August 30, 2013 Notice and the November/December 2013 Newsletter; we informed everyone, in preparation for asphalt seal coating the Contractor will perform necessary repairs to individual parking stalls to remove damaged asphalt from oil leaks or other drippings and the approximate cost of $150 per repair/stall will be assessed back to the stall/unit Owner(s) responsible." "Your parking stall was repaired and the nature of the asphalt repair(s) is not considered a common expense and must be reimbursed to the Association..." When receiving the BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#**********************) - ***** *******; I contacted the Contractor, ** ******* to re-verify that in fact parking stall ** was repaired. Contractor advised that parking stall ** was in fact repaired; as noted by the Contractor "Oil spot stall **. You can see the seam of the patch on the left and also the oil already starting to drip on new sealcoat." On May 20, 2014, the Complaint was presented to the Association's Board of Directors for review and consideration. The Board voted unanimously that the charges for asphalt repairs to parking stall ** will not be waived/dismissed since it was repaired. Should you require additional information or a copy of the mentioned Newsletter, Notice and Letter, please do not hesitate in contacting me at ************** or by email ****** Sincerely, HAWAIIAN PROPERTIES, LTD. Agent for AOAO ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No work was performed on parking stall the noted repair was performed several years prior to this sealing job. I talked with one of my neighbors and was informed that the letter was in error an that management knew about it an not to worry. I agree with you that a seam was painted around around the previous repair. The truck that made that repair necessary was sold two days after that repair was made, about 5 years ago.I informed the person you sent out here to take pictures that the contractor only painted a seam of sealant around the existing repair. For 1/2 cup of sealant you want me to pay $150 for that 2 inch wide painted on sealant. I was identified as needing two stalls repaired what repairs were done on the other and if your board finds no work was done why was it identified as needing work done.No work of any kind will be allowed or paid for without a discussion in person with me before any work is allowed. A letter of intent is not sufficient for any identified work that you will be charging me for without a signed agreement. In the past the board has has used the excuse that the contractor did something when in fact the board made up the document to get what they wanted.I contacted that termite contractor and found out that the document was not from them at all. I suspect this type of paper work is still being produced. So you are trying to say that the repair made was a painted seam around the existing repair. The other owners repairs were removal of damaged area for $150, and mine was painting on sealant approximately 1/2 cups worth for $150. Are you crazy? Final Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/06/17) */ June 09, 2014 Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#*******-********-4-302) - ***** ******* 2nd Response to May 29, 2014 Comments Dear Ms. Burns, In response to Complaint Case #******** (Ref#*******-********-4-302) by ***** *******. In response to you mentioning "So you are trying to say that the repair made was a painted seam around the existing repair"; I'm not sure what you're saying, Management nor the Board of Directors mentioned anything about the repair only being "a painted seam around the existing repair". Please review our May 23, 2014 response, there is no mention of your repair being only of "a painted seam". In response to "No work of any kind will be allowed or paid for without a discussion in person with me before any work is allowed." Please observe the following Association's governing documents provisions: ARTICLE VI. Administration (ByLaws) Section 1. Management. The Board of Directors shall at all times manage and operate the common elements of the Project and have such powers and duties as may be necessary or proper therefor. As used in this Article VI, the term "common elements" shall mean the common elements of the Project and shall include the limited common elements appurtenant to the apartment units. Such powers and duties shall include, but shall not be limited to, the following: (2) Maintenance, repair, replacement and restoration of the common elements and any additions and alterations thereto;... This means the Board of Directors have the authority to perform necessary repairs on the common elements, including the limited common elements which include all parking stalls. DECLARATION 4. DIVISION OF PROJECT. The project shall be divided into separate freehold estates and common and limited common elements as follows: (4.3) Parking Stalls. There shall be total of 191 parking stalls, 176 of which will be set aside and designated as limited common elements, each of which will be at least 20 feet long and 8 1/2 feet wide... (4.6) Limited Common Elements. The following portions of the common elements shall be set aside and designated as limited common elements: (a) The above described 176 parking stalls, two parking stalls to be set aside and reserved as appurtenant to each apartment unit for the exclusive use of the owner thereof, as shown on the said Condominium Map; This means the parking stall is a limited common element, not owned by the Owner of the Unit. Owners have exclusive use to the stall(s) assigned to the unit. Therefore, in regard to your statement "No work of any kind will be allowed or paid for without a discussion in person with me before any work is allowed. A letter of intent is not sufficient for any identified work that you will be charging me for without a signed agreement.", the Board is not obligated to obtain your permission to make necessary repairs to the common or limited common elements. In regards to what the Board did in the past, I will not comment or respond to those statements for it does not relate to the matter at hand and I have no information about what happened. However, I will say, should you doubt these charges and information given to us by the Contractors, you are more than welcome to contact them directly. The Association was charged for your parking stall (D1) repairs and the Association paid the Contractor for your stall repair; if you wish to contact the Contractor to request reimbursement to the Association, we would be more than happy to remove the charges from your account. Contact ** *******, Dene Schnaible at 682-4414. Should you require additional information, please do not hesitate in contacting me at ************** or by email ****** Sincerely, HAWAIIAN PROPERTIES, LTD. Agent for AOAO ****** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Since you quote the stalls are common element and you expect me to pay for any repairs I would like to see the bill that says$150 dollars worth of work was performed on the stall. If $150 worth of work was not performed I will not pay $150.Send me a copy of the contractors charges that total $150.I do not believe $150 was charged by the contractor or paid by management. Regards Owner of ******** ***** *******

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Harassment , unjustified , overlooked the proper lease 2,400.00 for *** *** road

Desired Settlement: Security deposit in loss of merchandise

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ We took over management of *** *** Road commercial space on January 1, 2012. The tenant's security deposit listed in the lease is $1,200.00. However, the prior managing agent forwarded $1,350.00 the security deposit which was then applied to tenant's security deposit account. The tenant's security deposit was not returned because it was used to cover legal charges and re-keying expense as the tenant was evicted from the premises due to defaulting on the insurance requirements of his lease. The tenant was also in arrears with unpaid rent totaling $5,222.75, so the balance of the deposit was applied to this. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Insurance was not the reason for the eviction in there later it states the reason why they evicted us in their own words Please refer back to the document that I uploaded and again we were in your the only insurance that was necessary that we had for three years prior to them coming on board later on they wanted us to have insurance which is not required for mobility scooters no insurance is required however we still wound up paying for the insurance company they recommended which again we can pull up the receipts on that within 30 days they have already sent us a eviction letter and the purpose was utilizing the back parking stall which clearly states in our agreement with the previous landlord that we were renting that star it's in black and white on the lease agreement Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/02) */ There is no denial that we mailed the uploaded letter dated March 5, 2012. However, that was just one of several issues we were addressing at the time. Regarding insurance, the former Owner of the property may not have required you to secure insurance but it is our job as the managing agent to follow the terms of the Lease (Section 5.1 of the signed Lease) and to protect the new Owner and demand coverage from you. On April 19, 2012, the insurance company informed us that your policy was canceled due to non payment of the policy that had just been secured. Our attorney was immediately notified and he sent a certified letter also dated April 19, 2012 demanding that you secure liability coverage (as required by section 5.1 of the signed Lease) within 5 days or the Lease would be terminated, with the premises returned no later than May 4, 2012. Since you failed to secure coverage and we you did not contact our office to return the property by May 4, the attorney filed a complaint in District Court on May 8, 2012. You failed to show up in Court on May 22, 2012 and eviction papers were subsequently filed in Court and served to you. on or about May 30, 2012, you contacted our attorney and asked for two weeks to remove your personal items - note this request was approved. However, due to your failure to vacate and return keys, on June 19, 2012, the Sheriff met with the storage/moving company to remove all personal possessions within the space. All personal items removed from the premises were transferred to the location designated by you, at "**** ***** Road". Therefore, your request for "security deposit in loss of merchandise" is baseless.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hawaiian Properties, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart