Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Xtermco, Inc.

Phone: (808) 591-2922 Fax: (808) 591-2973 View Additional Phone Numbers 94-435 Akoki Street, Waipahu, HI 96797 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.xtermcohawaii.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service termite & pest control including Sentricon Bait System.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Xtermco, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Xtermco, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Xtermco, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1959 Business started locally: 01/01/1959 Business incorporated 06/23/1966 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20280386-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is PCO201.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Tsukano, VP Mr. Glenn M. Chinen, Sr. VP Grace Kage, Acct Payable Mr. Kolin Kaneshiro, Secty/Treas. Mr. Roy I. Maeda, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Roy I. Maeda, President
Principal: Mr. Tom Tsukano, VP
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Alternate Business Names
Termite Control Service, Inc.(former)

Additional Locations

  • 94-435 Akoki Street

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 591-2922

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Xtermco Inc was contacted 4 times to check on live termite activity. The last time they came they found termites and want to cancel the contract. In 2012, My wife and I bought a home that was previously termite tent fumigated by Xtermco for termites by the previous owners. Xtermco gave a the previous owners a 5 year warranty that was transferred to us in writing. Months after moving into the home we experienced termite droppings in the home when they fell on us and the living room floor. We called Xtermco Inc around April 2013 for an inspection. An Xtermco inspector came and without going into the attic said, its old droppings. We still experienced droppings but did not see any live termites until around August 2013. My wife gave birth to triplets and they came home and in horror we found them with termite droppings and live termites on them. I called Xtermco who said they would send someone again. The Xtermco inspector came in September 2013 and again said there were no live termites. Even when we told them we found them on the babies he said, its old there are no live termites. On September 21, 2013, my last baby came home and again termite droppings were found on the babies and live termites crawling on the floor, wall and babies. On October 9, 2013, an Xtermco inspector came and located all the live termites in the home. He reported this to his office and tenting was scheduled for WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 13, 2013 @ APPROXIMATELY 11:30/12:00 PM. THE TENTING IS A TWO DAY SERVICE - YOU MAY RE-ENTER YOUR HOME ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 ANYTIME AFTER 5:00 PM. DEREK YONEOKA IS YOUR TERMITE REPRESENTATIVE WITH XTERMCO. HE IS SCHEDULED ON WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 23, 2013 @ 9:00 AM TO GO OVER THE PROCEDURES FOR THE TENTING SERVICE. I asked if Xtermco would be providing hotel room coverage and clean up the attic of the droppings and dead termites to prevent them from falling in or on the babies face, nose, ears and mouths. On Sunday, October 20, 2013, an Xtermco employee called me and said the termite tenting was cancelled and they would send me a check for the original amount the previous owners paid and that was it. When I asked the President of Xtermco to call me so I could tell him of my concerns of my babies and my home the caller said the President of Xtermco is aware and go hire someone else with the money. On Monday, I sent an email asking when the money would come and a Mr. Kolin Kaneshiro wrote me back saying an attorney would be contacting me in the future. My babie's, my wife, my mother in law, my pets, my home and my own health is in danger while we wait. When I expressed that my babies health was in danger, the Xtermco caller said the President of Xtermco wants it this way.

Desired Settlement: Due to the hostile nature of the company, we are requesting $2,300 to have another company kill all the termites and clean up the dead termites and the droppings which fall on the babies, us, our food and our home. The Xtermco president has stated via his employee that they would be cancelling the contract and sending us a check for $1,600. When I asked when I will get the check, Mr. Kaneshiro sent me an email stating an attorney will be contacting us. We need the check as soon as possible to hire another termite company with that money and need the additional funds to clean up the dead termites and the droppings that fall from the roof.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/06) */ Dear Sir/Madam: This office represents the interests of Xtermco Inc.("Xtermco") in the matter of the Complaint filed by ****** ******* on or about October 21, 2013. Xtermco denies any breach of its drywood termite warranty as well as any improper conduct towards Mr. ******* and his family. 1. Fumigation For Prior Owner. Xtermco contracted with ****** and ****** *******, the prior owners of the residence located at ****** *************, *******, HI on or about December 28, 2010 to provide tent fumigation treatment for drywood termites in the residence. A copy of the "Contract For Drywood Termite Fumigation" of that date is attached as Attachment "1". The tent fumigation was performed without incident on January 28 2011 and Xtermco's five year warranty went into effect. A copy of the warranty document is attached as Attachment "2". The owner prior to Mr. ******* made no claim on the warranty. On or about June 13, 2012, the *******s' interest in the drywood termite warranty was assigned to Mr. and Mrs. *******. A copy of the assignment document is attached as Attachment "3". By the same token, however, Mr. ******* did not receive any greater, different, or additional benefits under the Xtermco warranty, than ******* accepted prior to the fumigation. Xtermco's warranty obligation consists in re-treating, either by tent fumigation or spot treatment, in its sole discretion, any active (i.e. live) drywood termite infestation which is discovered during the warranty period at no cost to the warranty holder. The warranty does not provide that Xtermco is in any way responsible for cleaning the residence of debris, including drywood termite droppings; nor does the warranty obligated Xtermco to pay for hotel rooms for the warranty holder in the event of a re-treatment tent fumigation. Similarly, Xtermco is not responsible for tent fumigating the residence simply because the warranty holder, such as Mr. *******, demands that such be done. 2. Warranty Claim By *******. On or about September 19, 2013, Xtermco received the first of numerous comunications from Mr. ******* reporting termite droppings observed in the residence. As you will note from the time line synopsis attached as Attachment "4", Xtermco responded to Mr. *******' initial report by dispatching two experienced inspectors to the residence to investigate the droppings. One of the inspectors is a manager at Xtermco with considerable experience in the pest control industry. On September 26, 2013, the two inspectors examined not only the area in which Mr. ******* reported finding termites in the residence, but also the adjacent attic space, but found no active or live termites. They recommended that a followup inspection be scheduled in approximately two weeks, with Xtermco calling to setup the appointment. Mrs. ******* demanded that Xtermco vacuum the attic space, which Xtermco declined. On or about October 2, 2013, Xtermco received an email from Mr. ******* in which he claimed to have killed 10 termites and reported additional droppings. Efforts by Xtermco to obtain samples of the alleged termites were frustrated by Mr. *******, and Xtermco's efforts to schedule an appointment with Mr. ******* present came to naught. On October 9, 2013, Xtermco's inspectors discovered live drywood termite infestation in a location in the attic separate from the area in which droppings had been reported. In an effort to accommodate Mr. *******, Xtermco offered to tent fumigate the residence at no cost to Mr. *******, even though the tent fumigation option had expired in the contract. Mr. *******' response to the Xtermco tent fumigation offer was grossly disproportionate to Xtermco's effort to satisfy him. Mr. *******: -demanded that Xtermco take responsibility for an damage to his solar panels, even though Xtermco's tent fumigation contract specifically disclaims any responsibility for solar panels, among other items. -demanded that Xtermco assume payment for his family's hotel during the fumigation, even though the warranty does not include any such benefit; -demanded that Xtermco clean up the droppings in his residence at its expense; again, despite no support in the warranty for such relief. On or about October 20, 2013, frustrated by Mr. ******* obstinacy, Xtermco offered to pay Mr. ******* the cost of the original fumigation in consideration for Mr. *******' agreement to terminate the warranty. Please note that Mr. ******* did not pay any money for the termite warranty - the *******s did. Mr. ******* rejected Xtermco's Offer of settlement and repeated the above-listed demands. 3. Statement Of Position. Xtermco's employees have made numerous and substantial efforts to address Mr. ******* concerns. Xtermco's inspectors have made more than two appointments to meet Mr. ******* and re-inspect the areas of the residence of which he complains. Mr. ******* has failed to keep some of these appointments. As Mr. ******* noted in his complaint, Xtermco has offered to settle Mr. *******' complaints by paying him the amount of the original drywood termite treatment in 2010 notwithstanding that the prior owner, and not Mr. *******, paid for the treatment. In consideration of this payment, Mr. ******* would agree to terminate Xtermco's warranty. It appears that each attempt by Xtermco to resolve Mr. ******* complaints results in additional, unreasonable, and frankly irrational demands and accusations by Mr. *******, such as his present demand for payment of $2,300 by Xtermco. Xtermco requests that BBB take no action on Mr. *******' complaint, for the reasons set forth above. Please contact me if you have any questions. Very truly yours, ******************** Attachments cc: ***************, Xtermco Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 20, 2013/11/22) */ Dear Ms. *****, Yes, with the help of RICO investigator the matter has been resolved, I accepted their monetary offer. With no help from BBB, I was glad that RICO was there, stepped in and an agreement could be reached. A warranty and agreement for service should be honored. If not the company should be financially responsible. I'm glad its over much thanks to the RICO/DCCA. **************