Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas

Phone: (808) 667-3200 6 Kai Ala Dr, Lahaina, HI 96761 http://www.westinkaanapali.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 31, 2007 Business started: 02/01/2001 in FL Business started locally: 02/01/2001 Business incorporated 11/16/2000 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is GE-161-849-7536-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Angela Nolan, Area Managing Director Consumer Affairs Mr. Glenn Casil, Director of Rooms
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Consumer Affairs
Principal: Mr. Ryan Nobriga, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Angela Nolan, Area Managing Director
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
VSE Pacific, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6 Kai Ala Dr

    Lahaina, HI 96761 (808) 667-3200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The sales staff used deceptive and misleading tactics when pushing their product. We were told by the sales staff that SVO would re-purchase the ownership if we needed to sell. They touted this property as the premier property in the SVO portfolio. They also touted the Starwood Preferred Guest program as part of the sales pitch. We encountered problems with the SPG program immediately and found recently that SVO and SPG are mutually exclusive entities and promises that were made to us were totally invalid. We have been in contact with SVO dozens of times and were told this month that the sales team at Princeville was being retrained in their approach. However, SVO would not rescind our contract. We have an email that actually tells us that SVO would " represent" us in regards to selling the property. However,consumer services said that the sales rep was speaking out of turn. This was not an off the cuff written remark ,but an answer to a SPECIFIC request to sell.We were directed to a resale company that offered us 10% of our "investment". This is within 7 months of us being told what a great investment opportunity we were being offered. We were told specifically that they would repurchase the property but recently were advised that SVO would not repurchase the property. Obviously the email from their staff member has been treated as " just another sales pitch to keep you off guard as they circle you with staff and credit card offers and hotels in far away places and a point system that is absurdly skewed against the buyer and promises of numerous perks. We have spoken with numerous representatives of both SPG and SVO and oddly about half have stated that they hear the same complaints from many of the SVO owners. We have been amazed how these representatives are utterly frank in regards to both companies lack of integrity. We have spent hour after hour and day after day trying to reach a resolution to this problem. We will begin a social media campaign as needed.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We are requesting a full refund of the purchase price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/13) */ May 13, 2014 Dear Ms. *****: This communication comes in response to Mr. ****`s complaint surrounding his June 20, 2013 purchase of contract # ****** at Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to review his concerns. Consumer Affairs originally received Mr. ****'s concerns on March 25, 2014, at which time he shared his perception of the conversations with Mr. ****. Although we certainly appreciate Mr. ****'s concerns, we cannot recreate the point of sales experience and must adhere to the terms and conditions as outlined in the Purchase Documents. The documents signed and acknowledged at the point of sale are meant to not only legally describe what was purchased but to also act as confirmation that all disclosures were made and that there was an understanding of the purchase, Please note our offices provided response to Mr. ****'s concems on April 4, 2014 and April 21, 2014, which I have attached for your review. In Mr. ****`s complaint he states Mr. **** made mention that we would "represent him" in regards to the resale of the vacation ownership interest. We regret any misunderstanding surrounding the term "represent", however, review of the Buyer's Certification states on Line 13: You may sell or rent your Vacation Period but you must do it yourself. Neither the Seiler, nor the Association, nor the SVN Operator, or any related company has any duty to provide any form of rental or resale program or to repurchase your Vacation Ownership Interest. You cannot rent or resell to a Competitor of the Seller. The Buyer's Certification goes on with Line #14: It is the policy ot the seller and its broker not to enter into oral agreements or make promises or representations that are not stated in the Contract Documents. You should not rely on oral agreements or promises in making your decision to buy your Vacation Ownership Interest. Line #15: Your Vacation Ownership Interest is for your use and enjoyment. The seller make no representations about your Vacation Ownership Interest's potential for future profit, rental income, tax benefits, investment potential or other financial advantages. However, should Mr. **** decide to sell the vacation ownership going forward, Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas developer has "First Right of Refusal." This means if Mr. **** receives an offer to buy the vacation ownership interest and wants to accept it, he must first notify the Developer before accepting the offer. The terms and conditions for this process can be found in the Owner information Book. I have attached the disclosure statement for your review. As a sincere gesture of goodwill Resolution Services contacted Mr. **** in an effort to provide assistance with his vacation ownership interest going forward. As a further gesture, we provided Mr. **** 20,000 Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints. We did this without obligation, in an effort to demonstrate our commitment to Mr. ****'s satisfaction and as final resolve to his concerns. Regarding Mr. ****'s concerns surrounding the Starwood Preferred Guest Program (SPG), upon purchase Mr. **** gained access to the Starwood Vacation Network Program, one of the enhancements of this program is Gold Preferred Level Membership with Starwood Preferred Guest. Use of the SPG Program is subject to the terms and conditions of use (attached) which can be found online at *********. In our April 2, 2014 conversation Mr. **** expressed concerns with the service level he received at an SPG Hotel Property, among other concerns with the program. We reached out to Consumer Affairs with Starwood Hotels who reached out to Mr. **** in an effort to address his concerns. Mr. ****** contacted Mr. **** in an effort to address his concerns and advised Starwood Preferred Guest is unable to recognize a Starwood Vacation Ownership Owner at the hotel level, and any upgrades requested would be a lateral upgrade, at the discretion of the property, as noted in the terrns and conditions of use. Mr. ****** offered to assist Mr. **** with his next reservation. During our April 18, 2014 conversation Mr. **** expressed he was not satisfied with the level of service received by Starwood Hotels' Consumer Affairs representative, Mr. ******. I offered to have Mr. ****'s concerns escalated further at which time he declined stating he did not wish to discuss his concerns further. Ms. *****, we have thoroughly reviewed Mr. ****'s purchase documents and find no evidence to support allegations of misrepresentation. While we certainly regret Mr. ****'s expressed disappointment, we have made every effort to address and provide resolve to his concerns. With that said, we respectfully decline Mr. ****'s request for cancellation and refund of contract #******. Thank you again for allowing us to provide response. 1f I may be of further assistance, you may contact me at ***-***-**** or via email at *****************. Respectfully, ************* Consumer Affairs

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SVO Pacific, Inc. and The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas sold me a timeshare contract not disclosing that it was involved in a litigation. Starwood Vacations Exchange/SVO Pacific, Inc. and The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas presented me with a timeshare contract which I signed on August 10th, 2013. The contract had a seven days cancellation period. On day 9 which would be August 19th 2013, I received an email from board of home owners association of Westin Villas of Maui that they are currently involved a litigation with the city of maui to lower the property taxes on those properties, since the Westin Villas area is the highest tax area in Maui. This was not disclosed to me at the time of the contract and I did not want to be part of any litigation. I hired an attorney and disputed the initial fee paid to the starwood company for the timeshare contract and requested cancellation due to concealment of facts and intentionally withholding information related to contract presented to me. To this day we have not been able to speak to the individual who has authority to resolve this case. The company is giving me run around. I received a call from one of the sales people from the Westin Villas in Maui who admitted and apologized to me for not disclosing the facts and he claimed that the headquarter has instructed them not to speak of the litigation which has been on going for a while, at time of the sale. These companies do dishonest bussiness and lie and deceive in order to sell their properties. I highly recommend staying away from doing bussiness with them. Product_Or_Service: Timeshare with Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the timeshare contract cancelled with no further obligation or adverse effect on my credit report or credit scores. And my deposit money returned in full for the amount of $3185.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/21) */ Dear Ms. *****, We are in receipt of Case file ********, regarding Ms. ****** ******, and the purchase of a vacation ownership interest at Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas North, in Maui Hawaii. As Consumer Affairs responds to all Better Business Bureau cases, this concern was forwarded to us on October 21,2013 by ************, General Manager at the resort. Thank you for allowing an opportunity to respond to all concerns. After a careful review of all information related to the sale, a cancellation and refund of contract #****** was provided. We contacted the attorney representing Ms. ****** to confirm that all concerns were addressed and the file closed. Our records reflect that this concern was closed on October 15, 2013, as agreed by both parties. Additionally, we see that your office originally forwarded this case to the Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas North on October 2, 2013. We would like to suggest updating your records to reflect Starwood Consumer Affairs at ***************************** as your first point of Contact for Hawaii cases. As we know that your information is time sensitive this change will ensure that you receive a timeiy response. If you wouid like further details regarding case #******** please Contact me at ********** or *************** and I will be glad to assist. Sincerely, SVO Management. Inc. ****************** Consumer Affairs


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)