Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Honolulu HomeLoans, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 681-7500 745 Fort St Ste 1001, Honolulu, HI 96813 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.honhl.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mortgages


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Honolulu HomeLoans, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honolulu HomeLoans, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 19, 2010 Business started: 08/01/2009 in HI Business started locally: 08/01/2009 Business incorporated 08/20/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W96511550-01.

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System & Registry

http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Phone Number: (240) 386-4444
The number is NMLS 314918.

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System & Registry

http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Phone Number: (240) 386-4444
The number is HI-314918.

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System & Registry

http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/
Phone Number: (240) 386-4444
The number is NMLS 1286027.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Kim, Chief Production Officer Mr. Earl Ching, Legal Counsel Mr. Dennis Costigan, Executive Vice President, Underwriting Mr. Anders Hostelley, President Mr. Chason Ishii, President of HHL Holding Ms. Sharon Miyazaki, COO Ms. Wendy Odo, Chief Financial Officer Ms. Wendy Z. Pang, Executive Vice President Mr. Ron Schmid, Chairman of the Board Mr. Tom Zimmerman, CEO of HHL Holding
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Kim, Chief Production Officer
Business Category

Mortgage Brokers Mortgage Bankers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honolulu HomeLoans, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6700 Kalanianaole Hwy Ste 122

    Honolulu, HI 96825

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    745 Fort St Ste 1001

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 681-7500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    98-1247 Kaahumanu St Ste 102

    Aiea, HI 96701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honolulu Home Loan has contacted my parents (mortgage holder) since January indicating that they have not received payment. I, **** ***, the daughter of the mortgage holder, and provided proof of payment. Honolulu Home Loan then called again in February, March and April, indicating that they have not received mortgage payments. I have spent hours explaining and providing proof of payment to Honolulu Home Loan. After hours of conversations, playing phone tag, acquiring proof of payment, visiting the ******** ******* **** branch (my parents bill payer service) and providing proof of payment, I have learned that this account has been sent to the collection agency, threatening my parents that they should file bankruptcy if they cant afford the payment. We are very tired of explaining and providing proof of payments to Honolulu Home Loan. We have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau for harassment. Please advise on what we need to do settle this silly issue. Account #: * * * * * * * * * *Under the name of ***** and ****** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like to request the mortgage payments to applied to my parent's account. No more harassment from Honolulu Home Loans for erroneous and inability for Honolulu Home Loans to records straight.

Business Response: RE: Loan Number: 1453001560                           Case Number:********

Dear Mr. ******* and Ms. *******:

I amin receipt of a complaintfiled through the Better BusinessBureau on your behalfdated April 13, 2015, regarding the applications of your payments.

Let me begin by extendingmy most sincere apologies for the concernand inconvenience that youhave been experiencing.

When your payment in the amount of $850.00 was received on December18, 2014, it
was not applied as intended. As such, the funds are being reapplied to your January
2015 payment,with an effective date of December 22, 2014.

As a result of this reapplication, your 2014 1098 Year-End statementwill require adjustments. This will be completedand sent to you in a separate mailing.

Any fees that you incur as a result of refiling your 2014 taxes will be reimbursed. Please send proof of fee(s) and payment(s) to the following address for said reimbursement:

***** ****** **** * ********* ****** ***** *** **** ********* ***** **** **** ***** ********

On January 23, 2015, your payment in the amount of $850.00 was received.This amount was applied towards your February2015 payment. On February 12, 2015, another transaction occurred on your account in the amount of $850.00 that was
applied towardsyour March 2015 payment. As this was a duplicateapplication of the
ous paymentreceived on          23, 2015, and not a new payment, we reversed this transaction. Your loan became due for the March 2015 payment at this time.

On April 13, 2015, and April 17, 2015, we received two payments,each in the amount of $850.00.The payment receivedon April 13, 2015 was stoppedand will not be applied to your account.The funds received on April 17, 2015, will be applied to your April 2015 payment.



*******
Mortgage Servicing  ********** ****** ***** **** **** ********* **********  ***** ******** ************ **** ************                                                                                                                                                                                   *********** *****


Once our transactions are completed, your loan will be due for the May 2015 payment. We have placeda stop on your accountto prevent any negative credit reporting while these adjustments are being completed. Additionally, we have submitted a credit correction to the credit bureaus to which we furnish information, toremove any negativecredit previously reportedas a result of this matter. Pleaseallow up to 90 calendardays for this adjustment to appear on your creditreports. In the interim, you may use this letteras confirmation that the correction has been submitted.

Please be assuredthat all late fees that have been assessed to your accounthave been waivedas they are not your responsibility and we have placed a stop on your account to prevent any additional fee assessments while we make the necessary adjustments to your account.

Again, I sincerelyapologize for the manner in which your payments have been *******. I assure you that we will work diligently to ensure that this matter does not occur again in the future.

If you have any questions, pleasecall me at ***** ********.



Research Department

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********.   How do I go about clarification on the letter?  On the letter, the following statement is not clear to me:

"On January 23, 2015, your payment in the amount of $850.00 was received. This amount was applied towards your February 2015 payment. On February 12, 2015, another transaction occurred on your account in the amount of $850.00 that was applied towards your March 2015 payment. As this was a duplicate application of the previous payment received on January 23, 2015, and not a new payment, we reversed this transaction. Your loan became due for the March 2015 payment at this time."
This is not clear to me on whether the reversed payment for March will be reapplied.  My assumption is that Honolulu Home Loan will apply the reversed payment to payment that was due in March.   
April payment has been applied as indicated in the letter but the March payment is not clear to me.  I spoke with several Honolulu Home Loan customer service reps throughout this ordeal and made payments as they recommended.   That is the reason why two April payments were made in April, with one of the payment stopped. 
Thank you very much for your assistance with this matter.  The situation has been very stressful to my elderly parents and to me as well.  I can't thank you enough for your help. 

Sincerely,

**** ***

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honolulu Home Loans fraudulently altered IRS Form 4506-T after it was signed. During Mortgage loan application process was asked by Honolulu Home Loan to sign Form 4506-T as part of the application process. On 4/7/2014 Form 4506-T was signed and dated by ** **** and ****** ****. On 5/22/2014 received a letter from IRS stating that they could not process Form 4506-T because they can not accept altered forms (Ref. # XXXXXXXXXX). Upon receiving the letter I checked my copy of Form 4506-T I submitted and found that Honolulu Home Loan did alter Form 4506-T after we signed the document. Honolulu Home Loan fraudulently altered a signed IRS Form 4506-T without notifying me nor did they have my permission to do so.

Desired Settlement: Violated Local and Federal laws. As a regulated business they know what is right and wrong and should be held accountable for it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ Honolulu HomeLoans ("HHL") received an IRS Form 4506-T completed by the consumers in connection with a mortgage loan application submitted by the consumers to HHL. In connection with the processing of the consumer's application and in order to obtain the income tax transcripts for the consumer, HHL submitted the Form 4506-T to the IRS. HHL obtains a copy of the borrower's tax transcripts to confirm the information that is included on the federal income tax returns provided by the borrower to HHL. The 4506-T signed by the consumers was not accepted because the address on the 4506-T did not match the address used by the consumers on their federal income tax returns. Upon receiving this rejection and in an effort to continue the processing of the consumer's application without any further delay, a HHL processor did the following: (i) reviewed the federal income tax returns submitted by the consumers to HHL; and (ii) inserted the address used by the consumers on their income tax returns onto the Form 4506-T. In early June 2014, the consumer spoke with HHL's corporate counsel to notify HHL that the consumer had received a notice from the Internal Revenue Service which notified him that the Form 4506-T may have been altered. At the consumer's request, HHL delivered a disk that contained a copy of all of the loan documents signed by the consumer and transmitted to the investor/servicer of the consumer's loan. Following the consumer's conversation with HHL, training was conducted for HHL's processing staff to remind them and reinforce that any changes or alterations to documents that are signed by a borrower must be made or authorized by the borrower. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unacceptable! HHL continues to give explanation that it was in their best interest to continue processing the loan application by ALTERING a consumers signed document without informing the consumer first. HHL forgot to mention that not only did they insert an address, they also ALTERED several other check boxes. It is business as usual for these mortgage companies, do what ever it takes to process loans and make money even if it means breaking the law. just hope the consumer doesn't find out what we do behind closed doors in the processing department. In case HHL legal counsel forgot: Hawaii Rev. Stat. 708-852: (1) A person commits the offense of forgery in the second degree if, with intent to defraud, the person falsely makes, completes, endorses, or alters a written instrument (2) Forgery in the second degree is a class C felony Hawaii Revised Statutes TITLE 25. PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS 454M. Mortgage Services 454M-6 Prohibited activities. (2) To engage in any transaction, practice, or course of business that is not in good faith, does not constitute fair dealing, or that constitutes a fraud upon any person, in connection with the servicing, purchase, or sale of any mortgage loan; To this date I have never received a formal written apology on this matter.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Honolulu HomeLoans, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart