BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2010

JewelryRoom.com

Phone: (808) 922-3499Fax: (808) 356-1966View Additional Phone Numbers1188 Bishop St STE 1107, HonoluluHI 96813-3304 Send email to JewelryRoom.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers import & sales of jewelry, and online auction.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2010

BBB has determined that JewelryRoom.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered JewelryRoom.com's rating include:

  • 34 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised JewelryRoom.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service21
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on JewelryRoom.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (34)BBB Closure Definitions
08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Product advertised is a sham. They make false statement about products sent.
I have bought almost 1,000 dollars of product from JR. It was advertised as 18k gold coated and platinum coated but there is no markings on the rings! They are all marked 925, which is only silver. I contacted them for any sort of verification or paperwork making their claim legitimate and was given nothing. I am a re-seller and my customers are furious and returning product. They are asking for verification and there is none. JR is a rip off. They charges excessive fees for shipping also. For what?? They ship all products together. I know it is not 10 or 20.00 per item in shipping fees!! JR should be shut down for fraud. Isn't there any laws that govern markings on jewelry??

Initial Business Response
Dear ******,

Thank you for your visiting in ***************. You may just rest assure that all the items on our website are 100% genuine and natural.We are sorry to hear the items does not meet your requirement. To avoid the trouble or unnecessary shipping fee and waiting time, you may consider keep the items and accepting our courtesy of $100refund. We are striving to provide you the best service so we hope you will accept this offer as the solution. Please let us know if this may resolve the issue. Thank you and Hope this help!

******,even if the jewelry is gold plated over silver. We are not allow marked or stamped as gold. But since sterling silver is the main metal source, we must stamp 925.For planted Jewelry Platinum is very little, just enough to coat the silver as protection for longer lasting.

******,if you accpet of the $100 then you can close the BBB complaint and contacted us for $100 refund by email.Thank you.

Thank you and Have a Great Week!
Best Regards,
****

Consumer Response

In regards to case # ******** The refund has not been received.

Business Response
Hello *******,

Thank you for your patience.We are sorry to hear the items does not meet your requirement.We are striving to provide you the best service so we hope you will accept $100 discount ((Unique Transaction ID # *****************) as the solution.Please kindly be patient for the $100 refund as it might take days to reflect into your card and we emailed you the proof.Thank you.

******,The reason why planted do not have 18K stamped because so little gold and not eligible to add in a stamp.

Platinum is very little, just enough to coat the silver as protection for longer lasting.

*******,please kindly help us close the CASE once you got the refund.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.
Best Regards,
****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Payment was received 8/13/2014

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: JeweleryRoom has received a diamond ring back. Signed by there business on May 7th by ****** and I have not received my money back.
Purchased a diamond ring on the auction site #******. Invoice *****. The ring was totally different then what I purchased. The shape of the ring and diamond were junk. Sent the ring back next day through Canada Post Expedia Service, paid 43.00 for it. It was signed by ****** at the business location on May 7th. They continually say that they have not received it. Finally they now say they have it but have to do inspections and approvals before receiving my money back. They is no one to speak to directly in this so called company. They have live chat that I have contacted numerous times but with the same answer, not sure when my money will be credited to my credit card.

Initial Business Response
Dear *****,

Thank you for your patience.We confirmed the return and refunded the ring pn 28th May with Unique Transaction ID # ***************** which might take days to reflect into the card.Thnak you.

*****,please kindly be patient for the refund.Please kindly help close the complaint once you got the refund.Thank you.

Once again thank you for your patience.

Best Regards,
****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Received my funds back from the ring purchase that I did not like

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/21/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: My girlfriend bought 2 rings on Wed, 1-29-14.They were promissed to be shipped that Fri.Not shipped and she was charged. We called they wont call back
****** ******, an active military reserve, bought two rings January 29th. She was charged the full amount and shipping costs. The website says anything won on a Wed will be shipped Friday. They have not shipped, are standing in a pending status, and their voicemail box is full. We have emailed and called with no response. We want a full refund immediately. These rings were possibilities for our wedding.As you may know weddings are expensive and we are paying for it ourselves. A hundred dollars is not something we can just throw away.

Initial Business Response
Hello ******? Have you try contacting our eticket division? Is your issue resolved as of now? Keep me updated. Thanks! - *****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response said to try the eticketing which we did twice and still have had no response from. We cannot get a hold of anyone on the phone and now we have received the rings they are the wrong rings. When you purchase a product it says to go by the discription not the picture. That is why we purchased the two we did because we read the discription. Both rings are the wrong metal color.

Final Business Response
Thank you for your patience.INVOICE NO. ***** was ordered by ***** ******.Sorry for the inconvenience to you.And we reship the correct items on 26th Mar with USPS tracking# ********************** for your reference.You can trace the order on https://www.usps.com/ for more details.

March 31, 2014 , 12:31 pm
Delivered
LEWISVILLE, TX 75077

Please kindly ship the woring items back to the following address with pre-paid tracking **********************. Thank you.

************
1188 Bishop Street,
Unit 1107, Century Square
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
USA

We strongly recommend making a note (INVOICE#) in the parcel before sending it back.Thank you.

For any question, please feel free to contact us again using eticket or online chat: http://help.jewelryroom.com/

Best Regards,
****


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They again have not given a reason why there was no response to our efforts just asked us to be fair. I thought giving them two etickets on their own site was being more than fair and trying to contact them via phone mulitple occasions was fair. The product codes are *********************** and *************************.

We just want to be refunded for the purchase, shipping, and the return shipping covered. We have already found new rings.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: bought 3 item *****, ***** an ***** all items fell short of what expected Also, they charged me $20 for each item for shipping yet sent all together?
I bought into these auctions thinking that it was for real; the items I received are mediocre at best; they relist these items over and over again; the items I bought are definitely not what I expected. Also, shipping charges are excessive; they said they couldn't send the same items together yet I received them (3) all together today; $60 shipping charge. Outrageous. Don't buy from these people; they are opportunists!!!!!!!!!!

Initial Business Response
Hello*******,

Thank you for bidding on JewelryRoom.We noted your inquiry and the combine shipping fee $30 was refunded with Unique Transaction ID # ***************** which might take days to reflect into your card.Thank you.

******,We are sorry to hear the item does not meet your requirement.Please kindly return the items back to the following address for full refund if you are still not satisfied.Thank you.

R.T.Overseas
1188 Bishop Street,
Unit 1107, Century Square
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
USA

******,We strongly recommend making a note in the parcel before sending it back to clarify Auction number, Invoice number.Only by doing so, we both can have a smoothly, fast and efficient transaction when received the return.

For any question, please feel free to contact us again using eticket or online chat: http://help.jewelryroom.com/

Thank you and Have a Great Week!
Best Regards,
****


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
today I received an email and a refund of $30.00 for shipping. I will be mailing back the items and see if I get the full refund. These people are too unbelievable. I wished I had looked up "the scam" beforehand. I am a hard working American who doesn't need to be taken in by people like these. I will send back the items as they suggest and let you know if I get the price I paid. Thank you so very much for your help!!!!!!!!!!!

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I PAID FOR JEWELRY TO THE BUSINESS COMPANY JEWELRY ROOM COM AMOUNTING TO $4072.12. THEY WERE NEVER DELIVERED BUT THEY DID NOT REFUND ME MY MONEY.
I BOUGHT JEWELRY FROM JEWELRYROOM.COM, TWO INVOICES: INVOICE 38721 FOR $1649.68 AND INVOICE 38479 FOR $2422.44. I HAD PAID ALREADY BUT THEY RAISED ISSUES LIKE THEY WOULD NOT DELIVER UNLESS I PRODUCED A UTILITY BILL, PROOF OF VALIDITY OF CARD ETC. I TOLD THEM SINCE I WAS ONLY BOARDING I COULD NOT PRODUCE A UTILITY BILL AND SINCE I WAS DISGRUNTLED AT THEIR RIDICULOUS REQUESTS WHEN I HAD ALREADY PAID I TOLD THEM I WOULD NO LONGER BUY THE ITEMS AND THEY SHOULD BE CANCELLED. LATER ON THEY CHANGED THEIR MINDES AND SAID IT WOULD BE OKAY TO DELIVER. BUT SINCE IT TOOK THEM TIME TO SAY THIS, I HAD ALREADY SHOPPED FOR ITEMS ELSEWHERE AND TOLD THEM REFUND WOULD BE PREFERABLE. ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY CLOSED MY ACCOUNT AND I NO LONGER HAVE ANY ACCESS TO MY RECORDS. IT IS A GOOD THING I WROTE DOWN IN A PIECE OF PAPER WHAT THEY OWED ME WHICH WERE THE TWO INVOICES STATED ABOVE. THEY HAVE NOT REFUNDED ME, I HAVE NO ACCESS TO MY RECORDS AND I WANT MY MONEY REFUNDED. I CANNOT STATE THIS FORCEFULLY ENOUGH. I WANT MY REFUND AS MONEY IS SCARCE AND IMPORTANT TO ME.

Initial Business Response
Hello Mr. ******,

Seems like your issue been resolved. Let us know if you still have further question. Please contact our eticket department http://www.jewelryroom.com/**********

Thank you!

Best Regards,

*****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 6
08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: I just had this jewelry appraised and it's junk, just want my money back for what I returned to them
I had some serious surgery done 5 months ago and was home from work when I ordered this stuff and had recently had it appraised by a jeweler and she told me to send it back it's junk so that's what I did when I could. I tried talking to JewelryRoom but they keep telling me they can't refund because paypal won't allow them? They said refund will be by coupon and I have been trying to find out what they mean by this but they are not explaining it properly, giving me the run around. I'm so ****** off right now. They also sent me a ****** jade statue stating it was valued at $15000.00 then I had it appraised at 5 Star Auctions who deal in Asian jade and sculptures and was told it was valued at $100.00! OMG! I was so angry because I paid $340.00 US Dollars plus shipping, $384.00 US. I'm afraid to send it back to them as I was waiting my refund on the 8 rings I returned and still getting the run around. PLEASE help me
********************

Initial Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank for your bidding.You may just rest assure that all the items on our website are 100% genuine and natural.*****,the items are not what Jewelryer said Juck but of good quality.*****,Our purchase can be returnded within 1 month or 2 but not so late returning and asking for refund.So late return,how can we sell them as you hold them so long and how can we know if you wear them long time and now return for refund.

*****,as we mentioned to you in email that the refund are not allowed to refund by paypal beyond 60 days.Here is the coupon refund for your reference.Thank you.

$ 248 for ***** ********** ************************

$300 for ***** ********** ************************

For any question, please feel free to contact us again using eticket or online chat: ****************************

Best Regards,
*****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
These people at JewelryRoom have sent me two coupons to put towards buying something else, one coupon is for $300.00 and the other is for $248.00 but I don't want to buy their junk and these coupons do not include shipping costs so that would be out of pocket as well. I JUST want my money back, that's all.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 13, 2014 I was told I won item #****** which I bid on that day. The email I received the same day offered a $3 coupon for that day. I proceeded to make payment and entered the coupon number which was not accepted. I tried 2 more times and it was not accepted. I then sent two emails to Jewelry Room and they did not respond to either one. I want the item but I want them to make good on their offer. This is the second time I have had a problem with them which Better Business Bureau assisted and as a result Jewelry Room made good on the item. So again, I would like your assistance.
Product_Or_Service: Garnet necklace

Initial Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for yoru bidding.Sorry to inform you that the auction# ****** was won on 13th but not paid and it was not available in the shopping cart.Thank you.

*****, Please kindly note that there will be payment time limitation. After 3-4 days of winning the bid, the items may be automatically deleted from the shopping cart which out of our control.Please kindly bid on your favorite auctions and pay at your 1st conveninet time.

*****,according to the record the $3 coupon was used to INVOICE NO. ***** which paid on 16th Jun.Thank you.

Please kindly help us close the BBB CASE and bid on your favorite auctions.Thank you.

Best Regards,
****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The JR never responded as to why they did not answer my emails. I have the original email for this auction showing the $3 coupon offer which they often do. I contacted them immediately on the 14th when they refused payment. They never notified me of my win until 7-16 when they said the offer would be expiring soon. This necklace was priced at over $2100 by a private person and I believe JR did not want this to go for $47. I have made many purchases thru the years from JR but if they do not uphold my true claim to this auction they will have lost a GOOD customer.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE AN ENORMOUS PROBLEM WITH JEWELRYROOM.COM WHICH IS ONE OF THE DEVIOUS COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH. I ORDERED ITEMS FROM THEM COSTING AROUND $4000 AND THEY LET ME ORDER AND ORDER. SUDDENLY THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT TRANSACT WITH ME UNLESS I PRODUCE A BANK STATEMENT, UTILITY BILL, VALID CARD, THIS AFTER I HAD ALREADY PAID THEM SOME $4000. I REFUSED SAYING NOBODY HAD EVER ASKED ME FOR THINGS LIKE THAT BESIDES MY MONEY WAS ALREADY WITH THEM. THEY SAID IN THAT CASE THEY WOULD NOT TRANSACT BUSINESS WITH ME. SO I TOLD THEM TO REFUND MY MONEY. I ALSO WROTE MY BANK ABOUT THE WHOLE STORY AND TOLD THEM THAT THE ITEMS WERE IN DISPUTE. AFTER THIS I WENT ON VACATION AND STILL AM NOT IN CALIFORNIA. TODAY WHILE LOOKING AT MY ONLINE STATEMENT, I NOTICED THAT I HAD A BALANCE WHEN I KNEW THAT IF I DID IT WOULD BE VERY LITTLE. I CALLED MY BANK AND THEY SAID THEY DISPUTED THE ITEMS I TOLD THEM TO DISPUTE BUT THAT JEWELRYROOM PRODUCED PROOF THAT THEY DELIVERED. I WAS AGHAST. I COULD HARDLY BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED. OF COURSE PEOPLE WHO LIVED IN MY RESIDENCE JUST ACCEPTED BOXES I GUESS NOT KNOWING WHAT THEY WERE ABOUT NOR WAS I INFORMED. I AM OUTRAGED AT JEWELRYROOM.COM'S BEHAVIOR. THEY TOLD ME THEY WOULD NOT TRANSACT BUSINESS WITH ME UNLESS I PRODUCED THE STUPID THINGS THEY WERE ASKING FOR WHICH I THOUGHT WAS DEMEANING ESPECIALLY THEY GOT MY MONEY. AND THEN WITHOUT INFORMING ME DELIVERED IT AT THE ADDRESS WHERE I WASN'T AT THE TIME.THIS IS FRAUDULENT.THEY WERE VEHEMENT THAT THEY WOULD NOT CONDUCT BUSINESS WITH ME.I BELIEVED THEM AND NEVER LOOKED BACK, NEITHER AT MY RECORDS WITH THEM, NOR DID I THINK THOSE ITEMS WOULD BE DELIVERED. MY BANK KNOWS THE WHOLE STORY AND IS STILL PURSUING THE CLAIM WITH THEM ESPECIALLY NOW WHEN I TOLD THEM WHAT HAPPENED. ISN'T THIS BEHAVIOR JUST SNEAKY, HEINOUS AND FRAUDULENT? THEY DID NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO MAIL THE PACKAGES BECAUSE WE ALREADY AGREED ON A REFUND BECAUSE THEY DID NOT WANT TO DO BUSINESS WITH ME.
Product_Or_Service: JEWELRY

Initial Business Response
Hello,

I have no idea what is the big fuss with the current situation. Are you trained to go around and shop then have a habit of giving sellers a hard time? Sometimes I wonder?!?

Anyway, I will repeat again as we have talked before as always. First, please review this attachment, this statement can be found in ALL individual product pages. It's clearly stated "No items will be shipped until all verification or checks are cleared"

Second, you used a new name "******* *********" with shipping address "267 ****** street
san francisco, california, *****". Which is the same person and address as "******* *****" Who received her refund and made a bad remark with our company. You could not resist from buying from us and you used a different name with the same mailing address. We could never guess you were the same person with different identification, therefore we treated you as a new customer.

Here's what is happening....

You made total four purchases Invoice ***** (On 2013-Sept-11), Item delivered on 9/23 UPS Tracking Number:****************** but we spent 9-10 days contacting you, trying to get some verification of who you are and if you were fraud using stolen credit cards.

Invoice ***** (On 2013-Sept-13), Item delivered on 9/24 UPS Tracking Number:****************** again we spent 9-10 days contacting you, trying to get some verification of who you are and if you were fraud using stolen credit cards.

Invoice ***** (On 2013-Sept-14), Item delivered on 10/4 SHIP "******" - USPS ********************** and 10/1 UPS Tracking Number:****************** again we spent 9-10 days contacting you, trying to get some verification of who you are and if you were fraud using stolen credit cards.

Invoice ***** (On 2013-Sept-17), Item delivered on 9/27 UPS Tracking Number:****************** again we spent 9-10 days contacting you, trying to get some verification of who you are and if you were fraud using stolen credit cards.

The bottom line is if you have told us the truth the process would have been much faster and much easier for us. You are making our job extremely difficult. Please.... Do everyone a favor, do not make life so difficult because you yourself are not perfect either. Soon or later, we all will be lying on our deathbed thinking what good we have done for the community. It's not worth making a big fuss about it has a few days late with delivery.

We wishes you the best!

Final Consumer Response
TO JEWELRYROOM.COM: I DID NOT LIKE WHAT YOU DID. YOU WERE SUSPICIOUS OF ME AND TOLD ME YOU DID NOT WANT TO TRANSACT BUSINESS WITH ME. YOU SAY MY CARD WAS STOLEN BUT YOU ACCEPT ED THE MONEY. WHY? THEN YOU SAID YOUR FINAL WORD WAS YOU DID NOT WANT TO TRANSACT BUSINESS WITH ME. I THEREFORE INFORMED MY BANK THAT THE CHARGES THERE WERE BEING DISPUTED, THE MERCHANT REFUSING TO DELIVER THE GOODS. THEN I LEFT SAN FRANCISCO NOT EXPECTING ANYMORE FROM YOU. IT WAS A NEIGHBOR WHO SIGNED FOR THE GOODS AND THEN PUT THEM IN THE GARAGE WITHOUT INFORMING ME. I ONLY FOUND OUT YOU DELIVERED THE GOODS A WEEK AGO AFTER THREE MONTHS.
WHY DO YOU SAY ONE THING AND DO ANOTHER. IF YOU DID NOT WANT ME, I WAS A SHADY CHARACTER, THEN YOU SHOULD NOT EVEN HAVE ALLOWED ME TO BID AND MOST OF ALL YOU SHOULD NOT HAVE ACCEPTED MY MONEY WHICH YOU SAY CAME FROM A STOLEN CARD.YOU INSULT ME AND THEN YOU DELIVER THE GOODS AFTER ALL. I WILL ACCEPT THE TERMS OF ONE OF YOUR COLLEAGUES THAT IF I RETURN THE ITEMS, I WILL BE REFUNDED. I AM SATISFIED WITH THAT DECISION..


Consumer Response
From: ******************@gmail.com
Sent: Friday, February 21, 2014 8:12 PM
To: **** *****
Subject: I want to report a scam.

Name: ******* *********
Email: ******************@gmail.com
Business Name:
Address:
Zip/Postal Code: *****
Subject: I want to report a scam.
Comment: I HAVE REPORTED MY PROBLEM TO BBB IN DECEMBER 2013. I AM SUPPOSED TO RECEIVE A REFUND FOR GOODS THAT WERE NOT ORDERED. THIS WAS IN SEPTEMBER 2013. BUT THIS BUSINESS JEWELRYROOM.COM IS GIVING ME THE RUNAROUND MEANING THEY DO NOT WANT TO RETURN THE MONEY. I THINK THIS IS ALL A SCAM ON THEIR PART BECAUSE I HAVE HEARD OTHER PEOPLE REPORT THE SAME PROBLEM. ONE ORDERS SOMETHING, ONE PAYS, THEN THEY GIVE EXCUSES WHY THEY CANNOT MAIL THE PRODUCTS LIKE PRODUCE BANK STATEMENTS, UTILITY BILLS, PROOF OF VALIDITY OF CARD ETC. AND WHEN YOU ASK A REFUND, SIX MONTHS HAVE GONE BY AND THEY DO NOT GIVE YOUR MONEY BACK. THIS BUSINESS SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN OPERATING THE WAY THEY DO.THEY ARE SCAMMING PEOPLE. YOU MIGHT SAY I HAVE REPORTED THIS ALREADY BUT WHAT DO I DO TO GET MY MONEY BACK?


Business Response
*******,

As we have told you before, and I will repeat saying in here again.

First, you used the name "******* *****" after massive return and refund we temporary suspended your account from buying from us. You then open another account under the name of "******* *********". From track records, we can see the shipment requested sending to five different mailing addresses. This behavior brought our attention of you being flagged potential fraud scammer.

It's very practical for any company to request some kind of proof of address.

Because you did not cooperate (not sure why? unless you have something to hide??) The issue lead to more serious situation. At the end after long communication between us, we approved to ship items. Once all products were delivered, you requested refund. We asked you to return products before we can proceed any refund procedures.

You went ahead and dispute issue with credit card trying to get money back before returning any products. That is wrong from your end. During the dispute review, you then returned some of our products. Now at this point, we cannot place any action because of the dispute on review. Your dispute chargeback were lost (maybe you always have a habit of chargingback? I don't know? Maybe you wanted to earn free mileage??)

Whatever the reason are, it's totally your fault in not working along with us. We have called you several times with no success. Due to your bad activities, we cannot take risk sending any money to you until grace period is over. Because once we send money to you from non related transaction we then will be in situation may lead paying you twice.

Because you are not trusted, we will not take this chance. As of now, nothing you can do but to wait. I must warn you, the more you proceed in damaging our company reputation the worst it will become. As you know, we have refunded you in the past so it's not like we are here to take advantage from customer. But you really putted yourself into this situation and not much you can do but to wait.

End of conversation, contact us in 2 months from now. Since you are not willing to speak with us.

***** - JewelryRoom


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Exactly what are they proposing. They accuse me of this and that when they have money (over three thousand dollars) and I have returned all the items. And it is not true that I am tried to get their money back without having returned the items. I have quoted the 4 tracking numbers to them which I have also copied to the BBB. From the start, I informed BBB that I would be happy if they returned my money. It is surely their fault that they sent me the items when they already said that they would not send me the goods because they needed my bank statement, utility bills etc. I have never dealt with a company whom you have paid more than three thousand dolllars and they say they won't deliver the goods. They have my money and they say they will not deliver the goods until I produce extra documentation. I consider this an insult. They have my money and they hold it hostage by asking me for many other things. There is no company in the USA that gives you restrictions after you have given them the money.They are saying fraud but they are the ones who are holding my money. Can you see the foolishness of this company? And then they firmly say they will not deliver the goods, and all of a sudden they deliver without informing me that they have now consented to deliver the goods. After I had informed my bank to dispute the items.
what kind of company is this? My money has been with them since September 2013. This is now March 2014 and they still have not refunded me my money. The jewelry has been returned to them. I gave them the tracking numbers and UPS saw to it that they signed for it. So now, what is their excuse to hold on to my money? That I am fraudulent? They are ones who have my money and I do not have anything that belongs to them in my possession. Now they say I have to wait two months? Why? For review? What are they reviewing? The boxes sent to them were never even opened. They are reviewing my money? What kind of scam is that? There is something fraudulent about this company. They cannot even explain what they are reviewing. Maybe they are not making enough money so they can't return my money. Or they are holding it and using it as capital to further their business. Whichever way it is, I am sure BBB understands that I am in the right. Why should it take them two months to return my money after holding on to it for already six months. They advertise themselves as fraud free but if they were fraud free they would have returned the money to me already. Can BBB understand why it would take them two months to return my money? After holding on to it since September 2013? I can see very well from the way they write that they cannot think straight. They cannot even make me understand what logic they are using. This is the worst company I have ever had to deal with in my entire life.The management cannot express themselves in a logical . fashion.There is no earthly reason for them to hold on to my money. I am sure anybody who reads their explanation for holding on to my money will say "What crap is this company propagating?" They are full of excuses but the biggest is why can't they return my money right now? Surely this is a scam on their part. Two months from now they will have held on to my money for eight months. The management should go to business school as they can't seem to run their business with integrity. And this whole affair should not have started at all. After telling me they will not deliver the goods, they sneak around and delivered the goods after I already told my bank the items were disputed. Why on earth would they very firmly say that they would not deliver anything unless I produce bank statements, and then without informing me deliver the goods. I wish the owner of this company would hire better people. People who have consideration for their customers. People who can think properly and logically. People who will not give one the run around. People who would not let one wait for eight months before refunding money duly owned by customers. People who have moral and ethical values. The only thing I can say is they are surely running a scam here. They have the goods and still they will not return my money. WHY IS THAT? Can BBB please explain to me if this company has any earthly reason why they should hold on to money which is not theirs? And when the unwanted goods are already back with them? And why they lied to me in the first place saying they would not deliver unless I produce all kinds of documentation when they were already in possession of my money? And then without informing me, deliver the goods anyway. Some of the goods they delivered were not even what I ordered looking at the order history which they have made inaccessible to me even if there is still an ongoing dispute. I cannot thing of any reason except they are running some sort of scam.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

11/12/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor money-back guarantees

Complaint: I purchased over $500 of jewelry off this site, I returned 4 or 5 damaged pieces for a total of $185.00 + s/h.I never rec'vd my return money on paypal
ticket: *******
Friday, January 18, 2013 15:08

Dear ****** ***,

Thank you for visiting JewelryRoom

This is just a quick note to notify you that we have received your support request. A member of our support team will address your request as soon as possible.

(the following copy of my email was sent by Jewelry room that was my email to them)

Your Ticket #: *******
Question/Issue: I have been trying to resolve a return that shows your company has received a week ago. Track number ************************
I was told I would receive credit but at this point I am getting angry and will ask for a full refund. I will contact consumer affairs, BBB, and leave negative comments on your site unless this gets resolved quickly!

Your company told me that you refunded my money using paypal.I called paypal and as of yet I have not received any monies refunded to me as you stated. I did not get credit which I do not want at this point but you took my money as well. You are a very dishonest company and should be reported to the Attorney General! Mrs. ****** ***

Initial Business Response
Hello Angela,

Was extremely difficult bring transaction back from Paypal if the transaction was over 6 months. I contacted Paypal and re-verified the refund was completed. Please see attachment.

Please also re-evaluate your credit card statement or perhaps even call them. Unfortunately, we seriously have no control with Paypal. But I do see the refund amount had been completed.

Please see attachment, and let us know if anything else we can assist you will in regard this case.

Hope this help!

*****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I sent the BBB a rebuttle regarding this case asking for proof that the Jewelry Room sent the money through PayPal and that Paypal wanted a transmittal number confirming they sent the money. The Jewelry Room refused to do so and did not respond to my request. They need to show proof, the need to show the confirmation page they get from Paypal stating they refunded me with a TRANSMITTAL NUMBER AND MY NAME. I will then forward that page to Paypal for their investigation. As of now The Jewelry Room has not complied. Mrs. Lee

Final Business Response
From: *****@jewelryroom.com (mailto:*****@jewelryroom.com)
Sent: Monday, October 14, 2013 6:02 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#***********-********-8-3100)
Importance: Low

Hello *******,

Have you folks received my attachments sent last week? The attachments is related to this case. Thank you!

Best Regards,

***** ****

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

06/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: I purchased a ring from Jewelry.com based upon the auction description. Diamond ring was since found to be fake. Need it replaced.
Invoice # 22795
Ticket ID 1150876
I purchased through auction a ring described as "astonishing 1.12 carat columbia blue diamond & 4 pieces of lab tanzanite 18K white gold ring."
It stated that the retail value was $5251.12. I was surprised to win the auction at $156 plus $20 shipping. But I had purchased many other pieces from them and the value seemed to be inline with other retail. I was proud to now have this ring for my wife. However, wife didnt like the fit or colors so I decided to resell on Ebay, knowing I would get something for it there. It sold for $450. The buyer contacted me after receiving the ring, saying he took it to his diamond expert and said that it was not a blue diamond or not even a diamond at all, just a colored piece of glass. I told him to send it back to me and I would refund his $450 plus $7.20 in shipping. I took to he ring to a local jeweler and her agreed that it was fake, not a gemstone at all. I contacted Tina at Jewelry.com and told her about the situation and she said she stood behind the description and Guranteed me that it was a real diamond. I put it back on bay and it sold again for $450. Before I shipped it I took it again to several more jewelers and 2 pawn shops. It was definitely not a real diamond. I cancelled the sale to avoid more embarrassment from the fake ring. I again wrote to Tina and she responded that all the Jewelers say that their diamonds are fake. etc. But I could send it back and get 120% of purchase price if they deemed it fake. Nothing about my goodwill or shipping cost etc. I had just mentioned $500 credit might be acceptible. I gave them her 2 weeks to get back to me. She didnt. I said then she had 5 days to make me an offer, I wanted them to exchange for the proper item) or I would go to BBB. That was yesterday (5 days up).
I really want my $5200 ring that I bought in good faith. I am sure for a company that has sold over 1 million pieces of jewelry, that they have something to appease me with. I am now hoping some of the other precious stones that I have purchased from then are not fake. I am afraid to go to the expense of appraisel right now. Please help me with this. Thanks, Al Curtis

Business' Initial Response
Hello ****,

On Feb 24th, you submitted a request in resolving the issue and we replied timely the very next day asking you may return items if not satify. We still have not received your packages, therefore we cannot process any refund. And we have no further messages from you since then. Please contact us, we will be happy to resolve your issue.

Best Regards,

*****

-------------------------------------------

Feb 24 2013 1:48AM Ticket Created : **** ******
Feb 25 2013 2:35PM Ticket Acknowledged: ***********

------------------------------------------

25 Feb 2013 14:38:26 ***********

Hello ****,

Thank you for your patience.. We are apologized for your bad feeling. According to the record,the cost of the ring more than what you paid. We appreciated your concern. Kindly be advised that we are familiar with people often take their jewelry to their local jeweler. 99% of the local jeweler will claim items do not meet requirement. It's a natural response to built credibility to their jewelry shop. We stand 100% on the genuine of the pieces in diamond and in the material used. We refund 120% if the diamond use is not real .If you still not confident on the genuine of the diamond, we can cancel this order for you specially and return it back to the auction. Kindly let us know your decision.Thanks.

************
*******************
*************************
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
USA
We strongly recommend making a note in the parcel before sending it back to clarify four things
1) The reason of this return 2) Auction number, Invoice number 3) Replacement or Refund
4) Authorization number **********

Only by doing so, we both can have a smoothly, fast and efficient transaction when received the return.

Thank you and Have a Great Week!
Best Regards,
****

Consumer's Final Response
please reopen this case. Nothing has been resolved.

Business' Final Response
Hello Alan,

As we have mentioned before, your request of refund had been long passed our return policy and yet have not seen any of your returned items, but you are asking us to give you more than what you paid for. We do not think this is fair. You accepted our shipping cost and now you are complaining about paying too much?

You may have attempted to resell those goods but failed, now you want your money back without returning any of the items back to us?! How can it be possible?

We do not allow such an act... paid for items, then asking for money without returning any goods. Sorry, we cannot help you.

Best Regards,

Kevin

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Internet Auction Service, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/21/2000Business started: 02/28/1996
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425
Honolulu, HI96806-1425
(808) 587-4242
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app

BBB records show a license number of W30797118-01 for this company, issued by State of Hawaii Department of Taxation. Their web address is http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app.

Type: General Excise Tax

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2005, HI

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Chak Sum Chen (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin Chan (Operations Manager)
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail, Internet Auction Service, Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
RTOverseas Inc.
Industry Tips
Job Applicants Beware of Reshipping and Forwarding Scams
Online Auctions

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for JewelryRoom.com

1188 Bishop St STE 1107

Honolulu, HI 96813-3304

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1188 Bishop St STE 1107 

    Honolulu, HI 96813-3304(808) 922-3499
    (877) 772-2536

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Hawaii. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*JewelryRoom.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 347-9193 - Cellular
  • (877) 772-2536

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (808) 924-4473
  • (808) 922-3499
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Hawaii's BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 02/01/2013 for complaints filed on 11/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.