Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

National Builders

Phone: (808) 377-1100 View Additional Phone Numbers -, Honolulu, HI 96822 http://www.nationalbuild.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting services, specializing in kitchen and bath remodeling.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Builders meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for National Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 1985 Business started: 08/21/1990 Business started locally: 08/21/1990 Business incorporated 05/07/2002 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20440280-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BC28792.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is BC27035.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Y Nishimoto, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Y Nishimoto, President
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Construction & Remodeling Services Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household

Alternate Business Names
Eventhost, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased the house with peeling defective cabinets over 2 years ago. The company replaced some of the cabinets under warranty, but didn't respond to our phone calls. One year ago we contacted them again and we were told the warranty expired a month ago, but will try to give us a discounted price. We have been calling **** for the past year, and he keeps delaying and saying that he will get back to us. We are now trying to sell our house and due to the peeling cabinets it is very difficult and **** is still delaying things. We need this fixed immediately. Please respond.

Desired Settlement: Please replace peeling cabinets immediately so we can sell our house

Business Response: This person purchased the home from my original customer. The original warranty was five years covering kitchen cabinet doors. We honored the warranty with an initial problem. This person called several moths later and had another issue . We made an appointment to view the problem. The person's husband never showed up for the appointment. It was almost seven months later they called again. By that time the warranty had expired. They argued that the warranty should be extended. We explained that they were not the original buyer of the product, therefore the factory had no obligation to extend the warranty for free replacement. We then negotiated a discount price for replacement doors and presented that to the person. Again they never responded. After almost a year. they called again the week of Feb. 28 and said they were trying to get hold of us. I have no record of any contact with them. By this time all previous quoted prices were no longer valid.

At the moment I was trying to find out what the current price would be, since they stated they were willing to pay for the replacements..Because of complaint, I am hesitant to have any more dealings with these people. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

We spoke to you over 2 months ago that we were selling our house and need the cabinets replaced. You said you would check and get back to us. Whenever we call you, you do not answer the phone or respond to our messages. We called you several times over a year ago and you said you were working on it and would get back to us. You have never called us back. We are unable to sell our house until these defective cabinets are fixed. This needs to be fixed immediately. 

Sincerely,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on National Builders
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)