Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Akamai Pest Solutions?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Akamai Pest Solutions

Phone: (808) 754-3393 Fax: (808) 966-7011 View Additional Phone Numbers Rr 3 Box 1471, Pahoa, HI 96778 http://www.akamaisolution.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Orange Oil treatments for drywood termites, also provides general pest control services, ground treatments and termite inspections for escrow.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akamai Pest Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Akamai Pest Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akamai Pest Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2008 Business started: 10/07/2003 Business started locally: 10/07/2003 Business incorporated: 10/07/2003 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20181218-02.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is PCO-924.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Meints, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Meints, Member
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Alternate Business Names
For Termites Only Inspections, LLC

Additional Locations

  • Rr 3 Box 1471

    Pahoa, HI 96778 (808) 937-7938 (808) 754-3393 (808) 966-7011 (888) 819-5195 (888) 773-1556 (888) 904-9784 (888) 609-7177

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint against Akamai Pest Solutions Kona arises from their total stonewalling me on my numerous requests that they HONOR THEIR WARRANTY and come to my home to inspect and spray for termites that have inflicted obvious visual damage to my home.Akamai Pest Solutions Kona gave me a 2 year warranty with an annual inspection to include a visual inspection and TREATMENT upon request at no additional charge. The problem is after calling Akamai Pest Solutions Kona 3 times and leaving my concerns along with a request to call me back they have chosen to stonewall me, they will not respond in any fashion.It is sad that they treat their customers in this fashion. Very unprofessional....I still have 1 year remaining on their "warranty"...

Desired Settlement: I would prefer Akamai come to my home and honor their warranty. If not, I would like to request a refund of the monies I spent for their service not rendered.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

Akamai Pest Solutions has honored their warranty to me to my satisfaction, what this all boils down to is a miscommunication of who the new owner of the home was... Somehow the previous owner was confused with me, apparently that's why my attempts to contact Akamai were unanswered... And no, I called the correct phone number...With Akamai's business recording... Bottom line, thanks to BBB and Akamai!
Mahalo, **** *****

Consumer Response: Dear Representative of Hawaii BBB;

This is in response to your letter we received on December 15, regarding ID *****. A complaint that was filed on 11/10/14 @11:5742 AM by **** *****.

Your office initially sent a letter to us regarding the above customer, Mr. *****, stating he made numerous attempts to contact us for services he was in need of at his residence on ******* rd, in Captain Cook, HI.. The letter stated we needed to contact Mr. ***** and resolve the situation in so many days from receipt of letter. We did contact him and on Dec.8,201 4 we serviced his residence and took care of his concerns.
We learned the reason he was not having any luck contacting our offices, was because he was calling the wrong number's. We have not only serviced his residence for the pests he was concerned about, we have also updated him on the contact information he needs to reach the right people to help him with future concerns. What concerns me, is your role in this whole process, **** took Mr. **** complaint and
was quick to send us a letter, and even quicker you sent us a letter informing us that you had made numerous attempts to contact us, upon being unable to reach someone you filed this complaint. I have not received one piece of mail, nor a phone call or an email from your offices, so your statement concerns me. I would like your notice to change any negative reviews on this matter regarding our company immediately, as I feel you have not followed through as you have stated in your most current letter to our office' The situation was resolved immediately to receiving your initial letter and had you truly followed through yow office would have determined this before sending us you're most current assumption of "Unanswered". I think in order to close a case in such a manner one would need to check with each party involved which would have been Mr ***** and Akamai Pest Solutions Kona.

Mahalo,


9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Akamai treated our home with orange oil. They were to return as necessary to spot treat. They don't answer their phones or call back. Voice mail full Orange oil treatment of our home. Purchase date 9/17/13. They have returned once to spot treat outbreaks. I have been trying to reach them for several weeks to treat a new outbreak. They do not answer any of their phones. Their voice mail boxes are usually full, not accepting new messages, and they do not call back as promised. I suspect the company is out of business. Payment amount was $2,931.94

Desired Settlement: Treat out dry-wood termites. Answer the phone!

Consumer Response: The company contacted me and have resolved the problem.

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service