Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Akamai Painting, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service painting company and sales, service, and installation of residential garage doors


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akamai Painting, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Akamai Painting, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akamai Painting, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 11, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20341250-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is BC11896.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is BC11458.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Claude S. Thompson, President Leila Thompson, V P
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Claude S. Thompson, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Garage Doors & Openers

Alternate Business Names
Martin Garage Doors Hawaii

Additional Locations

  • 2839 Kilihau St

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • PO Box 30527

    Honolulu, HI 96820

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought Martin Garage Door twice primarily because of warranty against rust. Door rusted twice and Martin refuses to replace or honor warranty. Bought Martin Garage door twice due to warranty against rust. First time purchase was at Sears Ala Moana in approximate year 2000. Since Sears no longer represented Martin Garage Doors they referred me to the Martin Garage Doors Hawaii office at 2839 Kilihau St. Second door was purchased on 12/18/2007 Invoice # MS **** They agreed that the first door rusted and asked for minimum payment since Sears collected the first payment. I was assured by numerous sales people including ***** ******** that new Martin Finger Shied Garage Door System would not rust. Called ******* on or about 3/4/13 to report garage door was rusting again. ******* admitted on 3/4/13 that numerous people were told by Martin Garage Doors Hawaii that the doors were lifetime warrantied against rust or corrosion. That this "finger shield model door was even installed in oceanfront home and never rusted". ******* then told me about a week later that Martin would no longer honor the warranty.

Desired Settlement: Honor warranty and replace rusting garage door in my home at *** ******** *****. Honolulu, HI 96821

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/04/24) */ It is very unfortunate that Mr. **** is dissatisfied with the product and service he has received from our company. I have reviewed his file and spoken with the staff who assisted Mr. **** with his warranty issues. Our company policy is to stand by the manufacturer's warranty as delivered to the customer at time of installation (customer supplied us with a copy of his warranty)along with the owner's manual, which states, "...Some areas of the world are damp and wet, which may require additional oiling, cleaning and painting to maintain a new look. See and follow the Maintenance Instructions..." The warranty further states, "Proper installation and maintenance of this door. Martin Dealers are trained to do a quality annual service. Maintenance instructions for oiling, cleaning, etc. are listed in Martin Installation manual..." The maintenance instructions read as follows, "wax yearly the leading edge of metal door Finger Shields....As needed wash away dirt, salt, residue, etc. from door sections...Frequent waxing or painting may be required in extremely damp, salty or caustic areas..." Mr. **** admits he has not waxed his door as recommended in the warranty instructions as he was unaware of the necessity to do so based on the his recollection that an employee stated a powder coated door will not rust. Our statement to customers has been, and continues to be, that all doors must be maintained according to manufacturer's instructions. Any painted metal surface will rust if not properly maintained and cleaned regularly. The areas on Mr. ****'s door that are showing rust are at the finger shield area which has not received the required regular waxing as stated above. We have no record of Mr. **** requesting preventative maintenance on his door, while not required to maintain the warranty, the customer must be sure to follow the maintenance instructions in order to maintain his warranty. Mr. **** original door was installed October 19, 1999. He contacted us in October 2004 to report the door was showing signs of rust. The service order references the lack of maintenance as the reason for the rust. We painted the door at no cost to Mr. ****. In October 2007 he purchased the replacement door with the powder coat finish. No record exists that states he was told the door would never rust. The replacement door was installed 01/04/2008. Again, we have no records that indicate we have provided any annual service/maintenance on the door. We offered to treat the rust and repaint the affected areas of the door. Mr. **** refused and wants the sections replaced. The manufacturer does not see this as a warranty replacement item due to the lack of required maintenance on the door sections. It is our hope that Mr. **** will accept the stated offer and we can resolve this matter. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 21, 2013/06/05) */ WHAT KIND OF ASSURANCES DO I HAVE THAT AKAMAI WILL FIX THE RUST. THE WARRANTY'S THAT WERE GIVEN TO ME IN WRITING STATE THAT THE PRODUCT IS GUARANTEED NOT TO RUST. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/06/12) */ We understand Mr. *'s concern regarding the rust, however, Martin Mfg does not have, nor have they ever had, a written statement that the doors will not rust. If Mr. C can provide us with the written "guaranteed not to rust" warranty, as he states he has, then we can pursue the matter with the manufacturer.