BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers masonry and landscaping contracting services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Samaritan Contractor Masonry and Landscaping meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Samaritan Contractor Masonry and Landscaping include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Samaritan Contractor Masonry and Landscaping
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 29, 2008 Business started: 07/01/2006 Business started locally: 07/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W84889264-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is C26959.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Samson F. Naupoto, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Samson F. Naupoto, Owner
Business Category

Mason Contractors Landscape Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 4330 Likini St

    Honolulu, HI 96818

  • 94-481 Loaa Street

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • PO Box 970007

    Waipahu, HI 96797

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered to build walls on June 2013. One month later, the walls have been breaking down. No reply from my phone, email. No repair. On June 11, 2013, I signed the contract for building walls at my yard, *** **** *** Honolulu, Hawaii XXXXX. Unfortunately, your project had not been satisfied. One month later, September 2013, right after your job done of August 2013, some walls had been breaking apart and rock steps had been detaching. I had requested two times to repair those breaking problems on September and December 2013. The worker man showed up for a couple of hours to quick patch the gap of breaking places. However the breaking problem has not been solved yet because those were not repair but just to cover the gap. Because you don't fix the breaking places from the foundation, the breaking situation has been getting worse. As you already know the situation, I sent you by email on April 30, 2014 about the request to repair the breaking walls as well as cautions from last job. As of today, there is no response from you even I left the telephone messages. 1. Repair the breaking places and stairs correctly from foundation Even though keep just patching the gap, still the breaking parts have not been stopped because it did not build strongly from the foundation. Rock steps have been falling down. I doubt the project was done to meet with the building permit accordingly. 2.Concrete Away Please don't throw broken concrete to side in the property. The place thrown away is on the sewage pipe line. I worry about the damage of plastic pipe. Please take broken concrete away from the house. 3. Damage grass and doors Making concrete makes damage to grass and garage door. It splashed to them and grass was dead and door's surfaces are scratched. Please consider where make concrete and clean up completely. 4. Ignore is not professional manner And the one more concern is to ignore from my any contacts by phone, text and emails. This project is life time warranty. Once you promise it, please don't make trouble within one year your job done. My request is to repair the breaking places from foundation and to worry free about my yard. I have contract including life time warranty and the building permit and pictures shown breaking places. I look forward to your written reply and resolution to my problem.

Desired Settlement: repair breaking parts from foundations. Not to break anymore.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/15) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ****** **** st, ******* ***** Have contacted customer to resolve problem. I have been very sick since December last year, with heart open surgery and now kidney problem. I am trying to have someone help owner fix his job. This job was a very difficult because someone else did it first and they had problem with dirt sinking down. That is the reason why our steps and wall keep on breaking because dirt keeps on sinking may be due to poor compaction from precious backfilling or water running on bottom through standing rocks. Anyway I am trying my best to have my brother fix the job on my behalf. My apology goes to owner for all these unfortunate circumstance but we did not want this to happen that's why we covered the job. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are supposed to show up on June 16, but did not show up without notice. I received email the following day to wait until June 20 due to machine problem. I cannot judge now until they show up and repair. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/20) */ We are trying our best to fix this job. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/07/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have not seen workers for this week. I've been waiting for the repair done correctly.

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service