Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort

Phone: (808) 886-6789 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Waikoloa, HI 96738 http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/koamc-waikoloa-beach-marriott-resort-and-spa/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2012
Business Management
Mr. John Tolbert, General Manager Ms. Debbie Thompson, Admin Asst
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Tolbert, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive

    Waikoloa, HI 96738

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This facility provided inferior wheelchair to my husband resulting in serious injury to his left leg, they provided no medical treatment and the injury has resulted to 10,000.00 in medical cost. Product_Or_Service: housing and foood Account_Number: 1752.99

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund refund the charges for medical expenses of 10,000.00

Business Response: Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/06/18) */ 6/07/13-Mr. ***** arrived at our property and said that he had been injured on the airplane when baggage fell out of the overhead bin and hit his arm, ripping the skin. Guest advised that he ended up in the hospital for a few days, upon his release, came to our hotel. 6/08/13-Mr. ***** injured his left shin while getting out of the wheelchair. Our Security Department offered assistance, guest declined and left for dinner. 9/13/13-Guest filed a complaint with Marriott Customer Care and called Mr. Marriott's office. His medical claim had been denied by Marriott Claims and the Claims Department advised guest to go ahead with legal action. 9/25/13-Marriott Claims Department continued to advise property to not speak with him. 9/26/13-Waikoloa Beach Marriott responded with an email to guest reiterating that the incident has been turned over to Marriott Claims Department and that they would be handling this. 10/29/13-Looks like guest filed a complaint with BBB. This matter has been referred to Marriott Claims and we have no further information beyond the fact that the claim was denied and guest stated he was pursuing legal action.

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor accommodations not what was shown online, poor customer service For my honeymoon in May of this year, 2013, we booked this hotel though our travel agent here in New York. We based our booking though the pictures and reviews we saw online. This hotel was anything but what was shown in pictures. I had a horrible stay at this hotel. Several things went wrong while at this facility: 1. The rooms were not as depicted online 2. The wrong room was given to us. The room we first initially were given was not what we booked. 3. We gave them the chance to fix the room problem the next day. In doing this, the hotel made us late for our excursion. 4. Bell hops poor attitude and select use of vulgar language was NOT appreciated! 5. Lack of amenities onsite. More were listed online. 6. They did not recognize us as a honeymoon couple like the rest of the hotels had done for us. While on the island, the manager of the hotel we spoke with told us that he would give us a refund of our hotel room. We left on the assumption he was going to do that. After our arrival home, I spoke with my travel agent about the poor accommodations, poor attitude and lack of customer service. I told her about what the manager had said to us prior to leaving. She decided to attempt to get the money back for us. Our travel agent has been attempting to get a hold of the manager to get the refund for over 4 months now. No return phone calls or correspondence. I would not recommend your hotel to ANYONE!! I truly hope you enjoyed ruining my honeymoon!!!

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $1460.00. This is the amount of the room for the days we were there dealing with the poor customer service and you ruining my honeymoon!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/30) */ Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa. Your experience does not represent the way we strive to treat our valued guests. We take all comments seriously and have taken this opportunity to review our website to ensure information is not misleading. We have also refreshed our daily training procedures to ensure we have captured all relevant reservation information. We do regret that our efforts to satisfy your concerns during your stay fell short of your expectations. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort and would like to extend the offer to enroll you into our Marriott Rewards loyalty program with 100,000 points that you may use for future stays in Marriott brands, worldwide. Sincerely & with Aloha, ************* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This does not resolve my issue. I will never stay at a Marriott hotel ever again after this experience. Therefore the response of 100,000 "points" to compensate for such a poor experience is not reasonable. As I asked for in my prior response, I would like a refund. Please take into consideration the fact that I will never stay at your hotel or any other Marriott again and will never use the points offered.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)