Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Island Insurance Company, Limited

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 564-8200 Fax: (808) 564-8170 View Additional Phone Numbers 1022 Bethel Street, Honolulu, HI 96813

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers a full range of property & casualty protection.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Island Insurance Company, Limited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Island Insurance Company, Limited include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Island Insurance Company, Limited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 22, 1984 Business started: 12/27/1939 Business started locally: 12/27/1939 Business incorporated 12/27/1939 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Insurance Division
335 Merchant St STE 213, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-2790
The number is 100014.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20604554-01.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Schapperle, President & CEO Renee Neill, Admin Assistant Ms. Sandy Siu, Marketing Communication Specialist
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Schapperle, President & CEO
Business Category

Insurance Companies Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Liability Insurance - Property Insurance - Workers Compensation

Alternate Business Names
Island Premier Insurance Company, Ltd.
Industry Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Island Insurance Company, Limited has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1022 Bethel Street

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 643-4000 (808) 564-8200

  • PO Box 1520

    Honolulu, HI 96806


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Requesting roof repair after hail damage which was only 3 months over the year and was denied. Other homeowners was able to repair their roof. Request reported on August 12, 2013. Please see attached letter from ***************. Other homeowners with other insurance carriers was able to have their roof repaired. I also was told that that is no limitation to report damage of roof if caused by hail. 01/16/2014 - More info received from the consumer: I would like to correct myself, the damaged was reported 5 months after the year of the hail not 3 months.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have our roof replaced due to hail damage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/02/06) */ Regarding your recent inquiry to the Better Business Bureau, your situation appears similar to other cases involving unsuspecting homeowners that have been targeted by certain roofing companies. Unfortunately, these roofing companies, such as the one who contacted you, have been pressing homeowners to file claims, despite the fact that the period in which to make a claim has already passed. These roofing companies appear to be trying to generate more business for themselves by informing homeowners such as you, that you can get a brand new roof if you file a claim. Such statements are made without apparent knowledge of the requirements of your insurance contract. Your policy with Tradewind Insurance provides you with a one-year time period to submit a claim. This is a long-standing contract term, and is in accord with Hawaii's Insurance Code. In your case, your claim was over five months passed the contract deadline. The prompt notice requirements in insurance contracts are intended to aid in the accuracy of any damage investigation and, among other things, serves to avoid further damage from occurring. A great deal can change in 17 months, and a one-year claim filing period avoids the unnecessary complications that can arise from very old claims. We have a longstanding commitment to our customers and have been doing business in Hawaii for nearly 75 years. We do our best to help our customers, but we have to do so within the terms of our contracts to maintain consistent and equal treatment for all of our policyholders. Should you be in need of any further information, please feel free to contact us. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the response from Island Insurance; I have been paying homeowner insurance since 1987 and have not once place a claim. I don't understand how other homeowners in our area, place a claim that is over a year and their claim is approve by their homeowner insurance for roof replacement. How would we, the homeowner know if the roof has damage until a roofing company looks at the roof. If we knew there was damage within the year, we would have placed a claim. Since the policy is only one year to place a claim, we who have been paying for 26 years is out of a claim. I believe there should be some exception to the rule as we have not place a claim and someone from Island Insurance should take a look at our roof. Appreciate your condideration. *****************