Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sheraton Waikiki Hotel

Phone: (808) 922-4422 Fax: (808) 923-8785 View Additional Phone Numbers 2255 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815 http://www.sheraton-waikiki.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company operates as a hotel.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheraton Waikiki Hotel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheraton Waikiki Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheraton Waikiki Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is TAR6235.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is AD841.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W58245760-01.

Business Management
Mr. Kelly Sanders, General Manager Mr. Scott Kawasaki, Director of Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Sanders, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Hotels - Reservations

Alternate Business Names
Kyo-Ya Hotels & Resorts, LP

Additional Locations

  • 2255 Kalakaua Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815 (808) 922-4422

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have always had great experiences with Sheraton Hotels, especially the Waikiki location. Unfortunately this time around was not so satisfactory. Our initial check-in was okay, the agent did not say much and seemed distracted. Once we arrived in our room, we had come to find out that the bed was very uncomfortable, akin to laying on concrete, the bed was just very firm and felt very cheap. I then phoned the front desk and they offered to let me try another room. They programmed a one time use key and now tried a room on the same floor (original room number ****, tried the bed in room ****). The bed was exactly the same. So my wife and I decided to just stay in ****. At that time I left a voice message at the General Managers number. My wife and I then went to dinner. Once we came back from dinner, we had received a call from Wilson. He said he could move us to a room that had just finished being renovated and had the new "sleeper" beds (I am under the impression that the sleeper bed is the one being advertised for sale?). So under his guidance and reassurance we changed rooms. My wife and I packed up our belongings, went down to the front desk, got our new keys and went to our new room (room number ****). This did not remedy anything, we actually felt it was a downgrade. There were now two bed in the room, a king and a double. There was no chairs or tables, no bathroom amenities, the toilet paper was half used and on the counter. Was not impressed, at this point I just gave up. My wife phoned Wilson, who assured us that it was the right room and it was ready and nice and new. We felt differently, did not feel like the room was ready to be stayed in. On top of all that, the original issue of the bed being very uncomfortable was not resolved. The double bed in the room was more comfortable, is that the bed my wife and I were expected to share? This ruined our stay. We were unable to get any rest. We had picked the Sheraton to celebrate my birthday. Like I said before we were very happy with our previous stay, and actually held the Sheraton Waikiki as the basis of all of our hotel comparisons, and the focal point was the luxurious bed we had on our original stay. This stay honestly made me feel like I had wasted my money, and time. I can't recommend people to stay here based off of my experience. I had to lower my expectations on Sheraton hotels. The Sheraton Waikiki was picked by us to celebrate my birthday, we could've picked any one of the dozens of hotels, but we chose The Sheraton based off of our previous stays.

Desired Settlement: I'd either like a refund, or a complimentary room. Again I feel like I wasted my money.

Business Response:

Mr. **** was contacted  on March 19th in regards to his concern regarding his experience at the Sheraton Waikiki.  His night was refunded in full on March 20th.  Please see the email communications below:

 

From: **** **** ****************************
Sent: Thursday, March 19, 2015 5:59 PM
To: ******* *****
Subject: Re: Sheraton Waikiki Stay

 

Thank you *****. That is great customer service. I didn't mean to make it seem as Wilson is a bad guy. I understand the Sheraton is very busy hotel. Thank you again. 

Cheers,

****


On Mar 19, 2015, at 5:24 PM, ******* ***** <***********************> wrote:

Aloha Mr. ****,

 

Thank you for your email regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Waikiki.

 

I am truly sorry that your experience with us was not enjoyable.  We are in the process of changing out all of our mattresses to the new Sheraton ***** ******* which are the signature mattresses that Sheraton’s offer and we apologize that your original room had not received the new mattress prior to your stay.  I also apologize that the room move was unacceptable.  I understand that Wilson was trying to provide a room that had the new mattress however should have explained the differences in room categories so you had a choice in your selection.

 

As a gesture of goodwill we will refund you for the room night that you stayed with us in hopes that you will return.  Certainly our goal is to provide you with an experience that you are happy with an hope that you will continue to reach out to us so that we can work to resolve your concerns prior to your departure. 

 

I sincerely appreciate your email and your comments and please reach out to me when choosing to visit Sheraton Waikiki in the future.

 

 

Mahalo,

***** ******

Director of Rooms/Director of Six Sigma, Sheraton Waikiki Hotel

* * *** *** **** * * *** *** ****

************************ * **** ** ** ******** * ****** ** ** *******

 

SHERATON WAIKIKI HOTEL

**** ******** ******* ********* ** *****

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sheraton Waikiki Hotel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)