Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carmel Partners, Inc.

Phone: (512) 484-4552 PO Box 2220, Ewa Beach, HI 96706


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management and rental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carmel Partners, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carmel Partners, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carmel Partners, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 2010 Business started: 11/06/2007 in HI Business started locally: 11/06/2007 Business incorporated 09/14/2007 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB19712.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB12069.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W55070090-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Dana Beckstead, Regional Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Dana Beckstead, Regional Manager
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2220

    Ewa Beach, HI 96706

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took DOCU signed the lease on 5-22-14 I was billed 5-21-14 . I do not want a credit I was being charged for my utilities since 5-21-14. I docu signed my lease on 5-22-14 @ 2:33pm according to my email. I then moved in on the day I moved I was shown how to use my breaker box I never use my A/C, I moved in with only luggage no electrical appliances. I was charged for utilities starting 5-21-14 A day before I actually moved in. I never ask for a credit. My bill arrived I paid. However, I called the company (NWP) to question the amount of how the charges worked. it was explained. I then received a new bill that was very expensive as well as incorrect. I called the company as well as the rental office I was told at this time my meter was broken,and my bill was based on the past years useage. ( I was not the tenant in the past year and this was and estimated bill) I was also asked how many people live in my home?A customer service representative @(NWP) named ***** stated that my useage was far to low for one adult to use, with three disabled children!! I asked when will it be fixed and was and was told again I don't know ? A slight credit was given a the moth of June. The July bill has arrived on July 21 2014 again it is the same problem, mean time I have been monitoring my useage by shutting down my breaker box , no A/C , NO COOKING on the stove,I wash two loads of clothes once a month there are electrical appliances being used in the house , not even the hot water heater, no lights in the daytime we live like savages(these are shut down from the breaker box) and I have been doing this since 5/22/14 which was the day I moved in . We did I not buy a TV for two weeks, with the gift cards that the complex provided. We only had a laptop to watch. Also I planted a garden with permission and the office told the pest control man to spray my vegetable garden on the 8/28/14 which is located behind my locked gated in my backyard not near my gate or fence. I have photos. Now I have no food to eat, because now my garden has been poisened. My lease is improperly dated making void I took it to a lawyer.With me being charged for a day of utilities prior to me taking possession of the unit, also the dating of the lease and the overcharging of utilities , (by arriving at the estimated rate of my utilities useage based on the past tenants consumption rate when it should be my actual useage that I am paying for),And the violation of my right to quiet enjoyment by the spraying of poison on to my vegetable garden that is located in my backyard which the office knew was there and had given prior permission to grow as well as had previously discussed the issue of had having the pest control spray my garden in July. I feel like I have harrassed as well as my rights for quiet enjoyment have been violated. Also there is the issue of the lease being done incorrectly.

Desired Settlement: Meter fixed, lease amended.Corrected billing starting with 6/10/14

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

To start my statement I would first like to say we pride ourselves in Customer Service and we always try to put our customer needs as a priority. In regards to the concerns that pertain to the lease agreement with Kalaeloa Rental Homes and ****** *****, the lease start date of the lease is May 22, 2014 and ends on May 21, 2015. The lease was signed and executed by ****** ***** via email and DocuSign on May 21, 2014 however did not begin until May 22, 2014. ****** ***** took possession of the home on May 22, 2014 and was not billed for rent or utilities until that date. I understand that there could have been some miscommunication with the lease start date because the lease was emailed one day prior to the official start date and could have been confusing.

In regards to the pest control concern, we would not give permission for our pest control company to spray anyone's garden and we truly apologize if there were any misunderstandings to the pest control service that we provide. We spoke to pest control manager and he assured us that they were never in the backyard of Mrs. *****'s home.

Finally, in regards to the utility billing concern, I pulled Mrs. *****'s utility bills and I confirmed that billing for the home did not start until May 22, 2014. We spoke to our utility billing company, NWP and we were advised that they would be issuing a credit for the previous months that the utility bill was estimated due to the meter being inoperable. We were also advised that NWP would be repairing the meter and or replacing if necessary. All of our utility meters are handled through NWP and when they need to be repaired or replaced they are done by NWP. Our office does not handle meter repairs.

In closing I would like to say that we will continue to put our residents and customers concerns as a priority and we value their opinions. We are truly apologetic for any confusion between Mrs. ***** and our leasing office. We are more than happy to assist with any other concerns that Mrs. ***** may have.

Thank you, I look forward to a speedy resolution to this residents concerns.

***** *****
Community Manager

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response, under state law it is the responsibility of the management to fix the repairs within a certain amount of time by law. Also I have proof by billing statements that I was billed for the period of 5/21/14 of which I did not reside within the residence. I Also have proof that my garden was sprayed by the pest control because I have progressive photos of my garden as well as photos of poison that was used on my garden. While it's the same poison used on the flowers in the front of my house. Also the management has been using retaliatory measures such as having security shine there headlights into my bedroom window at night , trying to enter unit for unnecessary inspection when I've no need for inspection there was a service call in my unit this month , as well as a regularly AC service., and yet the management company continually ties to gain access to my unit. I believe that this in retaliation.

Business Response: From: ******* *****
Sent: Thursday, September 25, 2014 8:07 AM
To: Better Business Bureau
Cc: ***** *****; ***** ********
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#****************************)

Aloha!

We will continue to attempt to work with this resident as long as it takes to work towards a resolution to their concerns. It is challenging to work with this customer, but we will do our best to make sure at the end of the process they are happy.

Thank you!

******* *****
Regional Manager
** *** **** *** ****** ** *****
Office: ************
Email: ********************************
********************** ************************

Please consider the environment before printing this email

PRIVILEGED AND CONFIDENTIAL: This e-mail message is intended only for the use of the individual or entity to which it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged, confidential and should be distributed only after permission is granted by the sender. If you are not the intended recipient, please do not disseminate, distribute or copy this communication, by e-mail or otherwise. Instead, please notify us immediately by return e-mail (including the original message in your reply) and by telephone (you may call us collect in San Francisco at **************) and then delete and discard all copies of the e-mail. Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carmel Partners, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)