Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Allens Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Allens Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on Allens Plumbing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 17
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2003 Business started: 06/20/1991 Business started locally: 06/20/1991 Business incorporated 06/20/1991 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40422070-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C12712.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C20933.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is PJ5259.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve D. Allen, President Kane Coyle, Operation Mr. Ben Maloney, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve D. Allen, President
Business Category

Plumbers Solar Energy System Design & Installation

Alternate Business Names
The Drain Surgeon
Industry Tips
HOW TO CHOOSE A PLUMBING COMPANY

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Allens Plumbing, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 360 Papa Place

    Kahului, HI 96732 (808) 486-1510 (808) 599-5511 (808) 667-6088 (808) 877-6370

  • PO Box 5060

    Kahului, HI 96732

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 12/23/14- called Allen's plumbing to report problem with showers in 2 baths dripping.12/2414 - Purchased "Customer Protection" plan for $89.99 plus tax which is supposed to include "preferred treatment", "service you can trust", and "peace of mind", etc. etc.12/26/14- New ***** brand shower fixtures installed at a cost of $1386.85Everything was fine until MAR 2015 when one of my shower heads would continue to drip after it was shut off. I called Allen's plumbing to report the problem. I was given a ***** ******* shower head as a replacement. I was expecting a replacement of the same brand and model so I accepted the replacement but did not install it. After talking to friends an coworkers, I decided not to install or accept the ***** ******* because 1) I felt it was of inferior quality to what I paid for 2) it did not match the ***** fixture in the shower 3) it did not match the ***** fixture in the 2nd bath 4) I assume that ***** has some kind of product warranty.I called Allen's plumbing to inform them that I wanted a replacement with the same brand and model. 3/31/15 Instead of showing up with a ***** shower head, the plumber showed up with another ***** ******* shower head. I did not accept the second replacement.4/1/2015 I called Allens plumbing to request a replacement of the ***** shower head.4/12//2015 After getting no response, I called Allens plumbing again and left a follow up message stating that my shower was still dripping and I wanted a replacement showerhead. After pointing out that I did NOT receive a call back from the 4/1/15 call, the answering service informed me that the message would be marked 'urgent' and I would get a call back first thing the next morning. I have not received a call back

Desired Settlement: I would like the defective shower head to be replaced with the same brand and model that I paid for or I would like a refund for the work done on the first bathroom so I can hire another plumber to install a fixture that does NOT drip. I do not have the original receipt for the ***** fixture so I cannot address the manufacturer myself. I do not feel that a dripping shower head after three months of use is acceptable.

Business Response: Allens Plumbing did install 2 customer approved, ***** shower valves in December. ***** is a well respected brand and have many great products in the bathroom and kitchen fixture category. The shower valve that we installed for Mr. **** ****** operates as per manufacturer specifications. When we were notified of the "dripping head" situation we sent our plumber back to the customers home to investigate why there was a drip coming from the shower head after the shower valve is turned off. After the evaluation, our plumber deemed that the drip, is normal for this unit. There is a reservoir in the head that will eventually empty and that was the the reason for the water dripping after the shower had been turned off.

According to the Manufacturer, *****, this is a normal thing. A link to the Manufacturers Frequently Asked Question (FAQ) section is listed below. Because the installation was installed correctly and the function of the shower valve is sound, our plumber offered Mr. **** ****** an optional universal shower head that we keep on our trucks, at no extra cost. The optional shower head was a ***** ******* universal shower head that does not have the same drip situation. Mr. ****** did not "like" this option.
Mr. ****** requested a replacement of the same make and model. This option would not change the situation. Since there is nothing wrong with the installation or the product (as per manufacturer), we have no other options except to replace the shower valve with a different model or manufacturer for another fee.
Link to ***** FAQ: **********************************************************
Click on the question: "After turning off my shower, water continues to drip from the shower head for a minute or so. Is something wrong?"
Answer: "Nothing is wrong with your faucet. The shower head is simply emptying its reservoir of water."

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Fact: 23 DEC I called Allens because I had dripping in both tub enclosures that I wanted taken care of.
Fact: 24 DEC Plumber arrived and I purchased a 1 year "Customer Protection Plan"
Fact: 26 DEC two ***** brand shower fixtures were installed
Fact:  By mid MAR, one shower head continued to drip beyond the 1 minute timeframe specified by the manufacturer
Fact: I called Allens Plumbing to notify them of the problem
Fact: Plumber showed up with a shower head of a different brand that does not match the rest of the fixture
Fact: I called Allens Plumbing to inform them that I did not want a different brand. I wanted what I paid for.
Fact: 31 MAR Plumber showed up again with another ***** *******
Fact: I called Allens Plumbing on 1 APR requesting a replacement with the same model.  No call back received
Fact: I called Allens Plumbing again on 12 APR and again did not receive a call back
Fact: I received a call from Allens on 27 APR and scheduled to meet a Field Manager at 3:30 on 28 APR.
Fact: I received a call at 2:58 on 28 APR to inform me that the Field Manager was not coming
Fact: 28 APR I called Allens at 3:30 to attempt to reschedule. I was told I would get a call back
Fact: 28 APR I called Allens again at 430 since I did not get the promised callback and was told that the person I had spoken to had already left
Fact: 29 APR I again called Allens and was told that I would be contacted
Fact: 30 APR I am notified that Allens will not be replacing the dripping showerhead unless I want to pay more

In DEC, I called Allens based on the excellent BBB rating to address dripping shower fixtures.  By MAR, one shower head was once again dripping.  Repeated requests for replacement with the SAME model were met with attempts to replace with a lesser quality shower head.  When I refused this option, my calls were ignored.  Frustrated by the lack of response, I contacted the BBB.  Subsequently, I took time off from work to meet with the Field Manager who proceeded to cancel 32 minutes before the appointment.  The very next day I receive an email informing me that Allens would not be replacing the shower head because "dripping is normal".    One shower head drips BEYOND a minute. This, I am told, is normal yet the other shower head does NOT continue to drip.  The one that drips is the normal one?  If is normal, wouldn't they BOTH drip beyond a minute once the water is shut off?

I've lived at various locations and have not had to deal with shower heads that drip.  Of the coworkers and friends that I have talked to, no one, not one has a shower head that continues to drips after shut off.  None of the hotels that I have stayed in had the "normal" shower heads that drip.  If they did, I would have called the front desk immediately.

Bottom line: I contacted Allens to address dripping in two tub enclosures.  $1,533.44 later, one shower head is dripping and I am told that it is normal.  When Allens tried to install the ***** ******* as a replacement, no mention was made of a discount yet, they want to charge more for a better quality shower head.  I do not want to buy a better fixture or have to settle for one of inferior quality.   All I want is one that does not drip.  I believe this is a reasonable request.  If Allens knew that ***** is prone to dripping, in the interest of full disclosure, they should have informed me, the customer prior to installation.  If they didn't know about it and just discovered it, I would hope they would want to rectify the situation as expediently as possible.  I am disappointed but not surprised by the treatment I am receiving.  Is the handling of the situation worthy of an A+ rating with the BBB?

Sincerely,

**** ******

1/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Charged $1493.74 for 3 hours repair work, with ~$35 in parts which could be obtained at **** *****. This work was done in *** at ****** ***** ****** a condo owned by us, **** ***** ************ *** ******** ** ******2. Plumber was not licensed and not supervised by a license plumber. 3. No estimate or proposal was given to us, the owners, prior to beginning work. 4. David was present during repair and the plumber was there for 3 hours. 5. We were assured there would be no overtime charges for a Saturday appointment. 6. Final Conclusion: this is an hourly charge of almost $500! This is an unconscionable rip-off!7. We were required to pay through the ****** ***** * ****, managed by ***** ******** ********** in Kihei, Maui since the billing was sent to the ****** ***** ****.

Desired Settlement: There should be a fair rate adjustment to this billing which has already been paid by us through our AOAO. We expect the adjustment to be sent directly to us and not to ****** ***** * **** at ***** ******** **********. (Normal hourly rate for a plumber is: $100-$150 on Maui.)

Business Response: It is unfortunate that this complaint is being made by a third party not our customer who we were working for at the time, ****** *****.


Our standard operating procedure is to attain a written or verbal approval from our customer before any work has been started. We do this so that the customer knows what the recommendations and options are to complete a repair and the costs associated with the recommended scope of work.  In this case our customer was not the person issuing this complaint. 

The responsible agent of ****** ***** had made a call to us in need of services on a Saturday. Due to the date and time that the call came in we could schedule an investigation as a second call on Saturday as our existing schedule was full. Since ****** ***** is an important client to us, we did everything possible to attend to the situation. We were hired to investigate a leak that was occurring from an upstairs unit into a lower unit. After evaluating the severity of the situation and our customers need to expedite the repairs, our technician had our office make other arrangements for the other calls that he was scheduled for that day.

Our technician discussed the scope of work and price with the responsible billing party, ****** *****, and received authorization to proceed with the repairs as it affected the unit below. Our technician had 2 access points: 1) in the unit above and 2) the unit below. It appears that the person issuing this complaint did not fully understand the scope of the work or the total time required as the stated times are incorrect. The stated times in the complaint only address the time our technician was in their unit and thus their perception of the fictional hourly rate is absurd.

We believe this complaint is displaced to the wrong party. Our mission is to solve our customers problems in the most professional manner possible. Our customer who hired us and paid us was very happy with our level of service, our technicians ability, and timeliness to solve a plumbing problem.

10/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called plumber for backed up drain on second attempt plumbers snake broke in drain. Plumber determined snake went out to main drain but was wrong. After snake broke in drain plumber attempts to find snake with camera two floors below my apartment with negative results. Plumber leaves for the night and condo manager calls plumber next morning to find out if they will retrieve snake but plumber relates to the condo manager that he had spoken to his supervisor and was notified that the snake was long gone and did not make any attempt to come out to positively check where the broken snake was. With concerns of possibly flooding of other apartments due to snake in main drain condo manager calls another plumber to locate snake which was located 93 feet below my apartment on the fifth floor. Snake could not be retrieved until next day when an emergency water shut down was done. Snake was retrieved on this day. I was billed for the services of the plumber $3,314.97 to locate and retrieve the broken snake along with the cost of the emergency water shut $350.79 down for shutting down and starting up the buildings mechanical equipment. Plumber refuses to pay costs that were incurred due to their negligence.

Desired Settlement: I want the plumber to pay all costs incurred due to their plumber losing their equipment in the drain although I emailed a company representative and he stated that he sent the claim to their insurance company (which I doubt) and it was denied and they will not pay stating they were not given an opportunity to retrieve the snake but they were given that chance and blew it away.

Business Response: We did respond for a call back to clear the stoppage in the customers drain line. The sewer cable came out of the machine and went down the drain line. In our attempts to recover the sewer cable, our technician did attempt to get the building manager involved, but the manager was difficult to work with and did not allow our technician to do what he needed to do at the time we were trying to solve the problem. The building manager did not want us to come back and we were unable to complete what we needed to do to retrieve the cable. Our Service Manager and Field Manager made several attempts to contact the building manager with no answer or return phone call. We are then given a bill for work done by another company.

At no time were we unwilling or unable to complete the work required. We were not allowed to do what was necessary to fix the situation. It was the property decision makers decision to use someone else and to accept the charges from another company.

It is unfortunate that the unit owner is being required to pay the bill when she also did not approve work done by the other plumbing company.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only part of the response that is true is the fact that my drain was cleared at the time the snake broke in the line. The technician was working with the building mnanager and maintenance worker on the evening of 6-02-14 in trying to locate the snake but was unable to locate it with the equipment he had. The technician left for the night and made contact the next day telling the building manager that they are not going to do anything further that the snake was out in the city line. How can a company leave a job incomplete leaving some of their equipment behind and then making a decision not to return with no proof that the snake was out in the city line? When contact was made by the technician to the building manager the next morning on 6-03-14 he was speaking on behalf of the company and based on his response to not return another company was called on 6-03-14 which responded in the afternoon to locate the snake which they did. The water shut down occurred on 6-04-14 so the snake could be retrieved. It is untrue that the building manager did not want the technician to come back, on the contrary he indeed wanted him to locate and remove the snake it was the technician that told the building manager that they are not coming back. I made contact with the building manager and he does confirm that Allens Plumbing did call on 6-05-14 and leave a message but at the time they called the snake was already located by the other company and removed on 6-04-14. Allens Plumbing was given the opportunity to fix the situation but decided not to. This was a situation that time was of essence to prevent any flooding into any of the other 299 apartments since the snake broke in the main line that would be a big liability issue. The building manager at this point saw no point in speaking to anyone from Allens Plumbing as they called after the fact and now they want to say they were willing and able, unreal. After the snake broke in the line no one from Allens Plumbing made contact with me if they were unable to contact the building manager and were so intent in completing the job why was I not contacted to assist as I was the person who brought them on the property to begin with.

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Backed-up drain required Allen Plumbing on Aug. 28/13. Charged for service- same drain backed up 27 hours later, requiring emergency service again. August 28, 2013, called Allen's Plumbing for back-up, clogged drain. Charged $162.49 to un-clog drain. 27 hours later same drain clogged- overflowing. Called Allen's who wanted an additional $80. after hours fee as well as $245. to un-clog the same drain they supposedly un-clogged and were paid for the day before. They said they had no warranty. So they were going to charge additionally. I declined their service- called Roto Rooter who came out and satisfactorily un-clogged the drain, charging $217.45 for emergency after hours service. Allen's plumbing added to the misery by charging my Master Card $80. for the after hours service EVEN THOUGH I declined them and went to Roto Rooter. I am seeking a full refund of the $162.49 for the unsatisfactory service on August 28th and the further $80.00 charged for declined service on August 29, 2013.

Desired Settlement: $162.49 for unsatisfactory service to un-clog drain on August 28, 2013, requiring another company to remedy on August 29, 2013. Additionally the $80. charged me for services NOT rendered but DECLINED on August 29, 2013 Total $242.49

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/04) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Ops Manager Contact Phone: 808-***-**** Contact Email: ******@allensplumbinghi.com We dispute the customer's complaint to credit the original service call. The facts are as follows: Received original call on 8/28/13 at 4:03PM Dispatched Technician to call at 4:11 PM Arrived at 4:28 PM Closed same day Invoice # 111548 Amount: $187.49 Description of work: Cleared stoppage affecting toilet through a clean out. Video inspection ($300 value)of line showed that there were roots in the line and that we recommended further work using a hydro jetter to clean the line better and remove the root intrusion. Recommendations declined at that time. No warranty on this drain due to existing condition of roots in line Received call during emergency hours on 8/29 at 8:10 PM - Dispatcher explains emergency procedures and fees. Customer reluctantly agrees. Once payment for emergency fees were secured we dispatched call. Dispatched On-Call Technician at 8:30PM Technician called original plumber to get background information. Technician called customer to explain procedure on a drain that had a pre-existing condition. 8:53PM Customer decided to cancel call and use someone else. Our standard operating procedure is that we charge a flat $80.00 fee plus the price for work that needs to be done. Warranty calls do not cover emergency charges. If the problem is deemed by the technician as a non-warranty situation, the customer would be responsible for both the work that needs to be done as well as the emergency fee. If the customer declines the work to be done they would still be responsible for the $80 emergency fee for coming out to their house during non-business hours. This call was not a warranty call because roots existed in the line and the customer declined steps to rectify the problem. During emergency hours our dispatcher will place an $80.00 hold on the credit card provided to us as the customer would have already agreed to the emergency fee. Because the call was cancelled we removed the credit hold on the customers card the next business day. That was done on 8/30/13 by our accounts receivable department. Our original services are well justified in both response time, timely execution, superior equipment, justifiable recommendations, and overall great service. Our ability to have this information available during evening hours along with support staff and technicians who were able and willing to attend to a customers problems when they needed it is difficult to achieve but available through Allens Plumbing Inc. This is the first time we were made aware that the customer had a problem with our services. We would have gladly spoken with them separately to come to an amicable solution. Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2013/10/02) */ This has not been resolved as of Oct. 1, 2013. Allen's Plumbing has not credited the $80.00 charged my Master Card for a call-out that was cancelled and acknowledged cancelled. Additionally their inadequate service that resulted in having RotoRooter come out 27 hours later to clear the drain (successfully) has not been admitted to. I am claiming the $162.49 paid to Allen's Plumbing for very poor service which they did not warranty or stand behind. Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2013/10/16) */ Since it appears that our rebuttal from September, 2013 is not listed, it has been copied below. We have credited the $80.00 charge to Mr. *******'s credit card. Rebuttal sent 9/04/13 We dispute the customer's complaint to credit the original service call. The facts are as follows: Received original call on 8/28/13 at 4:03PM Dispatched Technician to call at 4:11 PM Arrived at 4:28 PM Closed same day Invoice # 111548 Amount: $187.49 Description of work: Cleared stoppage affecting toilet through a clean out. Video inspection ($300 value)of line showed that there were roots in the line and that we recommended further work using a hydro jetter to clean the line better and remove the root intrusion. Recommendations declined at that time. No warranty on this drain due to existing condition of roots in line Received call during emergency hours on 8/29 at 8:10 PM - Dispatcher explains emergency procedures and fees. Customer reluctantly agrees. Once payment for emergency fees were secured we dispatched call. Dispatched On-Call Technician at 8:30PM Technician called original plumber to get background information. Technician called customer to explain procedure on a drain that had a pre-existing condition. 8:53PM Customer decided to cancel call and use someone else. Our standard operating procedure is that we charge a flat $80.00 fee plus the price for work that needs to be done. Warranty calls do not cover emergency charges. If the problem is deemed by the technician as a non-warranty situation, the customer would be responsible for both the work that needs to be done as well as the emergency fee. If the customer declines the work to be done they would still be responsible for the $80 emergency fee for coming out to their house during non-business hours. This call was not a warranty call because roots existed in the line and the customer declined steps to rectify the problem. During emergency hours our dispatcher will place an $80.00 hold on the credit card provided to us as the customer would have already agreed to the emergency fee. Because the call was cancelled we removed the credit hold on the customers card the next business day. That was done on 8/30/13 by our accounts receivable department. Our original services are well justified in both response time, timely execution, superior equipment, justifiable recommendations, and overall great service. Our ability to have this information available during evening hours along with support staff and technicians who were able and willing to attend to a customers problems when they needed it is difficult to achieve but available through Allens Plumbing Inc. Consumer Response /* (3000, 18, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After a month and a half, Allen's Plumbing are crediting the $80. they charged my credit card for a cancelled call and yet their explanation as to why their original service was faulty is unsatisfactory. I am still waiting for the refund of the $162.49 for their service which required another company to remedy less than 27 hours later. Offering nothing more than fine words but no warranty for their work is unsatisfactory and not acceptable. The acceptable remedy is a refund.

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service