Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Turtle Bay Resort, LLC

Phone: (808) 293-6000 Fax: (808) 293-9147 View Additional Phone Numbers 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, HI 96731 http://www.TurtleBayResort.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a resort hotel.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Turtle Bay Resort, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Turtle Bay Resort, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1970 Business started: 08/01/1988 Business started locally: 08/01/1988 Business incorporated 05/24/1988 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20257082-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W72592384-01.

Business Management
Mrs. Deanna Hawk, General Manager Ms. Malgorzata Bardsik-Cox, Director of Finance Mr. Tom Cross, Director of Food & Beverage Ms. Patricia Hallmark, Exec. Admin. Asst. Ms. Janice Ishihara, Dir. of Sales & Mktg.
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Deanna Hawk, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Benchmark Hospitality, Ltd. Turtle Bay Resort

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    57-091 Kamehameha Highway

    Kahuku, HI 96731 (808) 447-6521 (800) 203-3650 (866) 827-5321 (808) 293-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at Turtle Bay on 9/28. The hotel charged my credit card $250 because a security guard said he saw someone smoking on the lanai of my room. I was charged $250 for smoking in my room. I did not find this out until the following week when I checked my credit card statement. This does not make sense because I do not smoke and my girlfriend does not smoke. And although I am not sure, I believe I was no even in my room at the time of the alleged transgression (e.g. 12:390am on 9/29). I called the resort and the only the justification the hotel staff gave was that a security guard apparently saw someone smoking on my lanai as he was looking up from the pool area. I spoke with a "****** *******," who was evasive, rude, and condescending. I asked if security had gone up to the room and at the time of the incident. He said "no." I then asked if Security or Housekeeping had found any cigarette butts, ashes or any other evidence that someone had smoked in the room. He said "no" and that such evidence was "not needed" in order for them to charge the $250 to my card. He said that because I signed a folio upon "checking in" to the hotel, that I agreed to any incidental charges - so he did not have to prove that I actually smoke in the room. I asked him directly - "so you don't have to provide any evidence other than the word of the security guard to substantiate the charges." To which he replied "yes." I then told him that this was ridiculous because I don't smoke and neither does my girlfriend, who was staying with me. He said "that does not matter." At this point, I became angry and said some things to him that I now regret. But nonetheless, the $250 charge was not justified - and legal for that matter. Further, if this something that is common practice at Turtle Bay, then it should be investigated because it is not good business. I am a resident of Oahu, I work for a large, well-known local company, and am in fact, a former employee of a Benchmark managed property (********* ****** in Santa Cruz, CA). At this point, I am not too happy with my experience at Turtle Bay and feel that I have been unfairly taken advantage of. Additionally, my concern is that they are doing this to other guests. Another peculiarity is that upon leaving the resort on Sunday. I asked front desk about my room. I was told that I had some incidentals for a purchase at the hotel store - for around $25 for wine that I bought the night before. There was no mention of the $250 charge for smoking in the room. Unfortunately, I did not ask for a printout.

Desired Settlement: I simply want Turtle Bay to refund my credit card. My credit card number is as follows: ******************* Exp date 10/31/14 Sec Code ***

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/10/24) */ Turtle Bay Resort has refunded my credit card for $250 - completed 10/23/13. No need to pursue claim further