Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Little Big Plumbing, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 744-5465 Fax: (808) 744-5465 330 Saratoga Rd # 89541, Honolulu, HI 96830 http://www.littlebigplumbing.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Little Big Plumbing, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Little Big Plumbing, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Little Big Plumbing, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 2012 Business started: 11/10/2011 Business started locally: 11/10/2011 Business incorporated 04/04/2011 in MO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W46726791-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C31881.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is PJ10263.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C31882.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael A. Wessel, Managing Member Brynaolyn Zufelt, Office Admin
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael A. Wessel, Managing Member
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Propane Gas Plumbing

Industry Tips
HOW TO CHOOSE A PLUMBING COMPANY

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Little Big Plumbing, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 330 Saratoga Rd # 89541

    Honolulu, HI 96830

  • PO Box 89541

    Honolulu, HI 96830

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Little big Plumbing was called in to fix my tenant ***'s corroded faucet and bath handles that were leaking. Brenda, receptionist(Plumbing) scheduled the initial visit for 10/12/15. Nate their tech came out but didn't have parts to fix because it was a holidaystatingno supply houses were open so he couldn't complete job. They charged us on invoice **** which owner, Jeffrey L** paid for, even though there was no repair. Second visit was scheduled on 10/26/15 and the tech that came out only changed the stems. Tenant reported that nothing seemed to be done because original faucet and handles were still in place and just caulked and his original complaint and pictures that were of the corroded faucet and leaking handles did not get fixed. My assistant, ***** **** called Brenda(at my instruction)to find out why the job was not completed again. Brenda called back on 10/27/15 to state that we would not be charged labor just parts for the fix, and that her tech had not followed the work order. The tech apparently had to leave quickly for another job. Brenda also stated that the corroded faucet would not be covered as it was not on the original work order, which was untrue because that was one of the main reasons a plumber was called in, to replace the corroded faucet and fix the handles leaking.Michael,the owner (Plumbing) called ***** **** to explain that they would cover only the handles being replaced, and ***** disagreed because it was on the original work order/another visit would be charged to us. Michael then called me explaining that ***** was upset and I basically told h** so was I because of non completion of the job and I told Michael that due to all the miscommunication between his staff and us and his staff amongst each other to please email me with the work that they were going to do so I could review it with *****.He agreed, however sent me an email that basically stated they were not going to doing any work that they stated or any future work for us.

Desired Settlement: Little Big Plumbing should refund us for the labor cost for another plumber to complete the job their owner Michael agreed to and then retracted for no valid reason.Michael should honor and pay for the labor to replace faucet as it was his staff that did not put on work order. Professional plumbers usually assess everything on a job and their techs do not.

Business Response:

In Response to ****** **** and her assistant ***** (Representatives of ********* **** at **** *** ***** **** ******** ** *****):

Initial service call ( invoice ****) on 10/12/15 Service was requested for shower handles corroded and leaking. Our tech Nate diagnosed leaking from packing nut on handle and drove to Plumbing Parts supply house which was closed due to the Columbus Day holiday, he then drove to ********* and called other supply houses but they did not carry the necessary stems for the handle repair as it is an older valve and these type of parts are not always in stock. We rescheduled to return once parts were available - there was a delay in our office receiving the reschedule due to the service tech leaving on medical issues with his doctor not clearing h** to return to work/ drive for a week+.

We billed for that initial service call time( minimum one hour charge – he was logged on site for 45 minutes and the parts recon time was not charged.

Once we received the information we rescheduled immediately for our next soonest available service call and parts availability.

Second/ return service call (Invoice ****)  technician Don on 10/26/15 arrived and ***** gave him the keys and left. Don replaced the hot and cold stems that were leaking, and tested no further leaks were occurring he did not have the trim and handles with him that were correct and proper parts for the replacement, however this was due to the existing trim being installed improperly ( original install –not our company ) with screws that were too long, the standard parts for handles and trim we had were not able to be installed at this t**e.Don called and explained to ***** that he did the stem repair but couldn’t do the handles and trim and the reason why, ***** approved this, and Don left site.

Later in the day 10/26/15 After stem repair service was completed and Don has updated ***** and left site moving on to his other scheduled jobs, is when ***** called Don and said that the tub spout he also wanted replaced in that unit had not been done, Don clarified that this tub spout item was not requested with the prior tech or our office prior to the appointment and therefore Don did not have that on his work order/ dispatch. ***** got upset at this and said ‘but it is corroded so you should have changed it out.’ Per our company policy and according to ANY proper business practice, we do not do repairs that are not requested at time of scheduling, or while tech is on site, if they do not pose damage/ failure risk and are cosmetic only as this item was.

Our first effort to compromise and provide customer satisfaction was to offer return service with no labor charged to replace these handles and trim escutcheons, at parts charged only- we scheduled for that as an acceptable compromise. However, before we could render that service ***** / ****** wanted us to add on the tub spout free of labor charge ( ***** utilized this terminology- ****** continually referred to tub spout as a faucet) to be replaced as well. AGAIN this item was not at any point requested with our technicians or our office prior to initial (diagnosis) service or prior to the second (stems repaired) service call. At this point we reminded them according to our company policy this would be a NEW item requested, and charged at minimum hour labor + parts + tax . This policy that each on site service call for new item/ issue was very clearly and frankly presented and explained to the currently dissatisfied client in writing when they initially started requesting services with us/ set up their account.

As our first effort was unacceptable to them we further tried to accommodate them by offering to reduce charge and asses time spent only in labor ( not the min**um hour by policy) for the added on/ NEW item of the tub spout replacement. This they also refused then proceeded to threaten and attempt to intimidate us to provide all the services labor free of charge.

Their desired settlement is a claim we pay another company for a service we did not provide or charge for.The new item of tub spout and the improper (original install not by our company) of the shower tr** that we diagnosed and offered repair on were not charged to them and we are not in any respect liable for these items- to demand we pay another plumber for their repair/ replacement is outrageous.

The stem repair we completed at the second service call held and tested without further leak curing the issue while our tech was on site, this is the leak they initially requested repair on and that we should be paid for as services and parts were rendered and requested issue resolved.

We feel that we have tried over and above to please and to clarify our position regarding this work to no avail and with very unprofessional conduct and tone from ***** and ****** both in response to our efforts to maintain a possible long term relationship with the building management.

At this point we are not comfortable moving forward in a business relationship with either of them as AOAO representatives and will not be providing any further services to 1690 Ala Moana property until on site representation is changed due to their business practices as individuals.

There are two invoices (#**** and ****) for this unit *** and a past due bill on a separate unit from August 2015 ( further example of poor management and business practice on ****** and ***** part)

Any services rendered must be paid promptly or we will attempt to collect all remaining open invoices through small claims court proceedings with ****** **** individually responsible for any balance due as the requester of services. We do not use collections services for this type of account issue.

We will be sending directly to the AOAO copies of your BBB complaint, our response, all email communications regarding this issue as well as a report of incidents and observations made by our technicians while on site that have caused us great concerns we feel dutifully that the AOAO should be made aware of them, so they may have the opportunity to correct these issues with current management representatives/ replace them with more well suited individuals. 

 

10/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonest and greedy sales practices that are not disclosed to consumer upfront. On Monday, Little big plumbing was called for a toilet repair at *** ******* St, Apt # 1001 to plug a water leak (from toilet tank to bowl owing to a faulty flapper). At this time of scheduling service, the company did not quote any price with respect to minimum hourly charge or if they charge a markup on their products or spare parts etc. On Tuesday morning between 8 AM - 10 AM, the plumber by the name of **, showed up at Apt # 1001 and diagnosed the leak as a result of a faulty flapper. He then quoted the cost to repair as $90 per hour towards labor charge and the cost of the flapper as $26. First of all, no where is it mentioned that the minimum hourly charge regardless of the time it took to rectify the issue is 1 hour. Secondly, the flapper was charged at 300% the cost of a toilet tank flapper. I immediately looked up the cost of a toilet flapper in Honolulu store of HomeDepot and the reatil rate was listed from $3.98 to $5.98 depending on brand but no more than $6 for any brand. At this point, the plumber said the part is a Kohler brand and costs $26. I immediately looked up the cost of a Kohler brand Flapper and it was listed from $7.98 to $10.90 but none exceeding $11 for any make/model but Little Big Plumbing charged me $26 plus tax. I called the company and informed them that I was charged $26 for a part whose retail (not wholesale which is what the company gets it for I bet) was listed no more than $11 and the company representative said they have a 30% markup on products, which even at retail rates is not more than $14.30. I understand that companies stay in business to make a profit but charging a 250% markup in stark contrast to their claims of only 30% markup is grossly dishonest and unjust and is tantamount to unfair trade practice. This is further compounded when consumer is not told upfront of an hour being the minimum labor charge at $95/hr even if it was a job of 5 minutes, as it turned out to be the case with my water leak issue. I sincerely hope that BBB will assess the above complaint objectively and use their good offices to resolve the dispute to mutual satisfaction, so that these unfair trade practice is not repeated with other unsuspecting consumers. Thanking you. Sincerely **** ***** ************

Desired Settlement: Refund of extra amount fleeced by the company for (a) the product/part (toilet tank flapper). (b) Labor charge proportionate to the amount spent to fix the issue on account of not disclosing upfront that $90/hr is the minimum labor charge, regardless of how much time it took to fix the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/08) */ Mr. * We have fully considered your concerns with the ethics of our business practice. We have made every effort to clearly explain the terms of our service through out the process of scheduling and completing your requested service. We have been up front, honest and as clear as possible about our rates and terms of service. Here we will account for all interactions our company representatives have had with you during the process of this service from initial request to completion. Monday 9/23/2013 We have one dispatcher who handles all of the scheduling and most customer inquires. Mr. * contacted our office to inquire about our service rate. He explained his issue was water leaking from the tank into the bowl. He inquired what our rates were and how he would be charged for the service. She explained our rates for normal hours repair service is 90 dollars per hour with a minimum of one hour charged, plus parts and materials used for repairs, plus tax. This is our standard rate and is given to any customer who inquires about our rates over the phone every time, with out fail.This is Dispatcher/Office Managers account of communications with this customer: 'Mr. * was not satisfied about the rate given and said he would be calling other companies for rate comparison. He then called back a second time approximately 30 minutes later to ask what the parts for the repair would cost, I let him know I would need to know the brand of the toilet and would refer the inquiry to a service technician for a verbal estimate depending on what parts may need to be used to address the specific issue of a tank to bowl leak on a Kohler( as Mr * informed me was the brand) toilet, and I would return his call within the next couple of hours. I got a verbal quote from our Contractor over the phone during one of our regular daily communications within the hour and called Mr. * back directly. Estimated parts cost was given as 25-50 dollars as the low end represented a minor repair of a flapper and top range would be a 'minor rebuild of tank, flapper and fill valve '. (Parts cost can range widely between different brands and models). All of this information I gave freely and clearly to Mr. *. He then inquired about how much it would be if he chose to provide his own parts, and I restated it would be our labor rate 90/hr min. one hour. I explained he would need to have the correct parts for us to install or we would have to either provide parts or reschedule for another time. He declined option to provide his own parts and asked that we provide them, I restated estimated cost, and he agreed to service for the next morning 8-10am appointment.' Miss.*. You can see my trusted office manager gave upfront information and executed customer service to above average standards. Following is the description of what occurred at the service appointment on 9/24/13 as provided to me by the technician while on site the day of service. These are the technicians notes and verbal details given as it was an out of the ordinary service experience for him and he was following procedures to call supervisor with any concerns: 'When I arrived on site I diagnosed the issue and let the customer (Mr.*) know that flapper was causing the toilet to continually run. I also suggested that normally if the flapper is bad, the fill valve will soon follow as they are both original parts. He asked how much they would cost. I told him the flapper is 26 dollars and the fill valve is 21 dollars. I also informed him that I could complete both repairs within the 1 hour minimum. He questioned why he was being charged a minimum of one hour and why the flapper was 26 dollars. He agreed to service only the flapper, and became very irritated while I was working showing me prices on his phone of misc parts and saying derogatory comments about our service, my character personally, and the cost of the repairs compared to previous experiences not in Hawaii. At one point he and his friend blocked me in the back of the bathroom and I felt I had to stop what I was doing and take a defensive position. I tried to reason with him and explain service rate and parts cost the best I could. As I was half way through the repair, I offered to stop what I was doing at no charge to him and he could call someone else. At this point he said he tried to call the office but was un able to get through to any one immediately and told me to proceed with the repairs as I had explained. He signed my invoice twice, authorizing beginning work, and acknowledging the work was completed and agreed to the sum of the charges and I collected his check for the full payment as agreed. Total cost of Repair: $90 for one hour min. + Kohler Flapper (Model GP84995) at 26.00 + Tax 5.47= 121.47, well within quote provided by office and tech on site. It is disconcerting to have such a disagreement on terms of service with one of our customers, and though we strive to have a 100% customer satisfaction experience with all of our valued customers, it is hard to admit that even through our best efforts there does not seem to be any way we could have provided a more satisfactory experience for you in this matter. In this we must hold to our integrity and standards, based on the accounts of my staff and my personal knowledge of providing you with a verbal estimate for work that you accepted contrary to your claim, we cannot comply with your request for refund of any portion of labor charges. I will address your concern regarding parts cost here: We purchase all of our parts from local businesses at retail and provide only premium grade materials. This practice allows us to support our local economy and warranty our parts and labor for a full 90 days following our service. If you would still like to pursue a refund for the parts cost we will allow a retroactive acceptance of option to provide your own part by these terms: You may purchase this exact part Kohler brand Flapper model GP84995 from any supplier you choose, then coordinate a time to bring this part to our shop so that a technician can verify correct part, ( as we coordinate and supply quality parts to property address incurring overhead and reason for markup from retail cost), and we will return the 26.00 parts charge to you by check. You will thereby forfeit any remaining 90 day warranty service that applies to Little Big Plumbing provided parts. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It's rather unfortunate when a company stoops so low to cover their dishonesty and utter lack of professionalism with fabricated and ill-conceived lies. I'm convinced that they're better raconteurs than plumbers. I'm appalled that a company finds it worthwhile to resort to any means conceivable to retain a few extra bucks obtained by way of dishonest and unfair trade practice. Rather than reprimanding their personnel for their sheer negligence and utter lack of professionalism not disclosing their modus-operandi upfront to exploit unsuspecting customers. I'm aghast that the company could invest the time to justify fabricating a story so bizarre as to make copperfield proud or put spielberg to shame. It is not the money but the principle of fairness that I hold dear which motivated me to share my experience with BBB and towards this end, if I could prevent one future unsuspecting customer from getting duped by this company, I would have done my civil duty to society and my effort highlighting the company's dishonest sales practice shall be well worth it. The company was referred to me by the management of ******* - a high rise community in Waikiki. I've therefore lodged a complaint with them and will continue to share my ill-experience with friends, family and acquaintances known to me in the Honolulu community about this company's unfair trade practices. I kindly request BBB to keep my complaint on file so that future unsuspecting customers stand advised to ensure they're not taken for a ride like I was. It is my sincere hope, prayer and aspiration that wisdom will prevail on the company eventually when they've realized the few extra dollars they've made unfairly is really not worth the goodwill they've lost in the community and hopefully start making money the honest way as dishonesty and lack of integrity never pays.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Little Big Plumbing, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart