Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

DTRIC Insurance Company, Limited

Phone: (808) 951-1700 Fax: (808) 949-1927 View Additional Phone Numbers 1600 Kapiolani Blvd, #1520, Honolulu, HI 96814 View Additional Email Addresses http://DTRIC.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers disability, casualty, fire, marine, auto and surety insurance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that DTRIC Insurance Company, Limited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for DTRIC Insurance Company, Limited include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on DTRIC Insurance Company, Limited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1996 Business started: 03/12/1992 Business started locally: 03/12/1992 Business incorporated 12/12/1978 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Insurance Division
335 Merchant St STE 213, Honolulu HI 96813
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/ils/app
Phone Number: (808) 586-2790
insurance@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is 100002.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michele Saito, President Mr. Cody K. .Higaki, Customer Care Manager Ms. Linh L. DePledge, Vice President, Sales & M Ms. Jennifer Murata, VP & CFO Ms. Audrey E. Nakamoto, Corporate Secretary Matt Spencer, Marketing Assistant Mr. Ronald Toyofuku, Executive Chairman Mr. Garrett T Yoshimi, Chief Information Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michele Saito, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ronald Toyofuku, Executive Chairman
Business Category

Insurance Services Insurance Services - Commercial Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Rental

Industry Tips
HOME TITLE INSURANCE

Additional Locations

  • 1600 Kapiolani Blvd, #1520

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 951-1880 (808) 943-8742

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Adjuster Jon Matsumoto of DTRIC Insurance Ltd. has refused to provide me with the information necessary to compensate me for the damages in my claim. On February 18, 2014 I was struck by DTRIC Insurance Ltd.'s insured, named Vonnie Lee, due to inattention on her part, as noted in the police report. I sustained injuries that put me in the hospital and required 10 days of bed rest. My bicycle was also damaged beyond usability, as the front fork which holds the tire was sheared from the bike. In my claim with DTRIC, number 0114000611, I am requesting compensation for my medical bills, the wages lost during my 10 days of doctor-prescribed bed rest, and the cost of my bicycle, to which I am fully entitled. I finally contacted Jon Matsumoto on March 18th by certified mail, after numerous email attempts, requesting the information within 5 business days. He has failed to comply with my request. He has been unresponsive to my requests for information, and he has delayed compensating me for the damages caused by his insured.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking full compensation for my medical bills, the wages lost while on bed rest, and the cost of my bicycle. I am therefore requesting the information necessary to complete this process.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/15) */ April 10, 2014 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. Attention: ******* ******** 1132 Bishop Street, Suite 615 Honolulu, HI 96813-2813 Re: Case Number: 52024074 Our Insured: *. *** Our Claim Number: 01 1400061 1 Date of Loss: February 18, 2014 Dear Mr. ********: We are in receipt of your correspondence dated March 3 l, 2014 addressed to ****** ******** in reference to an issue filed by ***** ****** requesting for compensation for his medical bills, lost wages and for the damages to his bicycle. A. Medical Bills Medical bills incurred due to the above-mentioned incident have been received from the providers and payments were processed promptly pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statute (HRS) 431:10C-304 Any additional medical bills paid by Mr. ****** should be forwarded to DTRIC for review The Personal Injury Protection (PIP) recap sheet will also indicate that payment has been made since March 14, 2014. (See Exhibit A) B. Wages Lost Pursuant to the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA) website and section entitled "Motor Vehicle Insurance Information" (See Exhibit B): "Optional coverages and options you may purchase include: collision and comprehensive, uninsured and underinsured coverages, wage loss..." Also, pursuant to Hawaii Revised Statute 431:10C-302D (i): "The optional coverage prescribed in section 431 :10C-302 (a) (9) (A) and (B) shall apply only to the named insured, resident spouse or resident relative; and.. ." (See Exhibit C) Finally, pursuant to DTRIC'S automobile policy -'Optional Benefits Coverage - Hawaii' under Exclusions Section B indicates: "We do not provide wage loss benefits to any "insured" other than you or "family member"." (See Exhibit D) As such we are unfortunately at this time unable to provide wage loss coverage. We recommend for Mr. ****** to follow up with his auto insurance or supplemental insurance carrier for additional coverage if applicable. C. Bicycle We are currently working to resolve and settle Mr. ******'s property damage claim for his bicycle as supporting documents were flnally received on April 4, 2014 We believe that the above satisfies your inquiry of March 31, 2014. Thank you for your attention to this matter and if you have any questions please feel free to contact me at (808)***-****. *** *. *********, SCLA Claims Line Manager (808) ***-****

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Insurance such as DTRIC has not paid me nor repair my car for over TWO years after I made a claim and has gotten away with it. on May 15 2011, a security guard name ***** ******** working for **. ****** ****** ****** broke into and vandalize my car and assaulted me in their parking lot causing over $3000 in damages to my car. I filed a claim with my auto insurance DTRIC and the adjuster contradicted me and to sides of the criminal that damaged and broke into my car and defended him instead of representing me the insured.

Desired Settlement: full payment minus my deductible as specified in the insurance contract / policy #**********. RE: Claim number **********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ March 27, 2014 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. Attention: ******* ******** 1132 Bishop Street, Suite 615 Honolulu, HI 96813-2813 Re: Case Number: ******** Our Insured: *. *** Our Claim Number: ********** Date of Loss: May 15, 2011 Dear Mr. ********: We are in receipt of your correspondence dated March 13, 2014 addressed to ****** ******** in reference to an issue filed by Mr. ***. Upon the conclusion of our investigation which included a recorded statement of Mr. ***, we have concluded that the damages that Mr. *** indicated were pre-existing damages and may not have been caused by the security guard at *** ******* ****** as indicated by Mr. ***. We have confirmed with a Manager at the school that Mr. *** was known to frequent the campus and made several anonymous phone calls to the school (details unknown). The school discovered (from HPD) that Mr. *** was the individual and that he was also not a parent of any student nor was a member of the Church but was known to frequent the school's property. Mr. *** confessed to the school's security that he indeed made the phone calls and that he also was not a parent of any student. HPD was shortly called and Mr. *** was escorted off campus and was advised that HPD would be called if seen again on property. The school's security officer was not cited or arrested for any wrongdoing. Our appraiser inspected Mr. ***'s vehicle and concluded that the damages were pre-existing and were in fact caused by other factors such as rock chips, use of an abrasive polish and normal wear and tear. The appraiser indicated that he was willing to consider replacing the right tail lamp and possibly the left (driver side) mirror. The estimate amount was for $275.70 and Mr. *** has a deductible amount of $250.00. A copy of the estimate is enclosed. Based on the factors mentioned-above we have concluded that the damages were pre-existing and were probably not caused by the security officer as indicated in the complaint. We are willing to offer Mr. *** a check in the amount of $25.70 to resolve this matter. Thank you for your attention to this matter and if you have any questions please feel free to contact me at (808) ***-****. *** *. *********, SCLA Claims Line Manager Enclosure (sent USPS Regular Mail) Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) False Statements made against me and DTRIC and both their repair shop and their own appraiser refuse to show me their estimate done hiding something. Continue,

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ********* carrier for the ***** ******** company has failed to answer my insurance companies claim for damage to my truck...3 weeks no phone call! August 27th 2013 @ 0705 AM I was driving my 2010 Toyota Truck to work on the H-3 Freeway when a Truck in front of me started spilling aggragate on the freeway that got under its tires and shot the aggregate against my windshield causing cracks across the glass. Truck Licenses Plate #******* U.S. DOT#******* "***** ********" Company. Police Collision Report # *********... My ********* "******* *********" Hawaii called "***** ********" Company and got their ********* Carrier and filed a Claim with Dtric Insurance. Three weeks ago when this happend!!!... I was told they have 48 hours to respond, but to my knowledge they have not responded at all!! I have called Dtric ********* several times about my Claim but never got any response... Claim #**********... I have advised my friends and associates to never carry Dtric Insurance... I need a new windsheild and they won`t honor or even talk to me about my claim...They should at the very least after 3 weeks have passed return my phone calls!!!

Desired Settlement: It costs me $381.16 to replace my windshield... (I have a reciept from **************)... If Dtric Insurance doesnot do the honorable thing and pay for mky windshield, then "*****" ******** should do what is morally correct and pay for my windshield... Another Complaint with the BBB will have to follow against "***** ******* Company" as well... Thank you for listening, when no one else would...Sincerely, *******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/18) */ Mr. ******* ******** Operations Supervisor BBB Complaint Department Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. 1132 Bishop St., Ste. 615 Honolulu, HI. 96813-2813 Re: as 52022776: Mr. *************** Our Insured: ***** ******** Claimant: Mr. *************** Date of Accident: August 27, 2013 Claim No.: ********** Dear Mr. ********, I am responding on behalf of DTRIC Insurance Co., Ltd. to your September 10, 2013 inquiry addressed to Mr. ****** ********, in reference to Mr. ***************s complaint. The following provides the claim activity in our handling of Mr.********s claim. On August 27, 2013, a claim for damages to the windshield of Mr.********s Toyota pickup truck was reported to us by ********* of *******, his insurance carrier. This damage was allegedly caused by rocks falling from a vehicle owned by our insured, ***** ********. Mr.******** was reported as travelling on the H3 freeway behind the ***** truck when rocks flew off the rear of the truck, striking his vehicle. On the same day, adjuster ***** ******** called ******* adjuster *********, to obtain information on the vehicle that was allegedly owned by ***** *********. She did not have any information and referred him to Mr.********. The next morning, on August 28, 2013, Mr. ******** called Mr.******** who advised he was following the truck in question on the H3 and that it had tons of aggregate falling out of the truck. However, he could not change lanes in time to avoid the damage to his windshield. He further advised Mr ******** that he pulled off the road to obtain assistance from a police officer, who advised him to work things out with the trucks owner. A license plate number was obtained but a police report was not made. Also, that he expected payment of $381.16 for repairs by *** **** *****. Their conversation ended with Mr. ******** advising Mr.******** that he would contact ***** ******** to verify this information, conduct an investigation and get back with him. Mr.******** did not object and advised he would be making a police report then. In the course of completing his investigation, Mr. ******** called Mr.******** on September 9. 2013 to advise him that he was still awaiting further information. Mr. ******* advised that he had paid for the repairs. Mr. ******** advised he would let him know about payment for repairs after he completed his investigation, at which time Mr.******** agreed. On September 12, 2013, Mr. ******** sent a letter to Mr.******** advising that his investigation indicated ***** ******** was not responsible for the damage to his truck. A copy of this letter explaining the reasons for this determination is attached. I hope this provides clarity to our handling of Mr.********s claim. Thank you for your consideration of this response. If Mr.******** has any other information, we will be glad to further consider his claim. Sincerely, ***** ******* Claims Manager ________________


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on DTRIC Insurance Company, Limited
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)