Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Roto-Rooter Services Company

Phone: (808) 842-5680 Fax: (808) 847-3216 View Additional Phone Numbers 1631 Democrat Street, Honolulu, HI 96817 http://www.rotorooter.com/honolulu/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers drain cleaning and plumbing, pipe repairs and replacements, including excavation..


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter Services Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Roto-Rooter Services Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter Services Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1935 in IA Business started locally: 01/01/1935 Business incorporated 08/14/1990 in IA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20090522-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C32421.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C18126.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Troy Goodall, Sales & Development Ms. Lisa, Accounting Manager Mr. John E. Funk, RME / F.T.M. Mr. Fred Gampong, Plumber
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Fred Gampong, Plumber
Principal: Mr. Troy Goodall, Sales & Development
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Roto-Rooter Plumbing & Drain Services
Industry Tips
HOW TO CHOOSE A PLUMBING COMPANY

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Roto-Rooter Services Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1631 Democrat Street

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 847-2501 (808) 842-5680

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/27/15, I contacted Roto-Rooter Honolulu to address a clog/slowly draining bathtub in my apartment. The technician reported to the apartment and "snaked" the drain pipe: cost $276.44. On 3/29/15, I was notified by the downstairs unit tenant that their bathroom was flooded. I called Roto-Rooter the next morning (3/30/15) to address the issue. The same technician reported the next day (3/31/15) to repair the leak: the source of the flooding was a large crack/hole in the drain pipe. Roto-Rooter charged me an additional $912.50 to repair the pipe that they apparently damaged. There was also no evidence of leaking prior to Roto-Rooter's service in "snaking" the pipe. When asked about repair of the damages, the technician referred me to the local customer service representatives who would direct me to the appropriate personnel. On 4/1/15 and 4/3/15, I called and left messages regarding my complaint and requesting a call back thru their customer service representatives. I have not yet received a call back as of today (4/10/15). In the meantime, the downstairs unit bathroom walls were not drying despite the dehumidifiers and airfans; to prevent mold build up, the walls required immediate replacement resulting in added cost. On 4/10/15, I contacted the Roto-Rooter customer service department, requesting to speak to the manager for a follow up. Even after explaining that I have not yet heard a response, the customer service representative was insistent that they could not give me an email nor a direct number for the local manager. Extremely disappointed at the entire situation, I am contacting the BBB to report the lack of professionalism, customer service and accountability.

Desired Settlement: Roto-Rooter needs to be responsible for the incurred damages/costs on the downstairs unit: total cost is $2,205.81. This was currently paid by the downstairs unit. I would also like a refund of the $912.50 for the drain pipe that they damaged (created a hole in). I hope Roto-Rooter will take accountability for their actions and also apologize for how they have handled the situation.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********,

Because of the nature of our business and the methods of a drain cleanening company, we cannot determine the age/condition of the pipes and or fittings that are not exposed or hidden inside the walls and/or ceilings  It is the policy of our company to make sure all our customers are aware of of the"**** *******" agreement before the start of any work.  Our technicians understand that if this agreement is not signed, they cannot commence work.  I will glad to negotiate the plumbing repair that was done two days later for $912.50.  Please see attached.

**** *******

Assistant Manager

Roto-Rooter Hawaii ****   

3/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plumbing work was done on Saturday afternoon 10/25/2014. After the work was done I asked for an estimate for other work to be performed. A deposit of $6500 was made on the additional work. I called to cancel the work on Sunday, 10/26/2014 (less than 24 hours after the deposit was made). The technician requested a 10% cancellation fee when he came out to the home on Monday 10/27. A check for $680.65 was given at that time. A second complaint is that Roto router had done work on the same sewer line four years prior to the above estimate. That work did not correct the problem.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $685.65.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ***,

In light of discovering that workt was done in 2014 for the same problem, we are refunding the fee that you recently paid.  The work was not authorized by a manager and therefore no supervision was present.  I am offering a permanent solution to fixing the affected system with a substantial discount.  Whatever the cost is to do a complete fix less the charges four years ago.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Assistant Manager, Roto Rooter

Phone *******

Email *********************

 

 

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called at 827am to tell me the tech was 30 mins away. 949am I call, dispatcher states the tech is 3-5 min away. 1030, still no sho says 30 more mins. My family and I waited all morning for a technician that kept delaying the show time. Instead of the tech and the dispatcher calling me to let me know the status, I had to call three times. The initial showtime was supposed to be 9am, but when the dispatcher said it would be 1100am before the tech can show up we had enough waiting and had to cancel. Horrible business practice.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for wasting 3 hours of my families time and a discounted rate to get the work done.

Business Response:

**** ********** ****

Sorry about the scheduling mishap.  Please accept my totally free flat rate service on the next time you have any drain or plumbing problem.  Just make sure you contact me at ********** beforehand.

Sincerly.

**** *******

Assistant Manager/Plumber, Licensed

3/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Acct receiveables could not locate my payment. Once found requested updated $0 bal statement. After repeated requests none has been received. On October 22, 2013 a technician was sent to my residence to clear a clogged drain. Ticket # ********** was issued. at 11:30pm and my payment was processed using a debit card. A few days later I received a call from the Honolulu Roto-Rooter office requesting my card number to process my payment. Not only was I surprised to receive this call, I was also disturbed that I was being asked by your employee for my card information. I assured the caller, **** that payment was made and asked her to check further and get back to me. I continued to receive calls from **** saying that my payment was not made. I was also sent a statement showing my payment still outstanding. During one conversation I asked her to look on her copy of the invoice and note that there was an authorization number as verification of my payment. None the less, I continued to receive calls from her and I continued to refuse her repeated requests for my card information. I was also told that the original invoice could not be located and if I would only provide the missing card numbers then my payment could be processed. I received this call at a doctor's office. I was embarassed as I am sure the staff now believe I do not pay my bills on time. When I returned home I checked my bank records to verify the transaction had gone through. It was posted to my account on October 24, 2013 to Roto-Rooter. I called to pass this information to **** who had gone for the day. I then spoke with **** who was familar with my account. She verified the information that **** had given me. When I assured her that the bank had debitied my account on the 24th she said she could not see it posted in her records as she was looking at reports up to the 22nd. That statement spoke volumes that neither **** or **** understand the very basics of their accounting system. Your technician completed his job at our house at 11:30pm and completed the card transaction after that, close to mid-night. Even if he ran his end-of-day batch it would not appear any earlier than the 23rd in his next batch report. I had already figured out what the problem was and by asking questions walked **** through her accounting system to find my payment. The technician had run his next batch on the 24th. Finally my payment had been found. And this is where the problem and my frustration really begins. At the end of my conversation with **** I requested an updated statement showing a zero balances. She easily said yes to my request and stated that it had been printed and would go out in the next day's mail. It did not arrive as promised. I believe the date was October 29, 2013. I made another call to the local office on November 19, 2013 and again requested a zero balance statement. There were no apologies made and was told that one would be mailed to me. Again, none arrived. I made another call to the local office on December 3, 2013 and left a message I believe with **** requesting to talk to a manager. She asked for information so that when the manager called he would be able to answer my questions. I missed the return call and redialed the caller's number. It was **** who answered the call. I identified myself and was asked none to polietly 'what do you need?'. I asked to speak to a manager and she put me through to a manager, ****. I spoke briefly with **** explaining my request and frustration. He asked for my email address and said a statement would be forwarded to me. It has not arrived. I have also given sufficient time for it to have been mailed to me. If in fact he did followup on my request, it has again been dropped. I am also disturbed that **** intercepted my message to speak to a manager. Other than simply being frustrated and confused that a request for an updated statement has not been honored I have been left to wonder who has my money? Is the accounting dept so unept that they cannot produce a statement or has someone pocketed my payment?

Desired Settlement: The above complaint is from an email forwarded to their Customer Service Co-ordinator on 12/7/2013. The reply I received today, was that I was to receive a contact from **** ****'s management team within 30 minutes. That email was sent to me 5:30am today. I have waited today for that contact and nothing, call or email. So, same response, nothing. I am concerned that my account is still due according to their accounting system and that it will be forwarded to collections. I need a personal guarantee from **** **** and an updated statement noting my payment and that no additional payment is due. I think whomever is responsible for providing this is being told 'do it' and no followup is done to assure it has been done. I am at wit's end. I will not accept any correspondence or call from neither **** or ****. I think the problem is within their department.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/24) */ Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc Attn: ******* ******** RE: Case #********; Mrs. **** ******** I ******** ********** spoke with **** apologizing for the misunderstanding and it shouldn't have gone out of hand if what was done correctly as she requested for a copy of her invoice this incident wouldn't have happen from the beginning..**** accepted my apologize and I learn a lesson from her how to do accounting in the proper way. Sincerely, ******** ********** Consumer Respond to Business Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/12/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I appreciate and accept ****'s apology, I still have not received what I have been requesting for months. During our conversation I again requested a statement showing my payment posted to my account and a zero balance. I do not know how to be more clear. In response to my request during our conversation I received a copy of the invoice I was given by the service tech and a print out of my card transaction. I still have no verification that my account has been credited with my payment and the only statement I have in my possession shows my payment still outstanding. One more time. I need a statement from your accounting system showing date of service, billed amount, payment amount and zero balance due. Any further correspondence should not come from **** but from management. Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/01/20) */ Good afternoon ****, Thank you for the opportunity you've given me to resolve the issues you experienced with our staff in October of 2013. As we discussed last week, I've attached a letter from our General Manager, **** **** detailing how your credit card charges were applied to the correct account, how much it was and your end balance. I have also mailed you a hard copy of this letter including a $50 off coupon. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at anytime for anything by email or phone. Mahalo Nui Loa! ******* ******* Office Administration Roto-Rooter Hawaii ******.*******@rrsc.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/01/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roto-Rooter charged me $1400 for the installation and replacement installation of a bathroom sink faucet and connecting plumbing. In Aug 12 I moved my mother-in-law downstairs. In preparation I had a custom cabinet and counter-top built. Roto-Rooter was called to connect the copper pipes below the sink to the $255 ****** faucet I bought on ******. Charge was $783 (not counting the cost of the faucet). Eighteen months later, we discovered the faucet had no hot water for my 89 year old mother-in-law. Roto-Rooter charged almost $500 to replace this faucet with a $189 ****** (because they could not figure out how to "fix" it. Total cost of the bathroom sink faucet with hot water was almost $1500 (including the cost of two faucets). Wow!

Desired Settlement: None

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/16) */ The affected faucet was installed by the cabinet installer. It might have been a defective faucet. *** has agreed to pay for the replacement faucet we installed and the labor to install it. Cost is 401.15. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Roto-Rooter to remove a garbage disposal and install a new disposal. I provided the new disposal. The work was performed on 10/27/013. Work commenced at 8am and was completed by 9am. I was charge $375 plus tax for about an hour of labor plus transportation expenses. I cleared out under the sink, the Roto-Rooter person did not have to do this. I also assisted by turning off the power, then turning it back on when the work was completed. I also discarded the old disposal. The Roto-Rooter person was friendly and cordial, the price for approximately an hour of mobile labor is a rip-off. Product_Or_Service: plumbing services

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like a partial refund. I wouldn't have mind paying anything close to the going hourly rate for a plumber in Honolulu. If I can't get a refund, I'd like Rotor-Rooter to publish its hourly labor rates for Honolulu so that other consumers don't get surprised and shocked like how I was.I commented to my wife that maybe this was a bit of age-discrimination, i.e., taking advantage of older-looking people; I'm nearing age 70.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/11/25) */ Our flatrate price for removing and replacing an exsisting disposal is 259.00. Our plumbers tell the price before they do any work. Looks like the technician gave you the wrong price and neglected to give you a 10% senior discount. We can give you the correct price with the discount which brings it to $233.10. We can refund you the difference. **** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter Services Company
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart