This Business is not BBB accredited

Westin Maui Corp.

Phone: (808) 667-2525 Fax: (808) 661-5764 2365 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, HI 96761 http://www.westinmaui.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the services of a hotel.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Westin Maui Corp. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Westin Maui Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Westin Maui Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 22, 1987 Business started: 07/01/1987 Business started locally: 07/01/1987 Business incorporated: 07/28/1998 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20542274-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gregg Lundberg, General Manager Mr. Christopher Reed, Dir. of Operations Mr. Brendan Tsukiyama, Director of Rooms
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregg Lundberg, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Christopher Reed, Dir. of Operations
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa Westin Maui Corp.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2365 Kaanapali Pkwy

    Lahaina, HI 96761 (808) 667-2525

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: General Manager won't return calls about re-imbursement related to air conditioning breaking during visit/poor overall service during our stay. My family stayed at the Westin, Maui from September 14th-19th, 2013. We had an ocean view room. First night we arrived air conditioner worked poorly. Second night we stayed air conditioner broke at 2:00 a.m. Room was around 85 degrees per thermostat. We could'nt sleep. Called front desk, they almost never answer the phone. Finally, when they answer phone, they send up maintenance and agree to move us. Said would send up bellman. After calls to front desk that are never answered, I went to front desk to inquire. After 1 hour, bellman came up. We were moved to a room with view of parking lot. Next afternoon we went back to room and A/C appeared to be working. Maintenance came up and was unaware as to whether A/C had been fixed. Noone knew anything about what had happened, including front desk. I made a trip to front desk because we were upset. Young clerk says they can take off a few days of hotel surcharge which added up to about $100. I spent over $100 on breakfast the first morning Had problems throughout trip getting anyone to answer at front desk. Always had to walk down to get service. Waited 45 minutes for towels. Upon checkout, I mentioned to clerk that felt we should be re-imbursed for problems. She said it looked like they didn't charge me for several nights stay. The trip was pre-paid through AAA. When I asked for details/receipt, she did not want to give it to me, and didn't. I called to speak with General manager after trip, and after seversl calls he offered me two nights stay at Westin. I did not feel was aporopriate. Didn't know when I'd be back in Maui, and I didn't pay with gift certificate, but cash pre-paid. I asked for credit for two nights stay back on credit card. After about 2 weeks, he did not call back. Decided to take another trip to Hawaii. I called back and left a message for him saying was okay to get gift certificate if could be used on another island. He will not return my phone call. AAA called to discuss, and he won't return their phone calleither. This is a pathetic way to treat your customers. If people have significant problems, they should be able to credit funds back to a card. I think these people are very dusresoectful for not calling back.

Desired Settlement: Initially I was asking for two nights re-imbursement, but maybe it would be best to refund entire stay.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Argued w/account dept for 4hrs concerning a charge in the amount of $239.00 dated 09/16/13, when I was already charged that amount 08/07/13. I also had to send a copy of my bank statement twice to prove that I was debited for the same amount twice, indirectly being accused of not being truthful.

Desired Settlement: if possible compensation

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/09/23) */ Since filing the complaint regarding the double charge for a stay that took place Aug. 2 to Aug. 5th, 2013, that was previously paid for,the issue was since resolved. It took me 2 days to resolve the issue after I gave the accounting department my bank statements twice that proved I was debited for Agee that was already paid previously in Aug. which seemed to not be good enough for them and then they still wanted to speak to someone from my bank, First Hawaiian regarding my account and the debit charge that they claimed was credited. Unfortunately this is what I went through for 2 days, in directly being told I was not being truthful after I did more than enough to prove that the accounting department had made a mistake. It was extremely stressful as I was dealing with the accounting department.

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were not informed of the ongoing construction at the resort until we arrived. Requests to be moved further away from the noise were denied. Below are the contents of an email sent to ***********, asst. manager, with no response. Basically SPG and Westin are pointing fingers at each other with no one resolving the issue. "I have now received responses from each of you regarding the above referenced file numbers. You both agree that I should have been told about the construction taking place at the Westin and you are both placing the blame with the other. I can assure you that I would never have elected to stay at the Westin if I had been told about the construction. Due to a prior negative experience with a hotel under construction, I avoided booking with another hotel just recently for the same reason. Upon checking in, I immediately requested a room further away from the construction. The individual at the front desk was rather rude and said because the Westin was booked solid, that would not be possible. However, I observed a large number of people checking in and out everyday. It is not reasonable to me that something on a lower floor never became available during my 10 day stay. I have a hypothesis on why a little later in this note. On three separate occasions we tried to use the room during the afternoon to relax and take a nap. Each time we were driven out of the room by the constant noise. It was so loud I thought they working on the room next to us. I also heard other guests complaining about the noise. Essentially we were not able to use the room from 9 - 5, or a third of our stay there. There was also a second time the front desk was rude. I understand that late check out is based on availability. On 7/20, I asked if late check out was available. Instead of "Nothing is available.", I received a 5 minute dissertation on what "If available" means and another reminder that the hotel was sold out. Availability. This seems to be the term that member hotels use to get out of honoring the benefits offered by Starwood for being a 'preferred guest'. I am also elite, but that does not seem to carry any weight either. I have used SPG sparingly in the past because each time I have booked with points I have had issues. A few years back, my family was actually turned away from the hotel we had reservations with because booking with points was based on availability and there were no rooms available. Personally, I believe we were not moved to a lower room at the Westin because we had booked with points. Instead of being treated as a 'preferred' guest, we were treated as second class guests. I suggest changing SPG's name to Starwood Preferred Guest If Available. I am very disappointed that I am now in the middle of a finger pointing contest. I have many years of business experience and would never drag a customer through my internal issues. I would take care of the customer and resolve my internal issues 'internally'. I believe my initial request of returning the 62,000 points I had to purchase is both fair and reasonable considering the room was not useable for a third of time we were there. Again, I would have never booked there had I known. Please resolve your issues internally and let me know if you are going to honor my request."

Desired Settlement: The return of 62,000 points purchased to complete the resevation with Westin. This represents approximately one third of the points required for the 10 day stay. Because of the noise, we were not able to use the room from 9 - 5 each day, or a third of the time we were there.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/08/23) */ I was contacted by the company and they agreed with my desired resolution. We can close this complaint.