BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company operates as a hotel.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheraton Waikiki Hotel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheraton Waikiki Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheraton Waikiki Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 13, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is TAR-6235.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is AD-841.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W58245760-01.

Business Management
Mr. Kelly Sanders, General Manager Mr. Scott Kawasaki, Director of Public Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Sanders, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels Hotels - Reservations

Alternate Business Names
Kyo-Ya Hotels & Resorts, LP

Additional Locations

  • 2255 Kalakaua Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96815 (808) 922-4422

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 931-8883 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hotel offered laundry service. No price Listed. Took out laundry without telling us price and stuck us with $*** ****** for a load of laundry. Sheraton in Waikiki offers a laundry Service. The service is listed with a number of other free services the hotel offers. However, I did figured it may cost something (maybe ** dollars). The hotel brochure says nothing about cost for this service and even when I called about it they said nothing about there being any cost. We went out a little in the morning and came back saw that are cloths where gone and then a receipt was left behind showing how outrageously expensive this was going to be so we called down to cancel the service but they said they could not do such thing, it has already been processed. When we came back from dinner are cloths where back in the room with 9 different receipts for our laundry adding up to almost $***.00 we could not believe it. With no warning a $*** ****** for ONE load of laundry!! NO prices told to use before receiving the service the service Manage has done nothing to resolve this issue. I also filed a complaint with the corp. office. I called the laundry company and they told use we where supposed to fill out a sheet showing all the prices and confirm this is what we wanted. The hotel (Sheraton Waikiki) Decided to fill out the sheet for us with NO authorization. The gave the sheet along with all of our laundry to the cleaners without us ever knowing the price. How can this be legal???? I do have a copy of the sheet the Sheraton filled out for use in hand but I submitted the receipt attachment instead. Please help us we feel very much taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: Full price of the cost of the laundry service close to $******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ************; Dir of F.O. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@sheraton.com Dear Better Business Bureau and Mr. ********, I received your comments that you submitted to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii. First and foremost, I would like to thank you for choosing the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel for your recent stay and am sorry to hear that you have not been fully satisfied with your experience. As a leader who strives to make Sheraton a world class brand, it is deeply saddening to hear that you did not feel that warm, comforting care when you were with us. In regards to your concerns with laundry, your folio reflects only $****** of laundry charges. I am not able to find $****** worth of charges as you have mentioned. I also see that we have credited you with $******. This makes the total amount of laundry charges paid $*****. However, since you expected it would cost around $******, I ****** credit you another $***** bringing your total laundry charge to $******. I am sorry that you felt like you have been taken advantage of, it was not our intention nor is it the intention of any Hotel that offers similar type of services to do this. Sincerely, ************

1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor customer service & response by personnel We checked into the Sheraton Waikiki on Sunday, 23rd Dec for 5 nights. Despite being SPG Gold members and making the reservation months ago, we were given the City View room because somehow the front desk did not know we were Gold members! So we were not given a Welcome Gift that we were supposed to get at check in either. We reached our room and realized that a huge patch of the carpet in the middle of the room was wet. Also, there were no laundry bags in the room. Since it was late at night, we decided to go to bed and address it the next morning. The next morning we went down to the front desk and spoke to somebody at the SPG Gold desk. She said she would address the carpet issue and send the laundry bag to our room. We came back at around 4pm to our room and realized that the carpet was still wet and there were no laundry bags. At that time, I called up the front desk and spoke to the Guest Services Manager **** who said he would send somebody to dry up the carpet and keep the laundry bags in the room. We left the room to come back at around 9pm. And found a huge turbo dryer in our room. And there were still no laundry bags in the room. We unplugged the dryer and put it in the hallway. The next morning we went down again and spoke to the Manager, ************. He said he would have somebody dry the carpet and keep laundry bags in the room. Finally when we got back to our room later that day, the carpet was drier and there were laundry bags in the room. Also, we are paying a resort charge each day that includes internet. The internet is so horribly slow that I had to try 3 times to just get to this page to file this complaint. The worst SPG experience ever! I would never recommend this hotel to anybody. The worst Christmas ever.

Desired Settlement: Not sure what can be offered to compensate for this mess.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/03) */ Aloha Mr. and Mrs. ******, I would like to thank you for choosing the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel during your stay with us from December 23rd through the 28th. I do remember speaking with you during your stay and am sorry to hear that you have not been fully satisfied with your experience. Once I heard of the requests you had I immediately contacted our Housekeeping Department to get the issues rectified. As for the daily resort charge, it is a standard charge that all guests pay. I do see that for the issues you faced we did remove 3 of the 5 days of resort charge from your account. Mr. and Mrs. ******, here at the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel we pride ourselves on our exceptional service and our warm aloha spirit. As a manager who strives to make Sheraton a world class brand, it is deeply saddening to hear that you did not feel that warm, comforting care when you were with us. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We gratefully accept our guests' constructive comments as a way to continually improve. I hope that we can welcome you back to Sheraton Waikiki some day and show you our true aloha spirit. If you have any further questions or comments, it would be my pleasure to discuss ways to ensure that we are providing the best possible service. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel. Mahalo Nui Loa, ************ Director of Front Office Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/01/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not sure the resort charge has anything to do with staying for 3 days in a room with a wet and dirty carpet - nobody was even able to figure out what the wetnesss was caused from. That was left to imagination. That is disgusting. I am not sure I used up 12,000 SPG points per night to stay in a dirty room.