Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aloha International Moving Services, Inc

Phone: (808) 682-2500 Fax: (808) 682-5228 View Additional Phone Numbers 91-291 Kalaeloa Blvd Ste D1, Kapolei, HI 96707 http://www.hawaiimovers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Local and International Moving Services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aloha International Moving Services, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aloha International Moving Services, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aloha International Moving Services, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 28, 1995 Business started: 04/17/1995 Business started locally: 04/17/1995 Business incorporated 04/17/1995 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission
465 S. King Street Room 103, Honolulu HI 96813
puc.hawaii.gov
Phone Number: (808) 586-2020
hawaii.PUC@hawaii.gov
The number is 204-C.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20495618-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donn Takaki, President Ms. Sharon Park, Managing Director Mr. Ryan Takaki, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sharon Park, Managing Director
Principal: Mr. Donn Takaki, President
Business Category

Movers Relocation Service Freight Forwarding

Industry Tips
COST-EFFECTIVE MOVE MOVING COMPANIES MOVING/MOVERS RELOCATING YOUR BUSINESS

Additional Locations

  • 91-291 Kalaeloa Blvd Ste D1

    Kapolei, HI 96707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Aloha International to move our household possessions from HI to RI. They picked up our possessions on 5 June 2015 in Honolulu and told us delivery would be around 6 July in RI. It is now 26 July and they have no idea of our container location. We have called ****** in RI as well as Aloha International in an attempt to find our goods. We have been told numerous stories of different locations, problems with finding truck drivers, etc. Upon our arrival in RI, we rushed to get a house in order to have a destination. This delay has caused many personal hardships to include our inability to acquire RI drivers licensees due to the need for our SSN cards. My husband is a Navy contract doctor and currently doesn't have access to his PC, files, etc. I am a disabled vet who has lost many hours of sleep due to sleeping on an air mattress while waiting for our goods. Our last conversation with Ron C******* at Aloha International was fruitless with him admitting that he should have ensured a driver at our destination for delivery. There was never any feedback from this company of the status of our shipment. The last entry on ******'s tracking list shows our container arriving in Boston on 10 July only to be shipped to NY. We are approx. 1 hour from Boston. Why did this happen?

Desired Settlement: We request urgent delivery of our household goods. This is not only a desire but a personal need as this delivery delay has disabled us from our administrative business and has hampered my health. It is difficult to understand how a container can be lost for so long without any accurate tracking. I have moved overseas from CA to the UK during my AF career and was able to receive my goods in a shorter amount of time. There is no excuse for this sort of sloppy business practice.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. and Mrs. ******,

I apologize for the delay In receiving your shipment.  We first heard from ****** ************* on July 17th that the delivery agent still had not received your container from ****** **********.  At that point, my sales department started tracer action with ****** and we were advised that your container was at rail ramp ********* and they were attempting to locate a driver to truck your container to the delivery agent's facility.  On Friday, 7/24/15, my sales department came to me because they were advised by ****** that they were not having any luck with locating a trucker.  It is peak season for the moving industry and locating truckers is always a challenge.  Your shipment was packed out on June 5, 2015 and departed Honolulu via the ******** *** on June 13th.  The vessel arrived in Long Beach on June 19th.  There are many things that are beyond our control, which is why we provide a General Conditions Form for your acknowledgement (please see attached). 

I have contacted our ****** Representative in Hawaii and asked that he do everything he can to expedite your shipment.   I will contact you as soon as I have confirmation on when your container will arrive at the delivery agent's warehouse.

Regards,

Sharon P***

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Movers came to the house to repair the scratch. The scratch was sanded; however, the surface was never sealed. Wood was removed and now is lifting. Timeline for Aloha International Moving Services OCT- Found the scratch on the bamboo wood. OCT- Informed *** ******** of scratch to floor services OCT- ****** of Aloha International Moving Services, came to the house to repair the scratch. The scratch was sanded; however, the surface was never sealed. When cleaning the floor, dark spots formed when the liquid absorbed into the unprotected board. NOV- Went to the Kapolei office to let *** ******** of the dark spots. I emailed *** the picture of dark spots on the floor. NOV-JAN- ***** of Aloha International Moving Services, came to remove the damage boards. ***** came back again because the board was not properly secured to the floor. He then placed subflooring glue instead of the bamboo board glue. This resulted of the board lifting up and being unleveled with the other boards due to expansion of the glue. Currently, the board is defected and not repaired. This is a safety issue and it created a tripping hazard. Aloha International Moving Services refuses to come back and replace the board to how it was originally before they moved household goods into the homes and damaged the floor.

Desired Settlement: I am asking to company to do the right thing and replace the bamboo floor board to the condition where it looks professional repaired. They've tried several times and failed to do that. I've attached a picture to show if anyone would agree to that fix. Unfortunately, the glue lifted the board after it dried which takes awhile. The company is saying that I signed the paperwork. My analogy is that a company puts up a fence and looks good on the surface until a strong wind blows it down because no one added cement to the foundation. Who would have known since it is in the ground. This what happened here with poor workmanship and wrong materials. All I want is a flooring professional that will do the right thing and fix it properly according to standards. I gave the moving company ample opportunities to repair the damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/17) */ We have on file that for both the initial and second repair work, Mr. ******* signed an acknowledgement that work was completed to his satisfaction. It actually took 5 weeks from the initial repair to be notified that there were some issues with the board not being sealed. We also learned on Feb 24th that liquid was absorbed into the board when cleaning the floor. I have met with the Operations Manager, Sales Representative and both repair personnel. At this time our Operations Manager, **** *****, will be contacting Mr. ******* to inspect the work. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As far as response time, it was several days when I called *****, the repairer, to come by and take a look at the lifting of the board. To clarify, the 5 weeks + was the time from the first and second repair work which several workers had to come in and try to fix the repair. Even though paperwork was signed for completion, there should be consumer protection laws in place for work-related defects. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/04/22) */ **** ***** chose to obtain another quote to compare with the estimate that was provided by someone that Mr. ******* knows. He has contacted *** ******** ******** and is awaiting their quote. I will be out of town until May 19th and any further responses should be addressed to **** ***** ****@hawaiimovers.com Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/04/08) */ I've been on vacation the last 2 weeks. Let me update you information regarding the damages to the bamboo flooring. **** *****, the operations manager, for Aloha International Moving Services, came to the house to look at it. I was able to secure a quote from ***** *********, from ***** **** and ********. I've sent it to Mr. ***** for his response. Consumer Response /* (3000, 31, 2014/07/09) */ There were insufficient funds distributed to the 3rd party, Aloha bath and flooring, Mr. James Covington. On 6/14, 9 months after the damage occurred, I helped streamline the process by purchasing the 9 boxes of the bamboo planks out of pocket and would later be reimbursed since this project is way overdue. Mr. James Covington sent in a revised invoice to cover unexpected findings and repairs to Aloha International Moving Services, Inc. He covered for additional materials but not the added labor involved. Aloha International Moving Services refuses to pay and Mr. James Covington cannot reimburse me fully for the materials I bought. Thank you for your time and assistance in this matter. Business Response /* (4000, 33, 2014/07/10) */ We received written quotes for the repair work and advised Aloha Bath and Flooring on May 8th to proceed with the work. The written estimate covered the materials and repair for 70 square feet. Then on June 19th we received a revised invoice noting the same area of repair (70 square feet) but increasing the material cost by over $200.00. I requested a copy of the receipt for the materials purchased and found two purchases (May 25th and June 14th) were made by Bernie Ordonez and not Aloha Bath and Flooring. I checked with Home Depot and was advised that the initial purchase would sufficiently cover 70 square feet. The additional purchase covered another 142 square feet. My response to Mr. Covington who I assume is the principal for Aloha Bath was that we were under the impression that he was a 3rd party Contractor and not a representative for Mr. Ordonez. Our position is that a proposal from Aloha Bath was submitted to repair and replace an area of 70 square feet and going to 200 square feet is questionable. The actions here are suspect but as I have advised Aloha Bath - we gave the go ahead on the original proposal and any changes should have been approved prior to the work being done.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These movers are thieves targeting military. Stole an IPhone, HDTV and guitar. Upon packing my household gear, my friends IPhone goes missing immediately after the conclusion of picking up my house hold goods. Seeing that its easy losing a phone we give the movers the benefit of the doubt that they stole it. Upon receiving my household goods, my 52 inch LCD HDTV and electric guitar are now missing.

Desired Settlement: 1500 for the 52inch HDTV, 200 for the guitar, and 300 for the IPhone for a total of $2000.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/24) */ We performed the packout for Red Ball Forwarders. The entire shipment was loaded into one wooden crate and sealed at origin residence. I sent an email to Mr. Arenas asking if the seal was intact and if he checked off all the items as they were being unloaded. This shipment oved under a Government Bill of Lading. Any claims for missing or damaged items must be filed thru the Government Portal - Defense Property System. I have also advised Mr. Arenas of this. I sent an email to Red Ball asking them to check with the delivery agent to make sure that the shipment was not rehandled at time of delivery and that the seal was intact.