Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Raymond's Painting Co., Inc.

Phone: (808) 842-1117 904 Hikina Ln, Honolulu, HI 96817 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.raymondspainting.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential waterproofing, spall repair and painting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Raymond's Painting Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Raymond's Painting Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Raymond's Painting Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2004 Business started: 01/05/1970 Business started locally: 01/05/1970 Business incorporated 01/05/1970 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20286818-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is C4963.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C26460.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond Shimamoto, President Ms. Naomi Shimamoto, Secretary Mr. Rodd Shimamoto, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Shimamoto, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** supervisor from Raymond's Painting recommended ******* from ***** **** *** to remove splatters of paint, concrete off my truck from building.... I called Raymond's Painting on 6/27/2013 on Thurs. at 842-1117, ***** answered saying I would have to talk to *** after briefly telling her why I was calling, she said he was busy, will have him call.Finally I called back about 7/10/2013 Wed. 12:15 p, I explained to *** who was the project supervisor for work being done at Waikiki Banyan on Ohua Ave. that my truck parked on that side of the street was left with splatters of paint/concrete on my 2007 Nissan Frontier 4x4 pickup truck. He apologized by saying since I wasn't screaming at him about it to call this guy *******, mobile auto detail at ******** to have him look at my truck. Next day 7/11 Thurs. around 5p-5:45p, will come in afternoon, couldn't make it, decided to come when he called 7/15 Mon. will come about 2-2:15 pm, but couldn't make it till 7/12 around 3:40 pm to check the splatters on the truck. On 7/18/2013 Thurs, ******* set up appointment for Mon. 12 noon to bring the truck to Side Street Inn on corner of Kapahulu Prudential Locations building for detail which I did, said it would take about 2 to 2 1/2 hours, but I came early about 11:50 to drop off truck and keys, said he'd call 1/2 hour before pau. Picked up truck, could see he did remove the splatters from what I could scan from front to back of truck, thanked him, he gave me his business card and left. Later on I could see that if I rinsed off my truck, it would leave big round white water spots or if it rained, same thing sitting on my hood, so I would try to scrub it off with a rag, try to use car wash liquid to wash it off, later on it would come back like I never touched it. It bothered me enough to a point when I had to call ******* back to explain the problem on 8/21/2013 Wed. So we set up Tues. 8/27/2013 at 10:30 for him to work on it. He did say he would have to buff it, seal it, wax it, mentioned that a job like that was $150.00 then said $50, which I misunderstood I would have to pay at least, that wasn't clear but feeling that it was his fault as I explained to him I never had those white water spots until he worked on it, he claim that he could see it when he worked on it, so I told him it wasn't there, but he has to remember that I left that truck in that state of dirtiness, with those splatters when he could work on it. I know my truck, I don't even send it through a car wash, I wash my own truck, I know every dent,scratch,paint smears,etc. So picking up the truck after he called to say it was finished, now it's going on to 1 pm, I was surprised that he said it cost me $150.00, shocked and still explaining to him about the water spots, I couldn't believe that he was still charging me that price for something I was trying to point out to him that he must have done something to cause this to happen, then knowing he was going to "sock it to me" once I called him back about it, making a sale right there, how unfair business practice, like I'm being scammed, ripped off by all this, I felt I shouldn't have to pay for something that now he caused. The truck looked great, shiny in appearance as if I just drove off the car lot when I brought it, I felt that's the way it should've looked in the beginning, but he said he was suppose to only remove the splatters. I asked him what he used, said it was his own mix, if I wanted to keep the maintenance of the truck to go to Wal-Mart, could pick up clay bar, McGuire's polymer wax. I was very upset, frustrated that what was suppose to be fixed by Raymond's Painting on them, I ended up paying in more than one way, the second time which should have been done right the first time with no cost to me.This sounds like a racquet. I did call ***** at Raymond's, she said *** was busy at a meeting, so I complained to her that afternoon. I tried calling ******* back that day to say he didn't give me a receipt, next morning he did call me back to say he would e-mail me the receipt, which he did when I found it in the afternoon in my "in-box". I want my money back.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting the $150.00 I paid ******* to remove the obvious water spots that you could see on my truck's hood, big island like spots with white markings dotting my hood when it's rinsed or when it rains, just when there's water on it. I tried scrubbing it off myself, but later on it would come back like I never cleaned it. That has never happened before I had ******* clean it the first time. Since he used his own mix to remove paint, concrete splatters, his "mix" made it worse. It may have stripped the protection that was there since I brought the truck in 2007, I have never had this truck professionally cleaned by any businesses or auto detail person till now. I feel I shouldn't have to pay for something that ******* may have caused to have me call him back to correct the problem he may have caused on my paint of my truck to have it react to water that way. I feel that I was tricked into paying for something I did not cause in the first place that ******* knows exactly what he did to have me come back to him with this problem. I feel I was unfairly scammed with having to pay him through his fault not mine and I resent that *** from Raymond's Painting referred me to him because of the exterior work they were doing at Waikiki Banyan on Ohua Ave. that affected the finished surfaces of my truck parked on that side of the street. They've been other complaints especially my boyfriend's car, but he has his car parked across the street in his own parking stall provided by his condo building.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/17) */ September 12, 2013 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii Inc. 1132 Bishop Street, Ste. 615 Honolulu, Hawaii 96813 RE: Case #********: Ms. ******* ****** Dear Mr. ********, This is in response to reference of the above case #********, Ms. ******* ******. Yes, we referred Ms. ****** to ***** **** *** to have her vehicle cleaned for concrete dust. She was to make her own arrangements for her convenient schedule. Itis our understanding work was completed, accepted and payment by Raymonds Painting for $250.00 was made to ***** **** *** for services rendered. However , after August 27, 2013, Ms. ****** called the office to inform us that she had taken her vehicle back to ***** **** *** for water spots removal, not concrete dust. She was upset because she was charged $150.00 and wanted to be reimbursed. Is Ms. ****** asking for reimbursement from Raymonds Painting Company, Inc. or from ***** **** ***? We should not be responsible to pay for work done the second time , she signed acceptance of the initial vehicle cleaning. Please see attached. Sincerely, **** ********* **** ********* ________________