Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

M. Dyer & Sons, Inc.

Phone: (808) 456-4200 Fax: (808) 455-3600 98-054 Kuleana Rd, Pearl City, HI 96782 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers full service moving & storage services of household goods & business records to local, inter-island, usa, or international, and file storage with file connection.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that M. Dyer & Sons, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on M. Dyer & Sons, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 1973 Business started: 05/08/1968 Business started locally: 05/08/1968 Business incorporated 05/08/1968 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20282474-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is PUC 137C.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Rebecca L.M. Parker, President Mr. Eric Isoda, Vice President Ms. Janis Koza, Accounting Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rebecca L.M. Parker, President
Business Category

Movers Moving & Storage Company

Alternate Business Names
M. Dyer & Sons, Inc.
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 98-054 Kuleana Rd

    Pearl City, HI 96782


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dyer bailed out on me at the last minute for an international move. On May 26, 2016 I signed a moving contract with Dyer and they sent me a letter agreeing to a moving date of June 28/29. On June 16, 2016 (***s than two weeks before the move)they sent me an e-mail saying that they could no longer provide me the service, with no explanation. I now have to scramble at the last minute to find a mover, and possible storage and accommodation costs on both ends of the move while I get this all sorted out.

Desired Settlement: I would like Dyer to finish the job that they contracted to do, or provide me with costs to bring in another mover, along with any storage costs and a place to stay on both ends while I get all this resolved.

Business Response: The client was requesting to change the terms of the estimate and order for service.  We were unwilling to change the terms and recommended that he find a company that more suited his needs and could provide service in the delivery dates that he desired.  He threatened to reach out to government agencies and social media.  We felt that it would be unlikely that we would be able to please this client.  We did not provide any service and felt it was best for all concerned to decline to provide service as this would allow him two weeks to find a mover who better met his needs and could address his concerns.  We regret that given the peak moving season, we are unable to assist on this relocation. 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

After working with me for several weeks and entering into a contract with them for an international move, M Dyer and Sons suddenly dropped me without reason or cause.  They had surveyed my house twice,sent me a letter confirming a load date of June 28, and had me fill in customs forms.  I had accepted their most recent terms, and signed their quote.  They left me with ***s than two weeks to scramble to put together an international move in the middle of the busiest moving season in Hawaii.  I am a 64 year old retiree now trying to do this on my own.  They also refused to provide me with a copy of their published tariffs.  Their business practice is arrogant and unethical.


*** *******

Business Response:

We politely wish to not provide service for this potential client.  We have repeatedly asked him to find another mover that will meet his budget, his time constraints and address his concerns.  We consider this matter closed.

Thank you for your understanding.

Consumer Response: Attached are the e-mails between myself, and Tate M*******/ Rebecca P***** of Dyer for the two days covering June 15 and 16, 2016.  Dyer offered me revised rates after they voluntarily re-surveyed my house, which I clearly accepted.  They then suddenly and without cause cancelled service despite the previously mentioned signed agreement of May 26, 2016.  I desperately tried to smooth things over with my final email, but to no avail.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My shipment from Hawaii to Texas is being held hostage by M. Dyer and Sons as they try to extort more money from us up front. please contact me and I will forward any and all documents you need. The estimate for the weight and cost of the shipment of our household goods was done in our home. We were not provided with a copy of the paperwork/notes of that action. We only received a written estimate via email with a weight of 1,200 lbs at the cost of $1,836. An Order for Service was written up and signed on April 21, 2014 without an actual/final weight. Our House hold belongings were picked up on May 5, 2014. We signed a Bill of Lading indicating a collection of $1,400 and wrote a check for $1,400 that cleared a few days later. We were not offered an opportunity to be present for the actual weighing of our HHG; we did not waive our right to be present in writing or verbally. The actual weight was added to the Order for Service at a total of 2,325 lbs, approximately twice the amount we were originally quoted. We were told that the estimate would be reasonably close, and that the reason the weight was off was because we added to the shipment. My wife and I did not add anything to the shipment. After meeting with several employees of the company in order to file a formal complaint, it was made clear to us that the estimate paperwork/calculations were extremely inaccurate and incomplete; we now have a photograph of that paperwork because it had not been provided to/reviewed with us prior. The company president refused our offer of 25% more than the original estimate, which is the maximum amount we are able to pay considering the calculation error made by the company’s employee and not by an addition of belongings to the shipment. The company has not shipped our shipment off the island of oahu as of 6/5/14 as was agreed upon during the signing of the Bill of Lading which indicated a ship immediately box checked. We have been offered the opportunity to remove boxes from our shipment or receive a refund of our $1,400 in order to hire another moving company to pick up and ship our shipment while still paying M. Dyer an additional $900 for packing materials and labor. The contract I signed “Bill of Lading” indicated a delivery date between 4 to 6 weeks of the May 5th pick up date. We are currently in *********** and our shipment has not left the lot Hawaii as we approach week 6. We have contacted the **** and filed a complaint indicating a hostage shipment, we have also contacted Move Rescue, which in turn has filed with the **** on our behalf. The company continues to try to extort money from us it cannot legally have until 30 days after the shipment is delivered in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our shipment delivered within the regulations set forth by the federal government and agreed to in the contract we signed and paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ M. Dyer provided a premove survey in February of approximately 30 items totaling an estimated 1200 pounds to move to Texas at $1.53 per pound or $1,836.00. On the day of packing 5/5/14, client requested packing of 72 items totaling 2325 pounds which will cost $3,557.25 to move to Texas. Shipment is in route. We offered a discount if they would sign a new order for service and remit the balance at time of delivery. Client refused so under the terms of the *****, we must now charge full rate, collect 110% at time of delivery and bill the client for the full balance 30 days later. We offered to allow the client to remove items. They refused. Shipment will be delivered in the next four weeks upon payment of $619.60 before unpacking. We will bill the remaining balance of $1,537.65 30 days after delivery. All of this has been put in writing to the client. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The contract we entered was for the immediate shipping of our HHG. The shipment is past the 4-6 weeks delivery time and has yet to be delivered. The Shipment is a hostage load until the transfer back to our possession. M. Dyer and sons held our shipment while they tried to illegally extort more money from us, stating that we could go with another carrier if we wished by paying them $900, while we were still under contract. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/25) */ The client decided to move almost twice the amount if items originally shown to our estimator. They do not wish to pay the added cost and had mentioned a desire to possibly remove items. We delayed shipment with full knowledge of the client in writing to allow them time to decide which items to remove. They ultimately decided not to remove any items. Shipment is in route to final destination. They have been informed weeks ago of the transit time and date of departure.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on M. Dyer & Sons, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)