Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rayco Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 487-7771 Fax: (808) 487-7771 1314 S King St Ste 855, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://raycohawaii.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full scale plumbing installation and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rayco Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rayco Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Rayco Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 1998 Business started: 09/19/1990 Business started locally: 09/19/1990 Business incorporated 03/20/2003 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C30430.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is PJ-9694.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20196824-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C27219.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary R. Vogt, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary R. Vogt, CEO
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Island Rooter & Plumbing, Inc.
Industry Tips
HOW TO CHOOSE A PLUMBING COMPANY

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rayco Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1314 S King St Ste 855

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • PO Box 894441

    Mililani, HI 96789 (808) 487-7771

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rayco failed to honor their online coupon for $125.00 even though ****, the owner, agreed to do so while scheduling the service call on the phone. I sent Rayco an email on Sunday evening 2/10 (copy below). I called them the next morning and spoke to ****. Before committing to a service call, I clearly described what I needed in writing via email sent through his website and over the phone. **** said he was reading the email just when I called. I verbally described what is in the email below. We scheduled a time for the call between 12 and 2 and he said he would honor the coupon. His plumber came, diagnosed the problem, charged $125.00 and told me that the coupon did not apply because that was for a different type of inspection. He did not do any repairs. Please also look on their website because it is designed to give you the impression that the coupon applies to the leak inspection. Additionally, **** became very annoyed with me when I called him to question why he would not honor the coupon. He threatened to place a mechanic's lien on my property if I didn't pay and told me that he wanted to sever doing business with me. He became impatient and annoyed when I asked him questions about the work and mentioned a concern I had about how is plumber was communicating information. Lastly, he had committed to a timeframe between 12 and 2 and told me that 2 pm was the latest he could do a service call. I had to coordinate this with the contractor working in the apartment below who had a representative standing by to wait. **** said he would call the contractor and coordinate the scheduling He never had time to do so. At 1:30 they still didn't show so I called to find out what happened and **** said his plumber was running late. This caused conflict with the contractor who gave me a hard time because the person he had waiting was going to leave. I expressed the concern to ****. **** was angry with me because he felt that I pressured him and told him to call the contractor. (The plumber did arrive just in time and the rep let us in.) Below, please find the correspondence submitted to Rayco via the contact section of their website. Additionally, if you need anything else, please let me know Hello, My name is **** *** ********. I found you on the BBB website and am glad to see that you have a good reputation with them. I own a condo at the *********** in Waikiki (******************). The owner of the condo beneath me is renovating their bathroom. Their contractor called me today and believes that the bathroom drain from my tub is leaking. Their wall is open right now, so it probably wouldn't be too difficult to assess where the leak is coming from. Can you come by tomorrow afternoon to verify whether the leak is coming from my unit or is coming from the vertical pipes or from another unit? I would appreciate an honest assessment. If the leak is coming from the vertical pipes, the condo association is responsible for the repair, as you probably already know. If it is in fact coming from my drain, I am responsible. Please also let me know how you bill to investigate the leak and what you would charge to fix the leak. I just downloaded the online coupon for the free plumbing inspection. Thank you for your attention to this inquiry. Sincerely, **** *** ******** (808) ********

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund in the amount of $130.89 paid today 2/11/13 with a MasterCard.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/03/05) */ From: ***********************.com (mailto:***********************.com) Sent: Tuesday, March 05, 2013 12:42 PM To: ************* Subject: Case #******** Hi ****, Thank you for your time today. As I mentioned on the phone, we had a customer that requested leak detection service but downloaded a free home inspection coupon. Ms. **** *** ******** tried to redeem this coupon upon completion of plumbing leak detection and investigation. We were successful in finding the leak with no dispute. The buildings manager was impressed and satisfied with our findings. Ms. ******** presented the coupon to our plumber. He tried to explain the difference between the two but she became very upset. In his efforts to satisfy the customer, our plumber gave her a nice discount. We were under the impression that she understood her charges that are in fact very reasonable. Thank You, **** **** Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dear Mr. ********, Thank you for attempting to resolve this matter. Mr. **** He knew exactly why he has coming to my home and said he would honor the coupon. As mentioned in my prior correspondence, I sent him an email the night before indicating that I needed to find a leak. Mr. **** never explained that the coupon would not be for the leak inspection. This was a bait and switch. Since I'm the one who hired Rayco, and not the building manager, their responsibility was to provide me with respectful satisfactory service. That did not happen. Mr. ****'s comments about the building manager being satisfied and impressed are pure conjecture. Perhaps he can provide written documentation of how impressed the building manager was with him? Moreover, the building manager is not a licensed plumber and does not even have the skill set to evaluate the "findings". How impressed would one expect someone to be when you've told them that a gasket needed to be replaced? After being threatened with a mechanic's lien, I paid Rayco $130.89 and was told by Rayco's plumber that this amount would be deducted from the bill for the actual repair. The plumber and I scheduled a time to do the repair later that week. However, Mr. **** indicated that he would not have a plumber return to do any repairs after he became frustrated with my questions about the plumbing and the coupon. In view of the fact that the coupon wasn't honored and the amount paid could not be applied against the repair because Mr. **** would not have a plumber return to do the work, a full refund is the least Rayco could do resolve this matter. Thank you again for your kind assistance with this complaint. Sincerely, **** *** ******** Business' Final Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/04/01) */ -----Original Message----- From: **** **** (mailto:***********************.com) Sent: Monday, April 01, 2013 11:32 AM To: ************* Subject: Case # ******** Dear Mr. ******** We feel bad that Ms. *** ******** is not satisfied with what's transpired. We now, understand that she was expecting free Leak detection plumbing service. However, we tried to compensate her with a discount. We did find her plumbing problem as promised. Although this is the first time that we have ever had a coupon discrepancy, we've decided to remove it from our website. We hope that the discount we gave her, our explanation of the coupon and the fact that the leak detection was accurate, will bring this matter to a fair understanding. Sincerely, **** R. ****, Owner *******************