Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers services of a contractor specializing in plumbing, sewer, and drain repair, service work and remodeling.

Electronic Leak Detection

Repipes

Residential and Commercial

No Plumbing Job too big or too small, we handle it all!


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve's Plumbing Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve's Plumbing Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

53 Customer Reviews on Steve's Plumbing Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 52
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 53

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2009 Business started: 11/13/1987 in HI Business started locally: 11/13/2000 Business incorporated 03/31/2005 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C26778.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is PM9013.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W06281070-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C26779.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Huffman, President Mr. Matthew Huffman, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew Huffman, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Steve Huffman, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Card, Cash, and Check
Refund and Exchange Policy

100% Satisfaction Guarantee! - If you are not happy with our service today, you don't pay until you are completely satisfied.

If its not right, we make it right, or its free.

Service Area
Maui
Industry Tips
HOW TO CHOOSE A PLUMBING COMPANY

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Steve's Plumbing Service Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 270 Lalo St Ste 101

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 96-1225 Waihona St Unit A

    Pearl City, HI 96782

  • PO Box 6121

    Kahului, HI 96733 (808) 871-5325 (808) 874-5325

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Steve's plumbing on the morning of May 3, 2016. The dispatcher informed me technician would be on site between 3 - 5 p.m. on the same day. She also mentioned there would be a $39.95 fee for the call. I agreed to the cost and took 1/2 a day off work. Two technicians finally showed up at 5:30 p.m. Stuart, the lead technician, indicated he could make repair with no problem! It will take about 15 minutes. He cut the *** water supply line and did "NOT" have proper material/parts available before doing so. It is my belief, this action alone prevented me from going with another company. So they embarked on a parts run, and when they finally did return, they had the wrong size fitting. At 7:00 p.m. after going to a few plumbing suppliers, to no avail. They gave up, and said, well we tired! Stuart's response was, well I guess, I'll have to come back tomorrow, if I'm not on another call. To add insult to injury, Stuart said I would have to pay $100.00 deposit. So I gave him master card debut card and he indicated it went through. Well, after checking my account the next morning, I was appalled, shocked, dumfounded to see he charged me $432.29. And no repairs had been made yet. Also worth mentioning, Stuart tried getting me to agree to replacing all the *** plumbing fittings throughout my home at $219.00 each; there are a total of 8 fittings throughout my home. He further tried to get me to agree to replace my water heater. No price was mentioned for the water heater replacement. I told him, there was nothing wrong with the fittings or water heater. I thanked him, and requested he repair just the one that's actually leaking. Fast forward next day. I called their office in the morning and informed the dispatcher of the debut charge. Her reply was, maybe he was in a hurry and accidently charged me the full amount, and said she was sorry

Desired Settlement: Fair reasonable price/refund for half of the $435.58 charged.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

I attempted to contact Mr. ****** to see why he had an issue with our service. I was very confused to see this. Usually if we have any issues, the customer contacts us while the technician is still on the jobsite since our invoices require the customer to accept the work before they pay. They also sign before we start the work as well agreeing to the price and the work. If you look at the attached invoice, you can see both signatures of the customer agreeing to the price and the work. Nevertheless, I always want to listen to the customer and see how the service went. I spoke to my technician and he has told me that he had to find some outdated plumbing parts, and found them at a small plumbing supply store in Honolulu. He went to get the parts and returned to complete the work the next day. Our technician did charge the full amount of the job, except for Oahu tax difference, at the end of the first day of work which he was supposed to collect only a 25% deposit the first day. That was our mistake. I can understand Mr. ****** being frustrated with that, and also saying that he did not want our technician to do any additional work after we completed the work he originally agreed to. In order to resolve the issue, I personally called Mr. ****** and offered to send another technician out to review the work and make sure that he is completely satisfied with our service and to see if their was anything else we could do to make sure he was taken care of. I also offered him a full refund to make sure that he is satisfied and to apologize about collecting full payment before the work was completed. Mr ****** refused both options and said he wants nothing to do with our company.  We completed all of the work and collected payment and Mr. ****** signed accepting the work before paying the remaining balance.

I still am willing to do whatever it takes to make sure Mr. ****** is completely satisfied with our service. Whether it be a full refund, or sending a technician out to his home to make sure that all of the work was up to the standards of Mr. ******, but at this time Mr. ****** refused both options.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The Technician is not being totally honest of what actually happened. I've had a change of heart and request full refund!

Sincerely,

****** ******

12/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the worst Plumbing co. i have ever dealt with.First of all, they sent two unqualified employees to my house to check the shower drain pipe and they determined it needs to be dug up and replaced. One of the employees named Scott writes up a contract for all the work totaling $6728.81. We signed the contract and gave him a deposit which they require of $1682.00. Then a day before they are supposed to start the job a guy that called himself a supervisor or foreman named Deven looked at the job and said that there is no way that they can do the job for the contracted price that we had in writing and signed by both parties. The foreman Deven said it was going to cost twice the amount of our contract. we canceled the job and asked that our deposit be returned. he said ok fine. It is now 30 days later and we have still not received the deposit back.

Desired Settlement: The contracted work was never started therefore, the deposit of $1682.20 needs to be refunded.

Business Response: Hello,


Our customer has been refunded in full. The customer's name is ****** ***. The gentlemen who posted the review was his caretaker. I am not sure if he was aware that ****** has been refunded or not. We went to the jobsite on 12/4/15 and let them know that the price for their was going to be a little more. They decided not to move forward, so we agreed to give them a refund of their deposit and let them know that we would mail them a check out for their deposit. We sent a check out that week and for some reason they did not receive it within a week. Two days ago, we then decided to put a stop payment on the check and went to his bank and deposited the full refund for the customer. We called the customer one hour later and they have confirmed that received their full refund. Customer stated that they were happy and grateful for the refund.

Thank you,

Matthew H******
General Manager

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely, the only reason this resolution is satisfactory, is because, ****** *** finally did get his deposit money returned. The deposit check was written and given to steves plumbing on 11/20/15. refund was finally paid back on 12/22/15.  FYI, the original contract was written and signed for a total of $6728.81 steves plumbing then said that that was wrong and told Mr. *** the job was going to cost close to $13,000. witch is NOT "JUST A LITTLE MORE". Is that the right way to do business? you should even refund the $52.00 initial visit charge. I will never use this company again.  Aloha 

  
***** ******

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor tried to charge me for repairs not agreed to. The cost was overestimated by several hundred dollars; they also damaged my water heater. On 9/3/13 I spoke with company representative (****) to get a quote for repair of my water heater at my condominium. She explained to me that an estimate would cost $29.50 to dispatch a technician to assess what repairs are needed. On 9/4/13 my wife was contacted by the repair technician (*****) who requested her to pay $328 for repair of the water heater. Interestingly, our tenant had also called and informed us that the technician had only reset the thermostat. My wife queried why she was not contacted to agree to any repair first and, she also expressed her concern as to why the cost was so high just to reset a button. After talking to my wife, I called the main office and spoke with ****. She changed her story and tried to convince me that the cost of repair was the actual estimate cost. I told her she was trying to hustle me, and that I would report her to the local authorities. So, I did. I submitted a police report with the Maui Police Department. I also included in my police report, a picture of my missing water heater thermostat. The technician (*****) had actually gone back to my apartment and illegally removed my thermostat, after we informed him that we would not pay the gouging cost of repair. This is appallingly unacceptable. I never agreed to any repairs, nor did I ever sign a contract to make the un-agreed to repair. My property was thus, stolen, and the water heater, vandalized.

Desired Settlement: Fix thermostat and repair all damage at no cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/10) */ Based on the customers concerns and issues with ***** Plumbing Service we investigated the customers complaint. Talk to dispatch department and the service technician that represented the company. It was found that we were at fault, not getting prior authorization before services were rendered to customer that was located out-of-state. I have taken the necessary steps to ensure that this error on the service technicians behalf will not happen again. He has been suspended for one week and we do apologize for not getting prior authorization before we provided service. I have reached out to the customer in order to apologize and offer our services to repair his water heater at no charge to customer. I the owner ***** take great pride in providing good customer service and if any of my employees that fall short in this area will be reprimanded and disciplinary action will be taken in order to maintain good quality service and a good business relationship in our community. We do have policies and procedures in place for our technician to diagnose the job and give the customer a price in advance of providing service so the customer is always aware of the cost before services are rendered. Once again we truly apologize to the customer for falling short and not providing him with the service that he deserves.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

53 Customer Reviews on Steve's Plumbing Service Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart