Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Honolulu MedSpa

Phone: (808) 528-0888 1650 Liliha Street, #102, Honolulu, HI 96817 http://honolulumedspa.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical spa services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honolulu MedSpa meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honolulu MedSpa include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honolulu MedSpa
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 2001 Business started: 08/21/2001 Business started locally: 08/21/2001 Business incorporated 08/21/2001 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20592038-01.

DCCA Business Registration Division
335 Merchant St STE 201, Honolulu HI 96813
www.businessregistrations.com
Phone Number: (808) 586-2727
breg@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is 123237 D1.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BEO-17683.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BEO-19128.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RN-64657.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BEO-16872.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BEO-12445.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BEO-19409.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BEO-20053.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MD 2525.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is BSH 3745.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Martha Keith, Clinic Administrator Dr. Choon Kia Yeo, Medical Director Mr. Richard Yeo, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Martha Keith, Clinic Administrator
Business Category

Laser Cosmetic Services Beauty Consultant Hair Removal - Laser & Electrolysis Skin Care Tattoos - Removed

Alternate Business Names
Honolulu Laser Center & Spa, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1650 Liliha Street, #102

    Honolulu, HI 96817

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this business this spring for acne, scarring and hyperpigmentation. I was given a course of treatment, which I paid for in full. I also have purchased other treatments, upgrades and product along the way. I have had different people treat me and have had conflicting things said. My final treatment was canceled. One person told me it was because a brown spot I found on my face might have been new. I was also told that day that until the spot went away on its own, I was not to come return to Medspa for any treatments of ANY kind. I don't understand this. I was not able to look at my photos when I went in as requested by me, and have asked for them twice since then without response.I contacted the owner, who has since written me that the spot has been there all along but that I would not be seen there for the remainder of the series. This makes no sense. If so, then why not treat me for the hyperpigmentation that was there all along? That's what I was there for. Which is it-- is the spot new or old? And why not finish my treatments or find a new course of action other than to tell me not to return? I was a willing participant and paid in full. I was refunded my money for the final small portion of the treatment only. My skin looks the same now as it did before MedSpa. I currently have acne, scarring and hyperpigmentation -- perhaps more. These are not massage or regular spa services. These are major laser treatments and chemical peels overseen by a doctor at professional prices.

Desired Settlement: I am asking only for a refund for the outstanding portion of the laser and chemical package. I wouldn't have spent this type of money knowing what type of halted services I would have been receiving, with lack of communication, no real results, and perhaps with it haven gotten worse. I'd also love to have my photos. I shouldn't have to beg. But the photos are not enough. I deserve compensation. Just my money back. Nothing more. I'll need it to spend with a proper doctor.

Business Response:

 

Honolulu MedSpa
1650 Liliha Street, Suite 102
Honolulu, HI 96817

November 4, 2014

 

 

Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc.

C/O **** *****

1132 Bishop St. Suite 615

Honolulu, HI 96813

Dear Ms. *****,

We have received a copy of the complaint initiated against Honolulu MedSpa (HMS) by *** ***** and I would like to respond to the complaints raised by Ms. ***** in addition to Ms. *****’s request for a refund for the outstanding portion of the laser and chemical peel package that she purchased.

After careful review of her case, we have determined that there are no outstanding services owed to Ms. ***** and therefore a refund is neither owed nor warranted. We do not offer refunds on services rendered, even if a patient expresses disappointment in the outcome. All services that Ms. ***** paid for were rendered or refunded by HMS. Ms. ***** originally purchased a package that included three AFT treatments and three Progressive Chemical Peels. During the span from May 2014 through August 2014, Ms. ***** received all three AFT treatments and two of the Progressive Chemical Peels. At Ms. *****’s request on 10/03/2014, the third Progressive Chemical Peel, valuing $130.89, was refunded to her because the treatment had not yet been rendered and was therefore eligible for a refund.

Aesthetic medicine is an art, and there are no guarantees or warranties related to a specific result, which is disclosed on each consent form that is read and signed by each patient prior to having each procedure. A copy of our standard consent form for each service in question, AFT and Progressive Chemical Peels, have been included here for review. Additionally, please find our standard Spa Policies form included, which is signed by all patients prior to undergoing treatment of any kind with HMS, and which clearly explains that HMS does not offer refunds on services rendered.

 

On the professional front, we have tried to deliver good service, and we are comfortable that our technical results would withstand any scrutiny. Dr. *** is a board-certified physician with over thirty years of experience practicing medicine in the state of Hawaii. In Ms. *****’s case, five of the six treatments she purchased were rendered and we received feedback from her throughout her treatment series that she was happy with the results that had been achieved. Ms. ***** only expressed dissatisfaction with the treatment outcome when HMS took steps to initiate the termination of the patient-practice relationship.

 

We acknowledge that we did have some communication gaps during our relationship with Ms. *****; we have acknowledged this with Ms. ***** and have apologized to her directly for these miscommunications. These were genuine oversights on the part of HMS and were in no way intended to deceive or irritate Ms. *****.

 

As for Ms. *****’s request to see her pictures, as we have previously made her aware, we are happy to send them to her once we receive her signed copy of the Authorization for Release of Medical Records, which I have also included here. This form was emailed to Ms. ***** by ******* ***, President of HMS, on 10/17/2014, with instructions explaining that all photos would be sent to her by our staff once HMS received the completed and signed form.  As of 11/03/2014, we have yet to receive this form from Ms. ***** and have therefore been unable to send her the pictures she has requested.

 

As we informed Ms. ***** in an email sent to her on 10/17/2014, we find it unfortunate that the patient-practice relationship has deteriorated to this point; however, it appears that we are no longer able to fulfill her aesthetic goals to her satisfaction. She has expressed distrust of HMS’s overall business practices and on numerous occasions she has indicated displeasure with our service, our providers, and her previous treatment providers from other offices. For these reasons, and from Ms. *****’s correspondence with us, we realize that the patient-practice relationship is not currently a healthy or trusting one, which we deem critical for a successful partnership. We have suggested that she select another service provider, preferably a dermatologist, to provide her with further medical and aesthetic services if she desires. We really do wish for her to be happy and to work with a practice that might better suit her needs. 

 

If you have any further questions or require any additional information regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me at ********.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

****** *****
Clinic Administrator

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

I wasn't asking for money back that I didn't pay. I'm asking of the money to be returned to me that I did pay to Honolulu Medspa for the package that I paid that was not completed. They started a package of six treatments and stopped short. Not only did they stop short, they claimed there was "apparently" a new spot on my face, in which they could no longer treat my face. This was not the fact. In a letter from the owner, ******* -- ******* clearly admits that once they finally did look at the correct photos, it was clear to them that the spot was there all along. So which was it? If the spot was there all along, then it  wasn't caused by their machines and they can continue to treat it. But that was not their decision. Keep in mind the main reason I went to Honolu Medspa was for help with hyperpigmentation on my face. That's what the package was for. It was for the exact reason why they claim they stopped treatment. And they were wrong.

Numerous mistakes and communication errors (if not downright omissions of the truth) took place -- as ******* and ****** both admit to. Yet they hold to some standard that they do not refund money for procedures that took place. Why not? As a company, they expected me to pay for the package in full -- I, as the customer, expect the treatment in full --not in part. I also expect something out of the treatments. This isn't a massage parlor. This is a medical spa owned and operated by a doctor. As such, the customers are paying professional prices.

During my last appointment, ****** told me they looked at the correct photos and could not be sure -- so they would no longer treat me. But here's the kicker. They would no longer finish the series/package I paid for OR perform any other procedure for any reason on me at that business -- until the spot went away on its own with no help or medication from them. I understand why I was questioning them and disgruntled all along. Who wouldn't be? In the end, she wasn't even looking at the right photos during our appointment -- or perhaps none at all. I asked to see them several times during that appointment and was refused them. I was refused all of them. I was available to sign for them at that point on the spot.

I no longer need to see the photos. ******* has admitted they weren't looking at the right ones that day. I have forwarded you his letter at the bottom.

I am still asking for my money back for the package (the part I paid for, to be clear), since the package was sold as such -- as a package. And I saw no results. And they stopped the package near the end in an abrupt way.

 

Here is the final letter from *******,  the owner of Medspa:

Ms. *****,

Of course I care, which is why I have personally reviewed your case and investigated further to resolve any outstanding confusion. I have acknowledged and apologized that there has been miscommunication on our part. It is a rarity in our business, but it does happen and we do discuss each incident to make changes to improve our communication in the future. 

First, please allow me to address your concern about the photos. Due to the volume of patients that we see each day we utilize 3 different cameras to take patient photos. The photos on each camera must then be manually transferred onto our server before they can be reviewed. When the staff member that is responsible for processing photos prepared your photos for ****** to review, that staff member had not yet processed photos taken on a separate camera prior to your AFT treatment on 8/23/14. In the photos that ****** initially reviewed, which were all the processed photos available at that time, the area in question was covered by some of your hair, which is why ****** told you that it could not be determined from the photos whether the spot of hyperpigmentation by your right ear was present at baseline or not. When I reviewed your case, I had the staff double-check all of the cameras to ensure I could review all of the photos that had been taken of you since you first began treatment with Honolulu MedSpa. At that time, additional photos had been processed, which showed clearly that the spot of concern was actually pre-existing and was therefore not caused by the AFT treatment. I've attached our standard release form for medical records. Upon receiving a signed copy, the staff will send you a copy of the photos for your review. 

I understand that it was inconvenient for you to drove in from Mililani on 10/03/14 and I apologize that you feel your time was wasted when treatment was not administered that day. Please be assured that the commute is not a factor when we're making a clinical decision of whether to treat or not on the day of a scheduled procedure and it's never our intention to inconvenience our patients. There are a variety of variables that factor in when we're determining whether to treat or not treat, including the clinical information we have available at the time of the appointment and whether the provider determines that proceeding with treatment is in the best interest of the patient at that time. Based on the information that was available to ****** at the time of your appointment on 10/03/14, she determined that treatment was not appropriate that day because the spot of concern was unresolved.  

It is unfortunate that our relationship has deteriorated to this point. On the professional front, we have tried to deliver good service and we are comfortable that our technical results would withstand any scrutiny. At your request, we promptly refunded you on 10/03/14 for the last treatment in your package that you had not received. It appears that we are no longer able to fulfill your aesthetic goals to your satisfaction. Additionally, it has come to my attention that on numerous occasions you have indicated displeasure with our services, our providers, and your previous treatment providers. For these reasons, we are unable to retain you as a patient within our practice. We suggest that you select another service provider, preferably a dermatologist, to provide you with further medical and aesthetic services. We really do wish for you to be happy and to work with a practice that might better suit your needs. 

Lastly we will send you a copy of your photos and medical records when we receive a signed copy of the attached record release form.

Sincerely,

******* ***
President
Honolulu MedSpa
1650 Liliha Street, Suite 102
Honolulu, HI 96817
Tel: ************


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: My experience at Medspa.
From: ********** <***********************>
Date: Mon, October 13, 2014 5:32 pm

 

Again, I no longer require to see the photos. I was right all along. They made decisions without even looking at the right one. In conclusion, I still am seeking -- and believe I have a right to -- only the money I have paid (that is "outstanding" at Medspa -- the part that was not returned to me) and only for the package in question.

Sincerely,

*** ***** 

Business Response: See attached

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I don't agree that I received fair treatment as a patient of Honolulu Medspa. My reasons have been stated.

In response to this last letter from Medspa, I have all along understood that results are not guaranteed. They never are, and this type of paperwork to sign comes with virtually all medical treatments. I don't dispute that -- never did. But just because you sign these standard papers that "results are not guaranteed" doesn't mean the company has carte blanche to act in any way they deem best for them, no matter how unprofessional or factual. Customers have rights also.

My issues with the company are far and above this basic subject the company keeps bringing up about some guarantee of results.  I believe  Honolulu Medspa  was unprofessional and in some ways either incompetent or deceitful.  One or the other. Perhaps both. My next step with be a court action based on principle.

Again, I understand that I am asking for money to be refunded from services that were performed; however, this was a package deal -- which I paid for upfront as a package -- that the company halted on their own, against my wishes, without looking at the proper photos (which they admit to). Additionally, it was halted with me at the spur of the moment during an appointment. They halted them based on some photos they said they had of my face that it turns out they didn't have -- were not looking at -- and at the time they wouldn't show me when I requested more than once to see them.  (because they didn't have them as they said they did.) They've admitted this. (That letter is on file with the BBB)  I no longer need to see those photos, because they have since admitted they didn't have the correct photos back then. They were canceling the package based on false information. As it turns out, I was a candidate to finish the package -- which they also have admitted to. But next they cited poor relations with the customer as a reason for canceling the package.

 I had to pay for the package in whole, I expect the service in whole -- not in part. And when they realized they were wrong, I expected them to offer to complete the package. I wanted to complete the package, even then. At that point, the company refused, citing a breakdown between us.

But then the manager -- ****** -- writes  The BBB a letter (on file) stating I was happy all along. The owner write me a letter (also on file with the BBB) that I was upset all along. Which is it? Was there a problem all along, or was it a happy customer relationship? 

That's why I'm asking for the money that I put into the package (yes, the part that was performed) to be refunded -- in whole, not in part. I am asking for the money that is outstanding -- that Medspa still has-- that has not been refunded to me pertaining to this particular package.

Furthermore, it is crazy that the company stands by this so-called policy to never refund money no matter the reason. Sometimes there really is good reason. This across the board policy they have written to protect themselves does not take into consideration any possible issues on the company's part, such as miscommunications that are their fault, or even deceit. It happens. When you are wrong, you should own up to it -- whenever or wherever it occurs.

We are talking about a company here that is backed by a doctor (although I certainly have never met him and he did not see my face in person), and therefore, demands the professional fees thereof.

I'm not sure how the process with the BBB is -- how many times I would be asked to accept or reject this. This letter came to me today with two options -- accept or reject. I reject it.  I continue to reject it.


Thanks,

*** *****

 

 


Sincerely,

*** *****

10/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service