Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Maui Divers of Hawaii, Ltd.

Phone: (808) 946-7979 View Additional Phone Numbers 1520 Liona St, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.mauidivers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the manufacturing, wholesaling & retailing of fine jewelry & tours of its operations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maui Divers of Hawaii, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maui Divers of Hawaii, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maui Divers of Hawaii, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 04, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1959 in HI Business started locally: 01/01/1959 Business incorporated 01/02/1979 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20327942-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cliff Slater, Chairman & CEO Ms. Emily C Tom, VP Retail Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cliff Slater, Chairman & CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Emily C Tom, VP Retail Sales
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Jewelers - Wholesale Jewelry Designers Pearls Jewelry Manufacturers

Products & Services

Maui Divers of Hawaii, Ltd. offers the following product(s): Fine jewelry in gold and silver

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, 
Refund and Exchange Policy
Maui Divers Jewelry guarantees your purchase or any of its components if broken due to defects in manufacturing, workmanship or materials. Wear and tear, loss, stolen or accidental damage is not covered. Copy of receipt, warranty booklet or appraisal required. Warranty voided if brought to unauthorized jewelers.
Alternate Business Names
Maui Divers Jewelry

Additional Locations

  • 1520 Liona St

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 946-7979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 12, 2014 of last year. I went to Maui divers to purchase a product. Lisa A****** was the sales person who on November 12 had problems c**pleting her work. I left Maui Divers with no product and did not sign any agreement with Maui Divers. I did receive a phone call fr** Maui Divers that night and was ask to c**e and sign the agreement I informed them that I was sick and could not c**e. November 14,2014 I was able to return and Lisa A****** was the sales clerk and I told her that I wanted a pair of earrings and not a necklace which at this time Lisa A****** said it was ok and she could finish c**pleting her paper work and product. Before I signed I ask Lisa A****** if this was a clean start and not left over fr** two days ago she said yes and that I owe $263.87 I signed and took the product with me. I was told by Lisa A****** that I could not wear the earrings the glue needed to dry. I never wore these earrings. I return h**e in Iowa and opened the statement and was charged $308.90 for s**ething I did not purchase or received on November 12, 2014. I did not have any account or agreement or product with Maui Divers on that date I spoke with Corrine of Maui Divers and told her she could have the earrings back when she said they would cost more then I paid due to Lisa A******'s error. Corrine refuse to c**ment or try to solve the problem of her sales clerk. Lisa fr** Maui Divers called but no solution offered. I would like all mailing and calls and collection stoped fr** ****** *** * ****** ***

Desired Settlement: I offered Maui Divers to have their product back and return my payment. If this is not what they want then the error was their sales person Lisa A******'s Maui Divers then should accept my payment and end this harassment fr** ******* *** * ****** *** ******* **

Business Response: Re: C**plaint  #********
Sent via fax: ************


Dear  Mr. ********.


We  are  responding tothe  above  listedc**plaint.  Ms. *******  purchased a pendant for $265.50 on
I   1112/14, which she then  returned in exchange  fora pair of earrings  on  I   1/14( 14. The  earrings  cost
$517.50,  and after  crediting  the  cost  of the  pendant,  the  remaining  monies  Ms. *******  owed  Maui
Divers was $252.00 +tax  ($263.87). This amount was charged  to  heraccount. (See attached   receipts)


We  hadconversations with  Ms.******* both  whilein Hawaii and after  she  returned to  Iowa, explaining to  her that  if she was unhappy for  any reason  with her  purchase, shecould  return the
earrings  and we would  give her  a full refund  once  she  returned them  to  us. We have never  received  the
earrings  back.


We  continued  our  attempts to contact her fr**  November 2014 through January  2015,and she has never  responded.

Please let us know  if  any additional  information  is needed. Best regards,



Emily T**
Vice President Retail Sales


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maui Divers of Hawaii, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)