Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Akamai Pest Solutions

Phone: (808) 754-3393 Fax: (808) 966-7011 View Additional Phone Numbers Rr 3 Box 1471, Pahoa, HI 96778 http://www.akamaisolution.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Orange Oil treatments for drywood termites, also provides general pest control services, ground treatments and termite inspections for escrow.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akamai Pest Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Akamai Pest Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akamai Pest Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 2008 Business started: 10/07/2003 Business started locally: 10/07/2003 Business incorporated 10/07/2003 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20181218-02.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is PCO-924.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Meints, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Meints, Member
Business Category

Pest Control Services Termite Control

Alternate Business Names
For Termites Only Inspections, LLC
Industry Tips
PEST CONTROL AND TERMITE EXTERMINATORS

Additional Locations

  • Rr 3 Box 1471

    Pahoa, HI 96778 (808) 937-7938 (808) 966-7011 (888) 609-7177 (888) 773-1556 (888) 819-5195 (888) 904-9784 (808) 754-3393

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir:I am submitting a complaint against Akamai Pest Solution.This company came out to treat our entire home for drywood termites,Jan,07,2013.They offered a 2 year warranty for their product & work.During the warranty period,we called them for new termite infestations at least 4 times.The areas that was treated,they took care of the problem,at least I thought they did.Had to call them again to please come out to our home because the the areas that was treated was again infested.Finally,the brother of the owner came by & looked at these treated areas.He treated practically all the areas that he looked at that had termite droppings.Well,before he was sent here,I witnessed live termites in the very spot that was treated twice before he came.And now this.Thank You,william w elaban

Desired Settlement: I would like them to treat this new area without me paying out of pocket.

Business Response: A technician will be sent out ASAP to address problem at no charge. Office will call to schedule

7/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of last year, called to requested warranty termite treatment. No one called back after numerous attempts. Sent a complaint to BBB. BBB suggested we try contacting them again. We finally connected, but we could not agree to a date/time because wife was going personal health issues. Because of my wife's health issues, the termite problem has given her added stress. Called back in March, and no answer.In early May, received letter stating an annual inspection was due. Called to schedule an appointment, and go a call back two weeks later. Both David, Akamai worker, and I agreed to an appointment on Monday, at 10:00 am. Monday came and no one showed up. I waited till 3:30 pm. Called David, and got no answer. Called the office numerous times and they could not contact David. David finally called back on Wednesday. Scheduled an appointment for Friday at 12:00 pm, which we both agreed. Friday came and no one showed up. I waited till 5:00 pm. Called David, and got no answer. Called the office and got no answer.I am very dissatisfied with the service that Akamai Pest Solutions, Pahoa, is providing.

Desired Settlement: All we want is to have our annual inspection, which is part of our extended warranty that we purchased, and repeat treatment to areas that showed termite dropping again.

Business Response: We called to arrange inspection but the phone number is incorrect. We can do inspection this week if we have correct contact phone number.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and is very surprised with the response. 

To close this case and move forward, I will find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Please have Akamai termite call me at ***** ********.

Sincerely,

***** *******

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 18, 2015Dear Better Business Bureau of Hawaii:I am filing a complaint against Akamai Pest Solutions for unethical business practices and lack of timely communication.Akamai Pest Solutions is refusing to honor the extended warranty that I paid for. It says it has no record of that warranty. I am attaching the letter and cancelled check that I sent to Akamai Pest Solutions. I am also attaching a copy of the original contract. That check was cashed on 9-29-14.Akamai Pest Solutions is telling me that no such record of my transactions exist. In other words, it is lying to me as I have the documents proving otherwise.Akamai Pest Solutions refuses to address my concerns in a timely manner. I spoke with **** from Akamai Pest Solutions and he said he would return my call today. As of now, he has not called. I am getting the run around from this company. I've also dealt the ***** ****** and *** ******* from that company a few months ago.I signed and paid $3162.75 for termite treatment services on 7-9-12. On 9-18-14, I paid an additional $209.33 for an extended warranty. Akamai Pest Solutions denies any of these transactions ever took place.Please help me address these concerns as I am beginning to experience physical and mental health symptoms in dealing with Akamai Pest Solutions.Please let me know if you have any questions.Thank you.****** ******

Desired Settlement: I am requesting an immediate total refund of $3372.08 from Akamai Pest Solutions.$3162.75 (amount paid for termite treatments on 7-9-12) and $209.33 (amount paid for extended warranty on 9-18-14).

Business Response: Customer was sent a letter of apology by the owner ***** ******

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have not received any written apology from anyone at Akamai Pest Solutions.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response: Letter was mailed out today June1, 2015 from Hilo

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

In ***** ******' apology letter, he still refuses to acknowledge that I paid for the extended warranty. He wrote, "...but sometimes we make mistakes." While we all make mistakes, this is the second time that I've had the same issue with ******s company. Akamai Pest Solutions refused to reply to me last year, too, when I tried to contact it. ***** blamed his secretary for that mistake and said she was replaced. Who is he blaming now?

I fear from my life and property if I have to deal with Akamai Pest Solutions and any of its affiliates. And how else would Akamail Pest Solutions provide any type of termite treatments other than to be on my property with me there? I do not want to risk being in such a dangerous situation and that is why I am requesting a refund. I want nothing to do with Akamai Pest Solutions other than to get a refund. All trust with Akamai Pest Solutions has been broken.

The attached letter from ***** is dated 5-25-15. Why did he wait till 6-1-15 to send it? This further adds to the mistrust and unethical business practices at Akamai Pest Solutions.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Evelyn ****** 

Business Response: I will be Oahu on Thursday of this week and would like to meet with Mrs ****** in person to come to a mutual agreement on how we can rectify this situation.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

***** is the owner of Akamai Pest Solutions but he seems to have very little say in running it.  In other words, he's the owner but apparently lets **** run the Oahu operations. ***** was polite when I spoke with him before, but as I've already mentioned, he doesn't seem aware of how his company is run on a day-to-day basis. His employees are horrible. They are rude and do not respond to e-mails at all and to phone calls in a timely manner.

I want a refund because I don't want to ever  have to deal with Akamai Pest Solutions and its poor business practices. As for Roger, it's great that he seems like a nice person, but he isn't on Oahu to run his business.  I am also wondering if ***** is just a figurehead at Akamai Pest Solutions because when I asked **** about him, **** said, "I'm the manager now. ***** is gone."

Sincerely,

Evelyn ****** 

Business Response: It appears that Ms.****** is very angry and frustrated and apparently just wants to be rid of Akamai Pest Solutions permanently. Because I always try to do the right thing by our customers I will mail Ms. ****** a full refund but I will require her to sign a standard release form that releases all liability of any kind of Akamai Pest Solutions. ***** ******

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I am requesting that all transactions between Akamai Pest Solutions and me be fully resolved by close of business on Monday, July 6, 2015.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Evelyn ****** 

6/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently renewed my warranty and paid $416 earlier than needed. It seems they were all too happy to cash my check but not so responsive to requests for service. My wife and I have both called and left weekly messages, total of 4 calls, for them to return our calls for service. We contacted Kona & Pahoa offices with no response. We are in the process of contacting the product manufacturers if Akamai will not cooperate and fulfill their contract/warranty. Our last attempt will be to report them to the DCCA for breach of contract if they do not honor their warranty and ignor our requests for service.

Desired Settlement: We would simply like to have the service performed to honor the warranty in a timely manner or receive an immediate refund if this is the level of service they will continue to offer.

Business Response: I apologize the our customer and I will contact the manager in Kona to take care of this service immediately. Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. ***** ****** Akamai Pest Solutions

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
They took a while but returned the call today and came right out to provide service. The technician was polite and gave us another name and phone contact for future service requests. We hope this works out better in the future.

Sincerely,

***** ******

6/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Akamai Pest Solutions initially treated our home against drywood termites with ****** *** on 8/2/2013 and gave a 2 year warranty to come back as necessary to treat new outbreaks. The Akamai team did come back about 4 times (from memory) in 2014 for spot treatment, and we always found the team who do the treatment professional and friendly. However, placing a call with the Kona Branch and getting a commitment for a date to do the work under warranty has turned into a major aggravation. The process is not setup to please customers, phone calls are not being returned when promised and existing customers are being ignored and stonewalled. We called on 4/20 and 4/22 and talked to the Kona Branch Manager who promised to call back with a date; this never happened. On 4/27 we called one of the team technicians who did return the calls once but was unable to give us a date. On 5/8 we left 3 voicemails for the Kona Branch Manager, 1 voicemail for the team technician and 1 voicemail on the main phone number advertised on their website; no joy.

Desired Settlement: Given the difficulties, we do not wish to continue business with Akamai and request a refund apportioned of the initial payment ($2500) for the time when we initiated the call on 4/20/2015 through the end of our contract on 8/2/2015.

Business Response: Customer was refunded #300.00 and will no longer be a customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

5/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the purchase of my home I requested termite service to be provided by Akamai Pest Solutions. Services were provided at the expense of the seller with a 2-year guarantee. Upon moving into my home, I noticed several locations of termite activity, and phoned ****** at Akamai to inspect and treat. Within one week his crew performed a re-treatment to select areas. I was assured by ****** that Akamai would re-treat any termite activity as the 2-year guarantee states. I have since phoned him four times to inspect several new termite areas, as it seems that the termite activity is uncontrolled and worsening. He has said that he is busy on another job in the area but would come to my house to inspect. He has not come to my house nor called me back on any of the four occasions that I have requested service. I feel that Akamai is not honoring their guarantee.

Desired Settlement: I wish to be refunded the amount paid for original service so that I may have my house tented to control termite infestation. I do not believe that ****** will honor Akamai's guarantee to control termites for 2 years.

Business Response: I spoke with customer and gathered more information. We will be setting up an appointment today for a complete reinspection and treatment for any infested areas and customers was fine with that and is no longer upset, just concerned about her home.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** ******

3/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint against Akamai Pest Solutions Kona arises from their total stonewalling me on my numerous requests that they HONOR THEIR WARRANTY and come to my home to inspect and spray for termites that have inflicted obvious visual damage to my home.Akamai Pest Solutions Kona gave me a 2 year warranty with an annual inspection to include a visual inspection and TREATMENT upon request at no additional charge. The problem is after calling Akamai Pest Solutions Kona 3 times and leaving my concerns along with a request to call me back they have chosen to stonewall me, they will not respond in any fashion.It is sad that they treat their customers in this fashion. Very unprofessional....I still have 1 year remaining on their "warranty"...

Desired Settlement: I would prefer Akamai come to my home and honor their warranty. If not, I would like to request a refund of the monies I spent for their service not rendered.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

Akamai Pest Solutions has honored their warranty to me to my satisfaction, what this all boils down to is a miscommunication of who the new owner of the home was... Somehow the previous owner was confused with me, apparently that's why my attempts to contact Akamai were unanswered... And no, I called the correct phone number...With Akamai's business recording... Bottom line, thanks to BBB and Akamai!
Mahalo, **** *****

Consumer Response: Dear Representative of Hawaii BBB;

This is in response to your letter we received on December 15, regarding ID *****. A complaint that was filed on 11/10/14 @11:5742 AM by **** *****.

Your office initially sent a letter to us regarding the above customer, Mr. *****, stating he made numerous attempts to contact us for services he was in need of at his residence on ******* rd, in Captain Cook, HI.. The letter stated we needed to contact Mr. ***** and resolve the situation in so many days from receipt of letter. We did contact him and on Dec.8,201 4 we serviced his residence and took care of his concerns.
We learned the reason he was not having any luck contacting our offices, was because he was calling the wrong number's. We have not only serviced his residence for the pests he was concerned about, we have also updated him on the contact information he needs to reach the right people to help him with future concerns. What concerns me, is your role in this whole process, **** took Mr. **** complaint and
was quick to send us a letter, and even quicker you sent us a letter informing us that you had made numerous attempts to contact us, upon being unable to reach someone you filed this complaint. I have not received one piece of mail, nor a phone call or an email from your offices, so your statement concerns me. I would like your notice to change any negative reviews on this matter regarding our company immediately, as I feel you have not followed through as you have stated in your most current letter to our office' The situation was resolved immediately to receiving your initial letter and had you truly followed through yow office would have determined this before sending us you're most current assumption of "Unanswered". I think in order to close a case in such a manner one would need to check with each party involved which would have been Mr ***** and Akamai Pest Solutions Kona.

Mahalo,


9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Akamai treated our home with orange oil. They were to return as necessary to spot treat. They don't answer their phones or call back. Voice mail full Orange oil treatment of our home. Purchase date 9/17/13. They have returned once to spot treat outbreaks. I have been trying to reach them for several weeks to treat a new outbreak. They do not answer any of their phones. Their voice mail boxes are usually full, not accepting new messages, and they do not call back as promised. I suspect the company is out of business. Payment amount was $2,931.94

Desired Settlement: Treat out dry-wood termites. Answer the phone!

Consumer Response: The company contacted me and have resolved the problem.

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service