Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lyons Plumbing

Phone: (808) 879-3400 1781 Halama Street, Kihei, HI 96753


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lyons Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lyons Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lyons Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2002 Business started: 10/15/1984 Business started locally: 10/15/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C12770.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W01715664-01.

DCCA Business Registration Division
335 Merchant St STE 201, Honolulu HI 96813
www.businessregistrations.com
Phone Number: (808) 586-2727
breg@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is PJ-8014.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Leon S. Lyons, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Leon S. Lyons, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Solar Energy Products Service & Repair

Industry Tips
HOW TO CHOOSE A PLUMBING COMPANY

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a home in Kihei, hi.-** ****** *** ************.In Jan,2015 I contacted Lyons plumbing requesting replacement of some toilet flappers and inquired as to whether the water pressure could be increased as it seemed low. An employee came out ,replaced the flappers and said he increased the pressure.The next day Lyons came out and installed another flapper as they were short 1 on the prior day.Gave me an invoice for $269 ,incl. 1.5 hours labor at 116/hr. I had timed the work and it was no more than 1 hour 5 minutes so he knocked $29 off the bill.When the last toilet with the new flapper was flushed after he left, it made a huge noise and made the pipes in the kitchen upstairs shake and rattle loudly.I phoned lyons at least 5 times in the next few days, outlining the problem, saying I realized I needed another $116 service call but needed the problem resolved. None of my messages left on his voice mail were returned.I returned to BC in mid jan., returned to HI in mid Feb.and called another plumber.As suspected, the problem was caused by the water pressure being turned up too high by Lyons.I had to have a new pressure regulator installed as the 1 lyons worked on could not be adjusted.I have never made a complaint to BBB until now.For 40 years owned and managed many rental properties in Canada and AZ, and this is the 1st time I have had reason to file a complaint

Desired Settlement: Key is to have this complaint on his file and accessible to the public.The $ are not significant but it would give me some satisfaction if he refunded me the full $250 bill I paid him which would partially cover the aggravation he caused me and the cost of a new pressure regulator.

Business Response: On Jan 8th and 9th we did work at ** ***** **. We worked on 3 toilets-shut water down $ changed an angle stop-also found his regulator (he did not know where it was) and adjusted regulator for higher pressure-installed 3 toilet flappers, 1 fill valve and 1 toilet handle-1 1/2 hrs of work-he complained about the time-I said how about $250 & we are done here-he said OK & I would not work for him again-