Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Westpac International, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 845-9711 Fax: (808) 847-5479 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 17398, Honolulu, HI 96817 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers interstate & worldwide moving services. Estimates provided 24/7.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Westpac International, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Westpac International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Westpac International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 1986 Business started: 12/01/1998 Business started locally: 12/01/1998 Business incorporated 07/27/2000 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20536274-01.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
Phone Number: (888) 368-7238
The number is USDOT 768930.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rodney Nanbu, President Mr. Fred Miura, General Manager Mr. John Namba, Sales Manager Ms. Amy Niitani, Accountant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Fred Miura, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Rodney Nanbu, President
Business Category

Movers Movers - International Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1220 Mikole St

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 845-9595

  • PO Box 17398

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 227-6683


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damaged furniture due to improper loading in crate. I was ignored when I asked for a claim form. They broke an end table when they loaded too much weight on top of it . It was crushed beyond repair. When I contacted Westpac for a claim form I was dismissed and ignored.

Desired Settlement: They should pay something for the end table they damaged, after all they raised my price over a thousand dollars after they got possession of my furniture. I had the man come out to my house to give me a price. He looked at everything I had and gave me a price, but after they had possession of it the price went up significantly.

Business Response: Hi **** *****,

Westpac International helped Mrs. ***** with her move to Michigan. When moving to the mainland, Westpac International is considered the origin agent (the work done in Hawaii). Westpac represents a carrier (******* ****** **********) that is responsible for, and oversees the entire door to door move for Mrs. *****. I was able to help Mrs. ***** receive free storage in Hawaii for her household goods. Westpac was later informed to send out Mrs. *****'s shipment.

Regretfully, there was damage done to her table. ******* ****** ********** is responsible for settling any claims on damages. I informed Mrs. ***** to contact a specific person at ******* to process her claim. Normally, *******'s customer service is excellent, and I am surprised that the claim has not been settled. I also received a email from ******* that says that a claim form has been sent out to Mrs. *****. I will investigate to see what has happened.

I will be proactive in helping Mrs. ***** complete her claim. I have emailed her and called her to contact me. It will b beneficial if I can make contact with Mrs. ***** and get more information.

Best Regards,
Westpac International

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was never told to contact someone at ******* ******, but at this time I have received a claim form, which I have filled out and mailed in. At this time I have not received any response to it.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Westpac quoted estimate to move household goods was 1,000 lbs for $1,650.00. They took items and then said weight was 2,046 lbs and charged $3,334.98 On March 19, 2013, at about 1030 hours, Westpac International Inc., Marketing and Moving Manager, ********** arrived at our apartment and did a estimate to move our apartment household goods (no furniture) from Honolulu, Hawaii to Venice, Florida. All of the items to be moved were pointed out to him and he took notes during his estimate. At that time ********** verbally stated to me that the total weight of the items were estimated at about 1,000 lbs. He later emailed me the same estimated quote of 1,000 lbs, for a total charge of $1,650.00 (attached). We agreed to the estimated quote and to have Westpac International Inc., conduct our move (Contract REF# *******). This decision was based on comparison shopping for movers and heavily on the Westpac estimated quote. On Tuesday, April 23, 2013, at 0800 hours, Westpac International Inc., employees arrived at our apartment and packed our household belongings to be shipped. To my surprise, on Wednesday, April 24, 2013, about midday, ********** from Westpac International Inc., calls me and states the total weight of our items is now 2,046 lbs., and the cost to ship our items to Venice, Florida is now $3,334.98. I informed him that is over 2 times the estimated quote. I also stated that I understood the quote would be off by some, but I did not understand how it could be over 2 times the amount. ********** stated that if we wanted to, we could come down to their facility and remove some of our items from the shipping crate to sell or give away to reduce the weight. This was not an option for us. We were preparing to leave for the mainland in less than 2 days and were on a tight and busy schedule. We did not have any time or anyone to assist us with sorting through our items to reduce the weight. We had done this prior and downsized our belongings prior to contacting any moving companies. The items to be shipped were the items we needed. I thought the Honolulu side move of our belongings aspect of our relocation was completed when Westpac International Inc., arrived, packed and took them. We were now stuck and I had no choice but to tell ********** to ship the items as is. On April 24, 2013, Westpac charged a $1,000.00 deposit on my American Express card (attached). On April 24, 2013, I called the Hawaii Better Business Bureau and the State of Hawaii Office of Consumer Protection Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs for advice and to inform them of the dicrepancy in the quote and actual charge. I was advised to initiate complaints. I had concerns about initiating the complaints while our goods were in transit and that Westpac International Inc., may not complete the delivery. I was informed that I may initiate the complaints after we receive our property. On Tuesday, May 28, 2013, I received a call from Good All Brothers in St. Petersburg, Florida. They stated that our belongings arrived and were ready to be delivered, but I first must pay the balance COD of $2,334.98 with Westpac International Inc. I then contacted ************* of Unipack Global Relocation (********** provided her as the POC for our shipment) to complete the payment and she charged the balance of $2,334.98 to my American Express card (attached). Our items were delivered to us in Venice Florida on Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at about 1030 hours. My specific complaint is that Westpac International (**********) grossly misrepresented the estimated quote. I understand that a quote is an estimate and will vary, but not by over 100%. Had we received a fair and reliable quote, we would have had the information and time to make an informed decision if we were going to proceed with Westpac International Inc., in handling our move. When ********** informed us of the new weight and charges after they had our belongings, we were literally held prisoner without any options due to having no time or assistance for any alternative. We had no choice but to have Westpac International Inc., complete the move and pay the charges.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a partial refund from Westpac International Inc. When I initially spoke to the Hawaii Better Business Bureau, I was informed that there may be a law that estimated quotes from businesses must fall within certain parameters. In other words, the final charge by the business cannot be above a certain percentage of the estimated quote the business provided. We would like Westpac International Inc., to refund the difference of what is allowed to be maxium deviation above a quote from a business for the service they provide. If there is no law relating to the estimated quotes businesses provide, we are still seeking a partial refund from Westpac International Inc. A charge over 100% of the estimated quote provided by the business is gross misrepresentation and in my opinion deceptive business practice. In our case we had no choice for any alternative. Westpac International Inc., had custody of our belongings and we had no time to do anything due to leaving for the mainland shortly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 25, 2013/07/08) */ From: ***************** (mailto:*****************) Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 3:16 PM To: **************; ************************; **********************; ***************** Subject: Fwd: BBB ******** Case#******** Westpac International Inc. Hi *****, herewith attached is the letter we presented to Mr. ************ of The Consumer Affairs office on which he based his favorable ruling for Westpac. . Mr. ********'s letter to the BBB is identical to what he sent to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** attached a copy of our letter of explanation to Mr. ******** , his ruling and forwarded it to Mr. ********. We hope this satisfies BBB that we have taken appropriate actions to explain our response to Mr. ********'s letter to the BBB. Yours truly ************* Westpac International Inc. General Manager Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 29, 2013/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ***** is submitting a resposne which is practically verbatim to the response that ********** has already submitted. I have already responded to that response and it is attached in the Hawaii BBB compalint documents. I am awaiting a response from the Director of the Hawaii Office of Consumer Protection to review the case for re-investigation and action. I am also awaiting responses from the U.S. DOT and American Express regarding my complaint. Thank you.