Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advantage Landscape Hawaii Inc.

Phone: (808) 737-7963 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 26089, Honolulu, HI 96825 http://www.hawaiilandscapeservices.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers landscape design, installation, and contracting. Landscape maintenance and consultation, tree trimming and removal. Irrigation design, installation and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advantage Landscape Hawaii Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advantage Landscape Hawaii Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advantage Landscape Hawaii Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 23, 2009 Business started: 06/30/2006 Business started locally: 06/30/2006 Business incorporated 06/30/2006 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C21390.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W13292087-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C27227.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Barry F. McNamara, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry F. McNamara, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Irrigation Consultants

Alternate Business Names
Aloha Arbor Care Hawaii Landscape Services
Industry Tips
CONTRACT

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 26089

    Honolulu, HI 96825 (808) 206-9103 (808) 277-4152 (808) 737-7963

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hawaii Landscape Services fails to complete services paid in advance. August 18, 2014 an automated monthly payment was made for landscape services that were to be rendered the next week. Services were not done through the end of August. The first week of September the owner, ***** ********, was contacted. He indicated the service would be made up and two services would be completed in September to make up for the missed one. The additional monthly payment was made for the second to occur in September. Only one service was completed. The same scene repeated itself in October... the email, the promise, the additional payment, and the failure to do the second service to make up for that paid in advance in August. Early November again the repeat. Again the service was not done as promised for the first or second week of November. So a different service was hired to do the job on the second Saturday. Hawaii Landscape Services was emailed that day to cancel any further work and to request a refund. A November payment was not made since we no longer trusted HLS to do the work they say they will. In response to the email, Mr ********, emailed that his men came that Saturday and the work was already done by someone else. In the 2 1/5 years HLS has maintained the yard, they have not ever come on a Saturday. If they came that Saturday, which we doubt since no one saw them, and they made no effort to contact us. We were home all day. If they had contacted us we had a second area they could have serviced. They had done extra services for that area before. We just needed our landscape work done and were tired of begging for it to be done!Mr ******** is now saying we "didn't pay him enough" for the job. Interesting, since his employees named the price. We paid that price on an auto payment monthly. The bottom line is that I have multiple emails indicating he knows he did not do the work HLS was paid to do. A complete refund is expected for the work not completed.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $178.01 is expected. [Payment was made through the **** ** ****** transaction number for 8/18/14 is 0B091EH2 for $178.01.] The check may be mailed to the address HLS was suppose to be servicing.

Business Response: From: ***** ******** | Hawaii Landscape Services [mailto:*********************************] 
Sent: Wednesday, January 14, 2015 5:39 PM
To: **** ********
Cc: Accounting | Hawaii Landscape Services
Subject: RE: Advantage Landscape Hawaii Inc. - Business ID# ******** - BBB Case # ********

Aloha ****,

In response to the frivolous customer complaint.  On several occasions the maintenance was scheduled because weather conditions made the slope that we needed to work on far too dangerous.  Our schedule did not allow us to make up the time immediately but we always communicated this. We never asked to be paid in advance but did appreciate the timely payment.  We consistently communicated with this customer during the 2.5 years we were working with her until we discontinued our service. She had been informed on November 5 that we would be coming back but there was no date assigned to that agreed too. The customer check for $178.01 was cashed by HLS on 10-24-14.  The refund check to the customer cleared on 1-8 15.  There was no harm done to this customer and we did everything as we could to reschedule the missing dates.  She received excellent work from our company the entire time we worked for her.  We came to do the work on the Saturday after the last rain out and she had the work done earlier that morning without notifying us. We can verify this with the crew so the statement that she no longer trusted we would do the work is unfortunate. There is absolutely no reason for this complaint.  This person still owes this company $1,200.00 for a wall and driveway job she refused to pay for that was done properly.  We let this go because she is a neighbor of mine.  This revelation along with the fact that she did get her "over payment" returned makes this situation one that should never be allowed to grace a BBB site. 

Thank you,


***** ********
president
Hawaii Landscape Services
***** ***** **** ** *** ***** ********* *** ***** **** ******** **** ******** **** ********
mailto:*********************************

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

Really *****?

I am rejecting this response because statements made as facts are misleading or absolutely incorrect!

Since we are now communicating through the BBB I will clarify several things.  I agree I would never have made this complaint if Hawaii Landscape Services (HLS) simply would have refunded the payment for the work not completed instead of sending emails that it was my fault work was not done... there was three months to do the work! In the emails I was told I wasn't paying enough, yet I paid the exact price which HLS representative told me the cost would be, and what I was billed each month. I even suggested I expand the service and pay more to two different HLS employees. May I suggest the approach to make the customer wrong is not an appropriate approach. I have evidence to support all of my statements or would have never filled this.

To clarify, prepayment was always required by HLS.  I believe it is even written on the monthly communication from HLS when         sending the statement or on the statement itself. However, ***** is correct this complaint should not have had to be filled if the company was a little better at communication and accountability on this issue.  I had additional alternate work, which his crew had done before, if they simply would have let me know they were coming, and/or were there that Saturday, as ***** alleges they were. We never saw them.  Poor communication was on HLS's part on how they were going to make up work promised for September, October and November from the August prepaid work which was never done. Throughout the rest of the time I agree with ***** that communication had been very good from his company. HLS is to be commended for their normally good communication.

Relating to the comment that the quality of work was consistently good... I do not agree with that.  ***** may want to explain why he did some additional work gratis because of the number of problems and poor quality of previous work from his crews.  (You agreed ***** at that time that your crews had not taken proper care of the property! I can give the names of your employees who agree with those statements.)

Regarding the ridiculous $1200 owed comment, for the BBB and any other reader considering using HLS, please understand the circumstances in which the HLS representative onsite at the time of construction, ****, told the subcontractor that they hired to build a wall that the subcontractor "did not have to correct an undermining of the driveway issue when adding a support wall, it was not in the contract. One line of the contract designated the $1200 to specifically do that work. I am very surprised ***** expects to be paid for work not done. In fact I contracted with the same company that build the wall to add a different support to correct the specific issue. The subcontractor, ALS, asked to be paid directly for the additional work since it was too late to do what was originally contracted for through HLS. I don't believe anyone would expect to pay twice for the same work. Sorry ***** I don't owe you the money.

I think it is time for HLS/***** to stop trying to make me wrong to make them/you look right. Or perhaps we can continue this bantering through additional social media....

I did receive the refund, thank you.

Sincerely,

******** *********