Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

Oahu Termite & Pest Control, Inc.

Phone: (808) 596-8600 Fax: (808) 596-8622 1325 Nuuanu Ave Suite 203, Honolulu, HI 96817 View Additional Email Addresses

! BBB Business Review on Oahu Termite & Pest Control, Inc. is being Updated by BBB !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides termite & pest control services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Additional Locations

  • 1325 Nuuanu Ave Suite 203

    Honolulu, HI 96817


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oahu ******* contracted with Kamaaina ******* to tent our roof. I was unaware of this until the tenting day. I had already received an estimate from Kamaaina for half the cost of Oahu ******* but Kamaaina ******* was not recommended by others. I was shocked to see Kamaaina pull up in my driveway. I should have refused the job but the preparation, work schedule, and lodging for us and pets was a lot. I requested a contract before tenting but Harry K******, owner of Oahu ******* said the contract will "follow in the mail." Kamaaina ******* cracked our ceiling and damaged our roof during the tenting process and pulled media wires off the exterior wall and loosened the wire connection to the street telephone pole leaving wires hanging over the street. A few days later, a tall truck drove by and hit the wire. This caused a fire - fire trucks and emergency telephone crew! When we first reported the cracked ceiling, Oahu ******* told us to contact Kamaaina. We refused because Oahu ******* was responsible, not his subcontractor. Kamaaina ******* took no responsibility for damaging our roof/cracking our ceiling because it's "stated in the contract" that they have no responsibility of damages Kamaaina ******* ignored the fact that a contract was nonexistent. Oahu ******* verbalized they would fix the roof but no action was taken. After I finally went through our home owner's insurance to fix the roof, we found out that Oahu ******* is UNINSURED! Now, Harry K******, owner of Oahu ******* is claiming there was "no damage to our roof" (We have a recording of the day we inspected the damaged roof with both Kamaaina and Oahu *******), that I was "going overboard" with fixing the roof even though I lost my deductible, and have nothing to gain but a repaired roof and ceiling. Kamaaina & Oahu ******* both wanted to "fix" the crack in our ceiling with a swipe of caulking - something I could do myself to hide the real damage to the exterior roof.

Desired Settlement: Oahu ******* needs insurance to cover his business and subcontractors because no one is taking responsibility for damaging customers' homes. Oahu ******* cannot send his customers to deal with his subcontractors. Oahu ******* needs education re: subcontracting. Although disclosure of using a subcontractor is not required, it's good practice. In this case, the subcontractor was not preferred and I should have refused the job! Harry K****** needs to be honest.

Business Response: Aloha to the complaint,

Oahu ******* * **** ******** ***. would like to apologize for the damaged roof that was subcontracted by ********* ******* * **** ******** ***. and also  express our concerns for the damages that occurred during the tent fumigation last year October 2015.  We take every customer's complaint to heart and to solving or resolving any situation.   At this moment Oahu ******* * **** ******** ***. is having our insurance company look into this matter as we do not take any complaint or false accusations lightly.  As soon as we hear back from our insurance company, we will contact the customers.

Our sincere apologies to the customer.

Oahu ******* * **** ******** ***.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Oahu ******* contacted my insurance company months ago and stated they were uninsured.  Has something changed since then?  I would like to know that.  How long will Oahu ******* take to respond? I am happy though that via an apology they have taken responsibility for the damages to my roof and not claiming it's a "false accusation"

***** *************

Business Response:


I am not sure were she heard that we are not insured. Nothing has changed with our insurance for the past 40 years or even had it cancelled, in order to be in the business we are regulated by our state to have insurance coverage with a required amount of coverage for property damages & bodily injury.  I don't think Oahu ******* would've been in business for 40 years plus and ********* ******* for 10 years without insurance.  As mentioned before in the other response, this claim are in our insurance hands.  I got a call from the Jardons insurance company on Friday and this is the first time he tried calling the office, but unfortunately I was off that day.  I tried to reach out to their insurance today 4/25/2016 and only got an answering service.  Pending a call back.


Oahu ******* * **** ******** ***.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


If Oahu ******* has 40 year old insurance then why isn't Oahu ******* paying for the damages to my roof?  Oahu ******* accepted responsibility for damaging my roof so what's the hold up?  The owner of Oahu ******* stated that I "was going overboard" with the repair. Initially, he offered to caulk the interior crack in my ceiling only without any consideration that the interior ceiling was cracked due to damage to the exterior roof.  It's not  "going overboard" to want my ceiling restored to its rightful condition before Oahu ******* tented and damaged my home.  Just caulking the crack would de-value my home if I should ever sell my home. The crack was highly visible when you enter my home.  I was informed by my insurance company that Oahu ******* was uninsured.  


***** *************

Customer Review(s)