Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Steve's Plumbing Service Inc

Phone: (808) 871-5325 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 6121, Kahului, HI 96733 http://www.stevesplumbingmaui.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers services of a contractor specializing in plumbing repair, service work and remodeling.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve's Plumbing Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steve's Plumbing Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Steve's Plumbing Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2009 Business started: 11/13/2000 Business started locally: 11/13/2000 Business incorporated 03/31/2005 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C26778.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is PM-9013.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W06281070-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C26779.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Huffman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Huffman, President
Business Category

Plumbers

Refund and Exchange Policy
100% Satisfaction Guarantee! - If you are not happy with our service today, you don't pay until you are completely satisfied.
Service Area
Maui

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Steve's Plumbing Service Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 6121

    Kahului, HI 96733 (808) 871-5325 (808) 874-5325

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor tried to charge me for repairs not agreed to. The cost was overestimated by several hundred dollars; they also damaged my water heater. On 9/3/13 I spoke with company representative (****) to get a quote for repair of my water heater at my condominium. She explained to me that an estimate would cost $29.50 to dispatch a technician to assess what repairs are needed. On 9/4/13 my wife was contacted by the repair technician (*****) who requested her to pay $328 for repair of the water heater. Interestingly, our tenant had also called and informed us that the technician had only reset the thermostat. My wife queried why she was not contacted to agree to any repair first and, she also expressed her concern as to why the cost was so high just to reset a button. After talking to my wife, I called the main office and spoke with ****. She changed her story and tried to convince me that the cost of repair was the actual estimate cost. I told her she was trying to hustle me, and that I would report her to the local authorities. So, I did. I submitted a police report with the Maui Police Department. I also included in my police report, a picture of my missing water heater thermostat. The technician (*****) had actually gone back to my apartment and illegally removed my thermostat, after we informed him that we would not pay the gouging cost of repair. This is appallingly unacceptable. I never agreed to any repairs, nor did I ever sign a contract to make the un-agreed to repair. My property was thus, stolen, and the water heater, vandalized.

Desired Settlement: Fix thermostat and repair all damage at no cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/10) */ Based on the customers concerns and issues with ***** Plumbing Service we investigated the customers complaint. Talk to dispatch department and the service technician that represented the company. It was found that we were at fault, not getting prior authorization before services were rendered to customer that was located out-of-state. I have taken the necessary steps to ensure that this error on the service technicians behalf will not happen again. He has been suspended for one week and we do apologize for not getting prior authorization before we provided service. I have reached out to the customer in order to apologize and offer our services to repair his water heater at no charge to customer. I the owner ***** take great pride in providing good customer service and if any of my employees that fall short in this area will be reprimanded and disciplinary action will be taken in order to maintain good quality service and a good business relationship in our community. We do have policies and procedures in place for our technician to diagnose the job and give the customer a price in advance of providing service so the customer is always aware of the cost before services are rendered. Once again we truly apologize to the customer for falling short and not providing him with the service that he deserves.

9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service