BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

This Business is not BBB accredited

U.S. Dermatology Medical Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 621-1000 Fax: (808) 674-4349 100 Kahelu Ave Ste 201, Mililani, HI 96789 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.usdermatology-mg.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a medical office specializing in dermatology and skin care.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for U.S. Dermatology Medical Group include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on U.S. Dermatology Medical Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 21, 2010 Business started: 05/13/2009 Business started locally: 05/13/2009 Business incorporated: 05/13/2009 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MD-15474.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is AMD-348.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MD-15002.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W79407638-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chuck McQueary, CEO Dr. Alex Carcamo
Contact Information
Principal: Chuck McQueary, CEO
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Dermatology Skin Care Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

Alternate Business Names
U.S. Dermatology of Hawaii, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Kahelu Ave Ste 201

    Mililani, HI 96789 (808) 621-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1001 Kamokila Blvd Ste 181

    Kapolei, HI 96707

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jan XX XXXX PA **** biopsied three sites on face. Bioposies resulted in bad scars (results negative). No response to my request to fix scars. PA did same tests a year ago (my first Dermatology visit as a result of a couple dark spots on my :shoulders." All were negative for skin cancer. This time the biopsies (3) left three large 1 cm scars/indentations/gouges in my face in spite of me taking creful care post op. They are prominent and I asked Dr ******* to fix/eliminate the scars. Nobody from US Dermatology has even called me. I feel the biopsies were done in a reckless manner, as a friend (MD) told me the scarring was unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: Fix/eliminate the scars.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/05/15) */ As caring providers who have never before had a complaint pertaining to our clinical care, we are deeply concerned about Mr. ****' complaint and are intent in providing him with care that we hope will ultimately lead to his satisfaction. To assist you in the review of this case, we'd like to first provide you with the background pertaining to Mr. ****' care. Mr. **** was seen on 1/31/2013 by our Physician's Assistant **** who has been in our practice nearly 4-years without a single previous complaint against his care. Mr. **** was informed during his evaluation that he had three lesions on his face that were suspicious for a pre-cancer versus a skin cancer. Given that the highest standard of care for diagnosis of skin cancer is provided when a biopsy that yields tissue for analysis by a pathologist is performed, a shave biopsy was recommended. In addition to a verbal discussion with Mr. **** of the indications, risks and benefits of the biopsies, Mr. **** also signed and dated - and printed his name -- on a written informed consent form that clearly disclosed the indications, risk and benefit of the procedure. Despite our recommendation for a 2-week follow in our practice to re-evaluate his biopsy sites, we did not hear from Mr. **** for nearly 3-months. Although Mr. **** was provided with our after-hours/pager number - it is listed on the business card of each of our providers -- he did not contact us until 3 months later to let us know about his concerns. Had he kept his recommended appointment, we could have averted potential complications. We encourage every patient in our practice to call or page us with any concerns. Our policy is to see any patient with concerns the same day of their call. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to help Mr. **** for nearly 3 months after his biopsy. Instead, we first found out about his concerns through a certified letter that Mr. **** sent which he also forwarded to another physician. It is a bit puzzling that, although Mr. **** was clearly troubled by the cosmetic outcome of his biopsies, and of his own admission has been sharing his dissatisfaction with friends, other doctors, your organization, his relatives, etc, he never gave us an opportunity during the 3-month period following his biopsies to hear his concerns and help him. We were also a bit surprised that, although he took 3-months to notify us of his concerns, and it took only a few days after the receipt of his certified letter to accommodate him for a convenient appointment to evaluate him, he launched this complaint with your organization before we even had a chance to perform his evaluation. Mr. **** claims that he did not keep the recommended 2-week appointment because he received a letter that he felt directed him to cancel his recommended follow up appointment. To clarify, the letter Mr. **** received is a standard notification letter we use to provide our patients with a timely report on biopsy results that are benign, non-cancerous. We have carefully reviewed the letter that Mr. **** received and found nothing in the text of this letter directing Mr. **** to cancel his recommended, already scheduled appointment. We also checked with our staff and no one in our office called Mr. **** to cancel his appointment. Notably, Mr. **** did not express any concerns regarding his facial biopsy sites when he spoke to our staff during the call he made to cancel his appointment. We are in strong agreement with Mr. **** in that the scars that he presented with three months after his shave biopsy - extremely deep indented scars such as the ones produced by a surgical curette -- are not in keeping with the outcome of our shave biopsies using our standard technique. Many factors influence the healing after a shave biopsy. However, rather than speculating on the potential causes of Mr. ****' atrophic scars, we have chosen to focus on achieving cosmetic improvement of his scars with the highest standard of care. Although we could remove his scars with the technologies available in our own practice, we have chosen, with Mr. ****' permission, to refer him to one of the most outstanding facial surgeons in Oahu who specializes solely on Cosmetic Surgery and Facial Surgery. We feel that the surgeon we have referred him to will provide him - at absolutely no cost to Mr. **** - with the highest possible standard of care. We are hopeful that in the end, Mr. **** will be satisfied. He is a dear patient of ours and have nothing but his well-being, health and satisfaction in mind. We are grateful that, although with some delay, he ultimately gave us a chance to address his concerns. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 16, 2013/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Surgery by Dr. **** (****************) is scheduled for June 10 where he **** address/repair the three divit scars and revise my nose scar as offered by Dr *******. I am not looking for perfection - just to get rid of the gouges/divits. The reason I asked BBB for help (which obviously frustrated Dr *******) is that I had not heard from anyone from US Dermatology for a week after I received my return receipt from my letter. However, I now believe they are genuinely concerned about my scars and want to make it right. For that I am greatful and I look forward to the surgery.