BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2011

Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc., The

Find a Location

Phone: (808) 293-0600Fax: (808) 293-047156-565 Kamehameha Hwy, KahukuHI 96731-2202 Send email to Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc., The

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management for vacation rentals on the north shore.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2011

BBB has determined that Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc., The meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc., The's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc., The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: I was falsely accused of several rule violations which resulted in a $200 non authorized credit card charge that was not refunded.
I rented a condo from The Estates At Turtle Bay from July 24- July 27 2013. The day after check out I received an email stating my card had been charged $200 for rule violations, extra cleaning fee, and a late check out. All of these allegations are false, the company had confused my unit with another. I contacted the company several times before receiving a call back to discuss the false charges. After speaking with the manager of the company several times over a months time, she refused to refund my money. The reason for the refusal to refund my money was because I had posted a negative review about my experience with the company on the internet.

Initial Business Response
RE: Case #********: ***** ***
Dear ******* ********,

This Customer stayed with us in condo 81 West from July 24 to July 28.

He was part of a wedding party that occupied two other units. I personally called him 7/25 after we received complaints from neighbors and Security and continued to call as Complaints came in.

I am enclosing copies of the complaints we received from neighbors, our security and also copy of housekeepers invoice which I sent to ***** as well.

He claims that it was not them, that they were not in the unit at the time of the complaints. I told him I would look into it further and get back to him.

I spoke with security again and with neighbors, also our housekeeper. Both stand by their claim. The other units were also left in much the same condition, they were charged extra for excess cleaning and damages, no for late check out. We received and apology from one of the other tenants. They did not dispute our findings.

I genuinely tried to resolve this problem, I was trying to give him the benefit of the doubt, however, Mr. *** posted that they rented several units and we charged them all for violation of rules and for extra cleaning after they all left the units clean and did not violate the rules. This was clearly not the case, as the other two units did agree to our findings. Mr. *** clearly was not honest in his comments therefore I could not in good conscience negotiate with him further.

Yours Truly

******* * ******
****** *******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/13/2003Business started: 02/09/1996
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301
Honolulu, HI96813-2946
(808) 586-3000
http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors
Honolulu, HI96813
(808) 587-4272

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425
Honolulu, HI96806-1425
(808) 587-4242
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app

BBB records show a license number of RB17426 for this company, issued by DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing. Their web address is http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/pvl. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2014.

Type: Real Estate Broker

Check License Status: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/info/RB-17426-0

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of RB16829 for this company, issued by DCCA Consumer Resource Center. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2014.

Type: Real Estate Broker

Check License Status: https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/info/RB-16829

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of W20506214-02 for this company, issued by State of Hawaii Department of Taxation. Their web address is http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app.

Type: General Excise Tax

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1996, HI

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cynthia R. Files (President)
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
The Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Fire Protection
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
You Need to Hold an Estate Sale... Where to Begin?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc., The

56-565 Kamehameha Hwy

Kahuku, HI 96731-2202

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Hawaii. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Estates At Turtle Bay, Inc., The is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Hawaii's BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 02/01/2013 for complaints filed on 11/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.