Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

First Insurance Company of Hawaii, Ltd.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 527-7777 Fax: (808) 543-3403 1100 Ward Ave, Honolulu, HI 96814 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides property and casualty insurance products distributed through an independent agency network.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Insurance Company of Hawaii, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on First Insurance Company of Hawaii, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1968 Business started: 08/11/1911 in HI Business started locally: 08/11/1911 Business incorporated 08/06/1982 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Insurance Division
335 Merchant St STE 213, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-2790
The number is 100009.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40416982-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Isaac Kosasa, Vice President Mr. Darren Okihara, Vice President Mr. Jeffrey Shonka, President & CEO Mr. Steve Tabussi, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Isaac Kosasa, Vice President
Business Category

Insurance Services Insurance Companies Insurance - Liability Insurance - Property

Industry Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

First Insurance Company of Hawaii, Ltd. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1100 Ward Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • PO Box 2866

    Honolulu, HI 96803


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ended my insurance with first insurance hawaii the start of this year. For the past 4 months I have been receiving a bill saying I owe $700 dollars for my new policy. I did not sign any document saying I will be renewing my policy or did not send in a check. After dealing with my agent n the company for the last 4 months. They contacted me saying there was a "glitch" in there system. That I didn't owe money but that It was a error. The reason I'm writing this is because when didn't they contact there customer about this glitch? During the 4 month period I could have sent in that amount! They probably would have kept the money. Who knows how many customer have been getting billed for money thy don't owe. To let it go on for this long is unacceptable! I'm 25 year old female staring my own bussiness in hawaii. If I didn't preserve with this problem I would have lost $700. For me that's alot of money. I don't want anyone else to go through what I did.

Desired Settlement: Explain why this so called glitch has not been handled sooner. Why did they not send a email or letter notifying customers.

Business Response: The following is in response to the letter dated June 7, 2016 regarding the above captioned complaint.

We understand our customer's frustration at receiving numerous invoices regarding her policy. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will help us improve our operation and services.

First Insurance Company of Hawaii's ("First Insurance") system automatically issues renewals and customers are not required to sign documents to renew their insurance policy.   In this case, the policy renewal offer and premium invoice was sent to the insured on 1/07/2016 noting a deposit premium of $744.00.  When the deposit premium was not paid in full, multiple payment reminder notices were issued and mailed to the insured until we were notified that the policy was cancelled.

Also, during the same period of time, First Insurance received requests from Ms. *****'s insurance agent to endorse the policy, which changed certain terms and conditions resulting in additional invoices.

We did not receive Ms. *****'s request to cancel her policy until 5/10/2016 because coverage was placed elsewhere.  The late notice cancellation was processed in a timely manner. On 5/17/2016, a Cancellation Memo was sent to Ms. ***** to inform her that her policy CGL 7795392 was cancelled effective 3/22/2016 with an amount due of $524.00.

First Insurance would like to clarify there was no glitch in its policy system. The system operated properly. The multiple notices were sent due to the untimely processing of the agent's request and the late notice of the cancellation. However, please be assured that First Insurance does not retain any monies owed to our customers.  In accordance with policy provisions, this is a "short rate" cancellation which is the reason that $500.00 is still due and owing. Policy ********** Common Policy Conditions Item A.5. states "If the first Named Insured cancels, the refund may be less than pro rata. The cancellation will be effective even if we have not made or offered a refund." First Insurance is waiving the service fees related to this policy.

First Insurance has handled this cancellation and refund in compliance with state law and regulation as well as in accordance with the terms and conditions of the policy.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on First Insurance Company of Hawaii, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart