BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Accel Party Rentals & Design

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 484-2258 Fax: (808) 484-4458 View Additional Phone Numbers 99-1405 Koaha Place Ste A, Aiea, HI 96701 http://www.accelrentals.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Accel Party Rentals & Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Accel Party Rentals & Design include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Accel Party Rentals & Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 13, 2003 Business started: 05/16/1996 Business started locally: 05/16/1996 Business incorporated: 05/16/1996 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20515550-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Rabe, President Ms. Lisa Rabe, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Rabe, President
Business Category

Party Supplies Party Supplies - Renting Wedding Supplies & Services

Alternate Business Names
Ariel Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 99-1405 Koaha Place Ste A

    Aiea, HI 96701 (808) 484-2258

  • PO Box 17869

    Honolulu, HI 96817

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 389-7633(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had called and booked a white peak tent with plastic barrels for my daughters "tiffany blue" bridal party.Instead it looked like a tent for a circus We ordered a tent for my daughters bridal shower. the discription shown was a beautiful peaked white tent. I ordered this verses our own tent because I wanted something "special" for the event. The tent was delivered dirty with all this black smudges on the tent. They also sent white skirts to go over the barrels and those were torn. My daughter was in tears and wanted us to take it down and have no tent vs. that tent. I called to discuss with them and the excuse was "well people rent and use it to cook under and it gets black from the smoke. No refund was even offered. I think $245. was a rip off and I would never use this company again. They shouldnt falsely advertise. This is more a circus tent and it ruined our event. Very poor quality and customer service. Before I thought you got what you PAID for but not in this case. You just pay....

Desired Settlement: refund and a guarantee they never to this to someone else. Have their equipment cleaned especially if they acknowledge its dirty. Be upfront and tell the customer the true condition of their product and then let them decide if they still want it. I wish I had that choice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/24) */ We take our client's concerns seriously, and understand that she expected something other than what she received. Without photos, it is very difficult to say whether or not her complaints fall within "normal" wear-and-tear which are common across the rental industry, or not. However our position is that the complaints regarding quality, even if true, are normal wear and tear. Our inventory consists of approximately 40 10x10 tents. According to our records, we rented 10x10 tents 729 times thus far in 2013, and have had 0 major complaints besides hers. I only mention this to show that most people do not complain about the quality of the tent. Of course, I realize there is always the possibility of one, and our client certainly is entitled to her own opinion, since "quality" is of course a vague term, and subject to the eye of the beholder. It is unfortunate that our client did not ask for a remedy BEFORE her event started. Our records show that her tent was delivered on the morning of August 2nd for her August 3rd event, nearly 24 hours in advance. IF she had called expressing some displeasure with her product upon delivery, we could have tried to remedy her complaints then by either doing some extra cleaning on her tent or switching it out for another top. Alternatively, she could have cancelled the tent at that point and received a refund. But this did not happen. Since we are now left in the position of trying to find a resolution after the event is complete, and we had done everything to reasonably fulfill our contract (as far as we were aware of), I will try to evaluate her complaints to see if they merit a refund: 1. Dirty Tent - not sure what "black smudges" are. We have seen no photos to verify them. If they were able to be cleaned, we would have instructed our staff to do so. If not, we could have switched out her tent top. And cooking under the tent would not cause black smudges unless someone was grilling with charcoal. Regardless, our cleaning crew would have scrubbed it out before sending it to her. Again, the expectation should not be that there are NO marks of any kind on the tent, but that they are not excessive. A few black marks of small, unobtrusive size or location would be considered normal wear and tear. 2. Circus Tent - it's funny because most people LIKE the fact that our tents are high-peaked and shaped like a circus tent or an Arabian Nights style tent. I do not know how she had seen a photo of specifically a 10x10' tent from us, because our website does not show a photo of the 10x10 white tent. There ARE photos of 20x20's, which are the exact same style of the tent she received, only larger. In any case, this is just how the tents are designed. We have absolutely no control over that, and her criticism that it is like a circus tent is simply her opinion and not anything we can remedy. 3. Torn Barrel Covers - what she refers to as "white skirts" are actually listed on her invoice as "barrel covers", which are damaged tablecloths we use to wrap the barrels so you don't see bare plastic. Torn ones are definitely used because we only charge $4 for them. Again, IF she had issues with this, she could have asked upon delivery and we would have explained this to her or suggested she use an actual tablecloth, which are nicer but cost $7.95 each. One other fact that is not mentioned yet is that our client did indeed pay for her rental order via check... 4 months after the event, on or about December 9, 2013. IF she truly just wanted a refund on the tent, she had all the leverage in the world to withhold payment and argue her point. Or simply send in a partial payment and say that she felt that was all the product was worth. But why did she willingly pay in full for something for which she did not feel was reasonable? In summary, our position is that IF our client had asked us for a resolution before her event began, we would have done anything reasonable to service her, even if we felt her requests themselves were unreasonable. However, since she is complaining after the fact, our only remedy is, obviously, refunding some or all of her payment. Without photos we honestly cannot verify if her claims are reasonable enough to refund money. I believe we did everything reasonably expected to uphold our end of the contract. I'm not sure what more we could do, besides giving money back simply because our client is asking. As a goodwill gesture, we can offer her 10% ($24.50) as a refund. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/01/03) */ I understand that no amount of explainations or proof will sway our client from her impression that she overpaid for our product and service. Regardless of our position on the matter, the bottom line is that she is unhappy with what she received. Again, because this is after the fact, we cannot remedy the situation, only find a resolution in the form of some restitution. Our client is not satisfied with a 10% refund, but has not indicated what would be sufficient. I would hope that she is simply looking for a sum reasonably equal to what she feels would be fair, taking into account the facts: 1. We sent out crew to set up the equipment (labor cost) 2. We sent out crew on a following day to break it down (labor cost) 3. The order was accepted (even if she wasn't fully satisfied with the perceived quality) by using the product for the event 4. The invoice was paid in full well after the event was completed. The bottom line is that she is unhappy. Therefore, we are prepared to go above and beyond for her sake, and offer a $125 cash refund (over 50% of her total) to be paid via check upon her acceptance. ALTERNATIVELY, we offer to make a donation to the Make-a-Wish Foundation in her name for $250, which would benefit children with life-threatening medical conditions in Hawaii by helping to make their wishes come true. She would receive a card from Make-a-Wish, either via email or mail (her choice) to thank her for this donation. To recap, she can either take a cash refund in the form of $125, or forego a cash refund and donate ALL the money she spent on the event to a very worthy cause ($250). Our commitment to providing our clients with great products and even better service is something we take very seriously, and we hope you understand that we always strive to do the right thing. We hope one of these two offers is acceptable to you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/01/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept the 125.oo cash offer but I would highly suggest that they do routine maintanence of their material. There was a problem sending me an invoice, therefore my address is :**** **** ****** Honolulu, HI 96816