BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

All American Moving Inc.

Phone: (808) 955-6683 Fax: (808) 682-4550 View Additional Phone Numbers 91-110 Hanua St STE 205, Kapolei, HI 96707 http://www.allamericanhawaii.com/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides moving and storage services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All American Moving Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All American Moving Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All American Moving Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 08, 2004 Business started: 03/13/2003 Business started locally: 03/13/2003 Business incorporated: 03/13/2003 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Public Utilities Commission
465 S. King Street Room 103, Honolulu HI 96813
puc.hawaii.gov
Phone Number: (808) 586-2020
hawaii.PUC@hawaii.gov
The number is 2146-C.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20196722-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Arlin Solidum, President Mr. Aaron Blacker, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arlin Solidum, President
Business Category

Movers

Alternate Business Names
Solidum, Arlin

Additional Locations

  • 91-110 Hanua St STE 205

    Kapolei, HI 96707 (808) 682-4552

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 682-4552(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Active Duty, Veterans & All Beware Of ***** & All Non American Moving All Military & Government Services & Civilians Beware! Do Not Use This Moving Company. The Workers Are Good! However, The Broke My Flat Screen Television Over $1200 & I Received a $30 Check for it. They Didn't Ship Over a 1000 Lbs. & then sent me a check for $175 dollars. Now please inform me how All American Moving Charged $4100 for items already packed and then didn't ship a 1000 Lbs. & I only received $175 back. What math are they using. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY..ARLEN IS A LIAR. As A Solider & A Disabled Veteran..NEVER USE THIS COMPANY...All American My *****...You make sure you did your homework! I was in a hurry and need & they could have handled this like professionals. However, they played it cheap. ***** knew, I should have received at least $1500 back and they sent two checks for $200 dollars for a flat screen television. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY..I WILL KEEP THE TELEVISION & take pictures of these checks to show you how the are NOT ALL American..LYING PEICE OF TRASH...

Desired Settlement: I Want My $1600 Back Not $1500

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/31) */ Mr.*********, Our office is in receipt of your letter dated July 17, 2013(Case #52022371:Mr. ***** **********). We reviewed Mr. **********'s comments and our research provided us with the following facts: -On May 1, 2013 at 1:45p.m., we met with Mr. ********** at **-*** ***** Street in Kaneohe. We inventoried all of the household effects that he wanted to ship to California and then we provided him with a written estimate for door-to-door moving services on the same day at 2:04p.m. He contacted me on May 2, 2013 and informed me that the estimated cost of services was much higher than anticipated. We discussed several scenarios with Mr. ********** in an effort to reduce the estimated cost of the move. -Upon reviewing the different scenarios, Mr. ********** proposed to pay All-American Moving a flat rate of $4100.00 for door-to-door moving services from Hawaii to his residence in California. We agreed to his proposal based upon his shipment of the three lift vans of household effects which was estimated in our original proposal presented to the client on May 1, 2013. -Following our conversation with Mr. ********** on May 2, 2013, we immediately sent him a revised proposal which provided the client with a flat rate cost of $4100.00 to move his household effects to the mainland. We scheduled his move for May 3, 2013. Our moving crew was instructed by our office to limit Mr. **********'s shipment to(3)lift vans of household effects. We shipped (3)lift vans of household effects to the client's residence in California. -After his household shipment was picked up and shipped to the mainland, Mr. ********** contacted me and informed me that he had deleted several items from the shipment. He wanted to know if it was possible for him to receiva a refund. As a courtesy, we provided the client with a token refund of $175.00 even though we both originally agreed upon a flat rate cost for door-to-door moving services. -In regards to Mr. **********'s damage claim settlement of $30.00 for his flat screen television; our proposal clearly states that the carrier's basic liability coverage is 60 cents per pound per item. As an example, a 100 pound piece of furniture is covered at $60.00. As a courtesy, we based our $30.00 claim settlement on 50 pounds x 60 cents per pound for the flat screen television (which is much heavier than the actual weight of the item). It is our position that we were more than fair and accomodating to Mr. **********. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at #***-****. Regards, ***** ******* All-American Moving, Inc.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used this company to move, upon arrival of my goods the moving crew was unprofessional and many of my things were damaged during the re-assembly. Let me start by saying that I felt intimidated into using this company. We were on a budget so I was trying to find the best deal while still making sure that our things were safe. The gentleman, *****, whom I did all of the correspondence on the phone with, bad mouthed every other company I got a quote from. He made me sacred to use any one else by telling me that All American were one of the only movers that serviced the island, and that the companies I was getting quotes from were just people that got my number off the internet. That should have been the first red flag, where did his company get my number? After many phone calls All American agreed to match a binding quote I had received from another company given that I packed all of my things. This meant that they would not be responsible for any damage during the shipping process. I was fine with that. When I asked them about insurance they acted really put out about it. Upon my insistence they gave me the information. I sent them a detailed list of the items that I wanted Insured and they instructed me not to pack those items. The moving crew that I dealt with on the mainland was wonderful and very professional. The way I understand it is that All American contracts the mainland stuff to other people. It was not until My stuff arrived that I started to have problems. The movers from All American were rude and damaged many of my things. The First problem that I had was with the box spring to my bed. They said that it would not fit up the stairs so they left it downstairs.They were polite enough to suggest that we take out upstairs window apart and hoist the thing up with a rope. My husband and I later got it up to our bed room, using the staircase, with no problem. The legs to the headboard for my bed were misplaced and they acted like there was nothing they could do about it. I got out the inventory and showed them that they were on the truck when they left the mainland. The legs were eventually found and my bed was assembled but not properly. The frame was put together but none of the screws were tightened down. They brought in boxes that were clearly marked THIS SIDE UP and put them upside down resulting in many of my dishes being broken. This is the real rub for me, they lost the hardware for my son's bunk bed. Everything is wrapped in paper when it is packed and I am assuming that when the paper was cut off that is when the hardware was lost. The inventory clearly stated that it was wrapped with the bed parts. The crew just kind of shrugged and left my sons bed in pieces. They told me that they would have ***** contact me. After about a week he came out to my house and spent most of the day going back and forth to Home Depot trying to find hardware that would fit. After several hours he told me that he found something that would work but there were not enough at the store. Basically my child's bunk bed was put together with a few screws missing. When I asked him why the safety rails were missing on the top bunk he told me that he could not find hardware to fit. At that point I had enough and told him that I wanted to file an insurance claim to have the bed replaced because I did not feel that it was safe. He got an attitude with me and told me that if that was what i wanted to do then that was fine but that the bed was safe. He told me that the would let his kids sleep on it. I was made to feel like filing a claim was absurd. He told me what size the screws that he used were and left. The bed still had no safety rails on it. Finally it is time to lower the mattress on my baby's crib and when we went to do so we found that the screws were stripped out. The gentleman who was putting it together was having trouble with it so I found the directions and gave them to him. I also gave him the allen wrench that came with it. He told me that he did not need it and continued to use his power tool. Now an $800 crib is messed up! I would NEVER recommend this company!!

Desired Settlement: I want my sons crib restored to its original condition or I want it replaced.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/04) */ To Whom It May Concern: Our office is in receipt of your letter dated on May 22, 2014 (Case #********/Mrs. ****** *****). The following is our firm's response to Mrs. *****'s complaint: -On 1/10/13, ***** ******* of All-American Moving Inc. contacted Mrs. ***** regarding her upcoming move to Hawaii. At this time, she indicated that she already selected a company to handle her move to the islands. Mr. ******* researched the service rating of the company that she selected and found numerous complaints. He provided Mrs. ***** with the name of the source to confirm his findings. Mr. ******* also informed the client that if she needed to address any problems or concerns that she could do so directly with All-American Moving Inc. because our office is based in Honolulu. The original moving company that she contracted with is based on the mainland. -On 1/14/13, our office submitted a proposal for door-to-door moving services to Mrs. ***** (see attachment). Our proposal clearly states the carrier's basic liability coverage of 60 cent per pound per item as well as the option of purchasing insurance coverage on the client's household effects. The proposal also explains that the carrier will not provide any basic liability coverage on "packed-by-owner cartons". Mrs. ***** informed our office that the cost for door to door services was not within her budget and she decided to pack all of the household effects (with the exception of furniture). Based upon the information that Mrs. ***** provided our office, All-American Moving Inc. proposed to match the cost of the move which she originally received from another moving company. However, she contacted us and indicated that she wanted to insure some of the household effects. We instructed our agent on the mainland to provide packing services on these items at no additional cost (even though Mrs. ***** told us that she would be completing all of the packing). - During the course of the delivery service in Honolulu, our crew was hesitant to take the queen box spring up the narrow stairs because they did not want to damage the walls in the stairway. Mrs. ***** declined the efforts of the delivery crew to hoist the box spring through the upstairs window. Also our office was in contact with our counter parts in Washington to assist us in finding the missing hardware for the furniture. All of the hardware was located (with the exception of the hardware for the bunk bed). ***** ******* spent several hours trying to locate hardware from Lowes and Home Depot even though the bunk bed was covered at the carrier's basic liability coverage of 60 cents per pound per item. After securing most of the hardware Mrs. ***** indicated that her husband can complete it. - Mrs. ***** rated our moving crew "better than most" on the crew performance evaluation form (see attachment). - It clearly states in the Claims Reporting Procedures that Mrs. ***** had 45 day to notify Pac Global of her intent to file a claim and 90 days thereafter to actually file the claim (see attached). Mrs. ***** failed to do this so her claim would be denied. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at ***-****. Regards, ***** ******* Vice President All-American Moving Inc. January 14, 2013 ****** ***** **** ****** **** SE Olympia, WA 98501 Dear Ms. ****** *****, Thank you for allowing All-American Moving, Inc the opportunity to submit a cost estimate for your move from Olympia, WA to ********, HI. Based on upon our survey conducted today your estimated weight is 6000 pounds measuring approximately 860 cubic feet. Should you decide to add or delete items from your shipment please let us know at least three days prior to your scheduled move date. Door To Door Based on the above estimate, we will transport your household goods from your residence to your new residence in ********, HI for $98.50 per 100 lbs., a total estimated charge of $5910.00 based on an estimated weight of 6000 pounds and a minimum six pounds per cubic feet. The rate quoted above will constitute payment to the extent the actual weight does not exceed 6000 pounds. Origin services include complete wrapping, packing, loading, documentation, and transportation to your final destination in ********, HI. Destination services include normal access delivery (charges for excessive distance, stairs, and/or elevator may be additional) to your new residence, one-time furniture placement and reassembly of items disassembled by our agent ******* ****** *** *******. Should the actual weight of your shipment exceed the estimated weight, charges will be based on the actual weight of your shipment. The rate per 100 pounds decreases as the weight increase, in 1000 pounds increments; therefore, your rate may either increase or decrease based upon actual weight. Transit Time From the day we pick up your shipment, or the day you request us to commence shipment if your shipment is in storage, to the day it is delivered at destination should take about 2 to 4 weeks. It is very important that you are available to accept delivery when your shipment arrives at the destination agent's warehouse as you may incur additional storage and warehouse handling charges if you do not accept if you do not accept delivery within three days of arrival. Insurance Maximum liability for loss or damage is limited to $.60 per pound, per article (excluding articles packed by shipper). For example, maximum liability for a 100- pound sofa would be $60.00, or for a 20-pound table maximum liability is $12.00. Additional insurance is available at $27.50 per $1000.00 of declared valuation. Should you desire insurance, please complete your itemized valued listing and return it to us at least five days prior to your scheduled moving date. If you have any questions regarding insurance options, please call our office and talk to any available relocation coordinator. Payment The insurance premium must be paid in full prior to your scheduled moving date. A prepayment of 75% of the door-to-door charges is due prior to your schedule moving date. We accept personal checks, Visa, Master Card, or Discover Card. The above estimate is valid for thirty days from the date of this letter. Please call for confirmation of the quoted rates if your moving date is changed or scheduled more than thirty days after the date of this letter. Any exceptions to the above rates or services must be given in writing. Please notify me as soon as possible as to your preferred moving date. On behalf of all of us at All-American Moving, Inc., please accept our thanks for the opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, ***** ******* All-American Moving, Inc. From:"All American Moving" <***************************.com> To:******************.com> Tuesday, January 15, 2013 10:30 AM Adjusted Moving Cost I have spoken with our origin agent in regards to your upcoming move. We will be able to give you a flat rate of $4980.00 based on what you showed us on 1/14/13. This rest of our proposal dated 1/14/13 will remain the same. You have about 25 plastic totes that you already have packed. Those plastic containers will not be repacked. Being that the plastic totes were not professionally packed you will not be able to receive insurance protection on those items. The surveyor indicated that you would like to be packed out 1/23-24/13. Let me know if you would like us to reserve these dates or if you have any questions or concerns. Regards, ***** ******* All-American Moving, Inc. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) All American Moving failed to mention anything about my sons crib. We are unable to move the mattress down due to the fact that the bolts are completely stripped out. This renders his crib unsafe ( just like I the bunk bed was until we took it upon our selves to fix it) It should not be too much trouble to order the parts from the manufacturer. I realize that this seems silly because I could do this small thing my self but I want this company held responsible. By the way, the bunk bed was one of the items that was insured but All American failed to provide the itemized list that was sent to them. They also failed to mention that it was a requirement of the insurance company that the insured items were to be professionally packaged. So their "even though she said she would pack everything" comment was silly. At no time did the moving crew offer to hoist my box spring through the second story window either. They left it downstairs and basically told me sorry. I deeply regret hastily filling out the survey that was handed to me at the end of the day. I really just wanted these men out of my home so I went down the list and just circled everything. Lesson Learned.