This Business is not BBB accredited

The Royal Hawaiian

Phone: (808) 923-7311 Fax: (808) 931-7855 View Additional Phone Numbers 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815 http://www.royal-hawaiian.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a hotel.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Royal Hawaiian include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Royal Hawaiian
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 21, 2003 Business started: 02/01/1927 Business started locally: 02/01/1927 Business incorporated: 11/24/2004 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20276006-01.

Business Management
Mrs. Kelly Hoen, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Kelly Hoen, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Royal Hawaiian Hotel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2259 Kalakaua Avenue

    Honolulu, HI 96815

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 931-7098 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/13/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to honor description of room blaming **********. Charged above rack rate. On arrival the room offered was not as described on ********** (not ocean front, different bed configuration). After a long wait, and apparently very reluctantly, a different room was offered. The hotel does not seem to feel any responsibility for accuracy of the description, electing to blame their agent (**********, owned by *******) instead. In any case I then discovered that I was charged nearly $100 per night above rack rate for the room I ended up with. ********** is trying to rectify the situation but the hotel has been unresponsive for about six weeks.

Desired Settlement: Refund of one night's stay.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/01) */ Aloha, On behalf of the entire resort staff we extend our apology to you for not meeting your expectations. It is our mission to provide the best possible level of guest experience to all guests. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we might come to a satisfactory resolution. Please know that we take this matter very seriously and have fully investigated this incident. As you mentioned in your original correspondence, your reservation was booked online through ********** for a Royal Ocean Front room. With regards to the room accommodations, the Royal Hawaiian has two categories of ocean view rooms (as listed on our website, excluding our suites): Royal Ocean and Tower Ocean Front. With that said, we researched and determined that the ********** descriptions are: Royal Ocean Front and Tower Ocean Front. We have since reached out to ********** to request that they modify their description to consistent with that on our website and remove the word "front" in the Royal Ocean description. We have also confirmed with ********** that the base room rate you paid for your stay was $1,035.00 per night, which is the same as the hotel's rack rate for your dates of stay. With regards to the on property resolution of your room assignment dissatisfaction, I can see from your reservation that you spoke with the front desk to find another room option. As such, you were provided accommodations in one of our premium, direct ocean facing Royal Ocean rooms. However, I would like to apologize that, due to the extremely busy holiday period that you were staying with us, your room assignment request took some time to fulfill. Finally, I will be personally reaching out to you to speak in person regarding your concerns. As I was unable to locate any correspondence or records of your concerns with our management team, both at the resort or corporate level, I would also like to speak with you in regards to who you communicated with as it is greatly disturbing to hear of the resort's lack of responsiveness. This is certainly unacceptable and I would like to apologize on behalf of our management team. Mahalo, **** ******** ***************** The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) (a) It does not offer a resolution. (b) It is untrue to say that the rack rate for the date of stay was $1035. I have photographic proof that the rack rate posted in the room was just above $900. (c) As ********** is the agent of the hotel, it needs to take responsibility for misdescriptions (d) You have failed to respond to ********** for over two months. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/03/09) */ Aloha, Thank you for providing your response and remaining questions. I will attempt to answer each of these items accordingly: a) I did not include an express resolution in my original correspondence as I mentioned that I would be reaching out to you directly to discuss your concerns. I apologize that I was only able to leave a voicemail as I was unable to reach you. b) I would like to reconfirm that the rack rates during your dates of stay were $1035/night. I did confirm that the room you occupied had an outdated rack rate card which also included verbiage that the rate is subject to change at any time without notice. That being said, the card should have been updated so no feeling of unfairness was created. c) ********** is acting as an agent of the hotel and thus our prompt response requesting for them to modify their room descriptions. While our rooms are "Royal Ocean" rooms that front the ocean, we do not directly describe the rooms as "Royal Ocean Front", and thus neither should our agents. Please know that ********** now displays this category as "Royal Ocean View". d) As stated in my original correspondence, I was unaware of this dispute and have been unable to locate any correspondence, from ********** or otherwise, mentioning this matter prior to this Better Business Bureau claim. Once aware of this claim via the Better Business Bureau, I have attempted to research and address your concerns as promptly as I am able to. Again, if you have information regarding whom you spoke with, please reach out to me directly so I can address accordingly. We take this matter very seriously and apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. While the rate that you paid was correct, the category described on ********** was incorrect and the rack rate card in your room was outdated. As such, I would like to offer a credit of 40,000 SPG points, the equivalent of a 2 nights stay at the Royal Hawaiian, to your SPG account. I hope this gesture of goodwill will demonstrate my sincerity and regain your loyalty to our brand and to our beautiful resort. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. Mahalo, **** ******** ***************** The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort